$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 20, 2015 Check-out: Jan 23, 2015

Hotel Max

3 stars
620 Stewart St., Seattle, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
314 reviews
Simply the BEST!

This was my 3rd time staying at Hotel Max and just as good at the other two. The staff is great,... See full review

  • Kimmy Marcoux
  • Dec 9, 2014
great place for city explorers

great location downtown,easy access to link rail to airport,walking distance to many city... See full review

  • nolabb
  • Nov 30, 2014
Art-filled accommodations in downtown Seattle
The Hotel Max combines art and stylish boutique comfort, all within walking distance of Seattle's most famous attractions. Almost 400 works by 39 Seattle artists and photographers decorate rooms and public spaces. The Hotel Max takes advantage of its art niche to occasionally offer packages and deals tied to exhibits at the nearby Seattle Art Museum. The Hotel Max's restaurant, Redfin, focuses on Japanese specialties and serves breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner.
Highlights
  • Art work by local artists and photographers on display in the lobby, hallways and guest rooms
  • Aveda-brand bathroom amenities
  • Close to well-known Seattle restaurants, including Wild Ginger
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Rooms

Not surprisingly, each room at the Hotel Max sports an arty title. Solo art has a double bed and teak desk. Art of two beds rooms boast two double beds. Queen of art rooms sport a queen bed and artist king has king-size beds. Soothing tones of sage, charcoal gray and vegetal oranges decorate each room. All rooms have high thread-count linens and duvets, robes, coffee makers with Organa coffee and Steven Smith tea, Aveda bath amenities, a menu of pillow choices and a menu of spiritual inspiration suitable for almost any belief system. 

Features

An art-filled lobby, guest rooms and hallways underscore the Hotel Max's dedication to art and Seattle-area artists and photographers. If the point is to create a serene environment, the Hotel Max follows up admirably with rooms done in calming hues. In-room tea accompanies in-room coffee and a spiritual menu promises inspiration for almost any faith or belief system. A whimsical "you got it" button on the telephone links guests with hotel services.

Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (15.7 mi/25.1 km)
  • King County Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Mall station (0.1mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Paramount Theater (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Seattle Art Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Olympic Sculpture Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Experience Music Project (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business
  • Conference room that accommodates 14 people
  • Wireless and hard-wire Internet service (fees apply)
  • Audio/visual setups
  • 24/7 business center
Policies and fees
  • Pet deposit is $40 (non-refundable).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Max also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Max Rooms

Art of Two Beds
The hip new Art of two beds room features two double beds, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phones, high speed wireless internet (fee), down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries
Artist King
The hip new Artist King room features one King bed, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phone, high speed wireless internet (fee),down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries.
Queen of Art
The hip new Queen of Art room features one queen bed, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phones, high speed wireless internet (fee), down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.7 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.1 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.2 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.5 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.3 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.9 mi

Dining

Miller's Guild
At the heart of Millers Guild is a nine-foot-long, custom-made grill that James Beard Award-winning chef Jason Wilson uses to create a wood-fired menu that features 75-day dry-aged beef, locally caught seafood, nose-to-tail butchery and rustic baked goods. Millers Guild channels the citys unique character and yet is unlike any other restaurant in Seattle.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Side Bar room seats 12 people, boardroom style. Please contact the sales department for more information (206) 728-6299

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (314)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Max

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 314
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Jul 7, 2009

