$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 17, 2014 Check-out: Oct 18, 2014

Hyatt at Olive 8

4 stars
1635 8th Ave, SEATTLE, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
122 reviews
Great location, comfortable and clean

Had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel. The room was furnished nicely and had a modern look. Bed... See full review

  • Xerrocks
  • Aug 18, 2014
So helpful!

My son left his blanket in our room after we left for the airport. I called and the lost and found... See full review

  • Julie Newt
  • Apr 29, 2014
Green splendor in the heart of the Emerald City
The Hyatt at Olive 8 prides itself on being the first LEED-certified hotel in Seattle. Eco-friendly touches abound, from fixtures and lighting in guest rooms to the locally-sourced fare on the menu at Urbane, the Hyatt at Olive 8's full-service restaurant. Treatments at Elaia, the hotel's spa, incorporate locally-produced, organic and earth-friendly products. Even the indoor lap pool, filled with salt-treated water instead of the usual chlorinated water, is eco-friendly.
Highlights
  • Earth-friendly lighting and fixtures
  • Urbane restaurant, featuring locally-sourced food
  • In-house yoga studio
  • Walking distance to Seattle attractions
Rooms
The Hyatt at Olive 8 offers 364 sophisticated guest rooms, ranging from a standard double to a luxury king and presidential suite. All rooms feature the Hyatt Grand bed, a 37-inch flat-screen TV, stereos with iPod docks, energy-efficient lighting and bathroom fixtures and Wi-Fi service. Bathrooms sport glass-wall showers and Portico bath products. Guests request Respire rooms, specially treated and cleaned to remove possible allergens and irritants.
Features
The Hyatt at Olive 8 indulges guests in modern luxury, from the glass exterior to the sleek, mid-century-feeling lobby. Amenities underscore the Hyatt at Olive 8's commitment to earth-friendly living. The maintenance staff uses green cleaning solutions. The rooms employ low-allergen, natural materials and fibers. Extra-sensitive guests request Respire rooms, which are virtually allergen-free. An in-house yoga studio accompanies a 24-hour fitness center.
Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (15 mi/24 km) 
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Center station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Downtown Airporter shuttle service (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Space Needle (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Pike Place Market (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Seattle Aquarium (1.2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Seattle Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • High-speed Internet access in meeting rooms
  • Audio/visual equipment and staff
  • Complimentary workstation with printer and fax
Policies and fees
The hotel provides valet parking for $34 per day (price subject to change).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

47.6133 -122.3333
Nearby airports
Seattle-Tacoma Intl Airport, (SEA), 15.00, MI, N; Boeing Field King County Intl Airport, (BFI), 4.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt at Olive 8 also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hyatt at Olive 8 Rooms

Business Plan
- One shirt or blouse pressed per room per day (during normal business hours; dry cleaning excluded) - Daily Internet access - Full breakfast daily for one adult - One bottle of water per room daily - Newspaper delivered to room (Monday-Friday)
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Concierge
Description not provided
Deluxe
Premier Room with 2 Queen Beds.
Standard
1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds. All rooms are in Oak veneer with a Wenge finish. LG 37" & 42" flat panel LCDs. Wired or wireless internet connections available with charge.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Pike Place Market: 0.5 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.6 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.9 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.9 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.1 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.5 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.8 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.5 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.6 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.9 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.9 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.1 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.5 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.8 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.3 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.7 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.1 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.1 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.5 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 4.8 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.4 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.8 mi

Dining

Coffee Bar
Provides a relaxed, comfortable setting for enjoying lighter fare, and an inspired selection of regional wines.
Urbane
Relaxed, neighborhood-style setting, offering Northwest Cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt at Olive 8

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
green thumb
Chicago
Oct 2, 2009

