$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 10, 2015

Plaza Hotel and Suites

3 stars
View map of 1202 W Clairemont Ave, Eau Claire, WI 54701

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Robyn Brown
Business
Sparta, WI
Jun 16, 2013

It was OK

The hotel itself was probably fine. We were stuck in some far section of the hotel and the room we were in was not as nice as I would have expected for the price. It was clean, but outdated. The wallpaper was peeling off of the walls and it was blazing hot in the room, even with the AC on. It was about 95 degrees in the hallway outside of our room because every heater in the place was running on full blast. We just stayed the one night, and it was fine, but if I had another opportunity to stay in EC again I wouldn't go there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sleepy Mom 2
Business
Eau Claire, WI
May 19, 2013

served our needs

Very average experience. Beds could be a little more comfortable, but the room was clean. If you want a quieter night, stay away from the pool area. On a previous visit here, I had to call the front desk repeatedly to ask them to quiet a party by the pool that continued on until 4 a.m. The front desk staff did nothing about it. Great location though, for our purposes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Early Christmas Partakers
Business
Nashville
Apr 2, 2013

Seen better days

We did not have a bad experience at this hotel, but it was obviously old and in need of some TLC. We stayed in a tower room, and the balcony was lovely. We used the fitness room and pool, both of which were nice, and the front desk was helpful, but this hotel has seen better days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are several restaurants up the road, 2 blocks away, and it's a short drive to the university and the "downtown" district with theatres, entertainment and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Floridian at Large
Business
Orlando, Florida
Mar 26, 2013

Plaza Hotel Eau Claire

The Plaza was fantastic. The hotel room was very clean and comfortable, the staff was friendly, and the hotel met any and all needs we had during our stay. Additionally, the Plaza was conveniently located near many great restaurants in Eau Claire including Shang Hai Bistro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Shang Hai Bistro is a top grade restaurant a short drive away from the Plaza. Finding top-notch sushi in Wisconsin was somewhat surprising.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maggie and andy
Business
Winona MN
Dec 23, 2012

Impressive service

We were just there for a quick stay but it was all we expected it to be. Although it did not happen to me, I was totally impressed by the way they handled a customer in front of me. They came down to the front desk because a vending machine "ate" their money. They staff member said they would report it to the company and gave the guest a free soda from the back- the guest wanted to purchase a granola bar as well so that was free as well. Impressive in this day and age :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Imp
Business
Eau Claire, WI
Oct 23, 2012

Beware

I wish I would have known, prior to booking, that this hotel has been overrun with college students. They must have been having a cannonball competition in the pool the night that I was there - incredibly disruptive. My room was also not cleaned when I checked in - one of the beds was unmade, a wet towel was hanging from the shower curtain rod. I would drive 100 miles to avoid staying at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sleepy Mom 2
Business
Eau Claire, WI
Oct 8, 2012

Not a good night's sleep

Anticipating a nice stay in the very clean and well appointed room, I was very discouraged that the staff could not control noisy customers. At 4:00 a.m., 5:00 a.m. and 6:00 a.m., I called the front desk to report noisy partiers outside our room. Each time, I was told it would be handled, but the noise and partying ensued. I come to this area almost monthly, but will hesitate to come here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allan B
Business
Central Wisconsin
May 30, 2012

Helping Family

Hotel was OK but could use some updating. Breakfast was only average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stibby
Business
New Berlin, WI
May 21, 2012

Average, ordinary older hotel

Large, somewhat noisy. Older, needs maintenance, remodeling. Had refrig. in room, but obviously wasn't working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Khentges
Business
Wisconsin
Mar 11, 2012

Great value for the money.

Rooms were very clean, beds were very comfortable. We stay at a lot of hotels and this was above average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great places to eat in Eau Claire

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top