$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

5 stars
411 University Street, Seattle, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
143 reviews
business stay

Overall great value for a upscale Seattle hotel. The bed was very comfortable. We had a suite and... See full review

  • L's Fairmont review
  • Dec 21, 2014
Good for Business

I arrived really late at night due to airline delays. The staff at that time of night was excellent... See full review

  • crelfe
  • Oct 26, 2014
Award-winning service and luxury in Seattle's historical surroundings
Built in 1924, the Fairmont Olympic Seattle hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The property was fully restored in the 1980s and renovated in 2005. Thus, guests enjoy the full charm of the vintage building along with the comforts of a modern hotel. The Fairmont Olympic Seattle hotel showcases elegant style and service, offering comfort to all kinds of guests. Children receive their own menu in all restaurants and cookies and milk at bedtime.
Highlights
  • Circa-1924 building listed on the National Register of Historic Places
  • Luxurious bedding and bath amenities
  • Full-service fitness center
  • On-site dining
Rooms
Traditional appointments, including dark-wood furniture, skirted beds and comfortable seating, underscore the Fairmont Olympic Seattle hotel's approach to guest comfort. All rooms feature a courtyard or city view and functional windows. Down pillows and duvets adorn beds. Dressing areas and working desks complete the package. Suites, which measure 450 to 490 square feet, offer city views and enough space for meetings or private entertaining.
Features
Elegance and luxury mark the Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel. Beautiful plantings surround the restored vintage building, built in Italian Renaissance style. Inside, tradition reigns. Tradition is amply evident in the lobby, which boasts ornate carved pillars, overstuffed furniture and a grand double staircase. Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel provides impeccable service.
Dining
Shuckers, opened in the 1930s, is one of Seattle's oldest oyster bars. Shuckers offers 13 varieties of the bivalve, as well as fresh seafood and local artisan beers. Georgian, a formal restaurant, offers a European translation of Pacific Northwest cuisine, as well as afternoon tea. Terrace, the lobby piano bar at the Fairmont Olympic Seattle hotel, serves light fare and sophisticated cocktails.
Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (14.7 mi/23.5 km)
  • Boeing Field/King County International Airport (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail University Street station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Downtown Airporter shuttle service (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Pike Place Market (0.5 mi/0.8km)
  • Seattle Aquarium (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Space Needle (1.1 mi/1.76 km)
  • Seattle Center (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
Business
  • 25,010 square feet of meeting space
  • 13 meeting rooms accommodate up to 750 people
  • Video and teleconferencing capabilities
  • Business center with fax, copy and secretarial services
Policies and fees
  • Non-refundable rates will be charged the full amount for all nights booked. Regular reservations will be billed one night's room and tax for late cancellations.
  • Valet parking fee is $42 USD
  • Self parking fee is $34 USD

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Olympic Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

The Fairmont Olympic Hotel Rooms

Fairmont Room
Fairmont rooms are intimate rooms with traditional elegant decor. The rooms feature a spacious ensuite bathroom, cozy dressing area and a working desk.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms are spacious, comfortable accommodations that feature a traditional elegant decor. All Deluxe rooms offer an intimate sitting area and a well-equipped working desk. There is also an expansive ensuite bathroom with a comfortable dressing area.
Executive Suite
Executive Suites are well-appointed and offer partial privacy for business meetings or they can be used as hospitality suites for small groups. Executive Suites feature one elegantly furnished bedroom with a spacious ensuite bathroom and adjacent dressing area. The bedroom is separated from the living room by draped French doors. The luxurious living room is furnished with a love seat and one plush armchair.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.4 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.4 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.1 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.1 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.1 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.2 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2.1 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.5 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.4 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.4 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.1 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.1 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.1 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.2 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2.1 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.5 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 3 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.4 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.5 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.8 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 5.1 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.6 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Olympic is Seattle's premier meeting place. Featuring 25,010 square feet of meeting and function space, including thirteen meeting rooms, The Fairmont Olympic lends an air of prestige to any gathering, from 12 to 750.

Dining

The Georgian
The Georgian, now celebrating its 20th year rated as a AAA 4 Diamond restaurant, features French-inspired Northwest cuisine prepared by Executive Chef Gavin Stephenson in Seattle's premier dining room.
Shuckers
Boasting the beautifully carved oak paneling and unique tin ceiling of the haberdashery it once was in the 1930's, Shuckers is one of Seattle's oldest and most pre-eminent oyster bars. With a daily menu featuring a selection of fresh fish and seafood, Shuckers brims with 13 different kinds of oysters prepared nine different ways and features local artisan micro brews.
The Terrace
A sophisticated piano bar located in the heart of the main lobby, The Terrace offers an ample selection of refined refreshments. Sip exotic martinis, famous champagnes and ports, indulgent coffees and cocktails of every description while savoring hors d'oeuvres and other tempting bites. Thursday through Saturday features live piano music during cocktail hour starting at 6:00pm.
In-Room Dining
In-Room Dining is available 24-hours a day to cater to your every need. With a broad menu including selections for breakfast, lunch, dinner, dessert, late night, large parties, as well as options for children - there's something for every appetite and occasion.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (143)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelling William
Business
New York
Oct 30, 2012

