$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

The Westin Seattle

4 stars
1900 5th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
274 reviews
great hotel!

Staff is attentive and concierge is knowledgeable. See full review

  • Kelvin from new york
  • Jul 12, 2014
great stay in downtown seattle

Nice staff, close to restaraunts and shopping with great views. See full review

  • Kim52
  • May 26, 2014
Corporate queen of the downtown hotel scene
With a big name like Westin on the door, guests expect lots of options. At the Westin Seattle, they get it. The twin-towered hotel offers nine types of rooms, from standard to workout (complete with treadmill and dumbbells) to a vast presidential suite. Amenities abound. Guests order in-room spa treatments, request a jogging stroller through the Kids Club program or swim in a heated indoor pool. For guests who want to leave this lap of convenience, the Westin Seattle is located within walking distance of most major Seattle tourist attractions.
Highlights
  • Nine types of rooms available
  • Westin's signature Heavenly Beds, also available in crib and dog-bed form
  • In-room spa treatments (fees apply)
  • Heated indoor pool
Rooms

The Westin Seattle's rooms are pleasantly decorated in natural hues. Each sports Westin's signature Heavenly Bed and Heavenly Bath, complete with double shower heads and bathrobes. All rooms offer a work space, coffee maker with Starbucks coffee and wireless Internet access (fees apply). Deluxe rooms, located on upper floors, offer stunning views of the skyline or waterfront. Workout rooms feature the guest's choice of treadmill or exercise bike, along with weights and Pilates equipment. For a splurge, the 325-square-foot grand view rooms, located on the top floors of the Westin Seattle, offer sweeping, panoramic views of the Puget Sound and Olympic Mountains.
Features
The Westin Seattle is like a little city. Guests have no reason to leave, other than to savor the sights of Seattle. The property has a Lobby Restaurant and Bar that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Lobby Bar's menu focuses on snacks and drinks. When guests do venture out, they're within walking distance of the city's treasures, including the Space Needle, Seattle Aquarium, Pacific Place shopping mall and the flagship Nordstrom department store.
Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Amtrak King Street Station (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Downtown Airporter bus service (fees apply)
Attractions
    • Paramount Theater (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
    • Seattle waterfront (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • Seattle Aquarium (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • Space Needle (1 mi/1.6 km)
    Business
    • 22 meeting rooms and conference rooms for 12 to 160 people
    • 24-hour business center
    • Washington State Convention and Trade Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)

    The Westin Seattle Rooms

    Traditional
    Description not provided

    Amenities

    • High-speed internet
    • Heated pool
    • Non Smoking
    General
    Non Smoking
    Concierge
    Pet friendly
    Elevators
    Activities
    Heated pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Jacuzzi
    Casino
    Children's activities
    Golf
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Coffee maker in room
    24 hour room service
    Services
    24 hour front desk
    Business center
    Maid service
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    Concierge desk
    Wake-up service
    In-Room Safe
    Shops/Commercial services
    Shopping mall
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Internet
    High-speed internet
    Parking
    Parking
    Valet parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities
    Accessible facilities
    Wheel chair access
    Ramp access to buildings
    Brailled elevators
    Room
    Television with cable
    Hairdryer in room
    Fire alarm with light
    Ironing board

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed The Westin Seattle also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

    Hotel Map

    47.613 -122.3379
    Nearby airports
    Seattle-Tacoma International (Sea-Tac) Airport, (SEA), 15.00, MI;
    Area description
    Downtown

    Nearby points of interest

    • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
    • Seattle Art Museum: 0.4 mi
    • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.4 mi
    • Port of Seattle: 0.7 mi
    • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
    • Experience Music Project: 0.8 mi
    • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
    • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
    • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
    • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
    • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
    • Safeco Field: 1.5 mi
    • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.6 mi
    • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
    • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
    • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
    • Seattle Art Museum: 0.4 mi
    • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.4 mi
    • Port of Seattle: 0.7 mi
    • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
    • Experience Music Project: 0.8 mi
    • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
    • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
    • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
    • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
    • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
    • Safeco Field: 1.5 mi
    • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.6 mi
    • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
    • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
    • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.5 mi
    • Museum of History and Industry: 2.8 mi
    • Husky Stadium: 3.1 mi
    • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.2 mi
    • Henry Art Gallery: 3.2 mi
    • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.6 mi
    • Woodland Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
    • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 4.7 mi
    • Discovery Park: 5.3 mi
    • Museum of Flight: 6.9 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    03:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (274)

    Ratings and reviews for The Westin Seattle

    Overall score

    4.1 / 5
    5.01.0
    274 out of 274
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4.3
    Hotel staff:
    4.3
    Room comfort:
    4.3
    Location:
    4.6
    Value:
    3.7

    88% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of The Westin Seattle

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Stula
    Honolulu, HI, USA
    Jan 10, 2012

    Relaxing

    This was the first time visiting Seattle, and I can't imagine staying anywhere else. It was clean, neat, comfortable. I'd definitely come back.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Review of The Westin Seattle

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    A1B2C3
    Hawaii
    Dec 28, 2011

    Such a great location, you may not even need a car!

