$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Roosevelt Hotel

4 stars
1531 Seventh Ave., Seattle, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
162 reviews
perfect one night stay

the front desk team was wonderfully polite, the room was spacious & clean, and the bed was super... See full review

  • WA EWF
  • Jul 28, 2014
Perfect location

We selected the hotel based on location to all that we wanted to do on our visit to Seattle. We... See full review

  • Mindi M
  • Jul 27, 2014
Vintage charm with downtown convenience
A vintage hotel in downtown Seattle, the Roosevelt Hotel offers traditional charm and a convenient location. Leisure travelers can walk to most attractions. For nighttime entertainment, theaters and restaurants also are a short walk from the hotel. Safeco and CenturyLink fields, Seattle's two professional sports arenas, are minutes away. The Roosevelt Hotel offers Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel plus a fitness center and business center.
Highlights
  • Close to tourist attractions
  • 24-hour fitness room
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply)
Rooms
All 151 rooms and suites at Roosevelt Hotel are smoke-free and have functional windows. Each room boasts 19th-century-style furnishings and decor, and many rooms have city views. All guest rooms have a 37-inch or 42-inch flat-screen HDTV, a coffee maker, Starbucks coffee, Tazo tea and a workdesk. Bathrooms feature bathrobes and slippers.
Features
The Roosevelt Hotel, built in 1929, retains its original pink neon sign and vintage charm. The hotel, in the heart of Seattle, is within walking distance of most tourist attractions, shopping and dining.
Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (15.5 mi/24.8 km)
  • King County International Airport (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • Downtown Airporter shuttle service (fees apply) (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
Attractions
  • Seattle Art Museum (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Space Needle (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Pike Place Market (0.5mi/0.8km)
  • Pioneer Square (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
Business
  • Four flexible meeting rooms accommodate up to 80 people
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Audio/visual equipment and support
  • Washington State Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.1 km)

Hotel Map

47.6123 -122.3342
Area served
Right in the heart of downtown Seattle, The Roosevelt is located on the corner of 7th Avenue and Pine - one block from the Washington State Convention & Trade Center.
Nearby airports
Seattle/Tacoma International Airport
Area description
The hotel is surrounded by the finest shopping including Nordstrom's flagship store, Macy's, Niketown, and Pacific Place Shopping Center featuring Tiffany, Barnes & Noble, Williams-Sonoma, Victoria's Secret, and a multiplex movie theater.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Roosevelt Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Roosevelt Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double/Double
This Deluxe room features two double beds and can accommodate up to four people. Deluxe rooms include a full bath and all amenities.
Traditional Single Room
Our cozy Traditional Single room includes a double sized bed with European bathroom with shower. This room is perfect for the solo traveler, whether on business or pleasure.
Deluxe Room
This Deluxe room features one bed and can accommodate 2 guests. Deluxe rooms are more spacious than the Traditional Singles yet still provide intimate ambiance. Deluxe rooms include a full bath and all amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.4 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.9 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.9 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.1 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.2 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.4 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.4 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.9 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.9 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.1 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.2 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.4 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.3 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.8 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.1 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.2 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.6 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 4 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 4.8 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.4 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (162)

Ratings and reviews for Roosevelt Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
162 out of 162
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bicycle man
Seattle
Feb 19, 2013

Aniversery celebration

We returned to the roosevelt to celebrate our 35th wedding aniversery where we spent our wedding night. The hotel is great and the staff very freindly making our stay a wonderful time. The hotel is situated in the heart of downtown Seattle with most all we did in walking distance. Thanks to the Roosevelt our celebration was the best. John and Joan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short walk to the Ferry terminal, and a trolly takes you Lake Union with the wooden boat park and the new museum of history and industry

Review of Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bad Experience at the Roosevelt
Seattle, WA
Jul 29, 2010

Bad Experience

We were staying with another couple. The valet hit their car. There was mold in both the bathrooms. The only good thing about this hotel was the location. None of us will be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oregon
Jul 27, 2010

