$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

5 stars
411 University Street, Seattle, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
137 reviews
Relaxing vacation

We had a perfect stay at the Fairmont. Amenities, including the pool and room service were great.... See full review

  • Maine Lobster
  • Aug 19, 2014
Old-fashioned Hotel, Well Maintained, Great Location

If you want every possible amenity, there are newer hotels that are more slick. On the other hand,... See full review

  • The Urban Fan
  • Aug 10, 2014
Award-winning service and luxury in Seattle's historical surroundings
Built in 1924, the Fairmont Olympic Seattle hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The property was fully restored in the 1980s and renovated in 2005. Thus, guests enjoy the full charm of the vintage building along with the comforts of a modern hotel. The Fairmont Olympic Seattle hotel showcases elegant style and service, offering comfort to all kinds of guests. Children receive their own menu in all restaurants and cookies and milk at bedtime.
Highlights
  • Circa-1924 building listed on the National Register of Historic Places
  • Luxurious bedding and bath amenities
  • Full-service fitness center
  • On-site dining
Rooms
Traditional appointments, including dark-wood furniture, skirted beds and comfortable seating, underscore the Fairmont Olympic Seattle hotel's approach to guest comfort. All rooms feature a courtyard or city view and functional windows. Down pillows and duvets adorn beds. Dressing areas and working desks complete the package. Suites, which measure 450 to 490 square feet, offer city views and enough space for meetings or private entertaining.
Features
Elegance and luxury mark the Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel. Beautiful plantings surround the restored vintage building, built in Italian Renaissance style. Inside, tradition reigns. Tradition is amply evident in the lobby, which boasts ornate carved pillars, overstuffed furniture and a grand double staircase. Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel provides impeccable service.
Dining
Shuckers, opened in the 1930s, is one of Seattle's oldest oyster bars. Shuckers offers 13 varieties of the bivalve, as well as fresh seafood and local artisan beers. Georgian, a formal restaurant, offers a European translation of Pacific Northwest cuisine, as well as afternoon tea. Terrace, the lobby piano bar at the Fairmont Olympic Seattle hotel, serves light fare and sophisticated cocktails.
Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (14.7 mi/23.5 km)
  • Boeing Field/King County International Airport (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail University Street station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Downtown Airporter shuttle service (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Pike Place Market (0.5 mi/0.8km)
  • Seattle Aquarium (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Space Needle (1.1 mi/1.76 km)
  • Seattle Center (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
Business
  • 25,010 square feet of meeting space
  • 13 meeting rooms accommodate up to 750 people
  • Video and teleconferencing capabilities
  • Business center with fax, copy and secretarial services
Policies and fees
  • Non-refundable rates will be charged the full amount for all nights booked. Regular reservations will be billed one night's room and tax for late cancellations.
  • Valet parking fee is $42 USD
  • Self parking fee is $34 USD

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

47.6083 -122.3347
Area served
Downtown Seattle.
Nearby airports
Seattle-Tacoma International Airport.
Area description
The Fairmont Olympic Hotel is ideally located in the heart of Seattle, footsteps from the city's most exciting attractions, including the famous Pike Place Market, Seattle Waterfront and Space Needle, plus a multitude of museums, theaters, shops and restaurants.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Olympic Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

The Fairmont Olympic Hotel Rooms

Fairmont Room
Fairmont rooms are intimate rooms with traditional elegant decor. The rooms feature a spacious ensuite bathroom, cozy dressing area and a working desk.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms are spacious, comfortable accommodations that feature a traditional elegant decor. All Deluxe rooms offer an intimate sitting area and a well-equipped working desk. There is also an expansive ensuite bathroom with a comfortable dressing area.
Executive Suite
Executive Suites are well-appointed and offer partial privacy for business meetings or they can be used as hospitality suites for small groups. Executive Suites feature one elegantly furnished bedroom with a spacious ensuite bathroom and adjacent dressing area. The bedroom is separated from the living room by draped French doors. The luxurious living room is furnished with a love seat and one plush armchair.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.4 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.4 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.1 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.1 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.1 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.2 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2.1 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.5 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.4 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.4 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.1 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.1 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.1 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.2 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2.1 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.5 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 3 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.4 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.5 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.8 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 5.1 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.6 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.5 mi

Dining

The Georgian
The Georgian, now celebrating its 20th year rated as a AAA 4 Diamond restaurant, features French-inspired Northwest cuisine prepared by Executive Chef Gavin Stephenson in Seattle's premier dining room.
Shuckers
Boasting the beautifully carved oak paneling and unique tin ceiling of the haberdashery it once was in the 1930's, Shuckers is one of Seattle's oldest and most pre-eminent oyster bars. With a daily menu featuring a selection of fresh fish and seafood, Shuckers brims with 13 different kinds of oysters prepared nine different ways and features local artisan micro brews.
The Terrace
A sophisticated piano bar located in the heart of the main lobby, The Terrace offers an ample selection of refined refreshments. Sip exotic martinis, famous champagnes and ports, indulgent coffees and cocktails of every description while savoring hors d'oeuvres and other tempting bites. Thursday through Saturday features live piano music during cocktail hour starting at 6:00pm.
In-Room Dining
In-Room Dining is available 24-hours a day to cater to your every need. With a broad menu including selections for breakfast, lunch, dinner, dessert, late night, large parties, as well as options for children - there's something for every appetite and occasion.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Olympic is Seattle's premier meeting place. Featuring 25,010 square feet of meeting and function space, including thirteen meeting rooms, The Fairmont Olympic lends an air of prestige to any gathering, from 12 to 750.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (137)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
137 out of 137
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mummy Susan
Vancouver, BC
Apr 19, 2013

Mother/ Daughter getaway!

