$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

3 stars
2424 University Avenue, Madison, WI 53726-3811
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
75 reviews
Madison

Beautiful hotel.with very helpful.staff! Good location for people needing quick access to the... See full review

  • Nick Junesy
  • Nov 20, 2013
Inn Towner

I came to Madison for a University of Wisconsin event. The Inn Towner is right on the edge of... See full review

  • Judoka
  • Apr 22, 2013
The BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club has just completed a multi-million dollar renovation of its 176 guest rooms with new carpet, pillow top mattress bedding, 42-inch flat screen televisions, iHome® clock radios ,and new furniture in each guest room. Located in the heart of Madison, youre sure to feel right at home while youre here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club. Our convenient location, close to downtown and the University of Wisconsin - Madison Campus, allows for quick and easy access to a wide variety of destinations in Madison. In addition, our residential neighborhood setting provides a sense of calmness while youre visiting. Our free hotel shuttle service gets you where you need to go with ease. Guests appreciate quick, effortless access to Madison area hospitals, college campuses and athletic events, as well as Dane County Regional Airport, and Madisons popular visitor destinations. Start your day off right by enjoying downtown Madison's most extensive free hot breakfast buffet including items such as: scrambled eggs, fresh breads, homemade sweet rolls and Danish, bacon or sausage, breakfast fries, hash browns, muffins, yogurt, fruit, cereal, oatmeal, French toast or pancakes, assorted Juices, hot coffee or tea – 24-hours per day. Other key hotel features include: complimentary deluxe hot breakfast buffet, free high-speed Internet access, free parking (one vehicle allowed per room), heated indoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center, featuring four machines, 24/7 business center, Keurig® coffee machines, grab-n-go food market, complimentary popcorn, restaurant-cocktail lounge, Executive Level - The Highland Club. Whether youre traveling for business, visiting friends or celebrating a special family event, count on the InnTowner hotel to provide the best overall value so youre sure to be completely satisfied.

Hotel Map

43.0721 -89.4275
Area served
The Wisconsin Dells, Milwaukee, Chicago,, Green Bay
Nearby airports
(MKE), 86.00, MI, W;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,32 IN LCD TV,PREMIUM RM,PILOWTOP BD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,SOFA FOR SITTING,HAIR,COFMKR,IRON,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,STNRM,COZYRM,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,32 IN LCD TV,PREMIUM RM,PILOWTOP BD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,32 IN LCD TV,PREMIUM RM,PILOWTOP BD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,60INTV,PREMIUM ROOM,PILLOWTOP,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,PREMRM,FIREPL,JACUZ,PILTOP,32LCDTV,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED NET,COFFEMAKR,HAIR,IRON,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED NET,COFFEMAKR,HAIR,IRON,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,SOFABD,HI SPEED,COFMKR,IRON,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,SEP LVNG AREA,MICRO,FRIG FULL SIZE,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Turndown service
Fire place
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Camp Randall Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • Westmorland: 1.6 mi
  • Kohl Center: 165.7 mi

Dining

Essen House-German Restaurant
3.00 mile(s) from Essen House-German Restaurant, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, 514 East Wilson, Madison, 255-4674, authentic German and American cuisine, live Oompah Music 250 imported and 14 German Beers
The Bar
The Bar, on premises, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: dinner, serving sandwiches from 5pm until 9pm
Francie's
Francie's, on premises, Cafe, American, Open for: breakfast, serving breakfast from 6:30am until 10:30am
Lombardino's
Across the street from Lombardino's, Full Service, Italian, Open for: dinner, 2500 University Avenue, Madison 238-1922 serving authentic Italian dinners nightly
Blue Moon Bar and Grill
.01 mile(s) from Blue Moon Bar and Grill, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, 2535 University Ave, Madison 233-0441
Pedro's Mexican Restaurant
10.00 mile(s) from Pedro's Mexican Restaurant, Bar/Lounge, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner, 3555 East Washington Avenue, Madison, 241-8110, where Madison goes for the best Mexican fajitas and margaritas

