$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Hyatt at Olive 8

4 stars
View map of 1635 8th Ave, SEATTLE, WA 98101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
134 reviews
NCAA March Madness

I know this hotel well, and when it was on sale, it was a no-brainer. Staff are always courteous,... See full review

  • Matt C.
  • Aug 18, 2015
Seminar for Work

The hotel hosted the business seminar, in addition to my staying there. The service was fantastic... See full review

  • Donna Z.
  • Jul 27, 2015
The Hyatt at Olive 8 prides itself on being the first LEED-certified hotel in Seattle. Eco-friendly touches abound, from fixtures and lighting in guest rooms to the locally-sourced fare on the menu at Urbane, the Hyatt at Olive 8's full-service restaurant. Treatments at Elaia, the hotel's spa, incorporate locally-produced, organic and earth-friendly products. Even the indoor lap pool, filled with salt-treated water instead of the usual chlorinated water, is eco-friendly.
Rooms
The Hyatt at Olive 8 offers 364 sophisticated guest rooms, ranging from a standard double to a luxury king and presidential suite. All rooms feature the Hyatt Grand bed, a 37-inch flat-screen TV, stereos with iPod docks, energy-efficient lighting and bathroom fixtures and Wi-Fi service. Bathrooms sport glass-wall showers and Portico bath products. Guests request Respire rooms, specially treated and cleaned to remove possible allergens and irritants.
Property features
The Hyatt at Olive 8 indulges guests in modern luxury, from the glass exterior to the sleek, mid-century-feeling lobby. Amenities underscore the Hyatt at Olive 8's commitment to earth-friendly living. The maintenance staff uses green cleaning solutions. The rooms employ low-allergen, natural materials and fibers. Extra-sensitive guests request Respire rooms, which are virtually allergen-free. An in-house yoga studio accompanies a 24-hour fitness center.
Highlights
  • Earth-friendly lighting and fixtures
  • Urbane restaurant, featuring locally-sourced food
  • In-house yoga studio
  • Walking distance to Seattle attractions
Nearby attractions
  • Space Needle (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Pike Place Market (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Seattle Aquarium (1.2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Seattle Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • High-speed Internet access in meeting rooms
  • Audio/visual equipment and staff
  • Complimentary workstation with printer and fax
Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (15 mi/24 km) 
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Center station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Downtown Airporter shuttle service (fees apply)
Policies
The hotel provides valet parking for $34 per day (price subject to change).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt at Olive 8 also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$170
4.1 / 5 409 reviews
★★★★
$199
4.4 / 5 126 reviews
★★★★
$166
4.2 / 5 161 reviews
★★★★
$219
4.2 / 5 195 reviews
★★★★
$215
4.3 / 5 132 reviews
★★★
$160
4.1 / 5 28 reviews
★★★★
$179
4.1 / 5 353 reviews
★★★
$141
3.3 / 5 473 reviews
★★★★
$300
4.6 / 5 63 reviews

Hyatt at Olive 8 Rooms

Business Plan
- One shirt or blouse pressed per room per day (during normal business hours; dry cleaning excluded) - Daily Internet access - Full breakfast daily for one adult - One bottle of water per room daily - Newspaper delivered to room (Monday-Friday) - Long distance calls within Continental United St
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Concierge
Description not provided
Deluxe
Premier Room with 2 Queen Beds.
Standard
1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds. All rooms are in Oak veneer with a Wenge finish. LG 37" & 42" flat panel LCDs. Wired or wireless internet connections available with charge.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Pike Place Market: 0.5 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Seattle Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.9 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.9 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.1 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.5 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.8 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.5 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Seattle Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.9 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.9 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.9 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 1 mi
  • Key Arena: 1.1 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.5 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.8 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.3 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.7 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.1 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.1 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.5 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 4.8 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.4 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.8 mi

Dining

Coffee Bar
Provides a relaxed, comfortable setting for enjoying lighter fare, and an inspired selection of regional wines.
Urbane
Relaxed, neighborhood-style setting, offering Northwest Cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt at Olive 8

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Get a way mom
Couples
Texas
May 18, 2011