    The number one thing that stands out for me is the location of the hotel. I rented a car but most of the time we walked to our destinations. Walking was much better because we were able to explore all the shops that we would have drove by if we took the car. Oh and if you do decide to go without a car then take advantage of Seattle's light rail system. You can catch the light rail to Westlake for only $2.75 and avoid taking an expensive shuttle or cab!! I was a little bummed when I found out the pool and gym was under renovations though. But it is totally understandable because every once in awhile that is necessary and the Westin offered to pay for a cab to use the Sheraton's facilities as an alternative.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

    If you don't have a car and walking is difficult then check out Seattle's bus system. In certain areas they have a ride free area where you can hop on a bus for a few blocks.

    Review of The Westin Seattle

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    sailor03
    Portland, OR, USA
    Dec 24, 2011

    West by westin

    i love staying at the westin! The rooms are of the highest quality - spacious, very comfortable and really clean. The staff were excellent in accommodating my comforts by having the room serviced, even though I woke at 3pm and being vegan, they were able to alter the room service menu when I felt like a late night snack. I highly recommend the westin to anyone.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of The Westin Seattle

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    AnantD
    Business
    Chicago, IL
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nice Experience

    Was an excellent value for a premium hotel. Wonderful view of downtown Seattle from the upper floors.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of The Westin Seattle

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Dilettante
    Victoria, BC, Canada
    Nov 1, 2011

    Excellent Seattle location and accommodation.

    Great value thru Orbitz and the reservation was simple. With three persons sharing a room, we had space and the view was stunning. The 18 year-old from Australia lay in her bed at night, emailing her family and friends as she watched the Seattle skyline; truly memorable. Walking everywhere was easy and Judy the concierge, gave us great ideas for Seattle Center and dining there. We chose to use our towels more than once and received the $5.00 voucher which we used in the 5th Avenue Cafe for breakfast; much appreciated! All the staff were very helpful and I will choose this hotel again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Not Applicable

    Dining in the restaurant at the Space Needle; fine food, fabulous view and good value. Judy suggested this and reserved the table.

    Review of The Westin Seattle

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Patrica
    Phoenix, AZ, USA
    Oct 31, 2011

    Tourists

    Every thing was great especially the cocserars who gave us great information everytime we needed it which was every day. Great view from our room.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

    Don't expect to walk if you have a problem like I do but cabs were relatively cheap and always availble.

    Review of The Westin Seattle

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    b1234
    St. Johns, Oregon
    Oct 24, 2011

    Westin Hotel in Seattle Not a Good Deal

    It's not that Westin Hotel is a bad place, it's just that for the money you end up spending there it doesn't deliver the equivalent value. The hotel says that it provides free self-parking facilities and free internet. Only valet parking was available at $35 a night. And, yes, free internet if you go down to the lobby: otherwise it costs $10 for the standard internet speed and more if heavy streaming is needed. In-room coffee: one cup at a time when most hotels offer a 2-4 cup unit. Refrigerator: well, sort of: It is completely stocked and to use it you have to take something out, which is tantamount to buying the removed item as there is an $8 charge just to make room to store something. The room has a nice balcony but it is only for show: the windows are not doors. The room was uncomfortably hot and the heat control indecipherable. Both nights I slept there I had terrible nightmares and I am not usually prone to that level of sleep difficulty. I have dealt with these kind of issues for $60/night hotels, but not for $200/night hotels (which is what this totalled after all the extra charges). I had really intended to go to the Warwick Hotel a block away which altogether would have been a much better value. I don't intend to stay at this hotel or any affliliated hotel from this corporation ever again. Now, of course, if you have plenty of money to throw away, don't really intend to sleep much or drive anywhere and you do get out of the hotel as much as possible, this would be a fine place. There is a lot of hustle from the people providing service (although I think the housekeeper took a 3-hour lunch break) and the elevators are fast. However, for me money, independence, flexibility and, simply, honesty, is most important and this hotel rates much less than 4 stars as a result of not meeting these standards.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Review of The Westin Seattle

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Stview woo
    Dallas, TX, USA
    Oct 17, 2011

    Nice place

    room was nice with a great view. We walked everywhere downtown. Very convenient.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Review of The Westin Seattle

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    market mom
    Tulsa, OK, USA
    Oct 10, 2011

    Great Girl Trip

    While paying a premium for location and view, we had to be moved to get what we had paid for. Great hotel, but make sure you get a distance away from the elevators to eliminate some of the noise. Staff is excellent. They go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. Great location, just a few short blocks to shopping, world famous dining, and public transportation is only a step away.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    3 Sister's Bakery is wonderful. Make sure and go to the market on Pike and get fresh produce and fresh bread.

    Review of The Westin Seattle

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Mike from the Bay Area
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Sep 29, 2011

    Westin vs. Hyatt

    As parent to a freshman at Univ of Washington I stayed in Seattle 3 times between April-August 2011. 1st at Grand Hyatt, 2nd at Hyatt Olive, 3rd at Westin. Westin offered best view: 26th floor room view of the Space Needle, downtown & water-- awesome! The Hyatts felt newer, though the Westin's room seemed bigger with a sofa (&/or was more efficiently laid out). All 3 had nice indoor pools and jacuzzi. Westin & Hyatt Olive had bar in lobby making for nice ambience though I hardly drink. The prices were similar. Hard to say if I'll go with Grand Hyatt or Westin next time as both get high marks. My preference would be to enjoy the hotel amenities of the Grand Hyatt and sleep in the room at the Westin. :)

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    You might not associate Ruth Chris steakhouse as a "breakfast locale" but it's superb with white table cloth, good menu selection, excellent food, and very reasonable prices. It's part of the Grand Hyatt, a short walk from the Westin.

    Back to menu Return to top