$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2014 Check-out: May 5, 2014

Sorrento Hotel

4 stars
900 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
104 reviews
A relaxing getaway

It was a perfect Long weekend. We especially enjoyed the car service as it was a rainy weekend.... See full review

  • Dodie dog trainer
  • Mar 18, 2014
Anniversary getaway

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was nice and clean. It has a very comfortable... See full review

  • Retired M.E.
  • Mar 7, 2014
Iconic vintage hotel in historic First Street neighborhood
Built in 1909, the Sorrento Hotel remains Seattle’s oldest boutique hotel. Its current owners restored the property in the 1980s, and kept much of its original charm. The Sorrento Hotel’s Fireside Room features the original mahogany paneling and fireplace, making it a favorite spot for cocktails in Seattle. Service is attentive. The hotel boasts a ratio of 1.3 staffers for every guest, which helped it earn AAA’s 4 diamond award.
Highlights
  • Vintage building with original touches
  • Complimentary car service to nearby attractions
  • On-site Pilates and yoga studio
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Rooms
The Sorrento Hotel offers 76 guest rooms on six floors. All rooms feature traditional furnishings and marble baths. Suites on higher floors offer city views. Other guest room amenities include custom-made Sealy mattresses, 400 threat-count Egyptian cotton linens and wireless Internet service. Guests receive complimentary coffee service and a copy of The Seattle Times each morning.
Features
The Sorrento Hotel considers itself a place for Seattleites to gather as well as out-of-towners. The Fireside Room, resplendent with vintage mahogany paneling and a vast green-tiled fireplace, makes a cozy place to meet friends or colleagues. The Fireside Room also offers afternoon tea. The Hunt Club specializes in hearty takes on Pacific Northwest cuisine. For food for thought, Sorrento Hotel hosts Night School, a salon-like series featuring local artists, chefs and writers.
Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (14.5 mi/23.2 km)
  • King County International Airport (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Center station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Seattle Amtrak station (1 mi/1.6 km)
Attractions
  • Pike Place Market (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Pioneer Square (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Space Needle (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Woodland Park Zoo (6.8 mi/10.9 km)
Business
  • Six meeting rooms accommodate 20 to 60 people
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Washington State Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

Sorrento Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite
Junior suites are studio suites and feature one King bed. All junior suites feature bathrooms in Italian Marble, desk and chair, full length mirror, sitting area with sofa or love seat and coffee table. Sitting area is not partitioned from sleeping area, but designed in a studio type setting. This non-smoking room featuring air conditioning, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, CD player, Multi-line phone, fax machine complimentary newspaper, voice mail, internet access - wireless, desk, designer toiletries, premium bedding, windows that open,turndown service, minibar, hypo-allergenic bedding available, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker, clock radio, climate control,wake-up calls, housekeeping, extra towels, linens, bedding.
Sorrento Suite
Sorrento suites are a one bedroom suite and feature one queen bed. All Sorrento suites feature bathrooms in Italian marble, desk and chair full length mirror, sitting area with sofa or love seat partitioned off from sleeping area by French doors. This non-smoking room features air conditioning, premium TV channels cable/satellite TV, CD player, Multi-line phone, fax machine complimentary newspaper, voice mail, internet access - wireless, desk, designer toiletries, premium bedding, windows that open, turndown service, minibar, hypo-allergenic bedding available, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker, clock radio, climate control,wake-up calls, housekeeping, extra towels, linens, bedding.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms feature one queen bed. All deluxe rooms feature bathrooms in Italian Marble, desk and chair, full length mirror and sitting chair. This non-smoking room features air conditioning, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, CD player, Multi-line phone, fax machine complimentary newspaper, voice mail, internet access - wireless, desk, designer toiletries, premium bedding, window opens, turndown service, minibar, hypo-allergenic bedding available, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker, clock radio, climate control, wheelchair accessible, wake-up calls, housekeeping, extra towels, linens, bedding.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sorrento Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

47.6084 -122.3273
Area served
Downtown Seattle
Nearby airports
Seattle-Tacoma International Airport Boeing Field
Area description
Merge onto I-5 North. Take Exit 164A. Proceed 1.5 miles to Madison St. Turn right onto Madison St. Drive three blocks up the hill. Turn left onto Terry Ave. The hotel is at the corner of Madison St. and Terry Ave.

