$237 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

5 stars
View map of 411 University Street, Seattle, WA 98101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
155 reviews
Weekend Trip

My friends and I stayed here for a quick weekend getaway and it was an amazing stay! We stayed here... See full review

  • Stephanie C.
  • Jul 8, 2015
Awesome trip

Great experience . Nice location downtown , great stuff . Will do it again. See full review

  • Cristina T.
  • Jun 29, 2015
Built in 1924, the Fairmont Olympic Seattle hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The property was fully restored in the 1980s and renovated in 2005. Thus, guests enjoy the full charm of the vintage building along with the comforts of a modern hotel. The Fairmont Olympic Seattle hotel showcases elegant style and service, offering comfort to all kinds of guests. Children receive their own menu in all restaurants and cookies and milk at bedtime.
Dining
Shuckers, opened in the 1930s, is one of Seattle's oldest oyster bars. Shuckers offers 13 varieties of the bivalve, as well as fresh seafood and local artisan beers. Georgian, a formal restaurant, offers a European translation of Pacific Northwest cuisine, as well as afternoon tea. Terrace, the lobby piano bar at the Fairmont Olympic Seattle hotel, serves light fare and sophisticated cocktails.
Rooms
Traditional appointments, including dark-wood furniture, skirted beds and comfortable seating, underscore the Fairmont Olympic Seattle hotel's approach to guest comfort. All rooms feature a courtyard or city view and functional windows. Down pillows and duvets adorn beds. Dressing areas and working desks complete the package. Suites, which measure 450 to 490 square feet, offer city views and enough space for meetings or private entertaining.
Property features
Elegance and luxury mark the Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel. Beautiful plantings surround the restored vintage building, built in Italian Renaissance style. Inside, tradition reigns. Tradition is amply evident in the lobby, which boasts ornate carved pillars, overstuffed furniture and a grand double staircase. Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel provides impeccable service.
Highlights
  • Circa-1924 building listed on the National Register of Historic Places
  • Luxurious bedding and bath amenities
  • Full-service fitness center
  • On-site dining
Nearby attractions
  • Pike Place Market (0.5 mi/0.8km)
  • Seattle Aquarium (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Space Needle (1.1 mi/1.76 km)
  • Seattle Center (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
Business
  • 25,010 square feet of meeting space
  • 13 meeting rooms accommodate up to 750 people
  • Video and teleconferencing capabilities
  • Business center with fax, copy and secretarial services
Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (14.7 mi/23.5 km)
  • Boeing Field/King County International Airport (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail University Street station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Downtown Airporter shuttle service (fees apply)
Policies
  • Non-refundable rates will be charged the full amount for all nights booked. Regular reservations will be billed one night's room and tax for late cancellations.
  • Valet parking fee is $42 USD
  • Self parking fee is $34 USD

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Olympic Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$170
4.1 / 5 409 reviews
★★★★
$219
4.2 / 5 195 reviews
★★★★
$179
4.1 / 5 353 reviews
★★★★
$215
4.3 / 5 132 reviews
★★★★
$199
4.4 / 5 126 reviews
★★★★
$199
4.5 / 5 134 reviews
★★★★
$191
4.2 / 5 55 reviews
★★★★
$228
4.3 / 5 81 reviews
★★★★
$198
4.2 / 5 126 reviews

The Fairmont Olympic Hotel Rooms

Fairmont Room
Fairmont rooms are intimate rooms with traditional elegant decor. The rooms feature a spacious ensuite bathroom, cozy dressing area and a working desk.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms are spacious, comfortable accommodations that feature a traditional elegant decor. All Deluxe rooms offer an intimate sitting area and a well-equipped working desk. There is also an expansive ensuite bathroom with a comfortable dressing area.
Executive Suite
Executive Suites are well-appointed and offer partial privacy for business meetings or they can be used as hospitality suites for small groups. Executive Suites feature one elegantly furnished bedroom with a spacious ensuite bathroom and adjacent dressing area. The bedroom is separated from the living room by draped French doors. The luxurious living room is furnished with a love seat and one plush armchair.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Seattle Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.4 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.1 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.1 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.1 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.2 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2.1 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.5 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Seattle Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.4 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.1 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.1 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.1 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.2 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2.1 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.5 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 3 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.4 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.5 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.8 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 5.1 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.6 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.5 mi

