$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

Plaza Hotel and Suites

3 stars
1202 W Clairemont Ave, Eau Claire, WI 54701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
55 reviews
The Plaza

The hotel was very nice. We arrived early for a college gradualtion and got to check in... See full review

  • foote201
  • May 19, 2014
A pleasant stay

I stayed here the night before the Eau Claire Marathon. I found the room clean with all of the... See full review

  • UWEC alum
  • May 5, 2014
The Plaza Hotel & Suites provides guests with an array of amenities, including an onsite restaurant and lounge, offering casual dining and American-cuisine favorites. Additionally, a free hot breakfast is provided for guests. An indoor pool and whirlpool provide fun and relaxation, while the kiddie pool and arcade provide endless entertainment. For the corporate traveler, the Plaza offers a Business Center with computer, internet and printing capabilities, as well as copy and fax options for a nominal fee. Free Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms, conference areas and public spaces. The Plaza also offers meeting and event spaces for groups of all sizes.

Hotel Map

44.7933 -91.5192
Area served
Eau Claire.
Nearby airports
Eau Claire International Airport.
Area description
Conveniently located in the heart of Eau Claire, the Plaza Hotel & Suites is easily accessible to all major highways, and only minutes from historic downtown, which boasts the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, Carson Park, the State Theatre and numerous local shopping, dining and cultural experiences. The Plaza is only 1.5 hours east of Minneapolis, MN and 3 hours northwest of Madison, WI.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Plaza Hotel and Suites Rooms

2 Queens
Room offers 2 queen size beds , mini refrigerators, microwaves, HD flat screen televisions with cable access, free Wi-Fi, coffee makers, hair dryers and upscale toiletries.
2 Double Beds
Room offers 2 double size beds , mini refrigerators, microwaves, HD flat screen televisions with cable access, free Wi-Fi, coffee makers, hair dryers and upscale toiletries.
Dlx King w/jetted tub
Room offers 1 King size bed,in room whirlpool tub, mini refrigerators, microwaves, HD flat screen televisions with cable access, free Wi-Fi, coffee makers, hair dryers and upscale toiletries
Dlx King
Spacious room offers 1 King size bed and sofa bed. Mini refrigerators, microwaves, HD flat screen televisions with cable access, free Wi-Fi, coffee makers, hair dryers and upscale toiletries

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Free full breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Brewski's Pub and grill
Drinks and light meals.
Burgundy's Restaurant
Traditional American cuisine for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Jun 5, 2011

Unless I have to...

The experience was awful. We stayed during the winter to visit family, we're from Seattle so we're not used to the freezing temperatures. The windows were icing on the inside of the hotel...is that normal in Wisconsin? Huge hole in wallpaper, smelled awful, horrible breakfast. The outside looked fairly nice, and I guess it was great in its time, but I would never stay here unless every other hotel was booked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Plaza Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Jun 5, 2011

Unless I have to...

The experience was awful. We stayed during the winter to visit family, we're from Seattle so we're not used to the freezing temperatures. The windows were icing on the inside of the hotel...is that normal in Wisconsin? Huge hole in wallpaper, smelled awful, horrible breakfast. The outside looked fairly nice, and I guess it was great in its time, but I would never stay here unless every other hotel was booked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Plaza Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Imp
Business
Eau Claire, WI
Oct 23, 2012

Beware

I wish I would have known, prior to booking, that this hotel has been overrun with college students. They must have been having a cannonball competition in the pool the night that I was there - incredibly disruptive. My room was also not cleaned when I checked in - one of the beds was unmade, a wet towel was hanging from the shower curtain rod. I would drive 100 miles to avoid staying at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Plaza Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhappye
New London, WI
Jul 15, 2013

Not so good...

We went to the Plaza because how close it was to our event, and the price with the availability of a pool. Come to find out the air conditioning was out, and the hallways were unbearable, our room was almost as bad and it was colder outside than in the hotel. (It was almost 90 outside). When i asked the staff if there was anything they could do to work with us on pricing or such they said no even though we have stayed before and come to eau claire a few times a year. NEVER AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Right up the road is Milwaukee Burger...fantastic place

Review of Plaza Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Robyn Brown
Sparta, WI
Jun 16, 2013

It was OK

The hotel itself was probably fine. We were stuck in some far section of the hotel and the room we were in was not as nice as I would have expected for the price. It was clean, but outdated. The wallpaper was peeling off of the walls and it was blazing hot in the room, even with the AC on. It was about 95 degrees in the hallway outside of our room because every heater in the place was running on full blast. We just stayed the one night, and it was fine, but if I had another opportunity to stay in EC again I wouldn't go there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Plaza Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MJ1990
Business
Chicago
Feb 21, 2014

A place to hang your hat

This hotel is definitely not a place I would be excited to stay at again - the wifi connection (at least in my room) was awful and didn't allow me to get much work done. The furniture and hotel in general seemed a little beat up and could use a little TCL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out The Livery - a short drive away in downtown Eau Claire - definitely a cool bar for young professionals visiting the area.

Review of Plaza Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sleepy Mom 2
Eau Claire, WI
Oct 8, 2012

Not a good night's sleep

Anticipating a nice stay in the very clean and well appointed room, I was very discouraged that the staff could not control noisy customers. At 4:00 a.m., 5:00 a.m. and 6:00 a.m., I called the front desk to report noisy partiers outside our room. Each time, I was told it would be handled, but the noise and partying ensued. I come to this area almost monthly, but will hesitate to come here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Plaza Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JustDucky13
Green Bay, WI
Nov 9, 2013

Eh.

The hotel is nice, but also serves as a dorm for UW- Eau Claire. No complementary breakfast. Staff was a bit aloof. On the plus side, the pool was almost always empty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Plaza Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
sturgeon bay, wi
Jun 21, 2009

A good hotel in a great location!

Was very glad that we were away from the pool area. It was quite noisy until pool closing at 11 pm. Needs some updating but an overall good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Plaza Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SBW
Minneapolis
Mar 14, 2011

Plaza

Service was good - Hotel is showing it's age

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top