$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

W Seattle

4 stars
1112 4th Avenue, 1112 4th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
76 reviews
Great hotel in the heart of downtown Seattle

My only critique is that the gym is the size of a broom closet. That is it.. Other than that, this... See full review

  • glantz
  • Jul 15, 2014
Great stay at the W Seattle!

We had a near perfect stay at the W Seattle in late June. 4.5 stars, half a star docked for a minor... See full review

  • HappyCamper88
  • Jul 8, 2014
Chic, urban style in the heart of Seattle
The W Seattle towers above the city, its lighted steel pyramid top integrated into Seattle's skyline. The contemporary hotel has 415 rooms and nine suites, all filled with amenities to suit lifestyle-minded travelers. The W Seattle has a full-service restaurant, and Seattle Weekly magazine named W Bar the best hotel bar in the city. The downtown hotel is within walking distance of city sights, dining and shopping. The W Seattle's concierge service, Wherever Whenever, helps guests plan the ideal Emerald City vacation.
Highlights
  • Full-service restaurant on site
  • In-room spa services
  • Wireless Internet access (fees apply)
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply)
Rooms
Even the simplest of rooms at the W Seattle offers guests an array of amenities. W signature beds, with pillow-top mattresses, sport 350-thread-count cotton-blend linens, down pillows and a goose-down duvet. Guests can request hypoallergenic pillows from a menu of pillows. Bliss Spa toiletries, two terrycloth-lined robes and a hair-dryer grace bathrooms. In-room entertainment is plentiful as well, with a CD/DVD library, iPod deck and 32-inch plasma-screen TV.
Features
The W Seattle promises a chic, urban refuge in downtown Seattle and delivers with amenities, decor and services. The hotel's design is sleek and spare, with muted earth tones and judicious touches of metal. In the lobby, which the W calls the Living Room, guests bask in front of a fireplace, lounge on velvet-covered furniture and check e-mail using complimentary wireless Internet access. Guests can work out with a personal trainer in the Sweat fitness center, then relax with an in-room spa treatment afterwards.
Dining
The W Seattle's full-service restaurant, Earth and Ocean, serves inventive takes on Pacific Northwest ingredients. It is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. W Bar, outfitted with sumptuous velvet drapes and dark woods, serves signature cocktails, such as the Emerald Drop, and light fare as a DJ spins tunes.
Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (14 mi/24.1 km)
  • Downtown Airporter shuttle service drops off across the street (fees apply)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail University Street station (one block)
  • Seattle Amtrak King Street station (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
Attractions
  • Pike Place Market (five blocks)
  • Seattle Art Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Seattle Aquarium (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Space Needle (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting rooms
  • 4,500-square-foot Great Room accommodates 520 guests
  • W Meetings Recess service
  • Business center with workstations and printers
  • Washington State Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.4 km)

Hotel Map

47.6069 -122.3336
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Seattle/Tacoma International Airport, (SEA), 24.14, KM;
Area description
Resort, Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Seattle also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

W Seattle Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Express check in
Childcare Service
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.4 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.5 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 1 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.1 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.2 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.2 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2.2 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.6 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.4 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.5 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 1 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.1 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.2 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.2 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2.2 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.6 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 3.1 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.5 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.6 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.9 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 5.2 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.7 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.4 mi

Dining

TRACE Sushi Bar
Step up to our 10-seat sushi bar inside TRACE Restaurant. Check out sustainable and local seafood that changes daily.
TRACE Bar
Stop in. Get together. Hang out. Try an innovative cocktail handcrafted from the liquor of a regional distillery. Or opt for a premier sake, a Seattle microbrew or one of our acclaimed wines from the West Coast and Europe.
TRACE
Indulge in a dynamic dining experience. Savor contemporary, inventive dishes comprising locally-sourced ingredients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for W Seattle

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MC Salts
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 11, 2013

