$41 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 10, 2014 Check-out: Dec 11, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

2 stars
200 N. Perkins St., Appleton, WI 54914
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
17 reviews
Geo Sols

Great price and comfort and clean rooms also nice location See full review

  • Geo Sols
  • Oct 19, 2014
quick getaway weekend

The staff was very friendly and my room was updated and looked modern. I would defiantly stay... See full review

  • ca l I
  • Feb 10, 2014
Welcome to the newly remodeled Howard Johnson Inn located in Appleton, WI. We look forward to having you as our guest. We offer complimentary Wireless Internet, Complimentary continental Breakfast, Iron and Ironing Boards in all rooms and more. We are conveniently located nearby many restaurants Including Applebees, Texas Roadhouse, Blueberry Hill Pancake House, TGIF, Outback Steakhouse and Perkins. We are located minutes from the Lawrence University, Fox Cities Performing Arts Center and Barlow Planetarium.Pets are welcome at this property. Dogs under 20 pounds are 10.00 USD Per Night, and 20 pounds or more are 20.00 USD Per Night. There are only 4 available for dogs so please call to see if a room is available beforehand.Rollaway 10.00. Meeting room available to our guests. The Rise and Dine Complimentary Breakfast includes a variety of cereals, hot Belgian waffles and freshly baked goods, as well as coffee and different fruit juices.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Appleton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.4

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geo Sols
Business
Chicago
Oct 19, 2014

Geo Sols

Great price and comfort and clean rooms also nice location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nickle glass pizza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Trippin The College...
Business
Wisconsin
Oct 12, 2014

Don't expect the Hilton Grand...

I paid $47.00 for this hotel. Got what I paid for. Good location and a cheap hotel. The shower room was inoperable in the pool area and it seemed kind of run down. There was black mold in the tiles of my bathroom. The beds were comfortable and the room appeared clean and I didn't wake up with a dry throat and headache so the univent must have been ok. Free popcorn and the free breakfast is nice too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dostoevsky fan
Business
Cedarburg, WI
Sep 20, 2014

Met my needs

I stayed here before a meeting in downtown Appleton. The service was good. The breakfast selection kept me from having to go to McDonald's. I would stay again if I was in Appleton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Indianapolis Packers Fan
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Aug 25, 2014

EXTREMELY UNPLEASANT STAFF

The staff at this hotel is extremely unpleasant. They were very rude, didn't want you to ask any questions or even help you to check in. Not a hotel I would recommend to anyone else or stay at myself ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fave
Business
Lake Mills, Wi
Feb 10, 2014

a place to stay for a night

For the price, they do a good job. Seems safe. Nice breakfast. Nothing fancy, but that's fine with me . I want a good night's sleep. That's all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ca l I
Business
fort wayne
Feb 10, 2014

quick getaway weekend

The staff was very friendly and my room was updated and looked modern. I would defiantly stay again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LLEG
Business
Appleton
Jan 15, 2014

yuk

The first thing I did was grab my flashlight to check for bedbugs as I always do, and what did I find when I pulled back the covers was a pbc hair on the sheets!!! Enough said! Not going back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pams motherplus six
Business
Wisconsin
Jan 10, 2014

Great for what we needed

When checking in, we had a fantastic person. She took care of all our needs and when checking out in the morning, the gentleman was very helpful and courteous. Would definetly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
3LabsMom
Business
Sheboygan, WI
Jan 2, 2014

Great deal!

I booked a room last minute for NY eve and got a king room for $41.64. It's not the Ritz but is clean & a very cute lobby. Fresh popped popcorn as you walk in, nice touch. I would stay there again anytime. Great rate & comfortable nights rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Right off College Ave where all the action is.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nursemary
Business
appleton, wi
Oct 18, 2013

business trip

the people next door were smoking seems this hotel attracts a lot of lower class, riff-raff, and although they have clearly written rules all over, they seem to have problems with rule-breaker type of people (partiers, dysfunctional type people)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top