$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2014 Check-out: Sep 15, 2014

Hyatt at Olive 8

4 stars
1635 8th Ave, SEATTLE, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
127 reviews
Great location, comfortable and clean

Had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel. The room was furnished nicely and had a modern look. Bed... See full review

  • Xerrocks
  • Aug 18, 2014
So helpful!

My son left his blanket in our room after we left for the airport. I called and the lost and found... See full review

  • Julie Newt
  • Apr 29, 2014
Green splendor in the heart of the Emerald City
The Hyatt at Olive 8 prides itself on being the first LEED-certified hotel in Seattle. Eco-friendly touches abound, from fixtures and lighting in guest rooms to the locally-sourced fare on the menu at Urbane, the Hyatt at Olive 8's full-service restaurant. Treatments at Elaia, the hotel's spa, incorporate locally-produced, organic and earth-friendly products. Even the indoor lap pool, filled with salt-treated water instead of the usual chlorinated water, is eco-friendly.
Highlights
  • Earth-friendly lighting and fixtures
  • Urbane restaurant, featuring locally-sourced food
  • In-house yoga studio
  • Walking distance to Seattle attractions
Rooms
The Hyatt at Olive 8 offers 364 sophisticated guest rooms, ranging from a standard double to a luxury king and presidential suite. All rooms feature the Hyatt Grand bed, a 37-inch flat-screen TV, stereos with iPod docks, energy-efficient lighting and bathroom fixtures and Wi-Fi service. Bathrooms sport glass-wall showers and Portico bath products. Guests request Respire rooms, specially treated and cleaned to remove possible allergens and irritants.
Features
The Hyatt at Olive 8 indulges guests in modern luxury, from the glass exterior to the sleek, mid-century-feeling lobby. Amenities underscore the Hyatt at Olive 8's commitment to earth-friendly living. The maintenance staff uses green cleaning solutions. The rooms employ low-allergen, natural materials and fibers. Extra-sensitive guests request Respire rooms, which are virtually allergen-free. An in-house yoga studio accompanies a 24-hour fitness center.
Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (15 mi/24 km) 
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Center station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Downtown Airporter shuttle service (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Space Needle (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Pike Place Market (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Seattle Aquarium (1.2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Seattle Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • High-speed Internet access in meeting rooms
  • Audio/visual equipment and staff
  • Complimentary workstation with printer and fax
Policies and fees
The hotel provides valet parking for $34 per day (price subject to change).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

47.6133 -122.3333
Nearby airports
Seattle-Tacoma Intl Airport, (SEA), 15.00, MI, N; Boeing Field King County Intl Airport, (BFI), 4.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt at Olive 8 also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hyatt at Olive 8 Rooms

Business Plan
- One shirt or blouse pressed per room per day (during normal business hours; dry cleaning excluded) - Daily Internet access - Full breakfast daily for one adult - One bottle of water per room daily - Newspaper delivered to room (Monday-Friday)
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Concierge
Description not provided
Deluxe
Premier Room with 2 Queen Beds.
Standard
1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds. All rooms are in Oak veneer with a Wenge finish. LG 37" & 42" flat panel LCDs. Wired or wireless internet connections available with charge.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Pike Place Market: 0.5 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.6 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.9 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.9 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.1 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.5 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.8 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.5 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.6 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.9 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.9 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.1 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.5 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.8 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.3 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.7 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.1 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.1 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.5 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 4.8 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.4 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.8 mi

Dining

Coffee Bar
Provides a relaxed, comfortable setting for enjoying lighter fare, and an inspired selection of regional wines.
Urbane
Relaxed, neighborhood-style setting, offering Northwest Cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt at Olive 8

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Get a way mom
Texas
May 18, 2011

