$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

5 stars
411 University Street, Seattle, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
143 reviews
business stay

Overall great value for a upscale Seattle hotel. The bed was very comfortable. We had a suite and... See full review

  • L's Fairmont review
  • Dec 21, 2014
Good for Business

I arrived really late at night due to airline delays. The staff at that time of night was excellent... See full review

  • crelfe
  • Oct 26, 2014
Award-winning service and luxury in Seattle's historical surroundings
Built in 1924, the Fairmont Olympic Seattle hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The property was fully restored in the 1980s and renovated in 2005. Thus, guests enjoy the full charm of the vintage building along with the comforts of a modern hotel. The Fairmont Olympic Seattle hotel showcases elegant style and service, offering comfort to all kinds of guests. Children receive their own menu in all restaurants and cookies and milk at bedtime.
Highlights
  • Circa-1924 building listed on the National Register of Historic Places
  • Luxurious bedding and bath amenities
  • Full-service fitness center
  • On-site dining
Rooms
Traditional appointments, including dark-wood furniture, skirted beds and comfortable seating, underscore the Fairmont Olympic Seattle hotel's approach to guest comfort. All rooms feature a courtyard or city view and functional windows. Down pillows and duvets adorn beds. Dressing areas and working desks complete the package. Suites, which measure 450 to 490 square feet, offer city views and enough space for meetings or private entertaining.
Features
Elegance and luxury mark the Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel. Beautiful plantings surround the restored vintage building, built in Italian Renaissance style. Inside, tradition reigns. Tradition is amply evident in the lobby, which boasts ornate carved pillars, overstuffed furniture and a grand double staircase. Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel provides impeccable service.
Dining
Shuckers, opened in the 1930s, is one of Seattle's oldest oyster bars. Shuckers offers 13 varieties of the bivalve, as well as fresh seafood and local artisan beers. Georgian, a formal restaurant, offers a European translation of Pacific Northwest cuisine, as well as afternoon tea. Terrace, the lobby piano bar at the Fairmont Olympic Seattle hotel, serves light fare and sophisticated cocktails.
Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (14.7 mi/23.5 km)
  • Boeing Field/King County International Airport (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail University Street station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Downtown Airporter shuttle service (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Pike Place Market (0.5 mi/0.8km)
  • Seattle Aquarium (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Space Needle (1.1 mi/1.76 km)
  • Seattle Center (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
Business
  • 25,010 square feet of meeting space
  • 13 meeting rooms accommodate up to 750 people
  • Video and teleconferencing capabilities
  • Business center with fax, copy and secretarial services
Policies and fees
  • Non-refundable rates will be charged the full amount for all nights booked. Regular reservations will be billed one night's room and tax for late cancellations.
  • Valet parking fee is $42 USD
  • Self parking fee is $34 USD

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Olympic Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

The Fairmont Olympic Hotel Rooms

Fairmont Room
Fairmont rooms are intimate rooms with traditional elegant decor. The rooms feature a spacious ensuite bathroom, cozy dressing area and a working desk.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms are spacious, comfortable accommodations that feature a traditional elegant decor. All Deluxe rooms offer an intimate sitting area and a well-equipped working desk. There is also an expansive ensuite bathroom with a comfortable dressing area.
Executive Suite
Executive Suites are well-appointed and offer partial privacy for business meetings or they can be used as hospitality suites for small groups. Executive Suites feature one elegantly furnished bedroom with a spacious ensuite bathroom and adjacent dressing area. The bedroom is separated from the living room by draped French doors. The luxurious living room is furnished with a love seat and one plush armchair.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.4 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.4 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.1 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.1 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.1 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.2 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2.1 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.5 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.4 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.4 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.1 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.1 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.1 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.2 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2.1 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.5 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 3 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.4 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.5 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.8 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 5.1 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.6 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.5 mi

