$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Hyatt at Olive 8

4 stars
1635 8th Ave, SEATTLE, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
189 reviews
So helpful!

My son left his blanket in our room after we left for the airport. I called and the lost and found... See full review

  • Julie Newt
  • Apr 29, 2014
Great stay

It has a great location main attractions are within a walking distance, beautiful hotel, súper... See full review

  • ycnan
  • Apr 17, 2014
Green splendor in the heart of the Emerald City
The Hyatt at Olive 8 prides itself on being the first LEED-certified hotel in Seattle. Eco-friendly touches abound, from fixtures and lighting in guest rooms to the locally-sourced fare on the menu at Urbane, the Hyatt at Olive 8's full-service restaurant. Treatments at Elaia, the hotel's spa, incorporate locally-produced, organic and earth-friendly products. Even the indoor lap pool, filled with salt-treated water instead of the usual chlorinated water, is eco-friendly.
Highlights
  • Earth-friendly lighting and fixtures
  • Urbane restaurant, featuring locally-sourced food
  • In-house yoga studio
  • Walking distance to Seattle attractions
Rooms
The Hyatt at Olive 8 offers 364 sophisticated guest rooms, ranging from a standard double to a luxury king and presidential suite. All rooms feature the Hyatt Grand bed, a 37-inch flat-screen TV, stereos with iPod docks, energy-efficient lighting and bathroom fixtures and Wi-Fi service. Bathrooms sport glass-wall showers and Portico bath products. Guests request Respire rooms, specially treated and cleaned to remove possible allergens and irritants.
Features
The Hyatt at Olive 8 indulges guests in modern luxury, from the glass exterior to the sleek, mid-century-feeling lobby. Amenities underscore the Hyatt at Olive 8's commitment to earth-friendly living. The maintenance staff uses green cleaning solutions. The rooms employ low-allergen, natural materials and fibers. Extra-sensitive guests request Respire rooms, which are virtually allergen-free. An in-house yoga studio accompanies a 24-hour fitness center.
Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (15 mi/24 km) 
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Center station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Downtown Airporter shuttle service (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Space Needle (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Pike Place Market (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Seattle Aquarium (1.2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Seattle Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • High-speed Internet access in meeting rooms
  • Audio/visual equipment and staff
  • Complimentary workstation with printer and fax
Policies and fees
The hotel provides valet parking for $34 per day (price subject to change).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

47.6133 -122.3333
Nearby airports
Seattle-Tacoma Intl Airport, (SEA), 15.00, MI, N; Boeing Field King County Intl Airport, (BFI), 4.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt at Olive 8 also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hyatt at Olive 8 Rooms

Business Plan
- One shirt or blouse pressed per room per day (during normal business hours; dry cleaning excluded) - Daily Internet access - Full breakfast daily for one adult - One bottle of water per room daily - Newspaper delivered to room (Monday-Friday)
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Concierge
Description not provided
Deluxe
Premier Room with 2 Queen Beds.
Standard
1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds. All rooms are in Oak veneer with a Wenge finish. LG 37" & 42" flat panel LCDs. Wired or wireless internet connections available with charge.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Pike Place Market: 0.5 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.6 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.9 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.9 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.1 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.5 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.8 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.5 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.6 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.9 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.9 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.1 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.5 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.8 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.3 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.7 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.1 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.1 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.5 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 4.8 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.4 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.8 mi

Dining

Coffee Bar
Provides a relaxed, comfortable setting for enjoying lighter fare, and an inspired selection of regional wines.
Urbane
Relaxed, neighborhood-style setting, offering Northwest Cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (189)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt at Olive 8

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
189 out of 189
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mamma on vacation
Sedro Woolley, WA
Dec 30, 2010

Wonderful

The hotel was wonderful. It was clean. The pool was warm, both in it and when you got out. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Westlake center, which is where the monorail picks you up to go to the city center. About 10 minute walk from Pike Place market. I loved it. You do have to pay for parking ($39 plus tax overnight) so if you plan it right, you can get down there earlier in the day, park your car, enjoy Seattle and then check into your room at 3. Then you can still remain parked there after you check out of your room to take in more of the sights. The parking is full access so you only pay that once. Not bad when you consider it is $14 to park at pike place for 2 hours! We loved our stay and will probably return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

See the parking comment above.

Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Staying Dry
Cincinnati, OH
Dec 14, 2010

Beautiful clean hotel

This place is really clean, and really nice. I noticed parking was expensive, but the LINK light rail has a station two blocks away. We walked everywhere on our five day stay. It's a great location to walk around. It's also really close to the Paramount theater. We saw Penn and Teller there when they were in town. The Six Arms pub up the hill on Pike is great, and Happy hour at Dragonfish is a great deal too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Six Arms run by McMenamins is just a short walk up the hill on Pike. Get the cajun tater tots and a pint of Hammerhead or Ruby. Ruby is probably the best fruit beer in the world

Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Staying Dry
Cincinnati, OH
Dec 14, 2010

Beautiful clean hotel

This place is really clean, and really nice. I noticed parking was expensive, but the LINK light rail has a station two blocks away. We walked everywhere on our five day stay. It's a great location to walk around. It's also really close to the Paramount theater. We saw Penn and Teller there when they were in town. The Six Arms pub up the hill on Pike is great, and Happy hour at Dragonfish is a great deal too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Six Arms run by McMenamins is just a short walk up the hill on Pike. Get the cajun tater tots and a pint of Hammerhead or Ruby. Ruby is probably the best fruit beer in the world

Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ellensburg, WA
Dec 13, 2010

Hyatt Olive Eight, Seattle WA

Wonderful! the rooms were amazing, the spa and pool were amazing the the breakfast was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Dec 13, 2010

Great location, Great Hotel

I'm moving to the area and we stayed at this hotel while house hunting. We are platinum hyatt members and military, so we got a great deal on this hotel. Location was great - near lots of shopping, restaurants, the Pike Place market, theatre, etc. Everywhere was all decorated and lit up for Christmas - very pretty. Like always, Hyatt was great. The hotel rooms were very clean, beds were comfortable and service was great! The concierge was very helpful with suggesting places to eat, and things to see in our downtime. We spent a good amount of time just walking around downtown and exploring. I highly suggest borrowing umbrellas from the front desk. The only negative thing from our trip was the last night we were there. There must have been a wedding reception or something in the hotel and several of the drunk guests decided to run around our floor screaming and making tons of noise around 1 am. I had to step outside my room and ask them to be quiet and to please go to their rooms. I wasn't a happy camper, being I had to be leaving the hotel at 3 am for my flight, but I understand inconsiderate drunks are for the most part out of the hotel's control. Overall we had a great stay! Will probably stay again or at least recommend to family flying in to visit us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly suggest going and seeing the play: A Christmas Story, if you are in the area while it is still playing. It was phenomenal!

Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ellensburg, WA
Dec 13, 2010

Hyatt Olive Eight, Seattle WA

Wonderful! the rooms were amazing, the spa and pool were amazing the the breakfast was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Dec 13, 2010

Great location, Great Hotel

I'm moving to the area and we stayed at this hotel while house hunting. We are platinum hyatt members and military, so we got a great deal on this hotel. Location was great - near lots of shopping, restaurants, the Pike Place market, theatre, etc. Everywhere was all decorated and lit up for Christmas - very pretty. Like always, Hyatt was great. The hotel rooms were very clean, beds were comfortable and service was great! The concierge was very helpful with suggesting places to eat, and things to see in our downtime. We spent a good amount of time just walking around downtown and exploring. I highly suggest borrowing umbrellas from the front desk. The only negative thing from our trip was the last night we were there. There must have been a wedding reception or something in the hotel and several of the drunk guests decided to run around our floor screaming and making tons of noise around 1 am. I had to step outside my room and ask them to be quiet and to please go to their rooms. I wasn't a happy camper, being I had to be leaving the hotel at 3 am for my flight, but I understand inconsiderate drunks are for the most part out of the hotel's control. Overall we had a great stay! Will probably stay again or at least recommend to family flying in to visit us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly suggest going and seeing the play: A Christmas Story, if you are in the area while it is still playing. It was phenomenal!

Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Walnut Creek
Nov 4, 2010

Great downtown location

Stayed one night to attend an event at Key Arena. Great location -safe. Staff was always helpful and very nice. Short cab ride to Space Neeedle. Short walk (10 minutes) to Pike's Fish Market. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Walnut Creek
Nov 4, 2010

Great downtown location

Stayed one night to attend an event at Key Arena. Great location -safe. Staff was always helpful and very nice. Short cab ride to Space Neeedle. Short walk (10 minutes) to Pike's Fish Market. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oklahoma City
Oct 25, 2010

Excellent service, nice amenities

This hotel is close to all downtown activities. The buses stop a block away and they are free in the downtown area most of the time. The pool and gym are amazing - much better than any hotel I've stayed in. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. We watched the baseball playoffs in the lobby one night and were very comfortable. The rooms aren't large but are very comfortable and had everything you need - including toothpaste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Catch the monorail to the Space Needle at Westlake Center. It only cost $2.00 each way ($1.00 if you're 65 or older). Only a few blocks from the hotel. Great shopping too.

Back to menu Return to top