$141 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Sorrento Hotel

4 stars
900 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
128 reviews
Cozy & Convenient

This hotel was in a great location. The staff was friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable.... See full review

  • Loving Seattle
  • Oct 23, 2014
Awesome

Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, lovely room, what more could the heart of man desire? Spent one... See full review

  • Zoltan D
  • Sep 17, 2014
Iconic vintage hotel in historic First Street neighborhood
Built in 1909, the Sorrento Hotel remains Seattle’s oldest boutique hotel. Its current owners restored the property in the 1980s, and kept much of its original charm. The Sorrento Hotel’s Fireside Room features the original mahogany paneling and fireplace, making it a favorite spot for cocktails in Seattle. Service is attentive. The hotel boasts a ratio of 1.3 staffers for every guest, which helped it earn AAA’s 4 diamond award.
Highlights
  • Vintage building with original touches
  • Complimentary car service to nearby attractions
  • On-site Pilates and yoga studio
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Rooms
The Sorrento Hotel offers 76 guest rooms on six floors. All rooms feature traditional furnishings and marble baths. Suites on higher floors offer city views. Other guest room amenities include custom-made Sealy mattresses, 400 threat-count Egyptian cotton linens and wireless Internet service. Guests receive complimentary coffee service and a copy of The Seattle Times each morning.
Features
The Sorrento Hotel considers itself a place for Seattleites to gather as well as out-of-towners. The Fireside Room, resplendent with vintage mahogany paneling and a vast green-tiled fireplace, makes a cozy place to meet friends or colleagues. The Fireside Room also offers afternoon tea. The Hunt Club specializes in hearty takes on Pacific Northwest cuisine. For food for thought, Sorrento Hotel hosts Night School, a salon-like series featuring local artists, chefs and writers.
Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (14.5 mi/23.2 km)
  • King County International Airport (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Center station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Seattle Amtrak station (1 mi/1.6 km)
Attractions
  • Pike Place Market (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Pioneer Square (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Space Needle (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Woodland Park Zoo (6.8 mi/10.9 km)
Business
  • Six meeting rooms accommodate 20 to 60 people
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Washington State Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sorrento Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Sorrento Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms feature one queen bed. All deluxe rooms feature bathrooms in Italian Marble, desk and chair, full length mirror and sitting chair. This non-smoking room features air conditioning, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, CD player, Multi-line phone, fax machine complimentary newspaper, voice mail, internet access - wireless, desk, designer toiletries, premium bedding, window opens, turndown service, minibar, hypo-allergenic bedding available, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker, clock radio, climate control, wheelchair accessible, wake-up calls, housekeeping, extra towels, linens, bedding.
Junior Suite
Junior suites are studio suites and feature one King bed. All junior suites feature bathrooms in Italian Marble, desk and chair, full length mirror, sitting area with sofa or love seat and coffee table. Sitting area is not partitioned from sleeping area, but designed in a studio type setting. This non-smoking room featuring air conditioning, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, CD player, Multi-line phone, fax machine complimentary newspaper, voice mail, internet access - wireless, desk, designer toiletries, premium bedding, windows that open,turndown service, minibar, hypo-allergenic bedding available, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker, clock radio, climate control,wake-up calls, housekeeping, extra towels, linens, bedding.
Sorrento Suite
Sorrento suites are a one bedroom suite and feature one queen bed. All Sorrento suites feature bathrooms in Italian marble, desk and chair full length mirror, sitting area with sofa or love seat partitioned off from sleeping area by French doors. This non-smoking room features air conditioning, premium TV channels cable/satellite TV, CD player, Multi-line phone, fax machine complimentary newspaper, voice mail, internet access - wireless, desk, designer toiletries, premium bedding, windows that open, turndown service, minibar, hypo-allergenic bedding available, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker, clock radio, climate control,wake-up calls, housekeeping, extra towels, linens, bedding.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Frye Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.7 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.7 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.2 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 1.3 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.3 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.3 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.5 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.4 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.7 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.7 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.2 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 1.3 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.3 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.3 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.5 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.4 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.8 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3.1 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.2 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.4 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.7 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 5.3 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.8 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.4 mi

Dining

Hunt Club Bar
This long, lean bar with comfortable banquette seating is a fine place to sip a smooth martini. Open nightly.
The Hunt Club
This intimate restaurant, among the most acclaimed in Seattle, serves inspired Northwest cuisine with a Mediterranean influence and complemented by an extensive wine list. With deep wood paneling, sensuously flavored foods, and twinkling candlelight at dinnertime, it's no wonder that the Hunt Club is the setting for close to 100 marriage proposals each year. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Fireside Room
Without question one of the most gorgeous public rooms in the city, the octagonal Fireside Room is the perfect place for quiet chats and light dining by the crackling fire. Original paintings by Morris Graves, plush wingback chairs and couches, gleaming mahogany-paneled walls, and rich tones of russet, ruby, and gold create a warmly inviting ambience. The focal point is the fireplace with its antique tiled pottery mosaic depicting an Italian landscape. The Fireside Room offers light dinners and a formal afternoon tea daily. On Friday and Saturday evenings live entertainment is performed by a featured musician or band. Open from early afternoon until late evening
Cafe Palma
During summer months, this Amalfi-inspired Caf offers outdoor seating and a casual menu featuring the season's freshest ingredients.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel offers 6 banquet and meeting rooms, perfect for groups of 5-120 guests with a total of 4,761 square feet/ 442 meters.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (128)

Ratings and reviews for Sorrento Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
toasty
Business
Lomita,CA
Jan 26, 2010

nightmare

When I got to the hotel they did not mention that there will be a $36.00 per day for parking, untill when I was leaving. (this will be disputed with cheap tickets and my credit card) Also the first day they give me a room that had a broken heater and lost of lamps with all the lights out, not working. I did bring it to their attention and they move me to a different room with one bed only although the room was reserved for two persons me and my daughter. This was ok with me, however the toilet had a leak and it will make noise like every 5 minutes. I did tell the front desk personnel about the problem and they were very nice in responding that they will take care of it, they did not fix the noisy toilet. I think that I should get all my money back not only the parking money that they charged with not telling me that this was separate from the vacation package. I do not know who is the responsible party on this, but I am going to be disputing this charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 3, 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!