Nearby points of interest

  • Frye Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.7 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.7 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.2 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 1.3 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.3 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.3 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.5 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.4 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.7 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.7 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.2 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 1.3 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.3 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.3 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.5 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.4 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.8 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3.1 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.2 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.4 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.7 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 5.3 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.8 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.4 mi

Dining

Fireside Room
Without question one of the most gorgeous public rooms in the city, the octagonal Fireside Room is the perfect place for quiet chats and light dining by the crackling fire. Original paintings by Morris Graves, plush wingback chairs and couches, gleaming mahogany-paneled walls, and rich tones of russet, ruby, and gold create a warmly inviting ambience. The focal point is the fireplace with its antique tiled pottery mosaic depicting an Italian landscape. The Fireside Room offers light dinners and a formal afternoon tea daily. On Friday and Saturday evenings live entertainment is performed by a featured musician or band. Open from early afternoon until late evening
Cafe Palma
During summer months, this Amalfi-inspired Caf offers outdoor seating and a casual menu featuring the season's freshest ingredients.
Hunt Club Bar
This long, lean bar with comfortable banquette seating is a fine place to sip a smooth martini. Open nightly.
The Hunt Club
This intimate restaurant, among the most acclaimed in Seattle, serves inspired Northwest cuisine with a Mediterranean influence and complemented by an extensive wine list. With deep wood paneling, sensuously flavored foods, and twinkling candlelight at dinnertime, it's no wonder that the Hunt Club is the setting for close to 100 marriage proposals each year. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel offers 6 banquet and meeting rooms, perfect for groups of 5-120 guests with a total of 4,761 square feet/ 442 meters.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Sorrento Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
104 out of 104
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
WearyTraveler
Waukegan, IL
Sep 19, 2011

Just what I needed

I needed a little pampering for my body and soul. The Sorrento did not disappoint. The beautifully appointed room, courteous and accommodating staff, the restaurant with its delicious food which were feasts for the eyes and palate and the gorgeous structure itself were the respite I needed. I also happened to love the rich history of the building itself and appreciated the aesthetic sensibility that has not been tampered with over its long existence. Classics never go out of style. Thank you, Sorrento Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The sourdough bread is to die for.

Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Princeton, NJ
Jan 25, 2010

Great Hotel with AWESOME Service

Great hotel in the middle of Seattle. Very service orientated staff. A great value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Lincoln, NE
Apr 30, 2007

Wonderful stay

The Sorrento was everything and more than what we had hoped it would be. Our room was not huge by any means, but we didn't need it to be. We spent most of our time out in Seattle. Our bed was extremely comfortable, with an assortment of pillows. Our room was impeccably clean. This is the first hotel that we have stayed at that was this clean. The housekeeping staff dusted, cleaned the bathroom, put away our shoes, and made our room sparkle! The rest of the staff was very friendly and helpful also. We mainly walked everywhere, however we did take the courtesy towncar a few times. The walk was not bad at all, in fact we enjoyed going for the walks. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The beauty of the Sorrento is beyond belief and even the elevator ran beautifully for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The convention center is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel, and there is plenty of shopping and dining (including the Cheesecake Factory) all around it.

Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Grand Rapids, MI
Aug 2, 2007

Very Charming

Comfort, comfort, comfort, the Sorrento proved to be above our expectation. We liked the location and found it to have everything we needed. The beds are out of this world, very comfortable. The staff is helpful and very polite. We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Frye Museum is a short walk and well worth a visit.

Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Vinnings, GA
Jun 6, 2009

A Seattle Treasure

This wonderful hotel is as spectacular as they get. Built many many years ago it has a wonderful personality; the recent upgrades are equal to any current hotel. The staff..... well, lets just say, they have no equal; the best I've had the pleasure to stay with. I travel about 1/3 of the year as a commercial photographer, the Hotel Sorrento has taken the lead as my favorite place to stay. Step back into the age of golden design and wonderful customer service, it's worth every penny!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The lounge entertainment was fantastic as well as the food and beverages.

Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Jul 7, 2007

Beautiful hotel

The Sorrento hotel was very charming and comfortable. The location is convenient to Pike's marketplace and they also have a free shuttle. The room was not particularly large but very comfortable and well appointed. The staff was extremely gracious and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Montana
May 23, 2011

Elegant Comfort

We appreciated the attentive staff, always available with advice for getting around in Seattle, including offers of free limo service. Our room was lovely, cozy and comfortable. We will definitely return to the Sorrento.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Sydney Australia
Jul 30, 2009

Great place to stay

Overall this is an excellent hotel. The 20's/30's style decore is kept in very good condition and is quite cosy and comfortable. The concierge and checkin staff couldn't be more helpful on our arrival and throughout our 5 day stay. The room we had was small-ish, however it was extremely comfortable with plenty of storage space and one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've slept in. Downtown is not too far to walk at all, though coming back up the hill might test the unfit! In any case there are plenty of nearby places to eat in almost any direction. A really easy and convenient stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
GradGirl1716
Ohio
Apr 28, 2013

Great Place to Stay!

This hotel was excellent! It is very old fashioned charming! They have a free car service to the downtown area, I highly reccomend you take advantage of it! The room was clean and comfortable! The housekeeping even left us a sweet note in our room! The only slightly bad thing I have to say is that because it is an older hotel, the walls are very thin and you can here everything! This was a great place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you use the free car service to downtown, it was so nice!

Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Dodie dog trainer
Seattle WA
Mar 18, 2014

A relaxing getaway

It was a perfect Long weekend. We especially enjoyed the car service as it was a rainy weekend. We'll stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top