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 75
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New mom and dad
Madison, WI
Jul 1, 2014

refreshing

possibly bed bug bites in the bed closest to the window (not that we care)... otherwise we were very impressed by staff, quality of room, and breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

State street

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2 trvlrs
Madison wi
May 9, 2014

Family stay

Our stay was bilked our credit card and also through an online service - had to call for a refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lanty
Michigan
Mar 11, 2014

Not recommended

The hotel was below average. The first night kids ran up and down the halls & stairs banging on doors calling phones till after 1am in the morning. The front desk was notified numerous times. They gave us a room right outside of a "high school meeting area room" and they were in and out of it screaming till all hours. Parking was below average as they didn't have near enough parking to accommodate the cars, and people were parking up next to the building and all over so you could not get your car out the next AM. Location was somewhat close to University but it was a slum area and nothing to do. We had to go out on the other side of town to shop than when we returned had no where to park. Ate at hotel as we didn't want to go out & fight the parking mess, food was good but nothing special. Next time will stay at Hampton on other side of town as much nicer area and lots of shopping and good places to eat. Way overpriced for area and hotel. My husband & I stayed 2 nights to attend Big 10 Wrestling and not familiar with area. Wont make that mistake again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The only attraction is the University that is close. We could not find anything in the area to do or walk around to see

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Minjim
Wisconsin
Feb 11, 2014

Close to UW campus

Was a nice hotel in a good location for the price. The pool/whirlpool area was very clean and in good condition. Breakfast had large selection of fresh foods. They were doing some upgrades while we were there--remodeling some rooms. Shuttle service was quick and convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Take the shuttle to State Street and eat at State Street Brats. Excellent food and atmosphere

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scary soccer dance mom
Jefferson City MO
Aug 30, 2013

great location for university

very pleasant personel and great location to be with a freshman getting oriented to campus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College Kid Plus 3 Years
San Antonio, TX
Jul 23, 2013

An Average Stay, with a Great Location

Overall, a fairly average stay at the Best Western Plus InnTowner & the Highland Club. Staff was friendly, overall, and the premise was clean and orderly. We spent time in Madison for a wedding, and our group seemed pleased with the experience. I will say that my wife seemed to have some sort of allergic reaction to some of the cleaning supplies used in the rooms, which caused her discomfort throughout our time. However, management did move us to an improved room to try and address whatever was causing the reaction, but to no avail. Breakfast was quite nice each morning, with the hotel offering a full breakfast buffet and a decent cup of coffee. Keurig coffee makers in the rooms, good sized TVs, comfy (enough) beds, and it all made for pretty good sleep and relaxation when we could get it. The free shuttle offered by the hotel to destinations within 2 miles of the hotel was also a great service, and saved us more than a couple taxi rides. Certainly recommend to anyone looking for a place with a very good location, no fuss amenities, and helpful add-ons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MissyTraveler
St. Paul
Jul 22, 2013

fit the bill

Hotel room could use some shining up. Lobby of hotel nice and large. Buffet breakfast included fruit. Finding a parking spot more difficult if arriving at the hotel at 9pm or later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TiffyO
iowa
Jun 13, 2013

blah stay...

the room was comfy but the stuff wasnt friendly at all felt very uncomfortable at this hotel...also the whirpool was horrible!! it wasnt hot it was a little warm i wouldnt ever stay here again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tennis folks
Wisconsin
Jun 9, 2013

Great tennis hotel

We've been staying at the Inntowner for many years to attend the state tennis tournament. Staff has always been great, perfect location for the Nielsen Center and free shuttle!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neandrethal
MPLS, MN
Apr 23, 2013

Weekend Stay

My wife and I stayed 2 nights with our mothers to attend the Badger Band Spring Concert. The hotel was easy to get around in, the employees were courteous and helpful, and we all enjoyed our stay. My wife especially liked the extra comforter that we requested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top