$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

W Seattle

4 stars
1112 4th Avenue, 1112 4th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
77 reviews
couples hotel

amazing hotel, but only downside was that it was super expensive for parking! See full review

  • Aman longia
  • Nov 17, 2014
Great hotel in the heart of downtown Seattle

My only critique is that the gym is the size of a broom closet. That is it.. Other than that, this... See full review

  • glantz
  • Jul 15, 2014
Chic, urban style in the heart of Seattle
The W Seattle towers above the city, its lighted steel pyramid top integrated into Seattle's skyline. The contemporary hotel has 415 rooms and nine suites, all filled with amenities to suit lifestyle-minded travelers. The W Seattle has a full-service restaurant, and Seattle Weekly magazine named W Bar the best hotel bar in the city. The downtown hotel is within walking distance of city sights, dining and shopping. The W Seattle's concierge service, Wherever Whenever, helps guests plan the ideal Emerald City vacation.
Highlights
  • Full-service restaurant on site
  • In-room spa services
  • Wireless Internet access (fees apply)
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply)
Rooms
Even the simplest of rooms at the W Seattle offers guests an array of amenities. W signature beds, with pillow-top mattresses, sport 350-thread-count cotton-blend linens, down pillows and a goose-down duvet. Guests can request hypoallergenic pillows from a menu of pillows. Bliss Spa toiletries, two terrycloth-lined robes and a hair-dryer grace bathrooms. In-room entertainment is plentiful as well, with a CD/DVD library, iPod deck and 32-inch plasma-screen TV.
Features
The W Seattle promises a chic, urban refuge in downtown Seattle and delivers with amenities, decor and services. The hotel's design is sleek and spare, with muted earth tones and judicious touches of metal. In the lobby, which the W calls the Living Room, guests bask in front of a fireplace, lounge on velvet-covered furniture and check e-mail using complimentary wireless Internet access. Guests can work out with a personal trainer in the Sweat fitness center, then relax with an in-room spa treatment afterwards.
Dining
The W Seattle's full-service restaurant, Earth and Ocean, serves inventive takes on Pacific Northwest ingredients. It is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. W Bar, outfitted with sumptuous velvet drapes and dark woods, serves signature cocktails, such as the Emerald Drop, and light fare as a DJ spins tunes.
Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (14 mi/24.1 km)
  • Downtown Airporter shuttle service drops off across the street (fees apply)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail University Street station (one block)
  • Seattle Amtrak King Street station (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
Attractions
  • Pike Place Market (five blocks)
  • Seattle Art Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Seattle Aquarium (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Space Needle (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting rooms
  • 4,500-square-foot Great Room accommodates 520 guests
  • W Meetings Recess service
  • Business center with workstations and printers
  • Washington State Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Seattle also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

W Seattle Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Express check in
Childcare Service
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.4 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.5 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 1 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.1 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.2 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.2 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2.2 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.6 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.4 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.5 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 1 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.1 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.2 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.2 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2.2 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.6 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 3.1 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.5 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.6 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.9 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 5.2 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.7 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.4 mi

Dining

TRACE
Indulge in a dynamic dining experience. Savor contemporary, inventive dishes comprising locally-sourced ingredients.
TRACE Bar
Stop in. Get together. Hang out. Try an innovative cocktail handcrafted from the liquor of a regional distillery. Or opt for a premier sake, a Seattle microbrew or one of our acclaimed wines from the West Coast and Europe.
TRACE Sushi Bar
Step up to our 10-seat sushi bar inside TRACE Restaurant. Check out sustainable and local seafood that changes daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for W Seattle

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 77
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tinkmasterflash
Business
Earth
Mar 3, 2013

Stay @ the W if you like to be abused

Came to the hotel. No hotel parking, garage is full. No suggestions as to where to park my car from any of the staff. After finding parking, walked in to hotel, was immediately greeted with deafeningly loud music, no greeting from anyone. Lots of people trying to look cool, whatever. Room was very average at best. Think Howard Johnson with blue lighting and cheap IKEA furniture. Walls were thin. I could hear the adjacent rooms quite easily and I'm sure they weren't being overly loud, just too loud for this "hotel". Next morning, go down to lobby, no good morning for a single staff member. Not that I really care but the staff should generally be acknowledging the customers. Waiting in line to check out, a rude woman just butts into the front of the line and the staff member helps her instead of explaining that there were 10 other guests who were waiting ahead of her. Shame on both of them, what is this, amateur hour? So bottom line, rude & unhelpful staff, noisy stay, marginally clean room, no parking. I think I am glad I didn't dare the hotel restaurant or gym, who knows what the heck would have happened there. I will never go to another W again & I'll probably tell other people how bad it was, it was memorably so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Morton's is the best. For a cozy evening, don't sit in the dining area, head for the hidden booth in the corner of the bar, it's extremely quiet, dark and you get what amounts to your own personal waiter. Wife & I love it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 14, 2011

Meh

The hotel was friendly enough, but the bar served me a drink with a fly in it, and offered no genuine apology.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're looking for a more lively nightlife, I recommend not staying downtown, and instead staying around the 13th and Madison area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KrisinAZ
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Sep 13, 2011

"W" = "What a Waste of Money!"

