$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2015 Check-out: Jul 24, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

3 stars
View map of 2424 University Avenue, Madison, WI 53726-3811

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
edubsimuth
Business
aurora, Illinois
Jul 21, 2014

Odd mix of old and new

The room was a bit expensive, and had an odd mix of modern and old features. The bathroom seemed well used, but clean as far as i can tell. The TV and entertainment center were very new.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the capital. That's where the nightlife is

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New mom and dad
Business
Madison, WI
Jul 1, 2014

refreshing

possibly bed bug bites in the bed closest to the window (not that we care)... otherwise we were very impressed by staff, quality of room, and breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

State street

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Madtown Alum
Business
Iowa
Jun 30, 2014

Good bang for your buck close to campus

If you are looking for a good deal close to campus you really can't beat the Best Western. The rooms are nice enough and the shuttle will take you within two miles which will get you within walking distance of most downtown attractions. The biggest drawback is that there is only one elevator, so during peak time you may be waiting to go up or down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eric On Draft
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 15, 2014

Great Stay Nestled Not to Far from Everything

I was really amazed at the quality of the King room. It had a very nice pull-out working desk that me and my biz partner used to get some work done while I was on my way to the Horribly Hilly Hundreds biking event 40 minutes from Madison. This place is very accessible to nearby Madison collegiate bars and grill, shops, the capitol, campus, etc. and was a great home station for an afternoon bike ride. I highly recommend. Bring your bicycle, park your car, and explore the rolling hills of Madison. Great location if you're doing the Iron Man or other cycling specific events in and near town, near enough to Verona and Blue Mounds offering far better quality that what you can get out there. The Blue Mounds state park is 40 minutes west. So you can sleep until 5am and peel out and still make the 6:45 Horribly Hilly Hundreds start time with enough time for a big breakfast, packet pick-up, etc. There are a few bicycle shops within 5 car minutes or 10-15 bicycle minutes. Nice Italian restaurant across the street and some sushi and a few other options next door. Very peaceful area far away from late night partying but close enough to indulge if you want to. Ride bike (recommended) or drive car to public parking garage near the capitol. Head to Jamba Juice to get your Beet Juice for the endurance event. :) I will likely repeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Graduate Badger
Business
Boston
May 20, 2014

a little bit far from campus, but convenient

Even though the hotel is a little bit away from the campus, the transportation was right outside the hotel. Free parking, internet, and breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2 trvlrs
Business
Madison wi
May 9, 2014

Family stay

Our stay was bilked our credit card and also through an online service - had to call for a refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SoCal John
Business
Los Angeles area
Mar 24, 2014

Pleasantly surprised

You won't find a friendlier, accomodating or helpful staff than the people at this Best Western. The room was clean, the cleaning service very thorough, the breakfast was quite good, pkenty of variety. Only two problems did I encounter. A bit of a "sluggish" business service center computer, and a bit of a faulty shower head. Other than these, it was a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to U. Wisconsin, shpping and the state capital is about three miles out.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lanty
Business
Michigan
Mar 11, 2014

Not recommended

The hotel was below average. The first night kids ran up and down the halls & stairs banging on doors calling phones till after 1am in the morning. The front desk was notified numerous times. They gave us a room right outside of a "high school meeting area room" and they were in and out of it screaming till all hours. Parking was below average as they didn't have near enough parking to accommodate the cars, and people were parking up next to the building and all over so you could not get your car out the next AM. Location was somewhat close to University but it was a slum area and nothing to do. We had to go out on the other side of town to shop than when we returned had no where to park. Ate at hotel as we didn't want to go out & fight the parking mess, food was good but nothing special. Next time will stay at Hampton on other side of town as much nicer area and lots of shopping and good places to eat. Way overpriced for area and hotel. My husband & I stayed 2 nights to attend Big 10 Wrestling and not familiar with area. Wont make that mistake again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The only attraction is the University that is close. We could not find anything in the area to do or walk around to see

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
meggsssss
Business
Sussex, Wisconsin
Feb 17, 2014

happy stay

Had a wonderful stay!! Rooms were very clean and the Hotel Staff provided a shuttle service to downtown which was very helpful! I will defiantly stay there again next time I'm in Madison! Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Minjim
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 11, 2014

Close to UW campus

Was a nice hotel in a good location for the price. The pool/whirlpool area was very clean and in good condition. Breakfast had large selection of fresh foods. They were doing some upgrades while we were there--remodeling some rooms. Shuttle service was quick and convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Take the shuttle to State Street and eat at State Street Brats. Excellent food and atmosphere

Back to menu Return to top