$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 15, 2014 Check-out: Dec 18, 2014

Roosevelt Hotel

4 stars
1531 Seventh Ave., Seattle, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
158 reviews
Great Hotel. Enjoyed our stay

We had a great stay at The Roosevelt in Seattle. Staff was very helpful, room was spacious and... See full review

  • RonJohn59
  • Aug 30, 2014
Great, centrally located

Spacious rooms with comfy beds. Free Wifi and clean. See full review

  • CL Sister
  • Aug 29, 2014
Vintage charm with downtown convenience
A vintage hotel in downtown Seattle, the Roosevelt Hotel offers traditional charm and a convenient location. Leisure travelers can walk to most attractions. For nighttime entertainment, theaters and restaurants also are a short walk from the hotel. Safeco and CenturyLink fields, Seattle's two professional sports arenas, are minutes away. The Roosevelt Hotel offers Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel plus a fitness center and business center.
Highlights
  • Close to tourist attractions
  • 24-hour fitness room
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply)
Rooms
All 151 rooms and suites at Roosevelt Hotel are smoke-free and have functional windows. Each room boasts 19th-century-style furnishings and decor, and many rooms have city views. All guest rooms have a 37-inch or 42-inch flat-screen HDTV, a coffee maker, Starbucks coffee, Tazo tea and a workdesk. Bathrooms feature bathrobes and slippers.
Features
The Roosevelt Hotel, built in 1929, retains its original pink neon sign and vintage charm. The hotel, in the heart of Seattle, is within walking distance of most tourist attractions, shopping and dining.
Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (15.5 mi/24.8 km)
  • King County International Airport (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • Downtown Airporter shuttle service (fees apply) (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
Attractions
  • Seattle Art Museum (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Space Needle (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Pike Place Market (0.5mi/0.8km)
  • Pioneer Square (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
Business
  • Four flexible meeting rooms accommodate up to 80 people
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Audio/visual equipment and support
  • Washington State Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.1 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Roosevelt Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Roosevelt Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double/Double
This Deluxe room features two double beds and can accommodate up to four people. Deluxe rooms include a full bath and all amenities.
Traditional Single Room
Our cozy Traditional Single room includes a double sized bed with European bathroom with shower. This room is perfect for the solo traveler, whether on business or pleasure.
Deluxe Room
This Deluxe room features one bed and can accommodate 2 guests. Deluxe rooms are more spacious than the Traditional Singles yet still provide intimate ambiance. Deluxe rooms include a full bath and all amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.4 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.9 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.9 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.1 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.2 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.4 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.4 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.9 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.9 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.1 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.2 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.4 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.3 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.8 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.1 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.2 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.6 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 4 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 4.8 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.4 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for Roosevelt Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hawaii
Jan 30, 2011

Roosevelt Hotel

very fine place to access from Airport and market place nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dg12x
Business
Arlington, VA
Jan 28, 2011

Great location, overall solid

Pro's: Fantastic location in the heart of downtown Seattle Less than a block away from the Light Rail to SeaTac (Just $2.50 each way) Very comfortable beds Large flat-screens with all channels in HD including HBO/2 (usually only get locals in HD in many hotels) Con's: Slow elevators (only 2 for a 20-story building) Room/elevator key operation very shaky...sometimes have to slide the key in over 10 times to get where you want or into your room Low water pressure in the shower My drain was a bit clogged, but may have just been my room I was in a King Deluxe room (about 350 sqft), but I hear the regular rooms are quite cramped Compared to the prices of the surrounding higher end hotels, this is a very solid option for the price. I'd recommend to the solo or couple, but may advise elsewhere for the family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tricia Bart
Business
Newbury Park, California
Jan 20, 2011

What a place!

