$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Sorrento Hotel

4 stars
View map of 900 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sorrento Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Celebrating our anniversary
Business
Bainbridge Island
Jan 18, 2010

They deserve their reputation

We had high expectations for our first weekend away without kids...and our expectations were met. Great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seattle Oct 2009
Business
Halifax, NS Canada
Dec 26, 2009

Sorrento Hotel, Seattle Oct 09

The hotel is very unique and all of the rooms have different features. The in room stereo system was a really nice touch and the beds were very comfortable, beautiful linens and decor. Great downtown location. I did not enjoy the onsite restaurant...portions were skimpy, service was slow and dishes were over seasoned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lyons, Colorado
Oct 26, 2009

First Impressions Elegant and Friendly

First impressions scored big. My husband told me not to nickel and dime my long weekend trip so I chose the Sorrento as an experiment - it was heavenly, elegant, perfectly located for my needs. The town car service and 7 pillows on the bed add to the perfection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marky D
Business
NY NY
Oct 19, 2009

Old-world elegance w/modern amenities

The hotel has tons of character...lots of old-world elegance w/most of the modern amenities. Fitness center is bigger and nicer than most hotels. Location isn't super, but be sure to try the bakery and the thai restaurant just up the street. Vietnamese place was good and cheap too, but a bit shabby for most travelers' tastes, I'd think. Indian place looked goot too, but I never tried it (I loved the Thai place so much).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Silverdale, WA
Oct 19, 2009

Too expensive for what you get

We went to see a show and didn't feel like taking a ferry home. While the ease of getting to it was nice, it isn't very close to the downtown area. The rooms are quaint and decorated in a subdued manner. I enjoyed the sense of history in the place. The rooms remind me of a past era. The pieces I did not enjoy was the noise level. It is next to a hospital, which means ambulances. The view from our room was miserable, not as bad as a brick wall - but almost. I can only hope that the ones on the other side of the hotel have a better view of the city. For the price, I would hope that there are better places to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 19, 2009

Great location, beautiful hotel

Great location, beautiful hotel, friendly and helpful staff...loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Oct 19, 2009

Lovely stay

The Sorrento was the perfect home-base for seeing some of Seattle's key attractions. We walked to the Pikes Place Market daily for breakfast and enjoyed the views of the water on the way. It was also close to the Pioneer Square, retail areas of Seattle and great restaurants. There is some noise from the busy road (Madison) during rush-hour, but it was not overly disturbing. The staff was friendly and Megan's Sidecar drink at the bar was a great way to start (or end) the night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Canlis for a romantic, albeit pricey, dinner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Camarillo, CA
Oct 9, 2009

The Perfect Stay!

I absolutely LOVED this hotel! The hotel itself is gorgeous, the lobby is all dark woods, and the rooms are super clean and comfortable. I can't say enough about the staff. They were so helpful with restaurant recommendations, directions and anything else I needed. Most of them were calling me by name by day two. The Fireside Room was a nice place to hang out, with live music on the weekends, and the bar was great, especially during happy hour. The bartender named John was very cool. They made reservations for me at Elliott's Oyster House, and sent a complimentary plate of crabcakes over to my table. Plus they have a car and driver that will take you anywhere in a 2-mile radius, you just have to tip the driver. The only bad thing I can think of to say is that the hotel is located a block away from the entrance to an emergency room. Nice if you need it, but there were lots of sirens, which you don't notice if you keep the windows closed, but I like to keep the window open. Overall, should I ever visit Seattle again, I wouldn't even think of staying anywhere but the Sorrento. They made me feel like I was the only guest in the whole hotel. I didn't want to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use their car service! Parking is very expensive all over town. I don't think I ever spent less than $6 on parking, even for only an hour. With the car service, you just have to tip the driver, and they drop you off right where you want to go, then you just have to call them to be picked up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Oct 6, 2009

Sorrento

small rooms not very amenities for being "luxurious" bath room nice. No vending machines, no hotel store. wanted light fast fare and was directed to their restaraunt. Found out there was a McDonalds on the next block. Also encouraged to use their car rather than taxi back to airport, but it would have cost more. Very expensive so so restaraunt. Was there for work at the hospital so great location for that. Walked to down town Seattle - wasn't bad at all. Very good food there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across street nice reasonable cafe for breakfast and lunch. Mc Donalds is close too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southern California
Oct 5, 2009

Despite hype, just average

It was OK. The location is not close from downtown is quite a hike from tourist locations. In fact, the walk home is extremely steep. The place is very old and rooms are small. The TVs are old. Service is highly touted, but I didn't see it. In fact, the first night, a manager barged into our room claiming that he wasn't aware the floor was occupied. He then called to apologize and blamed it on us for requesting an upgrade (false), that wasn't in the computer. I was shocked that we weren't compensated in some way like free dinner for the disruption and invasion of privacy. Overall, I would say stay closer to downtown, where hotels are newer and cost less or about the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top