$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Hyatt at Olive 8

4 stars
1635 8th Ave, SEATTLE, WA 98101
Best In Stay Elite
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
127 reviews
GREAT PLACE!!!

Loved this place - great location and beautiful space/design See full review

  • Pinka
  • Dec 23, 2014
GREAT PLACE!!!

Loved this place - great location and beautiful space/design See full review

  • Pinka
  • Dec 22, 2014
Green splendor in the heart of the Emerald City
The Hyatt at Olive 8 prides itself on being the first LEED-certified hotel in Seattle. Eco-friendly touches abound, from fixtures and lighting in guest rooms to the locally-sourced fare on the menu at Urbane, the Hyatt at Olive 8's full-service restaurant. Treatments at Elaia, the hotel's spa, incorporate locally-produced, organic and earth-friendly products. Even the indoor lap pool, filled with salt-treated water instead of the usual chlorinated water, is eco-friendly.
Highlights
  • Earth-friendly lighting and fixtures
  • Urbane restaurant, featuring locally-sourced food
  • In-house yoga studio
  • Walking distance to Seattle attractions
Rooms
The Hyatt at Olive 8 offers 364 sophisticated guest rooms, ranging from a standard double to a luxury king and presidential suite. All rooms feature the Hyatt Grand bed, a 37-inch flat-screen TV, stereos with iPod docks, energy-efficient lighting and bathroom fixtures and Wi-Fi service. Bathrooms sport glass-wall showers and Portico bath products. Guests request Respire rooms, specially treated and cleaned to remove possible allergens and irritants.
Features
The Hyatt at Olive 8 indulges guests in modern luxury, from the glass exterior to the sleek, mid-century-feeling lobby. Amenities underscore the Hyatt at Olive 8's commitment to earth-friendly living. The maintenance staff uses green cleaning solutions. The rooms employ low-allergen, natural materials and fibers. Extra-sensitive guests request Respire rooms, which are virtually allergen-free. An in-house yoga studio accompanies a 24-hour fitness center.
Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (15 mi/24 km) 
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Center station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Downtown Airporter shuttle service (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Space Needle (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Pike Place Market (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Seattle Aquarium (1.2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Seattle Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • High-speed Internet access in meeting rooms
  • Audio/visual equipment and staff
  • Complimentary workstation with printer and fax
Policies and fees
The hotel provides valet parking for $34 per day (price subject to change).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt at Olive 8 also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hyatt at Olive 8 Rooms

Business Plan
- One shirt or blouse pressed per room per day (during normal business hours; dry cleaning excluded) - Daily Internet access - Full breakfast daily for one adult - One bottle of water per room daily - Newspaper delivered to room (Monday-Friday)
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Concierge
Description not provided
Deluxe
Premier Room with 2 Queen Beds.
Standard
1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds. All rooms are in Oak veneer with a Wenge finish. LG 37" & 42" flat panel LCDs. Wired or wireless internet connections available with charge.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Pike Place Market: 0.5 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.6 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.9 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.9 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.1 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.5 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.8 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.5 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.6 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.9 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.9 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.1 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.5 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.8 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.3 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.7 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.1 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.1 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.5 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 4.8 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.4 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.8 mi

Dining

Coffee Bar
Provides a relaxed, comfortable setting for enjoying lighter fare, and an inspired selection of regional wines.
Urbane
Relaxed, neighborhood-style setting, offering Northwest Cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt at Olive 8

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pat Anse
Birmingham
Aug 23, 2012

Wonderful stay

Great hotel, had everything we could ask for. Fitness center and pool were a big plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Get a way mom
Business
Texas
May 18, 2011

Extremely expensive

When we left the airport we called the hotel for directions the first answer I got was take a cab, then we explained we had a rental car they gave us directions that were from the opposite direction 1 1/2 hours later we arrive at hotel and found out the parking was $41 a night tax included. Could not believe it was this expensive. The bathroom is all glass including the door glad I didn't have my kids with me. We got in lard so decided to use there restaurant for 2 drinks and 2 hamburgers was $52. Bring a lot of money if you want to stay inside Seattle highly recommend staying in the outskirts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fishermans restaurant great food and service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dino dupe
Business
Louisiana, USA
Apr 2, 2012

good loc but refinishing floors of lobby on a sunday morning

nice good green hotel in downtown area; bartenders and staff at urbane were great! i question the decision to have floors of lobby refinished on a sunday morning. loud and kinda ruined the brunch thing at urbane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

maneki japanese- good and cheap

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IndyAmy
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 7, 2012