Extremely expensive

When we left the airport we called the hotel for directions the first answer I got was take a cab, then we explained we had a rental car they gave us directions that were from the opposite direction 1 1/2 hours later we arrive at hotel and found out the parking was $41 a night tax included. Could not believe it was this expensive. The bathroom is all glass including the door glad I didn't have my kids with me. We got in lard so decided to use there restaurant for 2 drinks and 2 hamburgers was $52. Bring a lot of money if you want to stay inside Seattle highly recommend staying in the outskirts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fishermans restaurant great food and service

Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dino dupe
Louisiana, USA
Apr 2, 2012

good loc but refinishing floors of lobby on a sunday morning

nice good green hotel in downtown area; bartenders and staff at urbane were great! i question the decision to have floors of lobby refinished on a sunday morning. loud and kinda ruined the brunch thing at urbane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

maneki japanese- good and cheap

Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IndyAmy
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 7, 2012

Great location, trendy

Nice location, easy walking to restaurants, shopping, Public Market. Very trendy look with updated features, bar, and coffee shop. Could've used a smidge more cleanliness in the room itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a couple blocks from the Public Market and great shopping along the way!

Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
liz bm
boston
Sep 10, 2012

fabulous location

It was a great hotel in great location. coffee in the coffee bar surpassed anything i had ever tasted. one complaint was that the bathroom smelled musty even though it was spotless

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TylerNoco
Denver, Colorado
Dec 16, 2013

Dining?

Rooms and pool area were fantastic. The "Urbane" restraunt near the lobby was terrible. Menu was sparse and food tasted awful. Lack of a bar area was a low point for us. Most if not all 4 & 5 star hotels have a bar area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruth's Chris

Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G Lang
Mill Creek, WA
Jan 10, 2014

Awesome hotel!

Love this hotel, great amenities (fitness center and pool area are top-notch). Great modern rooms..,, Main hotel lobby is under construction... So that is a bummer.., I like chilling in the lobby with a coffee and newspaper, really no good atmosphere for that in this hotel during construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Borganica
Illinois
Feb 26, 2014

Trip to Seattle

Our experiance at the Olive 8 was overall good. We stayed Friday - Wednesday. On Sunday when we got back to our room, there was a note from the hotel that they needed to do emergency tile work on Monday morning and the noise would probably be throughout the hotel. They started at 9:00 am which was fine, but it was VERY loud. We were so glad that we had the whole day planned away from the hotel. We completely understand that things happen and this work needed to be done. So appreciated the heads up from the staff. However, as other reveiwers have stated, the walls are pretty thin and you can hear a lot of other room/hallway noise. The staff were very pleasant & helpful. Location was great for walking to Capitol Hill and sites downtown. Would I stay there again, probably...but will try another place on our next visit to Seattle first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kra14
Business
Chicago
Apr 30, 2014

Hyatt at Olive 8

I was at a conference--wanted a good location so that I could also go to Pike's Market (it's an easy walk from the hotel); there are convenience stores around to buy some food staples; the room itself is set up perfectly for travel, storing food (if you are a healthy person and want to buy fruits and vegetables); and the gym is great (I teach group exercise and need to stay fit on the road)--the gym really has what an exercise professional would choose (although a few ellipticals and/or spin bikes would be nice). The pool area is also beautiful and the staff is very helpful. Restaurant is appealing--not touristy but actually attractive. Overall, a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kmichcolin
kansas city, mo
Jul 16, 2009

Great Spot

The bed was very comfortable and the rooms are super! The walls are thin, you could hear your neighbor cough and the housekeeping staff was really loud early (8:00 a.m.) in the morning. We also had a delay when checking in after 4:00 p.m. due to housekeeping. However, overall the hotel was very nice and in a great location. We would stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you have tickets to the baseball game or football game, take the public transportation.

Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BillyBoy
Los Angeles
Aug 1, 2009

Green is Good

Close walking distance to Pike Place Market and waterfront. Great shops and restaurants all close by. Hotel appears to be in "new" condition with a very contemporary feel. The hotel restaurant "Urbane" has excellent food and a great bar. The monorail to the Space Needle is only 4 short blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If staying at the hotel for more than a couple of days, parking fees are high so take taxi or shuttle from airport.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search