$254 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

5 stars
411 University Street, Seattle, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
199 reviews
First time in Seattle, and picked a great place to stay!

We really enjoyed this hotel. It was very clean, friendly staff, and the location was ideal. See full review

  • Alex007
  • Jul 25, 2014
Fantastic stay

Every member of the Fairmont team we encountered was professional, friendly, warm and welcoming.... See full review

  • Kiwi12
  • Jul 9, 2014
Award-winning service and luxury in Seattle's historical surroundings
Built in 1924, the Fairmont Olympic Seattle hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The property was fully restored in the 1980s and renovated in 2005. Thus, guests enjoy the full charm of the vintage building along with the comforts of a modern hotel. The Fairmont Olympic Seattle hotel showcases elegant style and service, offering comfort to all kinds of guests. Children receive their own menu in all restaurants and cookies and milk at bedtime.
Highlights
  • Circa-1924 building listed on the National Register of Historic Places
  • Luxurious bedding and bath amenities
  • Full-service fitness center
  • On-site dining
Rooms
Traditional appointments, including dark-wood furniture, skirted beds and comfortable seating, underscore the Fairmont Olympic Seattle hotel's approach to guest comfort. All rooms feature a courtyard or city view and functional windows. Down pillows and duvets adorn beds. Dressing areas and working desks complete the package. Suites, which measure 450 to 490 square feet, offer city views and enough space for meetings or private entertaining.
Features
Elegance and luxury mark the Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel. Beautiful plantings surround the restored vintage building, built in Italian Renaissance style. Inside, tradition reigns. Tradition is amply evident in the lobby, which boasts ornate carved pillars, overstuffed furniture and a grand double staircase. Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel provides impeccable service.
Dining
Shuckers, opened in the 1930s, is one of Seattle's oldest oyster bars. Shuckers offers 13 varieties of the bivalve, as well as fresh seafood and local artisan beers. Georgian, a formal restaurant, offers a European translation of Pacific Northwest cuisine, as well as afternoon tea. Terrace, the lobby piano bar at the Fairmont Olympic Seattle hotel, serves light fare and sophisticated cocktails.
Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (14.7 mi/23.5 km)
  • Boeing Field/King County International Airport (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail University Street station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Downtown Airporter shuttle service (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Pike Place Market (0.5 mi/0.8km)
  • Seattle Aquarium (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Space Needle (1.1 mi/1.76 km)
  • Seattle Center (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
Business
  • 25,010 square feet of meeting space
  • 13 meeting rooms accommodate up to 750 people
  • Video and teleconferencing capabilities
  • Business center with fax, copy and secretarial services
Policies and fees
  • Non-refundable rates will be charged the full amount for all nights booked. Regular reservations will be billed one night's room and tax for late cancellations.
  • Valet parking fee is $42 USD
  • Self parking fee is $34 USD

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

47.6083 -122.3347
Area served
Downtown Seattle.
Nearby airports
Seattle-Tacoma International Airport.
Area description
The Fairmont Olympic Hotel is ideally located in the heart of Seattle, footsteps from the city's most exciting attractions, including the famous Pike Place Market, Seattle Waterfront and Space Needle, plus a multitude of museums, theaters, shops and restaurants.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Olympic Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

The Fairmont Olympic Hotel Rooms

Fairmont Room
Fairmont rooms are intimate rooms with traditional elegant decor. The rooms feature a spacious ensuite bathroom, cozy dressing area and a working desk.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms are spacious, comfortable accommodations that feature a traditional elegant decor. All Deluxe rooms offer an intimate sitting area and a well-equipped working desk. There is also an expansive ensuite bathroom with a comfortable dressing area.
Executive Suite
Executive Suites are well-appointed and offer partial privacy for business meetings or they can be used as hospitality suites for small groups. Executive Suites feature one elegantly furnished bedroom with a spacious ensuite bathroom and adjacent dressing area. The bedroom is separated from the living room by draped French doors. The luxurious living room is furnished with a love seat and one plush armchair.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.4 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.4 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.1 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.1 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.1 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.2 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2.1 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.5 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.4 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.4 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.1 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.1 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.1 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.2 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2.1 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.5 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 3 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.4 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.5 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.8 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 5.1 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.6 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Olympic is Seattle's premier meeting place. Featuring 25,010 square feet of meeting and function space, including thirteen meeting rooms, The Fairmont Olympic lends an air of prestige to any gathering, from 12 to 750.

