$57 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Vancouver By Vancouver Mall

2 stars
View map of 9201 NE Vancouver Mall Drive, Vancouver, WA 98662

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
33 reviews
Great overall experience

Friendly attentive staff. Room was clean. Hotel was quite. Late hours for swimming pool hot tub.... See full review

  • ZwiggyPDX
  • Jan 7, 2015
great stay for the price

Definately come back. Just stay for one night and bery easy to access See full review

  • Con trym kiu
  • Jan 4, 2014
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vancouver By Vancouver Mall hotel near Portland International Airport is adjacent to Vancouver Mall and convenient to Interstates 205 and 5. Take advantage of free Wi Fi Internet access, indoor pool and spa, guest laundry facilities and microwaves and refrigerators in some rooms at our pet friendly hotel. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Start your day off right with our complimentary Rise and Dine breakfast.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Vancouver By Vancouver Mall also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Westfield Vancouver: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Vancouver By Vancouver Mall

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 33
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.6
Value:
2.7

27% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Vancouver By Vancouver Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aaron S.
Business
Vancouver
Feb 3, 2015

Content

Family had a staycation at this hotel. I was originally attracted to the hotel because of the lower cost compared to neighboring hotels. We have been in the other hotels over the past months on similar staycations. While not a bad experience, overall the wife and I wish we would have spent a few more dollars and upgraded the experience. Building facilities were worn and not exceptionally clean. The pool was much smaller. The contential breakfast was alright but nothing noteworthy. However on a positive side the staff were always helpful and very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Vancouver By Vancouver Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Russell444
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 9, 2014

Needs makeover

Room seems tired and worn. At the very least the room needs a good deep cleaning. There was some sort of blackish buildup on the inside of the shower door. The room decor seemed like it was out of the 80's but was reasonably clean and servicable. The staff was nice enough but i doubt that any of them had any formal hotel training. The Continental Breakfast was limited and lacked attention. Hotel is very close to large shopping mall and many restaurants to fit any budget, so that was a huge plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of good eating places very close driving distance. Just look around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Vancouver By Vancouver Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crash2
Business
Prosser, WA, USA
Aug 4, 2014

Spartan Weekend

Check in was smooth but the AC was off and it took about an hour to cool the room down. Good breakfast options and clean rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Vancouver By Vancouver Mall

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jaygal
Business
clatskanie, or
Feb 17, 2014

Needs an update

Just a tired hotel. It seems as if the owner is looking for quick turnover without caring about guests. The pool was too cold and the jacuzzi unbearably hot. When we turned on the jacuzzi the bubbles/foam were a 6 inches high and filled with chorine. I showered immediately but the next morning the straps on my brand new bathing suit snapped off and still smelled of the strong chlorine. I told the owner but he argued saying it was "correct strength" harumph! I worry more about inhaling, absorbing the chemicals than my bathing suit! The room was tired. Nothing really wrong with it for an inexpensive motel. Front desk didn't know anything about restaurants or the area really.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Vancouver By Vancouver Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robotman2001
Business
USA
May 28, 2013

Good location for family visit, but...

Three levels of bed firmness: Granite, Marble, Slate. To be fair Management vowed to let owner know about beds. Must be quick for the morning breakfast when they open (6-9 AM). 2/3 of the food was gone by 9:30 with no attendant to replenish consumed food items. Found Black hairs on freshly laundered pillow cases when room serviced by the maid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Vancouver By Vancouver Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pizza man
Business
Whidbey Island, Washington, USA
Nov 17, 2012

Hard to find at night but we made it

It was ok the food needs improvement,the carpet in our room was very dirty, had big spots on the floor & dirty.We were in room # 115& it was a handicapped room that we needed the shower was very small it needed something more. Wood I stay there again probily not. That place needs help !!!! Tkx BOB

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Vancouver By Vancouver Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Super dissapointed
Business
Woodland, CA
Jul 26, 2011

Get me out of this dump

This hotel is just not up to par. The first room we stayed in the carpet had stains, coffe maker was missing parts, batteries missing from TV changer. The second room we were given was worse,not that anything was missing but it was dirtier than the other. I placed towels on floor so I would not see the stain(looked like possible animal excretment). The air conditioner barely cranked out any coolness. The laundry room was so dirty I decided not to wash my cloths. I actually heard another guest outside ask a friend if he was ready to get out of this dump? It really was a dump and even though I like to get a resonalble rate for a hotel I will never stay there again. Next door is another hotel not fancy but a lot cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Vancouver By Vancouver Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 7, 2011

ok to sleep in

Visiting family so this hotel was ok to sleep and then get up and go. No frills. Clean but stained carpets. Modestly decorated. I am not a pet person and pets are allowed. Room fresheners would help. Pool was good. I like a little more style and decor but it is ok for an overnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Next to the Mall and right off the freeway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Vancouver By Vancouver Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sheila C
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 20, 2011

It was clean and good location

I visited my Daughter and her family who live in Vancouver/Brush Prairie area. It was easy to get on the 205 from the hotel to get to her home and to go into Portland to see some sites with them. I appreciated the continental breakfast in the morning. Room was clean and it was quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Vancouver Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Vancouver By Vancouver Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Puyallup, WA
Apr 4, 2011

The Ugly

We arrived around 8:00 PM and were told that a couple of rooms went down and we ended up with a "smoking room".....None of us smoked!!!. The smell in the room caused us to have to keep the window open all night.......but, the smell wasn't really smoke, it just stank!! The carpet was soiled in many places (I can provide pictures). You could see that the corners through out the unit needed cleaning. Only one card worked the door, and the ice machine didn't work , causing us to have to go down to the first floor for ice. Bottom Line...........Not Very Happy!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top