$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Hotel Max

3 stars
620 Stewart St., Seattle, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
314 reviews
Simply the BEST!

This was my 3rd time staying at Hotel Max and just as good at the other two. The staff is great,... See full review

  • Kimmy Marcoux
  • Dec 9, 2014
great place for city explorers

great location downtown,easy access to link rail to airport,walking distance to many city... See full review

  • nolabb
  • Nov 30, 2014
Art-filled accommodations in downtown Seattle
The Hotel Max combines art and stylish boutique comfort, all within walking distance of Seattle's most famous attractions. Almost 400 works by 39 Seattle artists and photographers decorate rooms and public spaces. The Hotel Max takes advantage of its art niche to occasionally offer packages and deals tied to exhibits at the nearby Seattle Art Museum. The Hotel Max's restaurant, Redfin, focuses on Japanese specialties and serves breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner.
Highlights
  • Art work by local artists and photographers on display in the lobby, hallways and guest rooms
  • Aveda-brand bathroom amenities
  • Close to well-known Seattle restaurants, including Wild Ginger
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Rooms

Not surprisingly, each room at the Hotel Max sports an arty title. Solo art has a double bed and teak desk. Art of two beds rooms boast two double beds. Queen of art rooms sport a queen bed and artist king has king-size beds. Soothing tones of sage, charcoal gray and vegetal oranges decorate each room. All rooms have high thread-count linens and duvets, robes, coffee makers with Organa coffee and Steven Smith tea, Aveda bath amenities, a menu of pillow choices and a menu of spiritual inspiration suitable for almost any belief system. 

Features

An art-filled lobby, guest rooms and hallways underscore the Hotel Max's dedication to art and Seattle-area artists and photographers. If the point is to create a serene environment, the Hotel Max follows up admirably with rooms done in calming hues. In-room tea accompanies in-room coffee and a spiritual menu promises inspiration for almost any faith or belief system. A whimsical "you got it" button on the telephone links guests with hotel services.

Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (15.7 mi/25.1 km)
  • King County Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Mall station (0.1mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Paramount Theater (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Seattle Art Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Olympic Sculpture Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Experience Music Project (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business
  • Conference room that accommodates 14 people
  • Wireless and hard-wire Internet service (fees apply)
  • Audio/visual setups
  • 24/7 business center
Policies and fees
  • Pet deposit is $40 (non-refundable).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Max also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Max Rooms

Art of Two Beds
The hip new Art of two beds room features two double beds, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phones, high speed wireless internet (fee), down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries
Artist King
The hip new Artist King room features one King bed, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phone, high speed wireless internet (fee),down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries.
Queen of Art
The hip new Queen of Art room features one queen bed, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phones, high speed wireless internet (fee), down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.7 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.1 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.2 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.5 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.3 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.9 mi

Dining

Miller's Guild
At the heart of Millers Guild is a nine-foot-long, custom-made grill that James Beard Award-winning chef Jason Wilson uses to create a wood-fired menu that features 75-day dry-aged beef, locally caught seafood, nose-to-tail butchery and rustic baked goods. Millers Guild channels the citys unique character and yet is unlike any other restaurant in Seattle.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Side Bar room seats 12 people, boardroom style. Please contact the sales department for more information (206) 728-6299

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (314)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Max

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 314
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zoeller
Business
Columbus, OH
Jan 27, 2013

Small, Small, Small

This hotel is crazy small. The lobby is small, the elevators are small, the rooms are small, and the bathrooms - I've never seen anything smaller. I'm in the middle of a five night stay and claustrophobia is really starting to set in. On day two I asked if they had any larger rooms and I was told I was ALREADY in one of the larger rooms (OMG!). The shower is about 24" x 24" (I measured). It's like trying to take a shower in a phone booth. I'm not a big guy but have multiple bruises from hitting my elbows on the soap tray and the faucet handle. There's a glass shelf above the tiny sink that sticks out about 6", so it's impossible to lean over the sink to wash your face, brush your teeth, etc. And is it too much to ask to get a fresh bar of tiny soap - at least every OTHER day? Stay here if you want to feel like a giant. If not, go elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant (which really isn't in the hotel but next door) has great prices during happy hour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zoeller
Business
Columbus, OH
Jan 30, 2013