Extremely expensive

When we left the airport we called the hotel for directions the first answer I got was take a cab, then we explained we had a rental car they gave us directions that were from the opposite direction 1 1/2 hours later we arrive at hotel and found out the parking was $41 a night tax included. Could not believe it was this expensive. The bathroom is all glass including the door glad I didn't have my kids with me. We got in lard so decided to use there restaurant for 2 drinks and 2 hamburgers was $52. Bring a lot of money if you want to stay inside Seattle highly recommend staying in the outskirts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fishermans restaurant great food and service

Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dino dupe
Couples
Louisiana, USA
Apr 2, 2012

good loc but refinishing floors of lobby on a sunday morning

nice good green hotel in downtown area; bartenders and staff at urbane were great! i question the decision to have floors of lobby refinished on a sunday morning. loud and kinda ruined the brunch thing at urbane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

maneki japanese- good and cheap

Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IndyAmy
Couples
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 7, 2012

Great location, trendy

Nice location, easy walking to restaurants, shopping, Public Market. Very trendy look with updated features, bar, and coffee shop. Could've used a smidge more cleanliness in the room itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a couple blocks from the Public Market and great shopping along the way!

Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
liz bm
Couples
boston
Sep 10, 2012

fabulous location

It was a great hotel in great location. coffee in the coffee bar surpassed anything i had ever tasted. one complaint was that the bathroom smelled musty even though it was spotless

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TylerNoco
Couples
Denver, Colorado
Dec 16, 2013

Dining?

Rooms and pool area were fantastic. The "Urbane" restraunt near the lobby was terrible. Menu was sparse and food tasted awful. Lack of a bar area was a low point for us. Most if not all 4 & 5 star hotels have a bar area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruth's Chris

Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sarahthetraveler
Couples
Poulsbo, WA
Nov 17, 2014

Just an a place to lay your head

The hotel is in a great location, and the decor is very contemporary with clean lines. However, the views are nothing to write home about and the rooms lack any originality. We reserved a King with a city view on a high floor, and the only view we had was of the Grand Hyatt. The bed was NOT a king. I was told the Queen rooms were two to a room. I know without a doubt it was not a King, because we have a regular king and queen at home. I have stayed in several hotels around the world and this is by far the smallest king bed I have ever seen. If you are just looking for a place to lay your head, than this would be a perfect place. Just don't shell out the extra cash for a king, because you getting a queen regardless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bradley H.
Couples
Dublin
Apr 8, 2015

Just OK

The hotel is a little dated and in a cramped area, but a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G Lang
Friends
Mill Creek, WA
Jan 10, 2014

Awesome hotel!

Love this hotel, great amenities (fitness center and pool area are top-notch). Great modern rooms..,, Main hotel lobby is under construction... So that is a bummer.., I like chilling in the lobby with a coffee and newspaper, really no good atmosphere for that in this hotel during construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Borganica
Couples
Illinois
Feb 26, 2014

Trip to Seattle

Our experiance at the Olive 8 was overall good. We stayed Friday - Wednesday. On Sunday when we got back to our room, there was a note from the hotel that they needed to do emergency tile work on Monday morning and the noise would probably be throughout the hotel. They started at 9:00 am which was fine, but it was VERY loud. We were so glad that we had the whole day planned away from the hotel. We completely understand that things happen and this work needed to be done. So appreciated the heads up from the staff. However, as other reveiwers have stated, the walls are pretty thin and you can hear a lot of other room/hallway noise. The staff were very pleasant & helpful. Location was great for walking to Capitol Hill and sites downtown. Would I stay there again, probably...but will try another place on our next visit to Seattle first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hyatt at Olive 8

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kra14
Business
Chicago
Apr 30, 2014

Hyatt at Olive 8

I was at a conference--wanted a good location so that I could also go to Pike's Market (it's an easy walk from the hotel); there are convenience stores around to buy some food staples; the room itself is set up perfectly for travel, storing food (if you are a healthy person and want to buy fruits and vegetables); and the gym is great (I teach group exercise and need to stay fit on the road)--the gym really has what an exercise professional would choose (although a few ellipticals and/or spin bikes would be nice). The pool area is also beautiful and the staff is very helpful. Restaurant is appealing--not touristy but actually attractive. Overall, a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top