$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 29, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Monaco Seattle, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
1101 4th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
53 reviews
Great Seattle Experience at the Monaco

This hotel was in the perfect location for walks along the waterway, Pike Street Market and the... See full review

  • Travelfamily022
  • Mar 24, 2014
Great Location, Great Value

The Hotel Monaco is a great value and located conveniently in the heart of downtown Seattle. 2... See full review

  • Jamielynn F
  • Mar 7, 2014
Downtown boutique hotel with quirky style and amenities
With on-demand goldfish, animal-print bathrobes and striped wallpaper, the Hotel Monaco Seattle sports lots of personality. Behind the stripes and spots lies a high level of service and convenience. The hotel's downtown location and proximity to Seattle's light rail system give guests easy access to most of Seattle's hot spots. Welcoming touches include evening wine receptions and in-room spa services. The Hotel Monaco Seattle pampers children with welcome gifts, their own comment cards and child-size bathrobes.
Highlights
  • Hosted evening wine reception
  • In-room spa services
  • Complimentary pet goldfish upon request
  • 24-hour fitness room
Rooms
Whimsy and fancy enliven the 189 rooms and suites at the Hotel Monaco Seattle. Striped wallpaper and rococo headboards are a matter of course, as are animal-print bathrobes. More serviceable features include pillow-top beds and premium bath amenities, coffee-makers (upon request), mini-bars and flat-panel TVs. All rooms have wireless Internet access (fees apply). The Hotel Monaco Seattle is pet-friendly. For guests who desire a pet, staffers will deliver a goldfish in a bowl, to rooms.
Features
Some of the Hotel Monaco Seattle's guest services are as quirky as the rooms' striped wallpaper. The hotel hosts a fortune teller every Wednesday and Saturday. Pets' meals are ordered from room service around the clock. The Hotel Monaco Seattle encourages guests to mingle via a complimentary coffee in the lobby every morning and a hosted wine reception each evening. The hotel takes the environment seriously, employing an extensive green program that includes in-room recycling and use of earth-friendly cleaning fluids.
Dining
The Hotel Monaco Seattle is home to Sazerac, a stylish restaurant offering Pacific Northwest ingredients with a Southern accent. Signature dishes include an andouille-topped pizza. Sazerac serves breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner, and a happy-hour menu Monday through Saturday.
Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (14.6 mi/23.3 km)
  • Downtown Airporter shuttle service (fees apply) (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Center station (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Seattle Amtrak station (0.6 mi/1 km)
Attractions
  • Pike Place Market (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Pioneer Square (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • International District/Chinatown (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Space Needle (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
Business
  • 6,000 square feet of meeting space in nine rooms
  • Wireless Internet access (fees apply)
  • 24-hour business center with laptop stations and printer
  • Washington State Convention Center (0.6 mi/1 km)

Hotel Map

47.6068 -122.3335
Nearby airports
Seattle-Tacoma International Airport, (SEA), 12.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monaco Seattle, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Monaco Seattle, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible King Roll In Shower
Accessible 1 King 300 sq ft, roll in shower iPod charger, flat panel TV, mini bar, WiFi
Monaco King Room 1 King Bed
Monaco 1 King 300 sq ft, iPod charger, flat panel TV, mini bar, WiFi
Accessible King Room 1 King Bed
Accessible 1 King 300 sq ft, modified bathtub iPod charger, flat panel TV, mini bar, WiFi
Monaco QN QN 2 Queen Beds
Monaco 2 Queen Beds 300 sq ft, iPod charger, flat panel TV, mini bar, WiFi
Monte Carlo Ste 1 King Bed
Monte Carlo Suite 1 King 500 sq ft living room iPod charger 2 flat panel TVs mini bar WiFi
Premier Queen Room
Premier 1 Queen 250 sq ft, private access top floors iPod charger flat panel TV mini bar WiFi
Ambassador Suite with 1 King Bed
Ambassador Suite 1 King 960 sq ft private floor living room 46-in flat panel TV mini bar
Accessible Queen Queen Room
Accessible 2 Queen 350 sq ft, modified bathtub iPod charger, flat panel TV, mini bar, WiFi
Premier Monte Carlo Suite
Premier Monte Carlo Suite 1 King 500 sq ft private floors living room mini bar WiFi
Monaco Queen Room 1 Queen Bed
Monaco 1 Queen 250 sq ft, iPod charger, flat panel TV, mini bar, WiFi
Accessible Monte Carlo Suite
Accessible 1 King 500 sq ft, modified bathtub iPod charger, flat panel TV, mini bar, WiFi
Premier King Room
Premier 1 King 300 sq ft, private access top floors iPod charger flat panel TV mini bar WiFi
Premier 2 Queen Room
Premier 2 Queen Beds 350 sq ft private access top floors flat panel TV mini bar WiFi
Deluxe King Room with 1 King Bed
500 square feet Large Soaking Tub Seperate Stand up Shower
Accessible Premier King Room
Accessible 1 King 300 sq ft, modified bathtub iPod charger, flat panel TV, mini bar, WiFi

