$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 12, 2014

Hyatt at Olive 8

4 stars
1635 8th Ave, SEATTLE, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
117 reviews
Great stay

It has a great location main attractions are within a walking distance, beautiful hotel, súper... See full review

  • ycnan
  • Apr 17, 2014
Hawks game

Despite construction work the hotel was excellent. Nice room and excellent service from staff. See full review

  • RBRB1
  • Jan 14, 2014
Green splendor in the heart of the Emerald City
The Hyatt at Olive 8 prides itself on being the first LEED-certified hotel in Seattle. Eco-friendly touches abound, from fixtures and lighting in guest rooms to the locally-sourced fare on the menu at Urbane, the Hyatt at Olive 8's full-service restaurant. Treatments at Elaia, the hotel's spa, incorporate locally-produced, organic and earth-friendly products. Even the indoor lap pool, filled with salt-treated water instead of the usual chlorinated water, is eco-friendly.
Highlights
  • Earth-friendly lighting and fixtures
  • Urbane restaurant, featuring locally-sourced food
  • In-house yoga studio
  • Walking distance to Seattle attractions
Rooms
The Hyatt at Olive 8 offers 364 sophisticated guest rooms, ranging from a standard double to a luxury king and presidential suite. All rooms feature the Hyatt Grand bed, a 37-inch flat-screen TV, stereos with iPod docks, energy-efficient lighting and bathroom fixtures and Wi-Fi service. Bathrooms sport glass-wall showers and Portico bath products. Guests request Respire rooms, specially treated and cleaned to remove possible allergens and irritants.
Features
The Hyatt at Olive 8 indulges guests in modern luxury, from the glass exterior to the sleek, mid-century-feeling lobby. Amenities underscore the Hyatt at Olive 8's commitment to earth-friendly living. The maintenance staff uses green cleaning solutions. The rooms employ low-allergen, natural materials and fibers. Extra-sensitive guests request Respire rooms, which are virtually allergen-free. An in-house yoga studio accompanies a 24-hour fitness center.
Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (15 mi/24 km) 
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Center station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Downtown Airporter shuttle service (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Space Needle (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Pike Place Market (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Seattle Aquarium (1.2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Seattle Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • High-speed Internet access in meeting rooms
  • Audio/visual equipment and staff
  • Complimentary workstation with printer and fax
Policies and fees
The hotel provides valet parking for $34 per day (price subject to change).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hyatt at Olive 8 Rooms

Business Plan
- One shirt or blouse pressed per room per day (during normal business hours; dry cleaning excluded) - Daily Internet access - Full breakfast daily for one adult - One bottle of water per room daily - Newspaper delivered to room (Monday-Friday)
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Concierge
Description not provided
Deluxe
Premier Room with 2 Queen Beds.
Standard
1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds. All rooms are in Oak veneer with a Wenge finish. LG 37" & 42" flat panel LCDs. Wired or wireless internet connections available with charge.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt at Olive 8 also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

47.6133 -122.3333
Nearby airports
Seattle-Tacoma Intl Airport, (SEA), 15.00, MI, N; Boeing Field King County Intl Airport, (BFI), 4.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Pike Place Market: 0.5 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.6 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.9 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.9 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.1 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.5 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.8 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.5 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.6 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.9 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.9 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.1 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.5 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.8 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.3 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.7 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.1 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.1 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.5 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 4.8 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.4 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.8 mi

Dining

Coffee Bar
Provides a relaxed, comfortable setting for enjoying lighter fare, and an inspired selection of regional wines.
Urbane
Relaxed, neighborhood-style setting, offering Northwest Cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (117)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt at Olive 8

Overall score

4.5 / 5
117 out of 117
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

5
Pat Anse
Birmingham
Aug 23, 2012

Wonderful stay

Great hotel, had everything we could ask for. Fitness center and pool were a big plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

5
JSSrider
Business
Nashville
Jul 2, 2012

Just a very cool place

You couldn't ask for a better location, accommodation, or anything else. I'll always stay here from now on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out what's at the Paramount Theater. Probably something really good.

Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
seattle, WA
Dec 21, 2009

great hotel

great hotel very clean very close to shopping. Great experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

5
markmc51
Seattle, WA
Jul 3, 2012

Lovely hotel

I booked this hotel as an extra night of my weekend getaway. I'm working downtown Seattle and this allowed me to walk the work the next morning. Sunday evening I walked around the corner to Von's, a restaurant I really enjoy, and had a lovely dinner while watching the young wildlife at the bar. The room was beautiful, clean and quiet and I was able to get it quite dark (not like other hotels). I got a wonderful night's sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Von's! 617 Pine st. Try the Signature Salad!

Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

5
gordon m
West Palm Beach, Fl
Jul 1, 2011

fantastic stay

Very good location, modern room, good size and clean. Soft comfortable beds. The best part was after a horrible flight gone wrong leaving fort lauderdale airport, the woman (named [...]) at the front desk when we arrived late asked how our trip was. When told horrible (southwest airlines) she was very nice and offered us complimentary wine and fruit bowl. What a nice jesture on her part, made my family and I very relieved that there was someone who cared. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Seattle and Hyatt should be proud of having an employee who is fantastic, she really made our trip better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Jan 2, 2011

Great stay

We stayed for new years from a 30 hour flight journey and were staying for some relaxation. Hotel staff was extremely nice and service was exellent. The spa was excellent as well and both me and my wife had a hot stone massage in a couples suite. Urbane restaurant and room service food was great as well. The location is very close to lots of local restaurants and pacific place mall for great shopping. Overall a wonderful stay and we would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Butler, NJ
Jun 14, 2011

Great Vacation

We came to Seattle to do some site seeing and relax after graduating. The hotel was immaculate and staff was very helpful. Spa was great as was the pool and hottub. Room service was also fantastic. Would definitely go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Perfect spot for walking. Not far from the market or space needle and various other places. We did buy the city pass and did everything in it. Seemed to be a better buy than the go Seattle pass.

Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

5
Slipnslide
Sacramento, CA
Jul 20, 2010

Great, trendy hotel, excellent service!!

Hotel was very clean and trendy. Even though we didn't spend a lot of time in the room, the staff welcomed us back each time we returned. The concierge recommended some excellent restaurants. I have no complaints. Oh and the fitness center and pool are top notch. Only 3 blocks from Westlake Shopping Center and the Public Transit hub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the locals, police officers, servers, and random people where they like to eat. They gave us great suggestions.

Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

5
green thumb
Chicago
Oct 2, 2009

Peaceful in Seattle

Our time in Seattle was very enjoyable. Not only because of the city itself, but because of our stay at the Hyatt at Olive 8. First, the hotel and our room was extremely clean and well-maintained. The overall look and feel of the hotel is modern and swanky. The staff was very accomadating, as well as providng excellent customer service. The hotel restaurant Urbane, has fresh ingredient, wonderful service, and appealing decor. The Hyatt at Olive 8 is worth the added cost for a great hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Get a rent a car, and check out the local free newspaper to find out what's going on in the city.

Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

5
SnyeG
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Service Above and Beyond

The moment my new husband and I walked into this hotel, we noticed the calming effect it had on us. The atmosphere of the Olive 8 is elegant, simple, and welcoming, and it has the luxury feel of a hotel twice its price. The staff were more than helpful. They seemed to actually enjoy making your stay better. Room service was prompt, the concierge made things easy for us, and the spa was incredibly beautiful and calm. They even have a separate relaxation room, and the massages we got were the best we've ever received. About a five minute walk to Pike Place. Great location. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Arizona
Jun 30, 2011

Great location great hotel

My husband and I went to Seattle to sped some time together and see some friends. This hotel was perfect, the room was a little small but everything else was great. Perfect location to everything. We walked just about everywhere it is about a 10-15 minute walk to Pikes Places Market. You are surrounded by shops, malls and restaurants. Hotel staff is very friendly and hotel is nice and quite. Perfect stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are out late there is a sushi restaurant in the hotel just next door they serve late night food (not all sushi) at great happy hour prices.

Back to menu Return to top