$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2014 Check-out: May 5, 2014

Sorrento Hotel

4 stars
900 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
104 reviews
A relaxing getaway

It was a perfect Long weekend. We especially enjoyed the car service as it was a rainy weekend.... See full review

  • Dodie dog trainer
  • Mar 18, 2014
Anniversary getaway

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was nice and clean. It has a very comfortable... See full review

  • Retired M.E.
  • Mar 7, 2014
Iconic vintage hotel in historic First Street neighborhood
Built in 1909, the Sorrento Hotel remains Seattle’s oldest boutique hotel. Its current owners restored the property in the 1980s, and kept much of its original charm. The Sorrento Hotel’s Fireside Room features the original mahogany paneling and fireplace, making it a favorite spot for cocktails in Seattle. Service is attentive. The hotel boasts a ratio of 1.3 staffers for every guest, which helped it earn AAA’s 4 diamond award.
Highlights
  • Vintage building with original touches
  • Complimentary car service to nearby attractions
  • On-site Pilates and yoga studio
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Rooms
The Sorrento Hotel offers 76 guest rooms on six floors. All rooms feature traditional furnishings and marble baths. Suites on higher floors offer city views. Other guest room amenities include custom-made Sealy mattresses, 400 threat-count Egyptian cotton linens and wireless Internet service. Guests receive complimentary coffee service and a copy of The Seattle Times each morning.
Features
The Sorrento Hotel considers itself a place for Seattleites to gather as well as out-of-towners. The Fireside Room, resplendent with vintage mahogany paneling and a vast green-tiled fireplace, makes a cozy place to meet friends or colleagues. The Fireside Room also offers afternoon tea. The Hunt Club specializes in hearty takes on Pacific Northwest cuisine. For food for thought, Sorrento Hotel hosts Night School, a salon-like series featuring local artists, chefs and writers.
Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (14.5 mi/23.2 km)
  • King County International Airport (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Center station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Seattle Amtrak station (1 mi/1.6 km)
Attractions
  • Pike Place Market (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Pioneer Square (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Space Needle (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Woodland Park Zoo (6.8 mi/10.9 km)
Business
  • Six meeting rooms accommodate 20 to 60 people
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Washington State Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

Sorrento Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite
Junior suites are studio suites and feature one King bed. All junior suites feature bathrooms in Italian Marble, desk and chair, full length mirror, sitting area with sofa or love seat and coffee table. Sitting area is not partitioned from sleeping area, but designed in a studio type setting. This non-smoking room featuring air conditioning, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, CD player, Multi-line phone, fax machine complimentary newspaper, voice mail, internet access - wireless, desk, designer toiletries, premium bedding, windows that open,turndown service, minibar, hypo-allergenic bedding available, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker, clock radio, climate control,wake-up calls, housekeeping, extra towels, linens, bedding.
Sorrento Suite
Sorrento suites are a one bedroom suite and feature one queen bed. All Sorrento suites feature bathrooms in Italian marble, desk and chair full length mirror, sitting area with sofa or love seat partitioned off from sleeping area by French doors. This non-smoking room features air conditioning, premium TV channels cable/satellite TV, CD player, Multi-line phone, fax machine complimentary newspaper, voice mail, internet access - wireless, desk, designer toiletries, premium bedding, windows that open, turndown service, minibar, hypo-allergenic bedding available, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker, clock radio, climate control,wake-up calls, housekeeping, extra towels, linens, bedding.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe rooms feature one queen bed. All deluxe rooms feature bathrooms in Italian Marble, desk and chair, full length mirror and sitting chair. This non-smoking room features air conditioning, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, CD player, Multi-line phone, fax machine complimentary newspaper, voice mail, internet access - wireless, desk, designer toiletries, premium bedding, window opens, turndown service, minibar, hypo-allergenic bedding available, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker, clock radio, climate control, wheelchair accessible, wake-up calls, housekeeping, extra towels, linens, bedding.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sorrento Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

47.6084 -122.3273
Area served
Downtown Seattle
Nearby airports
Seattle-Tacoma International Airport Boeing Field
Area description
Merge onto I-5 North. Take Exit 164A. Proceed 1.5 miles to Madison St. Turn right onto Madison St. Drive three blocks up the hill. Turn left onto Terry Ave. The hotel is at the corner of Madison St. and Terry Ave.

Nearby points of interest

  • Frye Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.7 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.7 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.2 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 1.3 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.3 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.3 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.5 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.4 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.7 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.7 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.2 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 1.3 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.3 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.3 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.4 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.5 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.4 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.8 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3.1 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.2 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.4 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.7 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 5.3 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.8 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel offers 6 banquet and meeting rooms, perfect for groups of 5-120 guests with a total of 4,761 square feet/ 442 meters.

