$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

5 stars
View map of 411 University Street, Seattle, WA 98101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
153 reviews
Visit to family

The fairmont is a beautiful old hotel. The location is ideal and close to public transportation.... See full review

  • Edward M.
  • Apr 29, 2015
perfect hotel

love the hotel. ideally located in thebest part of the city- pike market walking distance, shopping... See full review

  • maria theresa a.
  • Feb 20, 2015
Award-winning service and luxury in Seattle's historical surroundings
Built in 1924, the Fairmont Olympic Seattle hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The property was fully restored in the 1980s and renovated in 2005. Thus, guests enjoy the full charm of the vintage building along with the comforts of a modern hotel. The Fairmont Olympic Seattle hotel showcases elegant style and service, offering comfort to all kinds of guests. Children receive their own menu in all restaurants and cookies and milk at bedtime.
Highlights
  • Circa-1924 building listed on the National Register of Historic Places
  • Luxurious bedding and bath amenities
  • Full-service fitness center
  • On-site dining
Rooms
Traditional appointments, including dark-wood furniture, skirted beds and comfortable seating, underscore the Fairmont Olympic Seattle hotel's approach to guest comfort. All rooms feature a courtyard or city view and functional windows. Down pillows and duvets adorn beds. Dressing areas and working desks complete the package. Suites, which measure 450 to 490 square feet, offer city views and enough space for meetings or private entertaining.
Features
Elegance and luxury mark the Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel. Beautiful plantings surround the restored vintage building, built in Italian Renaissance style. Inside, tradition reigns. Tradition is amply evident in the lobby, which boasts ornate carved pillars, overstuffed furniture and a grand double staircase. Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel provides impeccable service.
Dining
Shuckers, opened in the 1930s, is one of Seattle's oldest oyster bars. Shuckers offers 13 varieties of the bivalve, as well as fresh seafood and local artisan beers. Georgian, a formal restaurant, offers a European translation of Pacific Northwest cuisine, as well as afternoon tea. Terrace, the lobby piano bar at the Fairmont Olympic Seattle hotel, serves light fare and sophisticated cocktails.
Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (14.7 mi/23.5 km)
  • Boeing Field/King County International Airport (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail University Street station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Downtown Airporter shuttle service (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Pike Place Market (0.5 mi/0.8km)
  • Seattle Aquarium (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Space Needle (1.1 mi/1.76 km)
  • Seattle Center (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
Business
  • 25,010 square feet of meeting space
  • 13 meeting rooms accommodate up to 750 people
  • Video and teleconferencing capabilities
  • Business center with fax, copy and secretarial services
Policies and fees
  • Non-refundable rates will be charged the full amount for all nights booked. Regular reservations will be billed one night's room and tax for late cancellations.
  • Valet parking fee is $42 USD
  • Self parking fee is $34 USD

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Olympic Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Fairmont Olympic Hotel Rooms

Fairmont Room
Fairmont rooms are intimate rooms with traditional elegant decor. The rooms feature a spacious ensuite bathroom, cozy dressing area and a working desk.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms are spacious, comfortable accommodations that feature a traditional elegant decor. All Deluxe rooms offer an intimate sitting area and a well-equipped working desk. There is also an expansive ensuite bathroom with a comfortable dressing area.
Executive Suite
Executive Suites are well-appointed and offer partial privacy for business meetings or they can be used as hospitality suites for small groups. Executive Suites feature one elegantly furnished bedroom with a spacious ensuite bathroom and adjacent dressing area. The bedroom is separated from the living room by draped French doors. The luxurious living room is furnished with a love seat and one plush armchair.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.4 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.4 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.1 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.1 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.1 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.2 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2.1 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.5 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.4 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.4 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.1 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.1 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.1 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.2 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2.1 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.5 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 3 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.4 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.5 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.8 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 5.1 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.6 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.5 mi

Dining

The Georgian
The Georgian, now celebrating its 20th year rated as a AAA 4 Diamond restaurant, features French-inspired Northwest cuisine prepared by Executive Chef Gavin Stephenson in Seattle's premier dining room.
Shuckers
Boasting the beautifully carved oak paneling and unique tin ceiling of the haberdashery it once was in the 1930's, Shuckers is one of Seattle's oldest and most pre-eminent oyster bars. With a daily menu featuring a selection of fresh fish and seafood, Shuckers brims with 13 different kinds of oysters prepared nine different ways and features local artisan micro brews.
The Terrace
A sophisticated piano bar located in the heart of the main lobby, The Terrace offers an ample selection of refined refreshments. Sip exotic martinis, famous champagnes and ports, indulgent coffees and cocktails of every description while savoring hors d'oeuvres and other tempting bites. Thursday through Saturday features live piano music during cocktail hour starting at 6:00pm.
In-Room Dining
In-Room Dining is available 24-hours a day to cater to your every need. With a broad menu including selections for breakfast, lunch, dinner, dessert, late night, large parties, as well as options for children - there's something for every appetite and occasion.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Olympic is Seattle's premier meeting place. Featuring 25,010 square feet of meeting and function space, including thirteen meeting rooms, The Fairmont Olympic lends an air of prestige to any gathering, from 12 to 750.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 153
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Taran
Business
Vancouver, BC
Mar 19, 2012

