$230 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Sorrento Hotel

4 stars
900 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
182 reviews
Excellent overnight stay

We stayed here for one night prior to getting flight home at the end of our holiday in... See full review

  • A and A
  • Jun 19, 2014
Beautiful Historic Hotel

We loved our Corner Suite. It had lot's of natural light through the windows, along with a wet bar... See full review

  • VacationLover020
  • Jun 11, 2014
Iconic vintage hotel in historic First Street neighborhood
Built in 1909, the Sorrento Hotel remains Seattle’s oldest boutique hotel. Its current owners restored the property in the 1980s, and kept much of its original charm. The Sorrento Hotel’s Fireside Room features the original mahogany paneling and fireplace, making it a favorite spot for cocktails in Seattle. Service is attentive. The hotel boasts a ratio of 1.3 staffers for every guest, which helped it earn AAA’s 4 diamond award.
Highlights
  • Vintage building with original touches
  • Complimentary car service to nearby attractions
  • On-site Pilates and yoga studio
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Rooms
The Sorrento Hotel offers 76 guest rooms on six floors. All rooms feature traditional furnishings and marble baths. Suites on higher floors offer city views. Other guest room amenities include custom-made Sealy mattresses, 400 threat-count Egyptian cotton linens and wireless Internet service. Guests receive complimentary coffee service and a copy of The Seattle Times each morning.
Features
The Sorrento Hotel considers itself a place for Seattleites to gather as well as out-of-towners. The Fireside Room, resplendent with vintage mahogany paneling and a vast green-tiled fireplace, makes a cozy place to meet friends or colleagues. The Fireside Room also offers afternoon tea. The Hunt Club specializes in hearty takes on Pacific Northwest cuisine. For food for thought, Sorrento Hotel hosts Night School, a salon-like series featuring local artists, chefs and writers.
Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (14.5 mi/23.2 km)
  • King County International Airport (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Center station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Seattle Amtrak station (1 mi/1.6 km)
Attractions
  • Pike Place Market (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Pioneer Square (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Space Needle (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Woodland Park Zoo (6.8 mi/10.9 km)
Business
  • Six meeting rooms accommodate 20 to 60 people
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Washington State Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

Sorrento Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite
Junior suites are studio suites and feature one King bed. All junior suites feature bathrooms in Italian Marble, desk and chair, full length mirror, sitting area with sofa or love seat and coffee table. Sitting area is not partitioned from sleeping area, but designed in a studio type setting. This non-smoking room featuring air conditioning, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, CD player, Multi-line phone, fax machine complimentary newspaper, voice mail, internet access - wireless, desk, designer toiletries, premium bedding, windows that open,turndown service, minibar, hypo-allergenic bedding available, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker, clock radio, climate control,wake-up calls, housekeeping, extra towels, linens, bedding.
Sorrento Suite
Sorrento suites are a one bedroom suite and feature one queen bed. All Sorrento suites feature bathrooms in Italian marble, desk and chair full length mirror, sitting area with sofa or love seat partitioned off from sleeping area by French doors. This non-smoking room features air conditioning, premium TV channels cable/satellite TV, CD player, Multi-line phone, fax machine complimentary newspaper, voice mail, internet access - wireless, desk, designer toiletries, premium bedding, windows that open, turndown service, minibar, hypo-allergenic bedding available, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker, clock radio, climate control,wake-up calls, housekeeping, extra towels, linens, bedding.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms feature one queen bed. All deluxe rooms feature bathrooms in Italian Marble, desk and chair, full length mirror and sitting chair. This non-smoking room features air conditioning, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, CD player, Multi-line phone, fax machine complimentary newspaper, voice mail, internet access - wireless, desk, designer toiletries, premium bedding, window opens, turndown service, minibar, hypo-allergenic bedding available, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker, clock radio, climate control, wheelchair accessible, wake-up calls, housekeeping, extra towels, linens, bedding.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sorrento Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

47.6084 -122.3273
Area served
Downtown Seattle
Nearby airports
Seattle-Tacoma International Airport Boeing Field
Area description
Merge onto I-5 North. Take Exit 164A. Proceed 1.5 miles to Madison St. Turn right onto Madison St. Drive three blocks up the hill. Turn left onto Terry Ave. The hotel is at the corner of Madison St. and Terry Ave.

Nearby points of interest

  • Frye Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.7 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.7 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.2 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 1.3 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.3 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.3 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.5 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.4 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.7 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.7 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.2 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 1.3 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.3 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.3 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.5 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.4 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.8 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3.1 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.2 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.4 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.7 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 5.3 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.8 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.4 mi