First off...the hotel was nothing that it was portrayed to be in the advertisement! Valet parking was horrible and overpriced only because u are in the downtown area...and the valet just takes your car and parks it on the street anyway!!! Second off...when you walk in the hotel it has this creepy vibe like you're in a haunted hotel...even the room was creepy and had a foul odor...None of the furniture matched in the room either, it had black carpet with a cherry wood desk and a black chest drawer...the fold out sofa looked like they picked it up from a hippy's garage sale...it was all beat up. We didn't even stay there for 1 hour!!! I called [...]and had them cancel the reservation...we ended up being charged for that night even though we stayed there for like 30 minutes...but I would rather lose money for 1 night then stay there miserably for 4 nights...we ended up going to a LaQuinta and that was 10 times better than this place!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

GET ANOTHER HOTEL!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ron Juan
Business
Houstpm, TX
May 12, 2014

Not for the self-sufficient...

One of the things that bothers me most about this Hotel is that there is not self-parking. Everything is Valet, so be prepared for an extra $40 per day. (plus tips it seems every time you venture out.) I felt that I could have gotten my own ice, if there had been a place to go. The fitness center was nice, but the computer in the business center redefined s l o w . The Jazz playing in the first floor lounge would have been great, if I had been in the first floor lounge. I could hear it in my second floor room. Thank Heavens it stopped at 10:30. Be prepared to open a window to cool down. Even though it was nice to have fresh air, it was hard to find a comfortable balance. The staff was very nice, and seemingly the only real positive about my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The Pike Place Market is a definite plus. The best meal I had in Seattle was from a hot dog vendor there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cram N.
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 23, 2013

So-So

The lobby staff is wonderful. Our initial room had issues and they tried putting us into a smaller room, which was not adequate. Management stepped in and put us into a suite and was very helpful from that point forward. Rooms have different issues and can use some updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SleeplessfromKC
Business
Kansas City
Sep 5, 2013

Historical hotel in the heart of Seattle

Old hotel that has had a few updates inside the suites. Noisy, shades did not block out light, and the parking added another 39.00 daily to the room that was not disclosed at booking. We will not return except maybe to dine at The Hunt Club.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is $15.00 cheaper to park across the street if you have a car. If you really don't need a car if staying at this location because local transport is easy to catch. If you need it dark in your room to sleep, inspect your room first.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Seattle Visitor 000
Business
Bay Area, California
May 4, 2014

Decent location within walking distance of attractions.

The hotel is up a steep inclines street so make sure you have nice walking shoes when walking back and forth from the main downtown area. If you are taking the light rail from the airport the hotel is around a 15 minute walk from the University Ave station so don't bother taking a cab from the airport just take public transportation and save yourself a lot of money. Overall our stay was ok but we were disappointed in the 3rd floor room we got as all the windows faced directly into someone's apartment across from the alley. Make sure you either get a room above the 3rd floor or one that faces the front of the hotel. When you check in you get a wine cork which you can use for a glass of white or red wine which I thought was nice. There's only 1 elevator so you may have to wait a bit but once you're in and select your floor number it's quick to take you there. Additionally please note that they have a free car service so they can take you anywhere within a 2 mile radius of the hotel which came in handy when we checked out and got a ride to the light rail station in the morning. Overall nice experience within walking distance of night life and downtime market area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of bars and night clubs within a few block distance on Broadway/Madison/Pike/Pine st

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
phx az
Jan 19, 2010

Poor man has no choice at breakfast

The wind howled through the windows,$15.00 for a bad continental breakfast.even if free it would still bad,did not let us know that a continental breakfast was to be chargeable.2 pieces of tasteless hard cantolope,and honeydew,a cressant ,1 strawberry cut in half,3 blackberries,and about a dozen or less blueberries with juice.what a rip off.for just that reason I would not use again or recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Silverdale, WA
Oct 19, 2009

Too expensive for what you get

We went to see a show and didn't feel like taking a ferry home. While the ease of getting to it was nice, it isn't very close to the downtown area. The rooms are quaint and decorated in a subdued manner. I enjoyed the sense of history in the place. The rooms remind me of a past era. The pieces I did not enjoy was the noise level. It is next to a hospital, which means ambulances. The view from our room was miserable, not as bad as a brick wall - but almost. I can only hope that the ones on the other side of the hotel have a better view of the city. For the price, I would hope that there are better places to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa
May 1, 2010

Quaint hotel

Very friendly staff who remembered my name often. Fast and delicious room service. Courtesy car was a great convenience. View was a bit undesirable (low to the street). The most pillows I have ever seen on a bed in my life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Oct 6, 2009

Sorrento

small rooms not very amenities for being "luxurious" bath room nice. No vending machines, no hotel store. wanted light fast fare and was directed to their restaraunt. Found out there was a McDonalds on the next block. Also encouraged to use their car rather than taxi back to airport, but it would have cost more. Very expensive so so restaraunt. Was there for work at the hospital so great location for that. Walked to down town Seattle - wasn't bad at all. Very good food there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across street nice reasonable cafe for breakfast and lunch. Mc Donalds is close too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top