NOt a Fairmont

Quality of the hotel was lower than Best Western inn. very expensive in return I got nothing. Elevetor was not working for 24 hr that I was there? come on such a big name hotel and cannot get it fixed? carpet seems dirty floor were not polished in main lobby. I upgraded my room for additional charge - what do I get instead of looking a one street now I was able to see streets. Room was extremly cold during the whole time I was there I had my heat up to 85 but I was still cold as the room had three windows and only one heater with single pane windows. It took them for ever to get my car from the parking even when I phoned ahead of time. They chaged me for a phone made to Valet paring like that was not enough that they charged me 42 to park for less then 24 hrs. I will never go back. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JWDEN
Business
Denver, Colorado
May 7, 2012

Price Gouging

Charged $42 per day for valet parking. Would not stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vancitywomen
Business
Vancouver BC
Jul 16, 2012

No free WIFI Expensive to park

This hotel is beautiful, however the room was ordinary & had small beds. We had 4 adults in 2 double beds. The overnight parking was expensive and they did not provide free WIFI. We went to Safeco for 2 games and next time we will stay closer to the park. Our room overlooked a roof & another bldg., no view whatsoever. Could be because we booked online???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Safeco Field

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mamabear4L
Business
San Francisco
Apr 8, 2014

great family getawy

great location for a city tour, close to everywhere you want to visit in Seattle. the room was good but the first day we checked in, we found some crackers on the floor and sofa, which is a little negative for its reputation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tippey
Business
Kcmo
Jul 8, 2012

Good location

Overall good place. Lobby great. Rooms are close to needing updates and carpet replaced. Staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom of Seattleites
Business
Broomfield, CO
Nov 26, 2012

Thanksgiving weekend

The hotel is a grande old dame but somewhat inconsistent. The doormen were attentive and lovely, but one time, when we called ahead for our car, it wasn't there when we got to the valet 15 minutes later. I expected the hotel to be empty over the Thanksgiving weekend, but it was packed...one day our room didn't get cleaned until I told the front desk around dinner time. The food we ate at 2 breakfasts was ridiculously overpriced but delicious. the TV had the worst picture I've seen in years and the single pane windows let in lots of downtown street noise. The room was large, the beds very comfortable and it was nicely decorated. There were very few plugs for electronics and no free wifi. As I said, somewhat inconsistent. I'll try somewhere else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Seattle has it's own Macy's Thanksgiving day parade that passes in front of the hotel. It was great to watch even though it poured all morning!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco
Aug 7, 2009

"great location"

I requested a non-smoking suite, the suite for the first night as well as the wing smelled of stale cigeratte smoke, it was a smoking-allowed room, and I have two persons traveling with me who are quite sickly. I made a ruckus and they said Orbitz made that mistake and there were actually no non-smoking room available for that night.they switched us to a non-smoking room for the next two nights, the manager, [...], was very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Twin super mom
Business
Missoula, Montana
Nov 30, 2010

Fairmont Olympic

The Fairmont is centrally located for shopping and close to the Westlake Mall Monorail station for a quick trip to the Seattle Center. The Seattle Aquarium and Pikes Market are also in walking distance. Hotel is nice and the restaurants are not unreasonably expensive for a downtown hotel location. Look out for the parking fees, however, at $40 per day, we were a bit taken aback. Internet is also expensive. The fitness area and pool are nice for families. Lobby is a bit worn looking, but still nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the Westlake Mall to catch the Monorail to the Seattle Center, which includes the Space Needle, Pacific Science Center, and Experience Music Project.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Intense 3
Business
Pleasanton, CA, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Fantastic spring break

The staff was very courteous and helpful. We really enjoyed the cocktails and dessert on The Terrace. The milk and cookies at bedtime was a winner. Housekeeping was excellent. Even our laundry was folded up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Capital Grille provided a fabulous dining experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Parent from SF
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 15, 2012

Spring Break Getaway

The hotel was great. I probably should have not rented a car. I was surprised at check out that the parking was $42 a day. There was a great French bakery / coffee shop attached to the ground floor of the hotel...that was the most value oriented thing in the hotel...great breakfast pastries and coffees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Matt's, kitty corner from flying fish, at Pike's Market, upstairs was great - great food/great value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top