This is a fabulous location viewing the beautiful well-lit and smartly-decorated business district of downtown Seattle! Even all the trees lining the sidewalks are lit with twinkle lights all night, making it seem like a wonderland. This is one of Seattle's classic original hotels, but it is updated and greatly maintained. The best two features for me were the price and the restaurant. The price is almost half of many of the other lovely hotels close by; and the restaurant/bar downstairs is called Von's City Cafe, and it's one of the hottest places in the area with great food and their famous all-the-time $3.50 martini. I went to grab a bite for dinner and the place was hopping with activity on a Tuesday night...kind of surprised me. But if you want other places, you will find the Cheesecake Factory and Starbucks directly across the street, along with a slew of close-by really cool restaurants. The front desk was kind and hospitable and the room was very clean. And I loved the flat screen HD TV, the "coffee corner" with all the amenities for fixing my own pot of coffee, and the subtle abundant wall accent lighting around the room in addition to lamps. My only small concern was having no counter space in the bathroom, but there were several shelves over the toilet. If I go there again, I will definitely stay at the Roosevelt again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Von's City Cafe. Wait till you view the hundreds of draft beer tap handles of every brand decorating the walls - amazing! And don't forget Seattle's only all-the-time $3.50 martini. Go where the locals go - you'll love it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Flagstaff, AZ
Jan 17, 2011

Excellent downtown location

I was attending a conference at the Convention Center (CC) and the Roosevelt Hotel is hard to beat for convenience since it's a block away from the CC. It was also the least expensive nearby option, even less expensive than conference rates at nearby hotels. There are plenty of restaurants in easy walking distance and the Link Light Rail is also only a few blocks away. I also walked to the Aquarium and the Monorail while staying at the Roosevelt and both were within easy walking distance. I was a little disappointed that my single bed room did not have a bath tub (only a shower) but it wasn't a real problem. The computer in the lobby was useful (no free internet access in the rooms) and I easily printed out boarding passes at the hotel. It was a bit odd needing to insert the room key in the elevator every time I wanted to go farther up than the 3rd floor, but I guess that's a security issue. My room key did need to be reactivated a couple of times during my 5 night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're sightseeing in Seattle, definitely consider getting a City Pass- significant savings for a combination of: Space Needle, Pacific Science Center, Woodland Zoo, Aquarium, Harbor Cruise, and Experience Music Project or Flight Museum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Idaho
Jan 9, 2011

Too many hidden fees.

The hotel staff was very courteous and helpful. The location is great for any downtown activities you might be interested in. However, the building is old and the rooms very small - I've seen larger rooms at Motel 6. The biggest disappointment was the charge for parking which was tacked on to my bill. It cost $26 per day for their parking services - which is valet by default - plus Washington sales tax and Seattle City Parking taxes. I would have been fine paying for those charges had I been aware of them before hand. Overall, I would discourage anyone from actually visiting the city of Seattle unless necessary for business. It was not a family friendly atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 27, 2010

Holiday Downtown Getaway

Overall - I was pleased for the price and location of the hotel. The staff was very helpful and the break on parking - 50% off was a huge plus - We were taken care of well by the concierge and felt it was a good experience overall. The rooms are a bit small for 4 adults (2 daughters - age 21 & 23) joined us but it worked fine for one night. We had a problem with the drainage in the bathtub, but the staff was there to fix it fairly quickly. I feel all hotels should offer free wi-fi - rather than an additional fee. Basically we visited The Sheraton for the Gingerbread House, walked around the city and took in the Christmas lights - It was Christmas so most of the places were closed but we were able to find a decent restaurant nearby and then take in a movie a block away - all in all - pleasant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are right in the core of Downtown Seattle and the shopping is plentiful - actually somewhat overwhelming unless you have a great deal of time

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weekend lounger
Business
Bellingham, WA
Dec 20, 2010

Great little room

The room was very down towny cute, and being able to open the window and listen to the city go by was great! The location is fantastic to go to all the Seattle sorts of things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington
Dec 6, 2010

Homey Christmas decor and smells

Luxurious room; walking distance to everything we wanted to see and do; friendly desk staff; beautiful lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland Oregon
Nov 30, 2010

Seattle Getaway

In town for the Seattle Marathon. The Roosevelt Hotel was a great place to stay. Great location, clean updated rooms and helpful front desk. Would stay at the Roosevelt again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Roosevelt Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fruitland Park,FL.
Nov 10, 2010

Average service and over priced parking

I was attending a seminar and staying a few extra days to sight see in Seattle. I felt the rooms should of had a refreg. and microwave or at least, be a option. I travel often for business and family,this trip was average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't rent a car, it's cheaper to use a taxi, bus or light rail in Seattle.By the time you pay for the car rental and the parking, you have overspent! If your staying in Seattle .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top