$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

W Seattle

4 stars
1112 4th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
108 reviews
Great hotel in the heart of downtown Seattle

My only critique is that the gym is the size of a broom closet. That is it.. Other than that, this... See full review

  • glantz
  • Jul 15, 2014
Great stay at the W Seattle!

We had a near perfect stay at the W Seattle in late June. 4.5 stars, half a star docked for a minor... See full review

  • HappyCamper88
  • Jul 8, 2014
Chic, urban style in the heart of Seattle
The W Seattle towers above the city, its lighted steel pyramid top integrated into Seattle's skyline. The contemporary hotel has 415 rooms and nine suites, all filled with amenities to suit lifestyle-minded travelers. The W Seattle has a full-service restaurant, and Seattle Weekly magazine named W Bar the best hotel bar in the city. The downtown hotel is within walking distance of city sights, dining and shopping. The W Seattle's concierge service, Wherever Whenever, helps guests plan the ideal Emerald City vacation.
Highlights
  • Full-service restaurant on site
  • In-room spa services
  • Wireless Internet access (fees apply)
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply)
Rooms
Even the simplest of rooms at the W Seattle offers guests an array of amenities. W signature beds, with pillow-top mattresses, sport 350-thread-count cotton-blend linens, down pillows and a goose-down duvet. Guests can request hypoallergenic pillows from a menu of pillows. Bliss Spa toiletries, two terrycloth-lined robes and a hair-dryer grace bathrooms. In-room entertainment is plentiful as well, with a CD/DVD library, iPod deck and 32-inch plasma-screen TV.
Features
The W Seattle promises a chic, urban refuge in downtown Seattle and delivers with amenities, decor and services. The hotel's design is sleek and spare, with muted earth tones and judicious touches of metal. In the lobby, which the W calls the Living Room, guests bask in front of a fireplace, lounge on velvet-covered furniture and check e-mail using complimentary wireless Internet access. Guests can work out with a personal trainer in the Sweat fitness center, then relax with an in-room spa treatment afterwards.
Dining
The W Seattle's full-service restaurant, Earth and Ocean, serves inventive takes on Pacific Northwest ingredients. It is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. W Bar, outfitted with sumptuous velvet drapes and dark woods, serves signature cocktails, such as the Emerald Drop, and light fare as a DJ spins tunes.
Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (14 mi/24.1 km)
  • Downtown Airporter shuttle service drops off across the street (fees apply)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail University Street station (one block)
  • Seattle Amtrak King Street station (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
Attractions
  • Pike Place Market (five blocks)
  • Seattle Art Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Seattle Aquarium (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Space Needle (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting rooms
  • 4,500-square-foot Great Room accommodates 520 guests
  • W Meetings Recess service
  • Business center with workstations and printers
  • Washington State Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.4 km)

W Seattle Rooms

Wonderful
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Seattle also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

47.6069 -122.3336
Nearby airports
Seattle-Tacoma International, (SEA), 14.00, MI;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.4 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.5 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 1 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.1 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.2 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.2 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2.2 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.6 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.4 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.5 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 1 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.1 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.2 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.2 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2.2 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.6 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 3.1 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.5 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.6 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.9 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 5.2 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.7 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (108)

Ratings and reviews for W Seattle

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tinkmasterflash
Earth
Mar 3, 2013

Stay @ the W if you like to be abused

Came to the hotel. No hotel parking, garage is full. No suggestions as to where to park my car from any of the staff. After finding parking, walked in to hotel, was immediately greeted with deafeningly loud music, no greeting from anyone. Lots of people trying to look cool, whatever. Room was very average at best. Think Howard Johnson with blue lighting and cheap IKEA furniture. Walls were thin. I could hear the adjacent rooms quite easily and I'm sure they weren't being overly loud, just too loud for this "hotel". Next morning, go down to lobby, no good morning for a single staff member. Not that I really care but the staff should generally be acknowledging the customers. Waiting in line to check out, a rude woman just butts into the front of the line and the staff member helps her instead of explaining that there were 10 other guests who were waiting ahead of her. Shame on both of them, what is this, amateur hour? So bottom line, rude & unhelpful staff, noisy stay, marginally clean room, no parking. I think I am glad I didn't dare the hotel restaurant or gym, who knows what the heck would have happened there. I will never go to another W again & I'll probably tell other people how bad it was, it was memorably so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Morton's is the best. For a cozy evening, don't sit in the dining area, head for the hidden booth in the corner of the bar, it's extremely quiet, dark and you get what amounts to your own personal waiter. Wife & I love it.

Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
budget connoisseur
Business
Silver Spring MD
Jan 28, 2013

Big Disappointment

Despite witty signage and bold decor, the W Hotel Seattle is cutting corners and it shows. The Great Room furnishings are starting to look worn, and the decor is visually incoherent. The limited restaurant menu needs a few blander choices for travelers whose stomachs are unsettled. With no in-room coffee, you have to dress and go down to the lobby for a complimentary cup--so you can't enjoy coffee while fixing your hair for the day. The restaurant staff were the rudest I've enountered in 35 years of business travel. And the building is a nightmare for wheelchair users. It was clean though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Taipei, Taiwan/Boston, MA
Sep 17, 2010

It was ok

It was very disappointing to see how the hotel's facility was very outdated. I have been to the W in Boston, New York, and Hong Kong. The W in Seattle was the worst I have been due to its outdated facility. Due to that, the guest room was full of dust and dirty toilet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Canlis restaurant was very good. You get to enjoy a great view of Seattle.

Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jessie H.
Indiana
Jan 9, 2013

Disappointed !

Front desk employers are cold, without passion. House keeping service need better improvement. People who worked in restaurant need to be more professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Taipei, Taiwan/Boston, MA
Sep 17, 2010

It was ok

It was very disappointing to see how the hotel's facility was very outdated. I have been to the W in Boston, New York, and Hong Kong. The W in Seattle was the worst I have been due to its outdated facility. Due to that, the guest room was full of dust and dirty toilet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Canlis restaurant was very good. You get to enjoy a great view of Seattle.

Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 25, 2008

not family friendly

The room was smaller than we thought. It's more designed for business travelers rather than casual people. We have to ask for things like hot water since it doesn't have a coffee brewer ... however, the staff are very accommodating. The room service was quick and curteous (though they missed the toast the came with the continental breakfast that we ordered). Overall, the room is small and more fitted for a business traveler. It has all the anemities for business needs (internet access, flat screen tv, etc.).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located pretty much in downtown ... so you have walking access to almost anything ... shopping, entertainments, the waterfront, dinning.

Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KrisinAZ
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Sep 13, 2011

"W" = "What a Waste of Money!"

Let me tell you...this hotel does not live up to the W reputation. The location is good and that is about the extent of it. I forked out a lot of money for one night...sold to me through this website as a "room with a SPECTACULAR view". HA! What I got was a view of the next door building's old air conditioner. Check in was not until 3...but they were running late so it was this room or wait until 6pm to check in. What kind of hotel checks in people at 6pm? The room was small...no view and the hotel itself was dark. I have stayed in nicer hotels almost everywhere else. This was especially disappointing as i had booked this trip for my mom's 70th birthday. It was my goal to do everything first class for her. This was the weak link in the journey. I wouldn't bother with this place. I think for the money, you could do much better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KrisinAZ
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Sep 13, 2011

"W" = "What a Waste of Money!"

Let me tell you...this hotel does not live up to the W reputation. The location is good and that is about the extent of it. I forked out a lot of money for one night...sold to me through this website as a "room with a SPECTACULAR view". HA! What I got was a view of the next door building's old air conditioner. Check in was not until 3...but they were running late so it was this room or wait until 6pm to check in. What kind of hotel checks in people at 6pm? The room was small...no view and the hotel itself was dark. I have stayed in nicer hotels almost everywhere else. This was especially disappointing as i had booked this trip for my mom's 70th birthday. It was my goal to do everything first class for her. This was the weak link in the journey. I wouldn't bother with this place. I think for the money, you could do much better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Jun 14, 2011

Meh

The hotel was friendly enough, but the bar served me a drink with a fly in it, and offered no genuine apology.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're looking for a more lively nightlife, I recommend not staying downtown, and instead staying around the 13th and Madison area.

Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 25, 2008

not family friendly

The room was smaller than we thought. It's more designed for business travelers rather than casual people. We have to ask for things like hot water since it doesn't have a coffee brewer ... however, the staff are very accommodating. The room service was quick and curteous (though they missed the toast the came with the continental breakfast that we ordered). Overall, the room is small and more fitted for a business traveler. It has all the anemities for business needs (internet access, flat screen tv, etc.).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located pretty much in downtown ... so you have walking access to almost anything ... shopping, entertainments, the waterfront, dinning.

Back to menu Return to top