$181 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 12, 2015 Check-out: Mar 14, 2015

Sorrento Hotel

4 stars
View map of 900 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
131 reviews
Awesome and classic

The hotel stands for its reputation very classical early 20th century architecture all over all the... See full review

  • Ho-chun L.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Business Trip and Friendly Visit

I loved the beautiful vintage feel of the hotel. Despite the age, the amenities were great and I... See full review

  • Cerulia
  • Jan 5, 2015
Iconic vintage hotel in historic First Street neighborhood
Built in 1909, the Sorrento Hotel remains Seattle’s oldest boutique hotel. Its current owners restored the property in the 1980s, and kept much of its original charm. The Sorrento Hotel’s Fireside Room features the original mahogany paneling and fireplace, making it a favorite spot for cocktails in Seattle. Service is attentive. The hotel boasts a ratio of 1.3 staffers for every guest, which helped it earn AAA’s 4 diamond award.
Highlights
  • Vintage building with original touches
  • Complimentary car service to nearby attractions
  • On-site Pilates and yoga studio
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Rooms
The Sorrento Hotel offers 76 guest rooms on six floors. All rooms feature traditional furnishings and marble baths. Suites on higher floors offer city views. Other guest room amenities include custom-made Sealy mattresses, 400 threat-count Egyptian cotton linens and wireless Internet service. Guests receive complimentary coffee service and a copy of The Seattle Times each morning.
Features
The Sorrento Hotel considers itself a place for Seattleites to gather as well as out-of-towners. The Fireside Room, resplendent with vintage mahogany paneling and a vast green-tiled fireplace, makes a cozy place to meet friends or colleagues. The Fireside Room also offers afternoon tea. The Hunt Club specializes in hearty takes on Pacific Northwest cuisine. For food for thought, Sorrento Hotel hosts Night School, a salon-like series featuring local artists, chefs and writers.
Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (14.5 mi/23.2 km)
  • King County International Airport (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Center station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Seattle Amtrak station (1 mi/1.6 km)
Attractions
  • Pike Place Market (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Pioneer Square (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Space Needle (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Woodland Park Zoo (6.8 mi/10.9 km)
Business
  • Six meeting rooms accommodate 20 to 60 people
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Washington State Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sorrento Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Sorrento Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms feature one queen bed. All deluxe rooms feature bathrooms in Italian Marble, desk and chair, full length mirror and sitting chair. This non-smoking room features air conditioning, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, CD player, Multi-line phone, fax machine complimentary newspaper, voice mail, internet access - wireless, desk, designer toiletries, premium bedding, window opens, turndown service, minibar, hypo-allergenic bedding available, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker, clock radio, climate control, wheelchair accessible, wake-up calls, housekeeping, extra towels, linens, bedding.
Junior Suite
Junior suites are studio suites and feature one King bed. All junior suites feature bathrooms in Italian Marble, desk and chair, full length mirror, sitting area with sofa or love seat and coffee table. Sitting area is not partitioned from sleeping area, but designed in a studio type setting. This non-smoking room featuring air conditioning, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, CD player, Multi-line phone, fax machine complimentary newspaper, voice mail, internet access - wireless, desk, designer toiletries, premium bedding, windows that open,turndown service, minibar, hypo-allergenic bedding available, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker, clock radio, climate control,wake-up calls, housekeeping, extra towels, linens, bedding.
Sorrento Suite
Sorrento suites are a one bedroom suite and feature one queen bed. All Sorrento suites feature bathrooms in Italian marble, desk and chair full length mirror, sitting area with sofa or love seat partitioned off from sleeping area by French doors. This non-smoking room features air conditioning, premium TV channels cable/satellite TV, CD player, Multi-line phone, fax machine complimentary newspaper, voice mail, internet access - wireless, desk, designer toiletries, premium bedding, windows that open, turndown service, minibar, hypo-allergenic bedding available, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker, clock radio, climate control,wake-up calls, housekeeping, extra towels, linens, bedding.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Frye Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.7 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.7 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.2 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 1.3 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.3 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.3 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.5 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.4 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.7 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.7 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.2 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 1.3 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.3 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.3 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.5 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.4 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.8 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3.1 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.2 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.4 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.7 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 5.3 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.8 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel offers 6 banquet and meeting rooms, perfect for groups of 5-120 guests with a total of 4,761 square feet/ 442 meters.

Dining

Hunt Club Bar
This long, lean bar with comfortable banquette seating is a fine place to sip a smooth martini. Open nightly.
The Hunt Club
This intimate restaurant, among the most acclaimed in Seattle, serves inspired Northwest cuisine with a Mediterranean influence and complemented by an extensive wine list. With deep wood paneling, sensuously flavored foods, and twinkling candlelight at dinnertime, it's no wonder that the Hunt Club is the setting for close to 100 marriage proposals each year. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Fireside Room
Without question one of the most gorgeous public rooms in the city, the octagonal Fireside Room is the perfect place for quiet chats and light dining by the crackling fire. Original paintings by Morris Graves, plush wingback chairs and couches, gleaming mahogany-paneled walls, and rich tones of russet, ruby, and gold create a warmly inviting ambience. The focal point is the fireplace with its antique tiled pottery mosaic depicting an Italian landscape. The Fireside Room offers light dinners and a formal afternoon tea daily. On Friday and Saturday evenings live entertainment is performed by a featured musician or band. Open from early afternoon until late evening
Cafe Palma
During summer months, this Amalfi-inspired Caf offers outdoor seating and a casual menu featuring the season's freshest ingredients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for Sorrento Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
halewhy
Business
cleveland, ohio
Nov 24, 2012

