MarQueen Hotel

4 stars
600 Queen Anne Ave. N., Seattle, WA 98109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
96 reviews
Seattle

Amazing interior, amazing staff, and amazing price. Air conditioning was weak, but was not necessary. See full review

  • pat in seattle
  • Jul 25, 2014
Charming!

I really enjoyed staying at the MarQueen. It's a lovely, boutique hotel with a ton of character! See full review

  • Chris W 123
  • Sep 11, 2014
Boutique hotel in historic Queen Anne area
Built in 1918, MarQueen Hotel sports a vintage feel and most of its original touches. Mahogany wainscoting and original terrazzo floors adorn the lobby. Guest rooms feature original hardwood floors, high ceilings and crown moldings. The newly opened Tin Lizzie Lounge offers finely prepared breakfast items, appetizers and drinks from the Happy Hour menu, light fares for dinner and handcrafted cocktails.The entire hotel is smoke-free.
Highlights
  • On-site spa
  • In-room kitchenettes
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
Rooms
MarQueen's 58 rooms sport hardwood floors and period-appropriate furnishings. Each room has a kitchenette equipped with microwave, refrigerator and sitting area. Noise-abatement windows in street-side rooms help guarantee peace and quiet. MarQueen's rooms offer complimentary wireless Internet access, bathrobes and coffee-makers with Fonte brand coffee. Guests can request an accessible room in advance of arrival.
Features
For a small hotel, MarQueen packs in considerable amenities. To start, the hotel is within walking distance of the Pacific Northwest Ballet, Seattle Opera and theaters. The hotel is home to Jill Bucy day spa and Caffe Ladro, a coffee shop. Ten Mercer, which serves a dinner menu of New American cuisine, also makes its home at MarQueen Hotel. Guests can request full-access passes to a nearby 24-hour Fitness Express location.
Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (15.2 mi/24.4 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Center station (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Shuttle Express (fees apply)
  • Seattle Amtrak station (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
Attractions
  • Pike Place Market (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Pioneer Square (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Kerry Park scenic overlook (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Space Needle (five blocks)
Business
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Washington State Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Policies and fees
  • Must be 21 or older to check in and have valid ID and credit card

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

MarQueen Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Enjoy accommodations in a spacious MarQueen room with a King or 2 Queen beds. Each room consists of a kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, sink, sitting area, and coffee maker with complimentary coffee and teas. Other amenities include complimentary internet service, comfortable bath robes, irons, ironing boards and hairdryers.
Junior Suite
These spacious suites offer 500 sq. ft. of living space. A King size bed is comfortably situated in a cozy nook, separate from a sizable living room area adorned with a full sofa bed, flat screen television, DVD player and work desk. Spacious kitchens with eating area and utensils also add to this sizeable suite.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

47.625 -122.3566
Area served
Seattle, Washington
Nearby airports
Seattle-Tacoma International Airport
Area description
The popular Queen Anne neighborhood overflows with a wide variety of restaurants, cafes, shops, nightlife, and nearby tourist attractions. Just minutes from downtown, Pike Place Market, and the Elliott Bay waterfront and only 2 blocks from the Seattle Center, home of the Space Needle, this is the perfect location to see it all!

Nearby points of interest

  • Key Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.4 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.5 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.5 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 1.2 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 1.7 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2.2 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 2.4 mi
  • Safeco Field: 2.6 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.4 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.5 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.5 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 1.2 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 1.7 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 2.2 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 2.4 mi
  • Safeco Field: 2.6 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.9 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.9 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 3 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3.1 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.2 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.3 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 3.5 mi
  • Discovery Park: 4.1 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 7.9 mi

Dining

Ten Mercer
Ten Mercer Restaurant, open at 4:30pm daily, features New American and Northwest cuisine in an upscale setting.
Caffe Ladro
A local favorite, Caffe Ladro serves gourmet espresso drinks and pastries.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (96)

Ratings and reviews for MarQueen Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of MarQueen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scout Dad
Santa Monica, CA
Sep 14, 2009

MarQueen Hotel, Seattle, WA

This was a great location walking distance to the Space Needle. Lots of good restaurants in the neighborhood. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were lots of good restaurants a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MarQueen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alaskan King Crab
PA
Sep 13, 2009

Outstanding! We'll be back!

Great location - walkable to Space Needle, Music/SciFi Museum. Short taxi ride to cruise ship ports. Front Desk staff and concierge took wonderful care of us. Hotel room is more like a small apartment. We stayed here the night before and night after a cruise. Was able to arrange a 9:30 AM check-in time for our return. This is the kind of hotel that makes you want to return to Seattle!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Pike's Public Market for the freshest food and dine in your room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MarQueen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver, BC
Sep 7, 2009

Exceeded Expectations!

