$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

3 stars
View map of 2424 University Avenue, Madison, WI 53726-3811

Hotel Overview

BEST-WESTERN-PLUS-InnTowner-&-the-Highland-Club-Hotel-Exterior
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
75 reviews
University Student Parent Visit

We found a clean, comfortable place to stay overnight for a college visit. The location was ideal... See full review

  • KLAK
  • Apr 17, 2015
Madison

Beautiful hotel.with very helpful.staff! Good location for people needing quick access to the... See full review

  • Nick Junesy
  • Nov 20, 2013
The BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club has just completed a multi-million dollar renovation of its 176 guest rooms with new carpet, pillow top mattress bedding, 42-inch flat screen televisions, iHome® clock radios, and new furniture in each guest room. Located in the heart of Madison, you're sure to feel right at home while you're here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club. Our convenient location, close to downtown and the University of Wisconsin - Madison Campus, allows for quick and easy access to a wide variety of destinations in Madison. In addition, our residential neighborhood setting provides a sense of calmness while you're visiting. Our free hotel shuttle service gets you where you need to go with ease. Guests appreciate quick, effortless access to Madison area hospitals, college campuses and athletic events, as well as Dane County Regional Airport, and Madison's popular visitor destinations. Start your day off right by enjoying downtown Madison's most extensive free hot breakfast buffet including items such as: scrambled eggs, fresh breads, homemade sweet rolls and Danish, bacon or sausage, breakfast fries, hash browns, muffins, yogurt, fruit, cereal, oatmeal, French toast or pancakes, assorted Juices, hot coffee or tea. Other key hotel features include: complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free high-speed Internet access, free parking (one vehicle allowed per room), heated indoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center, featuring four machines, 24/7 business center, Keurig® coffee machines, grab-n-go food market, complimentary popcorn, restaurant-cocktail lounge, Executive Level - The Highland Club. Whether you're traveling for business, visiting friends or celebrating a special family event, count on the InnTowner hotel to provide the best overall value so you're sure to be completely satisfied.

Top hotels

BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club Rooms

SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,SEP LVNG AREA,MICRO,FRIG FULL SIZE,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,PREMRM,MICRFG,WIFI,ORDRVS,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,PREMRM,SEPLRM,MICRFG,WIFI,ORDRVS,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,COZYRM,MICRFG,WIFI,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,MICRFG,WIFI,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,MICRFG,WIFI,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,CORNRM,MICRFG,WIFI,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,QSOFBD,CORNRM,MICRFG,WIFI,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,PREMRM,FRIDGE,WIFI,ORDRVS,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,PREMRM,FRIDGE,WIFI,ORDRVS,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,PREMRM,FRIDGE,WIFI,ORDRVS,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Turndown service
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Camp Randall Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • Westmorland: 1.6 mi
  • Kohl Center: 165.7 mi

Dining

The Bar
The Bar, on premises, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: dinner, serving sandwiches from 5pm until 9pm
Essen House-German Restaurant
3.00 mile(s) from Essen House-German Restaurant, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, 514 East Wilson, Madison, 255-4674, authentic German and American cuisine, live Oompah Music 250 imported and 14 German Beers
Francie's
Francie's, on premises, Cafe, American, Open for: breakfast, serving breakfast from 6:30am until 10:30am
Blue Moon Bar and Grill
.01 mile(s) from Blue Moon Bar and Grill, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, 2535 University Ave, Madison 233-0441
Pedro's Mexican Restaurant
10.00 mile(s) from Pedro's Mexican Restaurant, Bar/Lounge, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner, 3555 East Washington Avenue, Madison, 241-8110, where Madison goes for the best Mexican fajitas and margaritas
Lombardino's
Across the street from Lombardino's, Full Service, Italian, Open for: dinner, 2500 University Avenue, Madison 238-1922 serving authentic Italian dinners nightly

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
scooter16
Stevens Point, WI.
Feb 1, 2013

great place to stay

everything from the staff, room, shuttle was great. We will stay here each time we come to Madison without doubt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

please do not change a thing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KLAK
Business
N/A
Apr 17, 2015

University Student Parent Visit

We found a clean, comfortable place to stay overnight for a college visit. The location was ideal for walking around campus and looking a housing options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kjel
Business
Wyoming
Jan 24, 2015

Residency

It was a clean nice hotel. The staff was friendly and conviently located to the hospital. Also was appreciated shuttle to hospital.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy F.
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

Awesome Family Vacation

This hotel had everything we needed for an extended stay for our vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Champaign, IL
Dec 7, 2014

C U Traveler

Stayed here for 1 night due to my original hotel not being available for the day I arrived. The walls were thin and we could hear our neighbors. It met my needs for the one night stay, but I would not be able to stay more than one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Very comfortable
Business
NY
Nov 18, 2014

Great stay

The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the staff was extremely accommodating. I would definitely recommend the Inntowner to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mdbmdb
Business
Eau Claire, WI
Oct 20, 2014

good on paper

The Bestwester InnTowner seems great and it was not a terrible experience. But considering the price and the promised amenities I felt a big let down. Service was always very slow. Some of the people behind the desk were apologetic but others were curt and unfriendly. The room was very clean and comfortable, but the heater/cooler didn't work. Rather than try to switch rooms I unplugged it and the temp of the room was fine. Breakfast had lots of options but one of the coffee dispensers was consistently broken. The hotel is about 2 miles from downtown, which I didn't mind walking. But the hotel offered a free shuttle. The one night that I tried using it I was told it would be there in 15 minutes, and I waited outside in the cold for almost an hour. Finally they called a cab to pick me up and paid for that. Small favors. Overall, not a bad place to stay but don't expect things to go smoothly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nurse Kathu
Business
CA
Oct 15, 2014

Convenient but not classy

Although I was "upgraded" to the club level the room I checked in to was old appearing. Chipped paint on paneling around the mirror. The thermostat appeared to be working but it took 24 for the room to warm up. There is only one elevator for the whole building so budget additional time for getting out of your room and to the lobby level in the morning. The staff were kind, the hot breakfast had decent selection (but no hot chocolate) and the location is great for any UW or stadium needs. In the end, this is a budget hotel and you get what you pay for and for the price I can't complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss downtown Madison. I was surprised by the selection of local, organic, vegetarian and gluten-free options for eating. I felt like I was in a very clean version of Berkeley or San Francisco. Every meal was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
College Dropoff
Business
Michigan
Aug 26, 2014

College Dropoff

Very nice hotel. Staff was great. Room was recently renovated and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
edubsimuth
Business
aurora, Illinois
Jul 21, 2014

Odd mix of old and new

The room was a bit expensive, and had an odd mix of modern and old features. The bathroom seemed well used, but clean as far as i can tell. The TV and entertainment center were very new.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the capital. That's where the nightlife is

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New mom and dad
Business
Madison, WI
Jul 1, 2014

refreshing

possibly bed bug bites in the bed closest to the window (not that we care)... otherwise we were very impressed by staff, quality of room, and breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

State street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top