Great location, trendy

Nice location, easy walking to restaurants, shopping, Public Market. Very trendy look with updated features, bar, and coffee shop. Could've used a smidge more cleanliness in the room itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a couple blocks from the Public Market and great shopping along the way!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
liz bm
Business
boston
Sep 10, 2012

fabulous location

It was a great hotel in great location. coffee in the coffee bar surpassed anything i had ever tasted. one complaint was that the bathroom smelled musty even though it was spotless

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TylerNoco
Business
Denver, Colorado
Dec 16, 2013

Dining?

Rooms and pool area were fantastic. The "Urbane" restraunt near the lobby was terrible. Menu was sparse and food tasted awful. Lack of a bar area was a low point for us. Most if not all 4 & 5 star hotels have a bar area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruth's Chris

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sarahthetraveler
Business
Poulsbo, WA
Nov 17, 2014

Just an a place to lay your head

The hotel is in a great location, and the decor is very contemporary with clean lines. However, the views are nothing to write home about and the rooms lack any originality. We reserved a King with a city view on a high floor, and the only view we had was of the Grand Hyatt. The bed was NOT a king. I was told the Queen rooms were two to a room. I know without a doubt it was not a King, because we have a regular king and queen at home. I have stayed in several hotels around the world and this is by far the smallest king bed I have ever seen. If you are just looking for a place to lay your head, than this would be a perfect place. Just don't shell out the extra cash for a king, because you getting a queen regardless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kmichcolin
Business
kansas city, mo
Jul 16, 2009

Great Spot

The bed was very comfortable and the rooms are super! The walls are thin, you could hear your neighbor cough and the housekeeping staff was really loud early (8:00 a.m.) in the morning. We also had a delay when checking in after 4:00 p.m. due to housekeeping. However, overall the hotel was very nice and in a great location. We would stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you have tickets to the baseball game or football game, take the public transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BillyBoy
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 1, 2009

Green is Good

Close walking distance to Pike Place Market and waterfront. Great shops and restaurants all close by. Hotel appears to be in "new" condition with a very contemporary feel. The hotel restaurant "Urbane" has excellent food and a great bar. The monorail to the Space Needle is only 4 short blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If staying at the hotel for more than a couple of days, parking fees are high so take taxi or shuttle from airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Aug 10, 2009

Great location in downtown Seattle

My 11-year old daughter and I stayed here for a week's vacation. We easily walked everywhere or took public transportation. Anything you might need is within 3 blocks. We were sick the first day and had to stay in. We were very comfortable and the staff directed me to the nearest pharmacy 3 blocks away when I needed one. The room was beautiful, spacious, and spotless. Gym and pool were first-class. Restaurants' food and service outstanding. There was a fridge in the room but we had to manage without internet; it's $10 extra for every 24-hour period. The service was impeccable except for one incident. One day housekeeping did not properly shut the door. We were horrified when we arrived at end of day to find the door open and found floors and bathroom sink carelessly left unclean. The housekeeping supervisor was extremely sympathetic and apologetic and offered to have the room refreshed immediately, promising it wouldn't happen again and we would have someone different clean the room. His attitude was all I really needed to appease my concern, but nothing would have helped if we'd found anything missing. I felt comforted by the fact that we used the safe. Must have been one bad apple on the housekeeping staff. Other than that, staff were outstanding, friendly, helpful,informative etc. Service here was as good as can be found at any 5-star hotel anywhere in the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of buses available to take you to University of WA and back. The University Village is a lovely outdoor mall about 1 mile from campus that's also a nice getaway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Timer in Seattle
Business
Pompano Beach, Fla
Sep 12, 2009

Wonderful vacation spot

The hotel was in a wonderful location. In the center of everything. Didn't need to rent a car. All was in walking distance(for those who love to walk). My husband and i walked to the Space Needle, Quest Stadium, Pike Place Market(3days n a row-great spot),we even caught a jazz set at Jazzalley(Dr John).(got tickets at the door).The room service food not good. Tried it twice and was disappointed both times. No problem. Restaurants were everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring your wallet. Stores were everywhere. Loved all the shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top