Maybe for a One-Nighter

If you're just staying just one night or maybe two, and are looking for a neat, clean hotel in a good location, this will work. But I wouldn't recommend for a longer stay. Maybe a good option if you don't plan to spend a lot of time in your room. Rooms are VERY small and the bathroom is tiny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LaRoux
Business
Pine Brook, NJ
Feb 7, 2013

Hotel Max

Great location and extremely nice and professional staff, Kudos! The room was almost minature in size with old fashion window air conditioning and heating unit as well as old outdated telephones. Most distressing was the bathroom which I could hardly turn around in. Tiny sink with no shelving for toiletries and the shower was actually impossible to use without sticking a leg out it was so small. I am not a big man, 6' 190 and it was ridiculously small for me. Needs serious upgrading!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travellingteacher
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 6, 2009

Hotel Max does not meet my expectations

The Max's rooms are small but well situated and comfortable. The beds were fine, but pillows were far from desirable (1 really hard, 1 really soft). The general issues came from my lack of ability to get a good nights rest. The small room combined with a window mounted AC unit, made for a lot of noise. Add to the rattle within the AC and it became a choice of too hot, or too noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 22, 2011

Good Location

Good location but the walls are paper thin in this hotel. Could hear ALL the conversations in the room next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
so long
Business
Sarasota, Florida
Apr 4, 2010

worth it and then some

Overall it was very nice and worth the money. Seattle was a little chilly so I had to use the heater in the room which is run through a window air conditioning system. You could regulate the temperature, however you had to have the system running all the time to have heat and the system is loud. In addition, if you keep the bathroom door closed it gets freezing cold in there. Otherwise the hotel is a super value, and great downtown location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bicoastalist
Business
Atlanta
Jan 8, 2013

Satisfactory

First, the good stuff: You can walk to a lot of really great places, so the location is incredible. It's sort of hip, so if you're into that, that's cool. The staff was really nice and helpful and let me check in early. The bed was comfortable, and there was a good mini-bar. Here are the negatives: $33 overnight valet parking. I get that it's downtown, but that's crazy. I parked across the street for $10. The rooms are smallish, and I didn't check to see what the building was before it was a hotel, but it felt like it could have been an industrial building of some sort. There are touches of "industrial chic" in the design, and it's what I would describe as "meh". I stayed there because it's 2 blocks from a friend's condo, so it was worth it to me. Next time I'll probably stay closer to Pike's Place or at a nicer hotel, even if I have to pay a little more. But compared to the other hotels in the area, Max is decently priced. I actually liked the Marriott Courtyard in Redmond more, and it was cheaper, but if you want the downtown Seattle experience, this is an OK pick. Oh, but if you're traveling with a friend or family, go somewhere else. This struck me as a good solo-traveler hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Want late night food?? Hit up Hurricane Cafe. Not the best food ever, but it does the trick.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business Traveler Dad
Business
Boston
Mar 30, 2014

Decent but not great

Hotel Max is in a great location and the staff is friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, they don't serve breakfast and the rooms are small and a little tired. I was also in a room on the street side - and the traffic was loud. So, it was an average experience, not a great one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Great restaurant right next to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenny also
Business
Alameda, CA
May 8, 2014

Good for a night in the city or basic business travel

Super close to downtown and easy walking distance to Pike Place Market the Max is a nice place to stay for a night or two. Some of the bathrooms are super small, I'm talking NYC small, and they don't offer many amenities. But everything is clean and everyone is pleasant. Decorations may be trying a little too hard to be hip and happening but that's fine by me. I work remotely and stay here when I'm in town because it's close to my office and doesn't break the bank.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Smallpuncake
Business
New York
Sep 23, 2010

Thumbs up/down

~~~ Nice Bed~~~~ Nice location, Nice Deco, Nice guy[*]. However, there were so many flying bugs at the lobby....... Is that part of Seattle? Also, I couldn't find any toothbrush and toothpaste. !!How can i brush my teeth!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top