Peaceful in Seattle

Our time in Seattle was very enjoyable. Not only because of the city itself, but because of our stay at the Hyatt at Olive 8. First, the hotel and our room was extremely clean and well-maintained. The overall look and feel of the hotel is modern and swanky. The staff was very accomadating, as well as providng excellent customer service. The hotel restaurant Urbane, has fresh ingredient, wonderful service, and appealing decor. The Hyatt at Olive 8 is worth the added cost for a great hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Get a rent a car, and check out the local free newspaper to find out what's going on in the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Timer in Seattle
Pompano Beach, Fla
Sep 12, 2009

Wonderful vacation spot

The hotel was in a wonderful location. In the center of everything. Didn't need to rent a car. All was in walking distance(for those who love to walk). My husband and i walked to the Space Needle, Quest Stadium, Pike Place Market(3days n a row-great spot),we even caught a jazz set at Jazzalley(Dr John).(got tickets at the door).The room service food not good. Tried it twice and was disappointed both times. No problem. Restaurants were everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring your wallet. Stores were everywhere. Loved all the shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shogo
WA
Sep 11, 2009

It was great

All of things are very nice! so I feel very comfortable.The meal at the Hotel was also great. I like it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doggymixed
San Francisco
Sep 1, 2009

Modern decor yet simple and nice

The location was excellent. My friends and I took the bus from the airport and the bus stop was located one block away from the hotel. Check in was quick. The staff was really friendly. The room was great. The only thing that was weird to me was the housekeeping staff knocked on the door every morning, asking me when I am leaving the room. I guess she wanted to clean, but still, I thought that was kind of rude and weird. But overall, excellent location, can't beat it. mins away from monorail, shopping, eating, pike's market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Carolina
Aug 31, 2009

Seattle Hyatt "Olive 8"

This is a beautiful new "green" hotel right in downtown Seattle a quick walk to Pike's market, restaurants and the Monorail to the Space Needle. Bright and airey, and the restaurant in the lobby was nice too. Great weight room and pool. I would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 25, 2009

Hyatt at Olive 8

I stayed at the Hyatt for two nights, and it was fantastic. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for getting around the city. If I am back in Seattle I will definitely return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Silverdale, WA
Aug 16, 2009

Superb stay!

Superb stay all-around. No complaints! This hotel is in an ideal location in Seattle. Walking distanc to most attractions, including Qwest or Safeco Field.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Aug 10, 2009

Great location in downtown Seattle

My 11-year old daughter and I stayed here for a week's vacation. We easily walked everywhere or took public transportation. Anything you might need is within 3 blocks. We were sick the first day and had to stay in. We were very comfortable and the staff directed me to the nearest pharmacy 3 blocks away when I needed one. The room was beautiful, spacious, and spotless. Gym and pool were first-class. Restaurants' food and service outstanding. There was a fridge in the room but we had to manage without internet; it's $10 extra for every 24-hour period. The service was impeccable except for one incident. One day housekeeping did not properly shut the door. We were horrified when we arrived at end of day to find the door open and found floors and bathroom sink carelessly left unclean. The housekeeping supervisor was extremely sympathetic and apologetic and offered to have the room refreshed immediately, promising it wouldn't happen again and we would have someone different clean the room. His attitude was all I really needed to appease my concern, but nothing would have helped if we'd found anything missing. I felt comforted by the fact that we used the safe. Must have been one bad apple on the housekeeping staff. Other than that, staff were outstanding, friendly, helpful,informative etc. Service here was as good as can be found at any 5-star hotel anywhere in the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of buses available to take you to University of WA and back. The University Village is a lovely outdoor mall about 1 mile from campus that's also a nice getaway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Beaverton, OR
Aug 3, 2009

Nice

It was nice modern hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BillyBoy
Los Angeles
Aug 1, 2009

Green is Good

Close walking distance to Pike Place Market and waterfront. Great shops and restaurants all close by. Hotel appears to be in "new" condition with a very contemporary feel. The hotel restaurant "Urbane" has excellent food and a great bar. The monorail to the Space Needle is only 4 short blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If staying at the hotel for more than a couple of days, parking fees are high so take taxi or shuttle from airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search