Dining

Fireside Room
Without question one of the most gorgeous public rooms in the city, the octagonal Fireside Room is the perfect place for quiet chats and light dining by the crackling fire. Original paintings by Morris Graves, plush wingback chairs and couches, gleaming mahogany-paneled walls, and rich tones of russet, ruby, and gold create a warmly inviting ambience. The focal point is the fireplace with its antique tiled pottery mosaic depicting an Italian landscape. The Fireside Room offers light dinners and a formal afternoon tea daily. On Friday and Saturday evenings live entertainment is performed by a featured musician or band. Open from early afternoon until late evening
Cafe Palma
During summer months, this Amalfi-inspired Caf offers outdoor seating and a casual menu featuring the season's freshest ingredients.
Hunt Club Bar
This long, lean bar with comfortable banquette seating is a fine place to sip a smooth martini. Open nightly.
The Hunt Club
This intimate restaurant, among the most acclaimed in Seattle, serves inspired Northwest cuisine with a Mediterranean influence and complemented by an extensive wine list. With deep wood paneling, sensuously flavored foods, and twinkling candlelight at dinnertime, it's no wonder that the Hunt Club is the setting for close to 100 marriage proposals each year. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Sorrento Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
104 out of 104
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Business
phx az
Jan 19, 2010

Poor man has no choice at breakfast

The wind howled through the windows,$15.00 for a bad continental breakfast.even if free it would still bad,did not let us know that a continental breakfast was to be chargeable.2 pieces of tasteless hard cantolope,and honeydew,a cressant ,1 strawberry cut in half,3 blackberries,and about a dozen or less blueberries with juice.what a rip off.for just that reason I would not use again or recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Celebrating our anniversary
Bainbridge Island
Jan 18, 2010

They deserve their reputation

We had high expectations for our first weekend away without kids...and our expectations were met. Great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Seattle Oct 2009
Halifax, NS Canada
Dec 26, 2009

Sorrento Hotel, Seattle Oct 09

The hotel is very unique and all of the rooms have different features. The in room stereo system was a really nice touch and the beds were very comfortable, beautiful linens and decor. Great downtown location. I did not enjoy the onsite restaurant...portions were skimpy, service was slow and dishes were over seasoned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Lyons, Colorado
Oct 26, 2009

First Impressions Elegant and Friendly

First impressions scored big. My husband told me not to nickel and dime my long weekend trip so I chose the Sorrento as an experiment - it was heavenly, elegant, perfectly located for my needs. The town car service and 7 pillows on the bed add to the perfection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
DC
Oct 19, 2009

Lovely stay

The Sorrento was the perfect home-base for seeing some of Seattle's key attractions. We walked to the Pikes Place Market daily for breakfast and enjoyed the views of the water on the way. It was also close to the Pioneer Square, retail areas of Seattle and great restaurants. There is some noise from the busy road (Madison) during rush-hour, but it was not overly disturbing. The staff was friendly and Megan's Sidecar drink at the bar was a great way to start (or end) the night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Canlis for a romantic, albeit pricey, dinner!

Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Silverdale, WA
Oct 19, 2009

Too expensive for what you get

We went to see a show and didn't feel like taking a ferry home. While the ease of getting to it was nice, it isn't very close to the downtown area. The rooms are quaint and decorated in a subdued manner. I enjoyed the sense of history in the place. The rooms remind me of a past era. The pieces I did not enjoy was the noise level. It is next to a hospital, which means ambulances. The view from our room was miserable, not as bad as a brick wall - but almost. I can only hope that the ones on the other side of the hotel have a better view of the city. For the price, I would hope that there are better places to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Oct 19, 2009

Great location, beautiful hotel

Great location, beautiful hotel, friendly and helpful staff...loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Marky D
Business
NY NY
Oct 19, 2009

Old-world elegance w/modern amenities

The hotel has tons of character...lots of old-world elegance w/most of the modern amenities. Fitness center is bigger and nicer than most hotels. Location isn't super, but be sure to try the bakery and the thai restaurant just up the street. Vietnamese place was good and cheap too, but a bit shabby for most travelers' tastes, I'd think. Indian place looked goot too, but I never tried it (I loved the Thai place so much).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Camarillo, CA
Oct 9, 2009

The Perfect Stay!

I absolutely LOVED this hotel! The hotel itself is gorgeous, the lobby is all dark woods, and the rooms are super clean and comfortable. I can't say enough about the staff. They were so helpful with restaurant recommendations, directions and anything else I needed. Most of them were calling me by name by day two. The Fireside Room was a nice place to hang out, with live music on the weekends, and the bar was great, especially during happy hour. The bartender named John was very cool. They made reservations for me at Elliott's Oyster House, and sent a complimentary plate of crabcakes over to my table. Plus they have a car and driver that will take you anywhere in a 2-mile radius, you just have to tip the driver. The only bad thing I can think of to say is that the hotel is located a block away from the entrance to an emergency room. Nice if you need it, but there were lots of sirens, which you don't notice if you keep the windows closed, but I like to keep the window open. Overall, should I ever visit Seattle again, I wouldn't even think of staying anywhere but the Sorrento. They made me feel like I was the only guest in the whole hotel. I didn't want to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use their car service! Parking is very expensive all over town. I don't think I ever spent less than $6 on parking, even for only an hour. With the car service, you just have to tip the driver, and they drop you off right where you want to go, then you just have to call them to be picked up.

Review of Sorrento Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Oct 6, 2009

Sorrento

small rooms not very amenities for being "luxurious" bath room nice. No vending machines, no hotel store. wanted light fast fare and was directed to their restaraunt. Found out there was a McDonalds on the next block. Also encouraged to use their car rather than taxi back to airport, but it would have cost more. Very expensive so so restaraunt. Was there for work at the hospital so great location for that. Walked to down town Seattle - wasn't bad at all. Very good food there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across street nice reasonable cafe for breakfast and lunch. Mc Donalds is close too.

Back to menu Return to top