Nice rooms; unromantic décor

I picked this hotel because it's right at the heart of downtown and close to everything I wanted to visit in one weekend. The staff was friendly, and the room was comfortable and relatively classy (great view of the new Seattle Public Library, plus they upgraded me!) but the hallways were flooded with creepy blue light (part of the modern theme, I guess) and the lobby and cocktail lounge were a little tacky. For the price, I would expect more luxury, more warm lighting, and less gimmicky surroundings. The colorful sushi in the bar made me feel like I was in Vegas. We stayed just one night here; had dinner at the Tillikum café in Belltown and brunch at Sitka & Spruce the next morning. Both excellent restaurants within walking distance. If I were to stay in the same area again, I would probably pick the Fairmont, which is right next door, or the Monaco across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Sitka & Spruce has a wonderful breakfast/brunch menu and a nice sun-flooded dining area. Plus they give you delicious homemade salted caramels at the end of the meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ML03
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Mar 4, 2013

Great stay

Hotel was clean, and staff was friendly. I enjoyed the car service too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Amazing restaurants walking distance. Try: Purple, and any Tom Douglas restaurant is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Heidi Hsu
Business
Seattle
Mar 4, 2013

W Seattle

Nice, convenient, clean. And the service is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tinkmasterflash
Business
Earth
Mar 3, 2013

Stay @ the W if you like to be abused

Came to the hotel. No hotel parking, garage is full. No suggestions as to where to park my car from any of the staff. After finding parking, walked in to hotel, was immediately greeted with deafeningly loud music, no greeting from anyone. Lots of people trying to look cool, whatever. Room was very average at best. Think Howard Johnson with blue lighting and cheap IKEA furniture. Walls were thin. I could hear the adjacent rooms quite easily and I'm sure they weren't being overly loud, just too loud for this "hotel". Next morning, go down to lobby, no good morning for a single staff member. Not that I really care but the staff should generally be acknowledging the customers. Waiting in line to check out, a rude woman just butts into the front of the line and the staff member helps her instead of explaining that there were 10 other guests who were waiting ahead of her. Shame on both of them, what is this, amateur hour? So bottom line, rude & unhelpful staff, noisy stay, marginally clean room, no parking. I think I am glad I didn't dare the hotel restaurant or gym, who knows what the heck would have happened there. I will never go to another W again & I'll probably tell other people how bad it was, it was memorably so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Morton's is the best. For a cozy evening, don't sit in the dining area, head for the hidden booth in the corner of the bar, it's extremely quiet, dark and you get what amounts to your own personal waiter. Wife & I love it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
budget connoisseur
Business
Silver Spring MD
Jan 28, 2013

Big Disappointment

Despite witty signage and bold decor, the W Hotel Seattle is cutting corners and it shows. The Great Room furnishings are starting to look worn, and the decor is visually incoherent. The limited restaurant menu needs a few blander choices for travelers whose stomachs are unsettled. With no in-room coffee, you have to dress and go down to the lobby for a complimentary cup--so you can't enjoy coffee while fixing your hair for the day. The restaurant staff were the rudest I've enountered in 35 years of business travel. And the building is a nightmare for wheelchair users. It was clean though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ann Mac
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 21, 2013

Lighting

Very modern style hotel. The lighting was not great, generally a dark feeling. Staff great though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Pink Door Restaurant and Kells Restaurant on Post Alley excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bertram Wooster
Business
Denver, CO
Jan 14, 2013

Incredible View

Stayed here on a scouting trip for a new place to live. It was incredible, view was incredible. Kind of wish I could move in permanently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jessie H.
Business
Indiana
Jan 9, 2013

Disappointed !

Front desk employers are cold, without passion. House keeping service need better improvement. People who worked in restaurant need to be more professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Power Traveler K
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Dec 21, 2012

Nice Business Hotel

For a business-related meeting in Seattle, this hotel worked well for me. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was very accomodating in room service delivery and making recommendations and reservations for a delicious restaurant nearby - Acqua.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Seattle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jamie Y
Business
Seattle
Nov 19, 2012

Date night

My husband and I live in the suburbs of Seattle and this was the 1st time we stayed in downtown Seattle. It was so much fun, plus we loved the hotel. I loved the lighting, it was so much better than most hotels with the harsh bright lights. We will go back for another stay for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top