Dining

The Georgian
The Georgian, now celebrating its 20th year rated as a AAA 4 Diamond restaurant, features French-inspired Northwest cuisine prepared by Executive Chef Gavin Stephenson in Seattle's premier dining room.
Shuckers
Boasting the beautifully carved oak paneling and unique tin ceiling of the haberdashery it once was in the 1930's, Shuckers is one of Seattle's oldest and most pre-eminent oyster bars. With a daily menu featuring a selection of fresh fish and seafood, Shuckers brims with 13 different kinds of oysters prepared nine different ways and features local artisan micro brews.
The Terrace
A sophisticated piano bar located in the heart of the main lobby, The Terrace offers an ample selection of refined refreshments. Sip exotic martinis, famous champagnes and ports, indulgent coffees and cocktails of every description while savoring hors d'oeuvres and other tempting bites. Thursday through Saturday features live piano music during cocktail hour starting at 6:00pm.
In-Room Dining
In-Room Dining is available 24-hours a day to cater to your every need. With a broad menu including selections for breakfast, lunch, dinner, dessert, late night, large parties, as well as options for children - there's something for every appetite and occasion.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Olympic is Seattle's premier meeting place. Featuring 25,010 square feet of meeting and function space, including thirteen meeting rooms, The Fairmont Olympic lends an air of prestige to any gathering, from 12 to 750.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doctor Laura
Couples
Denver, CO
Sep 29, 2012

Fantastic Seattle getaway

My husband and I went to Seattle to explore it's many fun, cultural and foodie evnts. The hotel is situated perfectly and we were able to walk throughout the city. The staff was very professional and courteous and concierge staff particularly helpful in arranging a wonderful 6 hour Snoqualme waterfall and Woodinville winery tour. Museums, Pikes Place Market and cruises on the bay were memorable. Fairmont Hotel loaned a wheelchair and wre more than helpful. The restaurants and bar were exceptionally good. Favorite cocktail: sidecar! I ould not recommend Chinatown though, it was the only unpleasant experience of the trip. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Purple has a great wine list, is hip and open very late. The food is excellent.

Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Victoria S.
Couples
Seabeck
Jul 8, 2015

First time at a 5-star Hotel

My husband and I decided to stay at a five star hotel when the prices dropped to what we were willing to pay. We stayed there over the July 4th holiday. Pros: Staff was very friendly and helpful, the hotel was walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go, and the room was nice. Cons: For a five star, we had high expectations. After spending the amount we did for the hotel, we didn't expect to pay for parking and in their parking garage, you were charged per night. If you drank the coffee or had any mini-bar contents, everything had a price they would bill you for afterwards. When we first opened the mini-fridge, I found a strand of hair in the fridge door too dark to be ours. If you want internet and aren't a member of the hotel, you're charged for the wi-fi every 24 hours. The marble bathroom was very nice but the tub seemed narrow and shower wall was too close. After our experience, it will probably be the only time we're at a 5-star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephanie C.
Friends
Daly City
Jul 8, 2015

Weekend Trip

My friends and I stayed here for a quick weekend getaway and it was an amazing stay! We stayed here during the winter and of course with our luck it happened to snow that weekend :( Luckily the hotel offers a car service (7 Series!) and we were able to get rides to our local destinations (within a 3 mile radius I think). Staff was great and courteous and we were also upgraded to a bigger corner room with a hugggge bathroom. The location of the hotel is great too, within walking distance of Pike Place. I would definitely stay here again when I return to Seattle!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cristina T.
Couples
BELLEVUE
Jun 29, 2015

Awesome trip

Great experience . Nice location downtown , great stuff . Will do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cristina T.
Couples
BELLEVUE
Jun 26, 2015

Awesome trip

Great experience . The only thing that I didn't like was the size of the room . Much smaller than expected .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Houston Eagle
Couples
N/A
Jun 5, 2015

Great Getaway

The location was great. The room was a little dated, with worn carpet and leaky bathroom faucets. The staff was very responsive and friendly. The Terrace Lounge was a nice place for a late drink after a day of sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Renee P.
Business
N/A
May 15, 2015

Business

Was a good business trip, hotel is great, had a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Edward M.
Family
N/A
Apr 29, 2015

Visit to family

The fairmont is a beautiful old hotel. The location is ideal and close to public transportation. The rooms are large and well appointed and clean. The gym facility is not glamorous but has enough for a complete vacation workout. My only complaint is that some of the finishings are run down and need replacement, most notably the hallway carpeting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HMH2014
Single
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Historic Landmark Hotel

The hotel decor is dated, yet opulent. The doorman - both in the am and at night - remembered me and both were so gracious. The front desk/reception were professional and efficient they knew the answer to all my questions and were quite hospitable. My room was well appointed, exceptionally clean with nice toiletries and very friendly staff - especially the doormen and housekeeping. The location was pretty close to shopping, restaurants [The City Grille was excellent], and public transportation. Room service was decent - but my dinner was not hot upon arrival, but breakfast was exceptional and highly recommended. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
maria theresa a.
Family
Valencia
Feb 20, 2015

perfect hotel

love the hotel. ideally located in thebest part of the city- pike market walking distance, shopping street is also close by. rooms are big. shuckers restarant is a must try. valet leaves cookie and milk at your car when you get your car in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeff Seattle
Couples
Puyallup
Feb 18, 2015

Great Room

The hotel was great. It was a great location and a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top