$158 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Grand Geneva Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 7036 Grand Way, Lake Geneva, WI 53147

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Geneva Resort and Spa

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Geneva Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler wife July 2012
Business
Geneva, WI
Jul 10, 2012

Spa

The hotel itself was nice -- staff very accommodating and friendly. However, I called the spa to arrange for a cut and color. I got there 10 minutes early, they came out 15 minutes late only to tell me that they had me down for a color only and didn't have time to do a cut too. I just had surgery a week ago and am using a knee walker to get around, which made getting to the spa and back challenging. The hotel would have taken me to the spa in a golf cart, but I decided to go on my own -- again kudos to the hotel itself. Needless to say, I am disappointed with the outcome of my spa experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Geneva Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Angela
Business
Chicago
Jun 12, 2012

Great Weekend Getaway

The hotel was great. The pool area was always crowded and hard to get chairs. With a hotel that large, there should be more room to accommodate their guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Geneva Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rogers Park Tom
Business
Chicago, IL
May 30, 2012

Way Overated

We went to this hotel on Memorial Day weekend and the place was literally packed. That's to be expected on a Summer holiday weekend perhaps, but the hotel was not equipped to handle it. For two days we couldn't find a single seat by the pool, so we were forced to lay out near the fire pit. Yikes. The lay out of this hotel is spread across 7 buildings, so nothing (including room service) happens quickly. The overall look and feel of the place is dated, especially considering the rates they charge.This hotel is also overrun with families and kids, so keep that in mind if you're looking for a quiet weekend stay. If you're not looking to golf, keep looking for another place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

If you are taking a cab to Lake Geneva, be prepared for outrageous rates. We were charged $18 for a 5-minute cab ride, and apparently that is the norm. It seems the cabbies are looking to make a years' worth of fares during the 3 months of summer. Beware.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Geneva Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jirkava
Business
Wauwatosa, WI, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Too many kids

This place was just swarming with kids. Had to listen to kids crying, yelling, screaming, running down the halls, etc. until 2 in the morning. the lobby seemed gorgeous, but it was hard to appreciate it when there was always 8 or 9 unsupervised kids running in circles, climbing on the leather chairs, playing music and dancing obnoxiously. Ate at Brissago's. Listened to a kid announce that he had just farted, and then his dad explained where farts come from. The restaurant was so noisy with kids that we couldn't have a conversation. We skipped dessert, just so we could get out of there. The place seems like it should be nice. Unfortunately it attracts trashy visitors and too many kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Geneva Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hmv99
Business
barrington, il
Feb 13, 2012

Wonderful stay

I've stayed here many times before and have always had a great experience. The room is clean, a good size, very comfortable. The staff is great and the restaurants are always great too. Nice place to go and get away for a bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Geneva Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuprisesON BILL
Business
IL
Feb 7, 2012

WATCH OUT for the RESORT FEE

The Hotel and Restraurants are GREAT. We had a romantic time that was only lessened from being a truly great experience by the RESORT FEE. Yes it turns out when you arrive you are charged an additional $15. This is such a wonderful place so I am suprised that they have to RIP YOU OFF for an additional $15 after you check in. I would have gladly payed the extra $15 up front for the wonderful experience, but to have it added to your bill after the fact leaves a quality hotel with a nasty taste in your mouth. YUK!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Italian Restaurant was great!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Geneva Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
neats
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 24, 2011

Great but expensive

A word of warning, if you book through Orbitz, you will get a little bill slipped under your door in the morning for a "campus fee" and additional taxes. It is about $16 extra per night that Orbitz does not charge. Otherwise, great restaurants and atmosphere. Not really withing walking distance of downtown Lake Geneva, but just a short drive. Visit the Spa and restaurants if you have the $$, they are great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Geneva Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tallpeople
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Expensive

The room was kind of ordinary for the price.....but my big problem was the teeny tiny bathroom where the door barely cleared the tiolet and the shower had mold because there was no bathroom fan. The other thing was that the hallways seemed very closterfobic with short dark ceilings. Glad we went...enjoyed our time there but probably won't go again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Geneva Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MAINCDHY
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 17, 2011

Beautiful Place for a Wedding

We came here this past weekend for a wedding. Everything was set up very nicely and the staff was great. The view overlooking the golf course was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Chop House!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Geneva Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cbear77
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Columbus Day weekend

I really enjoyed the room and the multiple restaurants and bars on the premises. The Chop House was one of the best meals I have had in a long time, and our server, Beth, was absolutely phenomenal. As far as the room goes, the bathroom was quite nice with the tv in the mirror! Fancy! I would go back to the Grand Geneva if the prices were a bit cheaper. Not sure it was a 200 dollar a night room....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top