The Hotel Was a Dissappointment

The rooms were small, they were hot, the shower drained poorly and one elevator was broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, FL
Jun 10, 2011

Horrible-Overbooked & Poor Service

I would give it zero stars if I could. When we arrived after our cruise to check in we were told they had move stay overs than expected and that they had no room for us. They had not attempted to contact us before our arrival. They moved us to a hotel that was several miles away in the university district and told us to walk next door to a shopping center to catch a shuttle to that hotel. They didn't even provide transportation. It took us over 40 minutes just to deal with the situation at the Roosevelt plus the shuttle ride, plus the check in process at the new hotel. It took us over 90 minutes just to check into a hotel room, that wasn't the one we wanted! We booked the hotel specifically because of it's location in downtown, which we were no no where near. Once we got to the other hotel, there were continued issues and the entire day was filled with stress and frustration. I would never stay at this hotel or any other Coast hotel ever again. And we were not alone. I watched them turn away at least 5 other groups while we were standing there waiting. Beware!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shreveport, Louisiana
Oct 7, 2010

Terrible Customer Service

We spent four nights at the hotel in September. The location was wonderful with easy access to Pike Place and surrounding attractions. The hotel and service though was far overrated. We had a broken/noisy air conditioner that I told the front desk about three mornings in a row. Each time they told me they would send someone to fix it, and never managed to do so. Finally on the fourth night they asked us to switch rooms. The hotel also doesn't have any of the creature comforts you'd expect from a three star hotel. There is only one ice machine on one of the 20 floors, with very slow elevators. No pool, no continental breakfast. I would suggest a cheaper hotel in the same area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach
Sep 9, 2008

My review of Roosevelt Hotel

I felt like bed bugs where biting throught the nite. I was unable to sleep those two nite I was there,the bathroom was terrible unable to close the door because toilet was to far out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kennewick, WA
Nov 2, 2010

It's old, and it shows

Wanted to stay downtown so went with a historic hotel. The only thing that looks like the photos is the lobby. Just as expensive as the other rooms available. smallest room I've ever had that said it it a "deluxe suite". 20 plus floors, 1 ice machine. They don't validate their own parking either. Don't even get me started on the lack of bathroo space or their $4.00 'courtesy' water. It was a great location, but I would sleep elsewhere next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The best thing about this place was the location. Short walking distance to numrous things

Review of Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
cliffside park, nj
Jul 27, 2011

no room at the roosevelt

the first two nights we were to stay at the roosevelt, we were moved to the nexus 20 minutes outside of downtown seattle; the roosevelt will only charge us for 5 nights instead of 7 nights so i expect a refund[...] it was very disheartening; it disrupted our planning to travel to vancouver while in seattle; it was not a good start to our vacation; the roosevelt said they double booked rooms because of the soccer games going on in town[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

everything closes down in seattle by 6pm; there are many homeless roaming around downtown seattle constantly begging for money, one man informed us " if you don't have change, i accept fives, tens and twenties" I was disappointed with the lack of life in seattle, i was expecting a bit more magic or electricity in the city.

Review of Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HeleneL
Uk
Apr 25, 2014

disappointing

Hotel well situated in downtown Seattle but has no restaurant or bar. Rooms are clean, traditionally decorated but not very spacious compared to other hotels we stayed in in the Seattle/Vancouver area. When trying to close the curtains for the night, half the curtain rail fell down! Not overly impressed, was expecting better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Belinda Z
Minnesota
Mar 13, 2012

Adequate

The beds were fantastic and very comfortable. Slept well. Location could not have been better. If all you are going to do is sleep in the room and spend the rest of the time on the town -- it isn't a bad place to stay. Workout facility was mediocre - two treadmills, a recumbent bike, and older elliptical, weight bench and a couple of exercise balls. Room was smaller than I anticipated. Always felt messy because there wasn't room for the basics. Service was disappointing. Missed wake-up call and errors in transportation scheduling. Friendly service at the front desk and cleaning staff were very kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lisa stolchli
Seattle wa
Apr 6, 2012

Good location

Staff was rude. Too noisy at night, sheets were not clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search