Let me tell you...this hotel does not live up to the W reputation. The location is good and that is about the extent of it. I forked out a lot of money for one night...sold to me through this website as a "room with a SPECTACULAR view". HA! What I got was a view of the next door building's old air conditioner. Check in was not until 3...but they were running late so it was this room or wait until 6pm to check in. What kind of hotel checks in people at 6pm? The room was small...no view and the hotel itself was dark. I have stayed in nicer hotels almost everywhere else. This was especially disappointing as i had booked this trip for my mom's 70th birthday. It was my goal to do everything first class for her. This was the weak link in the journey. I wouldn't bother with this place. I think for the money, you could do much better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Taipei, Taiwan/Boston, MA
Sep 17, 2010

It was ok

It was very disappointing to see how the hotel's facility was very outdated. I have been to the W in Boston, New York, and Hong Kong. The W in Seattle was the worst I have been due to its outdated facility. Due to that, the guest room was full of dust and dirty toilet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Canlis restaurant was very good. You get to enjoy a great view of Seattle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 25, 2008

not family friendly

The room was smaller than we thought. It's more designed for business travelers rather than casual people. We have to ask for things like hot water since it doesn't have a coffee brewer ... however, the staff are very accommodating. The room service was quick and curteous (though they missed the toast the came with the continental breakfast that we ordered). Overall, the room is small and more fitted for a business traveler. It has all the anemities for business needs (internet access, flat screen tv, etc.).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located pretty much in downtown ... so you have walking access to almost anything ... shopping, entertainments, the waterfront, dinning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
College shoppers
Business
las vegas, NV
Nov 1, 2010

Expensive, but in a great location

Given that the cost to stay was not cheap, I can't believe they charged us $47 per night to park our rental car. When we complained at 2:30 am about the party noise next to our room, the front desk actually asked if we went into the hall to investigate! Seriously? We called security at 2:30 AM.They apparemtly had free rides by Acura, but we were not told until we asked on our last day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Schucker's was awesome for dinner, and the French bakery about 2 blocks away was devine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
profgjay
Business
Milwaukee
Aug 27, 2012

Style Downtown Can't Be Beat

The W, as you would expect, offers a stylish alternative to other downtown hotels. The all-new building features relatively large rooms with comfortable window-seat couches overlooking the city or, if you are up high, the water and mountains. The location is an easy walk to all the main tourist areas and the main bus and raillinks (we didn't rent a car during our stay, and found taxis an easy option we we got tired of walking). The W is in the financial district, so you are free of the street people and tourist madness closer to Pike Place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk up Pike St past the convention center to the Pike-Pine corridor and the Melrose Market area, where you can eat at Terra Plata or Sitka and Spruce (or just grab a cab for about 8 bucks). This is a hot neighborhood with great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ann Mac
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 21, 2013

Lighting

Very modern style hotel. The lighting was not great, generally a dark feeling. Staff great though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Pink Door Restaurant and Kells Restaurant on Post Alley excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gbel
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Aug 18, 2010

Convenient Plus

This hotel was very conveniently located. The stop for the Link train from the airport and the city bus system was only one block north and one block west of the hotel, so our transportation from airport to hotel was $2.50, a 35 minute train ride, and a short hike (albeit uphill) a couple blocks. Both major Ferry Piers, the waterfront, and Pike's market were all just a few blocks away. From the hotel, we basically walked from one end of the city to the other. We were also surrounded by many interesting and enjoyable restaurants. Our only criticism, was the drinks in our hotel bar were somewhat expensive. Definitely not a deal killer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Make a point to take the Ferry to Bainbridge Island. Ferry ride is only $6.90 roundtrip. It is a pleasant 30 minute ferry to Bainbridge, then on the island, enjoy the scenic waterfront atmosphere, cute shops, and good food. We ate at Doc Maartan's overlooking marina- great fish and chips, good fish tacos. We also kayaked along the island shoreline. Nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emartinis
Business
Darnestown, MD.
Apr 4, 2013

Great place to stay. Very comfy beds!!

One nighter in Seattle. Stayed with the kids. Quiet rooms. Comfy beds. Clean bathroom and room. Thermostat stayed on HOT. Finally had to turn it off. Great breakfast. Not too many kid friendly options on the menu, but my omelet was fantastic! A great stay for sure!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations.... where ever you go. Seattle likes to dine out so make it easier on yourself and call ahead.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top