NOISY & tiny

The rooms are very snug, though decorated nicely. The beds have a sheet-covered duvet which is nicer than that stiff polyester bed covering a lot of hotels use (that is never washed). The bed also has a pillow top and down pillows though we prefer tempurpedic pillows. The "honor bar" is a rip off in general but they have a tiny "sensuality kit" for $30. The single most annoying thing about staying at Hotel Max is the noise factor. The walls are paper thin, you can hear EVERYTHING. Not good when you're woken up at 3:00 am night after night. Also there is HEAVY major construction on the city streets circling the blocks just outside the hotel, starting at 7:00 am. Good luck getting any rest/sleep at Hotel Max....for the 4 nights we stayed we didn't get much restful sleep. We felt really sorry for anyone placed in the room in front of the elevators because you could hear when anyone came and went from their rooms. The windows in the rooms also have solid roll down shades only. There isn't a translucent/sheer window covering that allows some light but give you privacy like most standard hotels have. So with the windows it's either glaring sunlight or total darkness. The chain "rope" to roll the shade up an down can also be heard through the walls when your neighbors roll up/down their shades. The air-conditioning unit is very loud. But maybe that is because the room is so tiny or because it's there to drown out the noise coming through the walls. Parking was very expensive in that area. Hotel Max's valet was $30 (a day) + tips so we opted to park our car overnight at the nice underground Pacific Place Shopping center across the street. Parking there is still expensive for $25 (no in/out privileges) but it's more convenient than having to call down for the valet. During peak travel season you won't find parking for cheaper than $25 (all day/overnight) downtown. Forgo renting a car if you can, the bus system in Seattle seems quite convenient. Also buses are "free" in a whole mapped area of downtown Seattle, we used it to get across town. The front desk and hotel staff were very friendly. The rooms were clean. The art/photos on the doors and in the rooms are nice touch. Made for a modern art-geared urban looking hotel but at the end of the day traveling, we just wanted to get some sleep. Hotel Max should have invested in thicker walls and double paned windows. Word of caution! We booked a "package deal" through Cheaptickets , Flight + Hotel + Car turned out to more $$ in the end. When we got to the airport the car displayed to us online was not what we were offered at Budget rental cars. The online deal showed a 4 door compact and we offered only a two door, we ended having to pay an $15 extra a day for an upgrade to a compact 4 door, that really ticked us off. So if you book with cheaptickets....don't do the package deal. Between the switcho-chango policy at Budget rental cars & the un-restful stay we had at Hotel Max adds up to = not going to use cheaptickets again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't rent a car if you're staying in downtown Seattle unless your hotel is offering free valet service. Prices range from $25 - 32 for all day/overnight parking. On another Seattle trip we stayed at an outlying hotel and the parking fee was only $10 a night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jan 7, 2010

Okay, but not as good as I expected.

There was only luke warm water in the morning and my room was next to the elevator, so I was woken up several times during the night - unacceptable. I will not stay there again no matter how nice it looked - the hotel did not perform. Parking fees were NOT disclosed up front and they were $30 for 1 night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dmf1987
Business
westchester ny
Aug 27, 2012

hotel max

all i have to really say is that the hotel has lots of little things wrong when you look around, and it definitely needs an update somethings are starting to show the ware.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