Dining

The Georgian
The Georgian, now celebrating its 20th year rated as a AAA 4 Diamond restaurant, features French-inspired Northwest cuisine prepared by Executive Chef Gavin Stephenson in Seattle's premier dining room.
Shuckers
Boasting the beautifully carved oak paneling and unique tin ceiling of the haberdashery it once was in the 1930's, Shuckers is one of Seattle's oldest and most pre-eminent oyster bars. With a daily menu featuring a selection of fresh fish and seafood, Shuckers brims with 13 different kinds of oysters prepared nine different ways and features local artisan micro brews.
The Terrace
A sophisticated piano bar located in the heart of the main lobby, The Terrace offers an ample selection of refined refreshments. Sip exotic martinis, famous champagnes and ports, indulgent coffees and cocktails of every description while savoring hors d'oeuvres and other tempting bites. Thursday through Saturday features live piano music during cocktail hour starting at 6:00pm.
In-Room Dining
In-Room Dining is available 24-hours a day to cater to your every need. With a broad menu including selections for breakfast, lunch, dinner, dessert, late night, large parties, as well as options for children - there's something for every appetite and occasion.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (199)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
199 out of 199
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2-wheelers
Business
Yakima, WA
Jun 18, 2010

Lived up to the 5 stars

We went to Seattle for a Dental Convention and chose this hotel because they are the official WSDA hotel site. We also appreciated the fact that the Fairmont Olympic is the site of the first Univ of Washington, where we are alumni. It was gorgeous; classic; and well-appointed in every way. We chose the more modestly priced room but it was more than adequate. The bathroom was especially large. There were amenities galore throughout. I especially loved the spa/fitness/pool complex on the 2nd floor with outdoor and indoor patios. They had about two dozen types of equipment or more. The women's locker room had its own sauna, showers, robes, flipflops, amenities like razors, shaving cream, deoderant, and the like. I've never seen a spa like this. The jetted tub will hold 18 people; it was a piece of cubist art at 105 degrees. The pool was shallow, no more than 4 feet with cascading waterfalls. It was adequate for laps. These pools are enclosed in a lovely large glassed-in garden section with roof vents, palm trees and tropical flowers. Staff was plentiful in the hotel from doormen, valet and concierges. All were extremely courteous and met our needs promptly. Valet car-pick-up time was less than their quoted ten minutes. The only problem was the wall thermostat. It was hard to regulate at night -- either too cold or too warm. We tried to operate it in the dark so as not to wake up the other. In the "intimate rooms" there is not a large amount of drawer space. Okay for a weekend, but if you have lots of clothes, check on this and consider an upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Within few blocks walk to great shopping, tourist activities on the waterfront, ferries, museums, 5th Avenue Theater.

Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Antelope, CA
Jun 9, 2010

Fairmont Olympic Seattle Review

Short walk to mall and eateries

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Antelope, CA
Jun 9, 2010

Fairmont Olympic Seattle Review

Short walk to mall and eateries

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
vancouver, BC
Mar 23, 2010

Expected a bit more

very close to all the stores and restaurants. not far from the ocean. I would have enjoyed my stay a bit more if the room layout was similar to the ones on the pictures. Definitely not worth the price to get a bigger room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If the view is important to you and you dont want to spend too much money, and dont care about the pool. I would stay at the edgewater hotel. our friends were staying there and its amazing.

Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
vancouver, BC
Mar 23, 2010

Expected a bit more

very close to all the stores and restaurants. not far from the ocean. I would have enjoyed my stay a bit more if the room layout was similar to the ones on the pictures. Definitely not worth the price to get a bigger room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If the view is important to you and you dont want to spend too much money, and dont care about the pool. I would stay at the edgewater hotel. our friends were staying there and its amazing.

Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle
Mar 17, 2010

Outstanding

I have never been to this hotel before. I was impressed as soon as we pulled into the courtyard. The staff was fantastic and made our weekend all that hoped it would be. First class service and dinning and the room we had was perfect and with a great view!.No doubt we will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Schucker seafood was excellent...must try

Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle
Mar 17, 2010

Outstanding

I have never been to this hotel before. I was impressed as soon as we pulled into the courtyard. The staff was fantastic and made our weekend all that hoped it would be. First class service and dinning and the room we had was perfect and with a great view!.No doubt we will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Schucker seafood was excellent...must try

Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
samfrancisco33
San Francisco
Nov 2, 2009

Weekend in luxury!

I am so glad that my friend and I splurged on the luxurious Fairmont. It was beautiful and comfortable, and the service was first class. We were booked at another downtown hotel for the weekend, and checked out after one night after being horribly disappointed with a TINY room, terrible customer service AND loss of our reservation for the next 2 nights. We are so glad we switched to the Fairmont. From the second the smiling and friendly doorman opened the front doors for us, we felt like royalty. Very professional and friendly service across the board. And the room was beautiful and very quiet, despite being in the middle of everything. My friend and I felt like princesses!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
samfrancisco33
San Francisco
Nov 2, 2009

Weekend in luxury!

I am so glad that my friend and I splurged on the luxurious Fairmont. It was beautiful and comfortable, and the service was first class. We were booked at another downtown hotel for the weekend, and checked out after one night after being horribly disappointed with a TINY room, terrible customer service AND loss of our reservation for the next 2 nights. We are so glad we switched to the Fairmont. From the second the smiling and friendly doorman opened the front doors for us, we felt like royalty. Very professional and friendly service across the board. And the room was beautiful and very quiet, despite being in the middle of everything. My friend and I felt like princesses!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seatttle
Oct 14, 2009

Great hotel & location.

Very enjoyable and beautiful restaurant in hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top