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Jogging track
Boating
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Grab bars in bathroom
TDD telephone machine
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.4 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.5 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 1 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.1 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.2 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.2 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2.2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.7 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.4 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.5 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 1 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.1 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Space Needle: 1.2 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 1.2 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2.2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.7 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 3.1 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.5 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.6 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.9 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 5.2 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.7 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.4 mi

Dining

Sazerac
Located at the Hotel Monaco the 135-seat Sazerac serves breakfast lunch and dinner every day and brunch on the weekends. Sazerac whips up amazing hand-crafted cocktails and has a wide selection of single batch bourbons at the 50-seat bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Seattle, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 53
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Seattle, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KEA's mom
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 10, 2014

Girl's Weekend

Beautiful hotel! The staff was very helpful and went out of their way to help with special requests. Loved the wine hour as well. I would choose to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Seattle, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SB Traveler01
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Jan 1, 2014

Seattle Getaway

Hotel is in a great location and very comfortable… Staff very courteous and professional. Stayed on the 10th floor so had our own elevator which was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Seattle, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
baseball babe
Business
Salem, OR
Sep 8, 2013

A return trip is warranted.

This is a very elegant, sophisticated hotel. I decor is beautiful and serene. The staff are professional and friendly. This is a wonderful vacation accomodation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Seattle, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
From Idaho
Business
Lewiston, ID
Jun 10, 2013

Nice, but not that nice.

Service was good. Tub however didn't drain well. Breakfast was a tad high on price for what you received.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Seattle, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shoeaholic
Business
OR
Mar 11, 2013

GREAT LOCATION/HELPFUL STAFF

We were given an upgrade when we arrived which meant 2 queen beds & a more spacious room. Lovely!! The room was ready early so we dropped our bags & were off to see the city. The desk personnel were helpful with info & securing a taxi when we needed it. The lobby was comfortable & there was no problem "hanging out" after check out. I would definitely recommend this hotel & I would stay there again. A perfect walk from the King St. Train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Seattle's core is a short walk on 4th St. Easy to access monorail, streetcar to South Lake Union, busses, Belltown, Pike St. Market & Seattle Art Museum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Seattle, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RLee2013
Business
Oakland, CA
Jan 22, 2013

amenities lacking, staff mediocre

It's a beautiful hotel in downtown - great location to site-seeing. Some staff were great and helpful - others not so much. Great that they have coffee in the morning and drink hour at night. Why couldn't you have coffee available ALL DAY? One morning they ran out of coffee by 9am. It's Seattle, coffee capital of the world. Also, 4 star hotel but you charge me $5 for every 15 mins of computer use in your business center? lame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Seattle, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Praying for Change
Business
Shelton, WA
Apr 11, 2010

Hope you have better luck!

First they messed up our reservation, and put us in a room with a queen bed, we reserved a queen. When they came up to walk us to our other room, which they were going to up-grade us, the room had some industrial cleanning machine in the bathroom with industrial blowers on the rug! After we left for lunch and came back, we were on the top floor, nice right? Wrong! There's only one elevator, and you need a key to get up to the 10th/11th floor, however we told them we were staying with three other couples, so to get to each others rooms, they couldn't come up and we had to go all the way down, and get on another elevator then go back up, talk about making you nauseated! However, it gets worse...the next morning around 1030am my husband totally nude on the bed, and I half dressed, hear the door opening, and it's the housekeeper!! We were checking out that day, there was nothing on our door requesting room service!! I SCREAMED! Went out in the hall asked her what the heck she was doing, I couldn't understand her. Talk about a nightmare! By now I was over this hotel, never going back! Best part is that when I checked out the snotty girls working at the front lobby didn't even bother to ask me how my stay was, I figured if they didn't care, I would just let everyone else know, so here you go. I hope your stay is better then this, but mine was completely unacceptable!!!! I'll never be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the market to eat, amazing food and great prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monaco Seattle, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tacoma, WA
Aug 3, 2008

Perfect DT Location

Perfect for a girls night out! We were able to sleep all 5 of us (they brought in a cot bed with no charge).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nordstrom a couple of blocks away--small shops along the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top