charming

The Sorrento is a charming boutique hotel. The service is great and you can enjoy some beautiful works of art throughout the hotel and in the lovely Fireside Room The location is good, but take advantage of their free taxi service to local downtown shopping! The rooms are comfy and prove why they have their bedding for sale. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the library just down the street. It was amazing. Then eat at the purple cafe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
55madman
Business
SF Bay Area
Oct 16, 2012

very nice stay

We enjoyed the Hotel very much. My negative is the distance from downtown as compared to other similarly priced hotels. Staff was very courteous and provided valuable information. Cost of valet parking at 39 dollars per day was a bit high. Our room was on the warm side and air conditioner (dial from hot to cold) did not work well. We cooled the room down by opening the window. Most of our activities were downtown all the way to the Pike Place Market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Most of our dining was downtown and the walk was farther than anticipated.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lizenka
Business
Omaha, NE
Oct 7, 2012

Almost perfect!

The Sorrento is absolutely lovely. The only problem we had was that there was construction going on above our room on the second night, all through the night! I was awakened on many occasions. I mentioned this upon checking out and the person at the desk didn't seem to care. Other than that, the hotel is gorgeous and the restaurant was exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doggy traveller
Business
New York
Aug 3, 2012

Service that was above and beyond

I cannot express enough how accommodating the staff was. I unexpectedly had to fly out for a family emergency, but I kept my room at the Sorrento and left my dog for a few hours until my brother could pick him up. Apparently, being left in the hotel stressed him out, so when I landed the Los Angeles, I had voicemails and an email from the manager at the Sorrento saying my dog's barking had awakened other guests. She was generous enough to go in and get him, keep him with her in the office, and even offered to take him home with her that night if necessary! I was mortified, but amazed and grateful. I would definitely recommend this hotel because of the staff, it to mention great location and beautiful look!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rma111
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Jul 23, 2012

Very Good Stay

Overall a very good experience. Sorrento is located on "Pill Hill" (named because of a couple nearby hospitals) and is halfway between Capitol Hill and the Pikes Market . It is reasonable walking distance from most everything but the 1 mile back up from Pikes Market is all uphill. However, the hotel had a courtesy shuttle to take you anywhere (or pick up) within a 2 mile radius, which was a nice touch. Lobby is European style, with lots of mahogany giving it a rich and elegant look. A jazz duo was playing in the lobby area on Sat night and they were very good. Rooms are quaint and well appointed with 2 large screen flat panel TV's, a nicely stocked refrig and French press coffee maker. Not many have great views though and the beds were a bit too soft. It would also have been helpful to have 2 sinks. Shower and tub were adequate although the water had a tendency to switch from hot to cold abruptly. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Basically the hotel had a warm, homey feel to it which was accented by the look of everything from lobby to room and complemented by a good staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Twas the night of
Business
Long Beach, WA
May 29, 2012

Two Nights of Wonderful

Booked by myselft, then son arrives and daughter with baby. I upgraded to a suite and it was sweet. All the concierges were helpful and upbeat. Directions to the Hide Away Bar and an all-night market were perfect. Beds were fluffy and smelled really good. Did not take advantage of food or bev, but I loved the setting and the walk to Pikes St. and the waterfront.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lovely beverages and and appetizers at Hide Away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bend Traveler
Business
Bend, OR, USA
Oct 1, 2011

Classic Hotel!

Great staff! Great Food! Quiet lovely room!quality fitness facility!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WearyTraveler
Business
Waukegan, IL
Sep 19, 2011

Just what I needed

I needed a little pampering for my body and soul. The Sorrento did not disappoint. The beautifully appointed room, courteous and accommodating staff, the restaurant with its delicious food which were feasts for the eyes and palate and the gorgeous structure itself were the respite I needed. I also happened to love the rich history of the building itself and appreciated the aesthetic sensibility that has not been tampered with over its long existence. Classics never go out of style. Thank you, Sorrento Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The sourdough bread is to die for.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 6, 2011

Acceptable 4 star hotel

The rooms at the hotel are nice enough, however I had a couple of minor issues. First, the A/C at full blast did not really cool my room off much. This wasn't much of an issue as it wasn't very warm during my stay but in the summer months I think this could be an issue. In addition, there is only one older elevator for the entire building which can be a little inconvenient when waiting. Overall the lobby and other common areas are somewhat dated but not bad. The rooms are 4 star but the rest of the hotel is not quite what I would consider 4 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 3, 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!

First off...the hotel was nothing that it was portrayed to be in the advertisement! Valet parking was horrible and overpriced only because u are in the downtown area...and the valet just takes your car and parks it on the street anyway!!! Second off...when you walk in the hotel it has this creepy vibe like you're in a haunted hotel...even the room was creepy and had a foul odor...None of the furniture matched in the room either, it had black carpet with a cherry wood desk and a black chest drawer...the fold out sofa looked like they picked it up from a hippy's garage sale...it was all beat up. We didn't even stay there for 1 hour!!! I called [...]and had them cancel the reservation...we ended up being charged for that night even though we stayed there for like 30 minutes...but I would rather lose money for 1 night then stay there miserably for 4 nights...we ended up going to a LaQuinta and that was 10 times better than this place!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

GET ANOTHER HOTEL!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top