Dining

Fireside Room
Without question one of the most gorgeous public rooms in the city, the octagonal Fireside Room is the perfect place for quiet chats and light dining by the crackling fire. Original paintings by Morris Graves, plush wingback chairs and couches, gleaming mahogany-paneled walls, and rich tones of russet, ruby, and gold create a warmly inviting ambience. The focal point is the fireplace with its antique tiled pottery mosaic depicting an Italian landscape. The Fireside Room offers light dinners and a formal afternoon tea daily. On Friday and Saturday evenings live entertainment is performed by a featured musician or band. Open from early afternoon until late evening
Cafe Palma
During summer months, this Amalfi-inspired Caf offers outdoor seating and a casual menu featuring the season's freshest ingredients.
Hunt Club Bar
This long, lean bar with comfortable banquette seating is a fine place to sip a smooth martini. Open nightly.
The Hunt Club
This intimate restaurant, among the most acclaimed in Seattle, serves inspired Northwest cuisine with a Mediterranean influence and complemented by an extensive wine list. With deep wood paneling, sensuously flavored foods, and twinkling candlelight at dinnertime, it's no wonder that the Hunt Club is the setting for close to 100 marriage proposals each year. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel offers 6 banquet and meeting rooms, perfect for groups of 5-120 guests with a total of 4,761 square feet/ 442 meters.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (182)

Ratings and reviews for Sorrento Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 182
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jake 1
Business
Central California
Jul 16, 2014

Looking for semi-retirement destinations

Excellent from the entry, lobby, front desk help and concierges. Older hotel that has been wonderfully restored.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dinning: Blue Acers! Excellent

Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gaddo
Business
Milan, Italy
Jun 6, 2013

Good old-fashion hotel

Confortable room in a renovated old-style building. Good location for the Washington Convention Center, although it is up the hill. Recommendation: bring confortable shoes, if you like to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
piruli
Business
New York, NY, USA
May 16, 2013

good hotel

nice staff, they are very nice and helpful. Kind of noisy, I could hear everything from outside and inside, by 6:30am there was a lot of noise. That was the only bad thing in my staying

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rma111
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Jul 23, 2012

Very Good Stay

Overall a very good experience. Sorrento is located on "Pill Hill" (named because of a couple nearby hospitals) and is halfway between Capitol Hill and the Pikes Market . It is reasonable walking distance from most everything but the 1 mile back up from Pikes Market is all uphill. However, the hotel had a courtesy shuttle to take you anywhere (or pick up) within a 2 mile radius, which was a nice touch. Lobby is European style, with lots of mahogany giving it a rich and elegant look. A jazz duo was playing in the lobby area on Sat night and they were very good. Rooms are quaint and well appointed with 2 large screen flat panel TV's, a nicely stocked refrig and French press coffee maker. Not many have great views though and the beds were a bit too soft. It would also have been helpful to have 2 sinks. Shower and tub were adequate although the water had a tendency to switch from hot to cold abruptly. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Basically the hotel had a warm, homey feel to it which was accented by the look of everything from lobby to room and complemented by a good staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 6, 2011

Acceptable 4 star hotel

The rooms at the hotel are nice enough, however I had a couple of minor issues. First, the A/C at full blast did not really cool my room off much. This wasn't much of an issue as it wasn't very warm during my stay but in the summer months I think this could be an issue. In addition, there is only one older elevator for the entire building which can be a little inconvenient when waiting. Overall the lobby and other common areas are somewhat dated but not bad. The rooms are 4 star but the rest of the hotel is not quite what I would consider 4 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 6, 2011

Acceptable 4 star hotel

The rooms at the hotel are nice enough, however I had a couple of minor issues. First, the A/C at full blast did not really cool my room off much. This wasn't much of an issue as it wasn't very warm during my stay but in the summer months I think this could be an issue. In addition, there is only one older elevator for the entire building which can be a little inconvenient when waiting. Overall the lobby and other common areas are somewhat dated but not bad. The rooms are 4 star but the rest of the hotel is not quite what I would consider 4 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Owensboro KY
Nov 11, 2010

Gorgeous Hotel

The hotel was gorgeous. As a designer, I appreciated the detail in the architecture and the high quality of its finishes. The rooms were just as impressive - with luxury linens, marble tile in the bath, and high end fabrics on the furniture. The dining was spectacular as well. Overall - I loved my stay. The only negative comment I have is: On my departure the front desk and concierge were less than helpful! I was disappointed in their level of interest in doing their job - even though I was leaving. I would not let that stop be from returning - the food and room more than made up for their rude behavior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Owensboro KY
Nov 11, 2010

Gorgeous Hotel

The hotel was gorgeous. As a designer, I appreciated the detail in the architecture and the high quality of its finishes. The rooms were just as impressive - with luxury linens, marble tile in the bath, and high end fabrics on the furniture. The dining was spectacular as well. Overall - I loved my stay. The only negative comment I have is: On my departure the front desk and concierge were less than helpful! I was disappointed in their level of interest in doing their job - even though I was leaving. I would not let that stop be from returning - the food and room more than made up for their rude behavior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montana
Sep 3, 2010

Charming

Old and a little quirky but nicely maintained. Valet parking included is a nice feature. Very comfortable bed. Have a drink and listen to music in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

The walk downtown is awesome(!) But requires a good pair of walking shoes and a decent pair of legs because it quite a steep decent and a steep return. We opted to leave our car behind in our spare time because the area is so interesting and we got lucky with perfect warm sunny weather.

Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montana
Sep 3, 2010

Charming

Old and a little quirky but nicely maintained. Valet parking included is a nice feature. Very comfortable bed. Have a drink and listen to music in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

The walk downtown is awesome(!) But requires a good pair of walking shoes and a decent pair of legs because it quite a steep decent and a steep return. We opted to leave our car behind in our spare time because the area is so interesting and we got lucky with perfect warm sunny weather.

Back to menu Return to top