I stayed at the Marqueen with my wife and one-year old. We were attending the Bumbershoot music and arts festival, which I have been doing for years. This is the first time I have stayed in this hotel, but have stayed in other hotels in the Queen Anne area. I will not stay anywhere else now for future trips. The hotel was about 3 blocks away from the closest entrance gate. 3-5 minute walk. The room was surprisingly large. King bed with a separate sitting area that included a pull-out couch. This was important, as we needed to "section-off" a sleeping area for our child, who was sleeping in a play-yard. It worked well, and we all had great sleeps. The bed was very comfortable with tons of pillows. The kitchen was very spacious as well, and included a seating area for 4. Full-size fridge and microwave. Enough dishes and cutlery to eat comfortably. We ordered take-out from a few restaurants in the area - a great Thai place right around the corner on Mercer. A nearby market also offers great deli sandwiches and other ready-to-eat food options. The complimentary continental breakfast that was offered is all we needed - fresh coffee, juice, yogurt, bagels, fruit and a variety of pastries. The staff were great! I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who is attending events near Seattle Center. The hotel also offers free shuttle service to any Seattle destination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Pesos" restaurant is right across the street...one of our favorite breakfast spots. We did not go on this trip, but have always done so on others.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MarQueen Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
seattle, wa
Aug 28, 2009

marqueen-inn at marqueen

well me got moved from marqueen hotel to inn at marqueen hotel, they told us we could have two queens at the inn at marqueen instead of one kind, but we got moved into the dump, with one single bed and one queen. It was horrible, they should have at least told us it really didnt have two queens. I would have rather had one king in a nice hotel not a dirty small hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MarQueen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Tea People
Business
Portland. OR
Aug 25, 2009

Friendly and comfortable

We enjoyed a restful one night in Seattle while up doing business. We didn't have a need to be in central downtown, nor to pay expensive hotel parking rates. We parked safely on the street and had easy access to our meetings the next day. Fabulous coffee shop, wireless worked fine and nice treat to have a light breakfast before heading out. Very european experience. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MarQueen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oregon
Aug 9, 2009

Nice place great Thursday wine tasting

Great location, staff and room. The only problem was noisy people waiting in line late at night across the street at restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Withing walking distance of many Seattle attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MarQueen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wellston, OK
Jul 24, 2009

charming

We enjoyed the spacious rooms with a kitchen and a small sitting room. It was very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Pioneer Square and the Underground Tour was very interesting and the Duck ride was very entertaining and fun. The location of our hotel was perfect. We could catch a bus on the corner or walk to space needle. The food was excellent everywhere. A nice pizza place just a half a block from our hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MarQueen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larkspur Lisa
Larkspur, CA
Jul 19, 2009

Rooms with lots of character

Loved the character of the hotel. From walking up the marble steps outside to walking up the gorgeous, sweeping staircase to the great room, we enjoyed our stay at the Marqueen Hotel. The rooms were very spacious, each with a kitchen (with sitting area), small living room and large sleeping area. The most interesting aspects of the room were the period details and hardwood floor. The location is fantastic. Close to many bars (lots of happy hours!), restaurants, transportation and sightseeing activities. The hotel serves a substantial continental breakfast: hot drinks, OJ, bagels/toast, scones and fruit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Metropolitan Market and Safeway are very close to the hotel. Perfect for buying snacks or a light meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MarQueen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Msp/St. Paul
Jun 29, 2009

Seattle stay

The hotel was an interesting, older site. Our room included a king sized bed and pull out sofa. It would have been nice to have some separation, like a screen, between the two spaces. There was a small kitchen, equipped with the necessities for cooking a meal. Ice was available through room service. There are no elevators, so luggage needs to be carried up the flights of steps. There is free internet, but the connection was a bit weak. The staff at the front desk was great - very helpful. Parking is by valet - again quick and easy. Breakfast was very basic - coffee, OJ, and bread - probably not enough to get you through until dinner. The hotel is within walking distance of the space needle. There is a fantastic market within a block.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had dinner at Ray's Boathouse - great view and good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MarQueen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jun 21, 2009

Great Hotel, Friendly Stuff

This hotel is in great location. I can see the space needle from the window of my room. The room is nice and clean and my room include a kitchen. This is a plus for me to shop at the local market and cook the sea food myself. The room has an antique look, but it's very clean and comfortable. I recommend it to everybody. By the way, the free breakfast is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice Kitchen and near Space needle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top