$218 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Hotel Max

3 stars
620 Stewart St., Seattle, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
459 reviews
What an Experience!

Loved everything: the staff, location, decor! Highly recommended! See full review

  • Anrameli
  • May 31, 2014
Awesome downtown hotel experience

Super cool designs and pictures, friendy employees, and its just a short walk to anywhere downtown!... See full review

  • Lucille from yuc
  • May 27, 2014
Art-filled accommodations in downtown Seattle
The Hotel Max combines art and stylish boutique comfort, all within walking distance of Seattle's most famous attractions. Almost 400 works by 39 Seattle artists and photographers decorate rooms and public spaces. The Hotel Max takes advantage of its art niche to occasionally offer packages and deals tied to exhibits at the nearby Seattle Art Museum. The Hotel Max's restaurant, Redfin, focuses on Japanese specialties and serves breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner.
Highlights
  • Art work by local artists and photographers on display in the lobby, hallways and guest rooms
  • Aveda-brand bathroom amenities
  • Close to well-known Seattle restaurants, including Wild Ginger
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Rooms

Not surprisingly, each room at the Hotel Max sports an arty title. Solo art has a double bed and teak desk. Art of two beds rooms boast two double beds. Queen of art rooms sport a queen bed and artist king has king-size beds. Soothing tones of sage, charcoal gray and vegetal oranges decorate each room. All rooms have high thread-count linens and duvets, robes, coffee makers with Organa coffee and Steven Smith tea, Aveda bath amenities, a menu of pillow choices and a menu of spiritual inspiration suitable for almost any belief system. 

Features

An art-filled lobby, guest rooms and hallways underscore the Hotel Max's dedication to art and Seattle-area artists and photographers. If the point is to create a serene environment, the Hotel Max follows up admirably with rooms done in calming hues. In-room tea accompanies in-room coffee and a spiritual menu promises inspiration for almost any faith or belief system. A whimsical "you got it" button on the telephone links guests with hotel services.

Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (15.7 mi/25.1 km)
  • King County Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Mall station (0.1mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Paramount Theater (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Seattle Art Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Olympic Sculpture Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Experience Music Project (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business
  • Conference room that accommodates 14 people
  • Wireless and hard-wire Internet service (fees apply)
  • Audio/visual setups
  • 24/7 business center
Policies and fees
  • Pet deposit is $40 (non-refundable).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

47.6138 -122.337
Area served
Seattle, Washington
Nearby airports
Sea Tac Airport
Area description
Located in the shopping district of downtown Seattle, the Hotel Max is within blocks of many major Seattle attractions such as Pike Place Market and Washington State Convention Trade Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Max also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Max Rooms

Art of Two Beds
The hip new Art of two beds room features two double beds, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phones, high speed wireless internet (fee), down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries
Artist King
The hip new Artist King room features one King bed, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phone, high speed wireless internet (fee),down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries.
Queen of Art
The hip new Queen of Art room features one queen bed, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phones, high speed wireless internet (fee), down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.7 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.1 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.2 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.5 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.3 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Side Bar room seats 12 people, boardroom style. Please contact the sales department for more information (206) 728-6299

Dining

Miller's Guild
At the heart of Millers Guild is a nine-foot-long, custom-made grill that James Beard Award-winning chef Jason Wilson uses to create a wood-fired menu that features 75-day dry-aged beef, locally caught seafood, nose-to-tail butchery and rustic baked goods. Millers Guild channels the citys unique character and yet is unlike any other restaurant in Seattle.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (459)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Max

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
459 out of 459
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nevada visitors
Nevada
Sep 16, 2009

The good bad and insane

The staff were nice. The rooms small better for single traveler, small fitness center, and the insane was the $30.00 a day parking/valet parking fee and the $19.75 parking tax on top of that. Then there was the tipping valet on top of all the fees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Most anywhere in Downtown is walking distance.

Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Albuquerque, NM
Jan 7, 2010

Okay, but not as good as I expected.

There was only luke warm water in the morning and my room was next to the elevator, so I was woken up several times during the night - unacceptable. I will not stay there again no matter how nice it looked - the hotel did not perform. Parking fees were NOT disclosed up front and they were $30 for 1 night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dreams some
JAPAN
Jul 16, 2012

not bad

the room is not big. but location is great. ant room is clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Feb 26, 2011

Hotel Max is an Oxymoron

We booked a room at the Hotel Max for a romantic one night get away, but the room, and especially the bathroom were so tiny it was cumbersome. It's in a great location, within walking distance to great restaraunts and shopping, it's just too small. I literally had to duck in the shower or I would have hit my head on the ceiling. Cute, quaint, W hotel lite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the garage next door and walk the 25 feet to the hotel, they charge one third for parking compared to the hotel.

Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nevada visitors
Nevada
Sep 16, 2009

The good bad and insane

The staff were nice. The rooms small better for single traveler, small fitness center, and the insane was the $30.00 a day parking/valet parking fee and the $19.75 parking tax on top of that. Then there was the tipping valet on top of all the fees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Most anywhere in Downtown is walking distance.

Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LaRoux
Business
Pine Brook, NJ
Feb 7, 2013

Hotel Max

Great location and extremely nice and professional staff, Kudos! The room was almost minature in size with old fashion window air conditioning and heating unit as well as old outdated telephones. Most distressing was the bathroom which I could hardly turn around in. Tiny sink with no shelving for toiletries and the shower was actually impossible to use without sticking a leg out it was so small. I am not a big man, 6' 190 and it was ridiculously small for me. Needs serious upgrading!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MacroKitchen
San Francisco, CA
Mar 14, 2011

Nice concept, but still an old building.

The art concept of the hotel is very nice, and certainly gives much character. Every floor looks different with different photos gracing the room doors, so wandering other floors is fun too, if it makes you look somewhat suspicious. My queen room had the smallest shower stall ever though, and heating A/C was an old fashioned loud fan on the window with no thermostat. Location was very good, with both Capitol Hill businesses and downtown equally close on foot. They are trying very hard and generally did a good job renovating, but those are the limits they couldn't overcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Street parking is free on Sundays and evening. A short walk northwest and parking is much easier!

Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Smallpuncake
Business
New York
Sep 23, 2010

Thumbs up/down

~~~ Nice Bed~~~~ Nice location, Nice Deco, Nice guy[*]. However, there were so many flying bugs at the lobby....... Is that part of Seattle? Also, I couldn't find any toothbrush and toothpaste. !!How can i brush my teeth!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MacroKitchen
San Francisco, CA
Mar 14, 2011

Nice concept, but still an old building.

The art concept of the hotel is very nice, and certainly gives much character. Every floor looks different with different photos gracing the room doors, so wandering other floors is fun too, if it makes you look somewhat suspicious. My queen room had the smallest shower stall ever though, and heating A/C was an old fashioned loud fan on the window with no thermostat. Location was very good, with both Capitol Hill businesses and downtown equally close on foot. They are trying very hard and generally did a good job renovating, but those are the limits they couldn't overcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Street parking is free on Sundays and evening. A short walk northwest and parking is much easier!

Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Clara, CA
Jul 21, 2009

Nice decor, disorganized service

We were in Seattle to relax and see friends. The hotel was close to the shopping district, which was convenient. I liked the modern decor, and the beds were very comfortable, with soft, high-threadcount cotton sheets and duvet cover (no polyester bed armor). The room was tiny, which given the price wouldn't have been so bad if so much space were not wasted or taken up with the honor bar and other items for purchase (2 large bottles of water, a t-shirt, a bottle of wine). The refrigerator was completely full with beverages for purchase. There were 3 tiny drawers available for our clothes, and the larger nightstand had only a single tiny drawer even though there was room for 3 good-sized drawers. The shower was the smallest I had ever seen, and to boot had a shower curtain that was sucked into the stall whenever the water was running. The staff was friendly but disorganized. When we showed up at around 1:30 there were no rooms ready so we went next door to the restaurant for lunch (which was understaffed and a bit in disarray). After lunch we checked in without incident. On the afternoon of the second day, upon returning from a shopping trip, we found that our card keys had been inactivated; when we went to the desk we were told they had been coded incorrectly. When we got back into our room someone had left chocolates and a welcome note addressed to someone who was not staying in our room. When we checked out we were charged for 6 nights of parking even though we did not have a car. We protested and the error was corrected but apparently the the credit card is charged immediately upon printing of the receipt while reversing the charge takes several days. This is likely not the fault of the hotel, but given this state of affairs it would have been nice to see the charges before they were made so they could be corrected if necessary. One final issue, also not necessarily the hotel's fault, is that despite the hotel having only non-smoking rooms there was someone smoking on our floor and it was enough to cause the entire hallway to reek of smoke. We alerted the front desk and after that we could only occasionally smell cigarette smoke when we had the windows open. Perhaps there need to be more signs reminding people not to smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top