$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 10, 2015 Check-out: Jun 11, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

2 stars
View map of 200 N. Perkins St., Appleton, WI 54914

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
20 reviews
Go pack go

Great for the price. Would stay here again. Great free breakfast before game time. See full review

  • clifton l.
  • Mar 17, 2015
good location

Good location,near a lot of good sites. The hotel was quiet and the service was good. See full review

  • Brent Z.
  • Dec 30, 2014
Spend an exciting family vacation at this Howard Johnson Inn Appleton near restaurants and public transportation. Shopping at Fox Valley Mall, and hydroelectric history at Hearthstone House, are just outside this lodging. Explore the Houdini exhibit at the History Museum at the Castle, or stay active at the nearby golf course and tennis court. Lawrence University and Barlow Planetarium are just minutes away. Wake up to a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, read the complimentary newspaper, plan your day with the complimentary wireless Internet access, and enjoy complimentary large-vehicle parking. Cozy up by the fireplace, and enjoy views of the Fox River in the charming Oshkosh area. Swim in the heated indoor pool, and relax in the hot tub after a fun day. Comfortable guest rooms include flat-screen TV, microwave and refrigerator. Smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Appleton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TrisnCal
Business
N/A
Apr 21, 2015

Worst hotel experience ever

Started with issues over the phone 3 days before my stay. Due to personal and financial reasons I needed to cancel my room. It was my fault I did not recognize that it was a no cancel hotel. However, my problem was not that I was stuck with a room I couldn't afford it was the way the staff handled the issue. They kept telling me that there was no manager on shift I needed to call back later. I tried calling three times two days in a row and no manager was ever available. I was even told that the owners would call me, that obviously never happened. The whole place smelled musty. The rooms were old which would be excusable except for the fact that they were not maintained at all. The counters had rust stains on them, there was a huge hole in the carpet, the shower looked like it was wiped down with a dirty rag and there was still shampoo dripping down the wall. I had to clean it when I got in there. The pool area lacked a lot. It was dirty and there was a room that was out of order, which was a major understatement. The door looked like someone tried to bust into the room and just left the door sitting there, it was rather horror movie-esque. I didn't even want to get into the water. The staff was somewhat friendly in some cases, but they have all these postings and papers to sign about how you can't have guests for longer than a certain amount of time and past a certain amount of time as if I was some teenager breaking curfew. It did not make me feel comfortable after putting my hard earned money to try and enjoy a stay to visit family and have them visit with me. Finally, only adding salt to the wound I ended up paying double what it would normally cost since i was visiting during the weekend of a Bears/Packers game. For many reasons I would never recommend or even consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
clifton l.
Business
Richmond
Mar 17, 2015

Go pack go

Great for the price. Would stay here again. Great free breakfast before game time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brent Z.
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

good location

Good location,near a lot of good sites. The hotel was quiet and the service was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geo Sols
Business
Chicago
Oct 19, 2014

Geo Sols

Great price and comfort and clean rooms also nice location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nickle glass pizza

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Trippin The College...
Business
Wisconsin
Oct 12, 2014

Don't expect the Hilton Grand...

I paid $47.00 for this hotel. Got what I paid for. Good location and a cheap hotel. The shower room was inoperable in the pool area and it seemed kind of run down. There was black mold in the tiles of my bathroom. The beds were comfortable and the room appeared clean and I didn't wake up with a dry throat and headache so the univent must have been ok. Free popcorn and the free breakfast is nice too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dostoevsky fan
Business
Cedarburg, WI
Sep 20, 2014

Met my needs

I stayed here before a meeting in downtown Appleton. The service was good. The breakfast selection kept me from having to go to McDonald's. I would stay again if I was in Appleton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Indianapolis Packers Fan
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Aug 25, 2014

EXTREMELY UNPLEASANT STAFF

The staff at this hotel is extremely unpleasant. They were very rude, didn't want you to ask any questions or even help you to check in. Not a hotel I would recommend to anyone else or stay at myself ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fave
Business
Lake Mills, Wi
Feb 10, 2014

a place to stay for a night

For the price, they do a good job. Seems safe. Nice breakfast. Nothing fancy, but that's fine with me . I want a good night's sleep. That's all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ca l I
Business
fort wayne
Feb 10, 2014

quick getaway weekend

The staff was very friendly and my room was updated and looked modern. I would defiantly stay again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LLEG
Business
Appleton
Jan 15, 2014

yuk

The first thing I did was grab my flashlight to check for bedbugs as I always do, and what did I find when I pulled back the covers was a pbc hair on the sheets!!! Enough said! Not going back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top