Overrated

We arrived late from a NY flight, and although I had paid for the room weeks earlier, receptionist told me only 2nd floor room available (deluxe room) with view of vents and a/c ducts outside. Room was outdated and ergonomically strange, and did not contribute to our enjoyment of Seattle in the least. Felt as if I was a second-class citizen booking online.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wild Ginger Restaurant was wonderful fusion restaurant very close by!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
World Traveler 808
Business
Hawaii
Oct 24, 2012

I'm going back to stay

From the minute our taxi hit the front portico until we left the premises three days later, this Hotel and it's well-trained, friendly and caring staff went over board to make my first trip to Seattle a resonding success. I can't say enough good things about the Faimont Olympic. Head and shoulders above some the the grand hotels around the world i've stayed in over thelast 50 years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask the Concierge and the doormen, they know everyhting, fromthenearwst Starbuskc sot th cost of a cab ride across town. They are fonts of knowledge and glad to share with visitors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chaddus
Business
Marysville, WA
Oct 13, 2012

They left cookies and milk in our car!

The location is perfect if you want to take your wife out to a great steak dinner at Capital Grille across the street. After dinner you can walk to the 5th Avenue Theatre and see a broadway show. The hotel itself is elaborately decorated with fancy historical aged pieces. The staff is as courteous and friendly as you can get. The room is generous and comfortable. The food is great, albeit with a 5-star price tag. The Fairmont is a great location and a great hotel. I'd come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Capital Grille

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MOLO2012
Business
Laguna Niguel
Sep 29, 2012

Quiet, comfortable and relaxing

The staff were very friendly and very helpful. They all could have been Concierge's as they were all very knowledgable on everything. Shucker's was fantastic as was the Georgian (hotel restaurants). Room was very clean, Bellhops were outstanding. Great location. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Catch Shucker's happy hour with great prices on oyster's and soooo fresh!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doctor Laura
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 29, 2012

Fantastic Seattle getaway

My husband and I went to Seattle to explore it's many fun, cultural and foodie evnts. The hotel is situated perfectly and we were able to walk throughout the city. The staff was very professional and courteous and concierge staff particularly helpful in arranging a wonderful 6 hour Snoqualme waterfall and Woodinville winery tour. Museums, Pikes Place Market and cruises on the bay were memorable. Fairmont Hotel loaned a wheelchair and wre more than helpful. The restaurants and bar were exceptionally good. Favorite cocktail: sidecar! I ould not recommend Chinatown though, it was the only unpleasant experience of the trip. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Purple has a great wine list, is hip and open very late. The food is excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
coko
Business
Seattle
Sep 23, 2012

a fantastic getaway from my hubby

it was great and i loved it and will be back soon, the staff at the hotel was great everyone was nice and polite, i loved the dinning and the room service was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carok
Business
Hummelstown, PA
Sep 19, 2012

Phenomenal hotel

From the minute we walked in the front door till we walked out to come home the experience at the Fairmont Hotel was unbelievably wonderful. The staff would approach and asked if they could help and the concierege(Sayakara) was amazing with her knowledge and helpfullness. We really enjoyed this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The tour to Crystal Mountain on the gondola was super with a great view of Mount Ranier. The Argosy luncheon harbor cruise was also fun and informative. Took a winery tour that was OK- one winery not so good but 2 were good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bead Lover
Business
Porterville CA
Sep 19, 2012

More than 5-Star

Stay of a lifetime. Pampered. Absolutely great. Want to make this a yearly trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We wish we had eaten in the hotel more than we did. Food and service were amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sheshe123
Business
Minnesota
Aug 30, 2012

Great location.

We are a middle aged,middle class couple who enjoy traveling. We chose the Fairmont for it location to many of the tourist sites. It was within walking distance to many things. As for the Fairmont, it was alright. No 5 stars in my opinion. It looks a bit tired and worn. The chairs in the lobby seem sagged and dirty, as is the carpet. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff wasn't very friendly. If you arrive in a $100,000 car they seem to cater to you. If not they pretty much ignore you. Also when we checked out we were charged $42 for parking, so watch your invoice closely. The Shuckers restaurant was great- excellent seafood. Also 3 Starbucks within a block- easy to grab breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Happy hour within the hotel lobby is a bargain. Cheap appetizers and drinks. We made it our dinner one night, after a long day of touring.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
All Names Taken
Business
Honolulu, HI
Aug 23, 2012

Spacious room for family and convenient location to the sites and shopping.

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed in a Deluxe room which was very spacious. The hotel is conveniently located to Pike's Place, stores, and near the public transportation which was free within the downtown area from 6am to 7 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the public transportation which is close to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top