go to pike market

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jun 7, 2009

not the best, but not the worst

I would like to say first off that the staff at this hotel was by far the nicest, most accommodating staff of any hotel where I have stayed for quite a while. Unfortunately, there were some significant negatives that would cause me not to recommend this hotel overall. I stayed in a room with one queen bed - as a single traveler the room was small but not too small, but had I been traveling with another person it would have been too small. I had a friend meet me at the hotel one afternoon before we went out and just the 20 minutes we were in the room neither one of us knew where to go to get out of the other person's way. The bathroom, particularly the shower, was entirely too small. I cannot imagine that anyone over my height (5'4") would have even been able to use the shower without smashing their elbows into the wall and bumping into the water control with every slight move. I also felt that this hotel "nickle and dimed" for the 'extras' - I happened to get a great sale rate that included free wireless for the week - but had I not gotten that rate, wireless Internet was priced at over $11 per day. Likewise, my rate included parking, which was about $20 a day for guests who did not get a rate that included parking. There were no simple or inexpensive room service items available - the one night I did order room service the menu had limited choices (limited even within the category of "Asian fusion" which, except for breakfast, was the only type of food available) and was very overpriced. Finally, I had read some reviews prior to booking that said the hotel was loud. When I saw the great promotional rate offer, I decided to take a chance. The first 4 nights of my stay were weeknights and I did occasionally hear someone sneeze or drop something but it wasn't anything more than other hotels. When the weekend came, so did many many more guests... the last night of my stay, the women in the room next to mine decided to stay awake talking until 3AM - every now and again they were screaming but for the most part, they were using normal speaking voices. I did not get any sleep before 3AM and heard every detail of their conversation. This is upsetting for both comfort (not having to hear other people) and privacy reasons. I really did appreciate the kindness and assistance and consistently superior positive attitude of the staff, but this simply does not outweigh the negatives, no matter how much I really wanted it to. The location was actually really great (centrally located to allow visiting all sites on foot) but there were several other hotels all within 2 blocks in all directions so the location really doesn't give this hotel much of an advantage. I definitely would not stay here for the full rate or for any rate that does not, at least, include free wireless and/or free parking if that is something you require. Also don't count on room service unless you like very spicy Asian food (again, with the exception of breakfast) There is a small business center on the first floor with 2 computers connected to the Internet and printer that could be used instead of wireless for short Internet access needs. There was no free parking in the city so if you will have a car, free parking at your hotel will be a huge savings. Don't make the mistake of assuming the noise won't matter - I can typically sleep through anything which is why I ignored the warnings. Had my first night been like my last, I would have desperately wanted to change hotels. If you do take a chance, I would recommend making sure your rate is refundable just in case you get noisy neighbors and its too much to take.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MacroKitchen
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 14, 2011

Nice concept, but still an old building.

The art concept of the hotel is very nice, and certainly gives much character. Every floor looks different with different photos gracing the room doors, so wandering other floors is fun too, if it makes you look somewhat suspicious. My queen room had the smallest shower stall ever though, and heating A/C was an old fashioned loud fan on the window with no thermostat. Location was very good, with both Capitol Hill businesses and downtown equally close on foot. They are trying very hard and generally did a good job renovating, but those are the limits they couldn't overcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Street parking is free on Sundays and evening. A short walk northwest and parking is much easier!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland
Apr 13, 2011

Well situated

There at the weekend for visiting the city. Best areas of town can be reached by foot. Staff friendliness in hotel was below average. Room was made up only after asking for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

New Orleans Music Hall near Pioneer Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Silvio
Business
Mineapolis, MN
Dec 29, 2009

Very nice!

Hotel Max is very conveniently located in downtown seattle. Although the heating system is not really convenient (hard to deal with) the room I stayed in (King of hearts) was really nice and comortable. The staff was always smiling, willing to chat with me, and ready to help. I would recommand this hotel to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two really nice theaters three blocs from the hotel (MDA and Regal theater)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RJP
Business
Washington, DC
May 5, 2010

Hip Hotel with Amazing Art

The hotel has an amazing art collection mostly from local artists with a modern/abstract concentration. The hotel has a hip/modern vibe but not in an overly busy sense. I was still able to relax and feel at home when I returned to my room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They provided excellent recommendations for restaurants as well as nightlife. And the location is great. Right near downtown/Belltown and Pacific Place/Westlake. Close to the Whole Foods in South Lake Union. Overall, great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Tavolata, absolutely amazing food, and they pile on mounds of parmesan cheese on everything!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chef katsuya
Business
washington dc
Jun 17, 2011

great location

the hotel staff were super nice. the hotel was clean and chic and worth every penny. worth the price and more. will be going back for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance to many cool restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave from OD
Business
Odessa, Texas
Jan 4, 2013

Very nice hotel

The staff is very friendly. The hotel is in a great location if you want to get around downtown. The only negatives were the paper thin walls. You can hear your neighbors having conversations in the other room. I read about that online and it was confirmed during my stay. The rooms are small but the beds and amenities are great. I didn't mind the small rooms since the only thing I planned on being out on the town most of the time I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top