Dining

The Georgian
The Georgian, now celebrating its 20th year rated as a AAA 4 Diamond restaurant, features French-inspired Northwest cuisine prepared by Executive Chef Gavin Stephenson in Seattle's premier dining room.
Shuckers
Boasting the beautifully carved oak paneling and unique tin ceiling of the haberdashery it once was in the 1930's, Shuckers is one of Seattle's oldest and most pre-eminent oyster bars. With a daily menu featuring a selection of fresh fish and seafood, Shuckers brims with 13 different kinds of oysters prepared nine different ways and features local artisan micro brews.
The Terrace
A sophisticated piano bar located in the heart of the main lobby, The Terrace offers an ample selection of refined refreshments. Sip exotic martinis, famous champagnes and ports, indulgent coffees and cocktails of every description while savoring hors d'oeuvres and other tempting bites. Thursday through Saturday features live piano music during cocktail hour starting at 6:00pm.
In-Room Dining
In-Room Dining is available 24-hours a day to cater to your every need. With a broad menu including selections for breakfast, lunch, dinner, dessert, late night, large parties, as well as options for children - there's something for every appetite and occasion.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Olympic is Seattle's premier meeting place. Featuring 25,010 square feet of meeting and function space, including thirteen meeting rooms, The Fairmont Olympic lends an air of prestige to any gathering, from 12 to 750.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (143)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 143
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maine Lobster
Business
Kennebunk, Maine
Aug 19, 2014

Relaxing vacation

We had a perfect stay at the Fairmont. Amenities, including the pool and room service were great. The location is difficult to beat - just a quick walk to the Seattle Art Museum, Pike Place Market, and more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
choicelaw
Business
Los Angeles, California
Aug 11, 2014

Charming Seattle

Went for our anniversary. The Fairmont is charming and exudes old-school charm and character. The room was nice, might be starting to show some age in the carpets and paint though. Fantastic location in downtown Seattle, nice walk to Pike Place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kbern
Business
Stateline, Nevada
Aug 2, 2014

Perfect Stay!

Everything was superb. Room was gorgeous, staff was friendly and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the monorail to the space needle, fun and fast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex007
Business
Corona, California
Jul 25, 2014

First time in Seattle, and picked a great place to stay!

We really enjoyed this hotel. It was very clean, friendly staff, and the location was ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jack of the road
Business
NY NY
Jul 16, 2014

First Class

Hotel is very classy and regal with excellent service. We mentioned at check in that we were celebrating an anniversary. Found a nice note with a plate of chocolate covered strawberries waiting in the room later that night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not Rich Enough
Business
Spokane, Washington
Jul 16, 2014

For Rich Only

The Fairmont is a nice, classy old building but waaaay overpriced. $461 for what they call a deluxe suite (actually about 1.5 times the size of an average hotel room) is way too high a price, then add insult to injury by charging $37 to park overnight. Bottled water in the room was $8. Cookies, $8. So I spent $500 for an overnight stay in an average room with no view. Wow. My mistake. I only stayed because friends from Japan had booked a room there and we were picking them up. Never again. And the only place to eat was an overpriced restaurant belonging to, you guessed it, the Fairmont Olympic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are wealthy eat at Shuckers. Average meal $40 per person. There is a Subway Sandwich shop nearby but most restaurants are too far to walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tall Dad
Business
Seattle
Jan 28, 2014

Fine for the price, but not amazing

It's a 5 star hotel, so no doubt that its a very nice place to stay. But is it the best 5 star or considerably better than a W or Westin. Not really. We had a very nice stay, but not worth the extra premium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Petersjr
Business
Tucson, AZ, USA
Dec 29, 2013

Beautiful Hotel but, Lacking in Customer Service

The Fairmont is a Beautiful Holtel in an excellent location. Thier customer service is severly lacking. We called the front desk several times about a large barking dog that sounded like it was in the room next door. We were informed that The Fairmont was a pet friendly hotel. We were also told that if we didn't like the dog barking and keeping us awake, we could move to another room. We had been there for several days and were well settled into our room and did not want the hassel of moving that late at night. We do not understand why, if this is a pet friendly hotel, the pets can't all be on one floor so that only the pet owners are inconvienced not other guests. The solution to our problem should have been for the Hotel to move the offending dog and family to another location, not to expect us to pack up and move. I consider that very lously customer service and for that reason will probably never stay there again even though this has been our Hotel choice for our semi-annual trip to Seatle for years. I'm sure we can find another Hotel with better customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Brooklyn Seafood and Steak House is a great restaurant with wonderful service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim Cricket
Business
Portland, OR
Dec 6, 2013

Very nice

Hotel restuarants were great, we ate in both. Room was large, clean, and well equipped. Hall way carpets showed wear. Very helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A1Bert
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Oct 18, 2013

AWESOME HOTEL!!!!!

I wish Fairmont was in every big city! Everything was awesome!!!! I was surprised that such a hotel existed in these times. My husband and I loved everything about it. Great location. We walked everywhere. Hotel employees were so helpful in every thing we asked for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top