Hotel was so wonderful...beautiful, comfy and great staff. Booked two days prior to trip and discovered we could have had the same suite for $100 LESS if we had just walked in off the street. Not so happy about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
san farncisco, CA
Oct 17, 2010

A place you can take your grandma

I really enjoyed my stay at the Fairmount Olympic. I stay in a lot of hotels and they had the best fitness center/pool/spa I've been in long while. I also really liked grabbing rides in the hotel limo to nearby parts of downtown Seattle. The ambiance is a little bit old and stuffy however, the restaurants in particular remind you of eating with your grandparents: far better to just grab breakfast at Starbs across the street. Plus, if your friends are going to pick you up in a beat up jalopy, you might want to consider staying at W or Ace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chaddus
Marysville, WA
Oct 13, 2012

They left cookies and milk in our car!

The location is perfect if you want to take your wife out to a great steak dinner at Capital Grille across the street. After dinner you can walk to the 5th Avenue Theatre and see a broadway show. The hotel itself is elaborately decorated with fancy historical aged pieces. The staff is as courteous and friendly as you can get. The room is generous and comfortable. The food is great, albeit with a 5-star price tag. The Fairmont is a great location and a great hotel. I'd come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Capital Grille

Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
SAN FRANCISCO, CA
Jul 31, 2009

GREAT SERVICE, LUXURIOUS SETTINGS

OVERALL ONE OF THE BEST WE HAD. STAFF WERE FRIENDLY. GYM WAS WELL EQUIPPED, EXCEPT FOR THE LACK OF AIR-CONDITIONING, WHICH WAS A DRAG WHEN TEMP HIT 90+ DEGREES WHEN WE WERE THERE. WE HAD DINNERS ON TWO CONSECUTIVE NIGHTS AT SHUCKERS - THOROUGHLY ENJOYED THE OYSTERS THERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

TRY THE HAPPY HOUR FROM 3:00PM - 5:00PM AT SHUCKERS.

Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tall Dad
Seattle
Jan 28, 2014

Fine for the price, but not amazing

It's a 5 star hotel, so no doubt that its a very nice place to stay. But is it the best 5 star or considerably better than a W or Westin. Not really. We had a very nice stay, but not worth the extra premium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suesue94
Arlington, WA, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Wonderful getaway for couples

Very clean and beautiful. Hope to stay there again with the kids soon. The location was perfect for seeing all the cool sites Seattle has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Aug 8, 2009

Great location,service and value!

Hotel services were very good, the Concierge staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. Our room was spacious, quiet, and comfortable. We walked all over downtown Seattle with the Olympic as our base. When we needed to go farther away the staff was very helpful in arranging a rental car that was delivered to the hotel. The hotel is truly top notch and the staff obviously takes pride in keeping the reputation up to their standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food within 3-4 blocks--Wild Ginger (Asian), Tulio's (Italian), Metropolitan Grill (great steaks)--all an easy walk. Great shopping is an easy 5 minute walk. Our only regret is that the hotels less formal restaurant the Garden Court was closed .

Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Spokane WA
Oct 24, 2010

Nice Place

Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Valet parking is $39 but you can park yourself around the corner for $30 but you must drag your luggage down a few small flights of stairs to get to the garage elevators. Orbitz prices are much better than the front desk pricing.

Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom of Seattleites
Broomfield, CO
Nov 26, 2012

Thanksgiving weekend

The hotel is a grande old dame but somewhat inconsistent. The doormen were attentive and lovely, but one time, when we called ahead for our car, it wasn't there when we got to the valet 15 minutes later. I expected the hotel to be empty over the Thanksgiving weekend, but it was packed...one day our room didn't get cleaned until I told the front desk around dinner time. The food we ate at 2 breakfasts was ridiculously overpriced but delicious. the TV had the worst picture I've seen in years and the single pane windows let in lots of downtown street noise. The room was large, the beds very comfortable and it was nicely decorated. There were very few plugs for electronics and no free wifi. As I said, somewhat inconsistent. I'll try somewhere else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Seattle has it's own Macy's Thanksgiving day parade that passes in front of the hotel. It was great to watch even though it poured all morning!

Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 14, 2011

Old and Fancy

I really enjoyed my stay as the room was nice - they even upgraded me at their own suggestion. The hotel is beautiful. However, they didn't have any coffee or tea in the room and everything they did have, they charged for - a lot! It was a short walk from the Light Rail and another short walk to the various downtown attractions. The concierge service was great. They referred me to a good place to get my nails done for only $12!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Pike's marketplace - lots to choose from there, but bring your rain coat and good walking shoes as it is very hilly.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search