$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 17, 2014 Check-out: Oct 18, 2014

Hotel Max

3 stars
620 Stewart St., Seattle, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
294 reviews
Fun time!

Hotel was swanky and fun and in the middle of downtown seattle. Bathroom was super small but great... See full review

  • Ustob
  • Jul 25, 2014
Seoul Traveler In Seattle

Location...Location...Location. The location is outstanding as you can take the light rail to 6th... See full review

  • BINROK
  • Jul 24, 2014
Art-filled accommodations in downtown Seattle
The Hotel Max combines art and stylish boutique comfort, all within walking distance of Seattle's most famous attractions. Almost 400 works by 39 Seattle artists and photographers decorate rooms and public spaces. The Hotel Max takes advantage of its art niche to occasionally offer packages and deals tied to exhibits at the nearby Seattle Art Museum. The Hotel Max's restaurant, Redfin, focuses on Japanese specialties and serves breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner.
Highlights
  • Art work by local artists and photographers on display in the lobby, hallways and guest rooms
  • Aveda-brand bathroom amenities
  • Close to well-known Seattle restaurants, including Wild Ginger
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Rooms

Not surprisingly, each room at the Hotel Max sports an arty title. Solo art has a double bed and teak desk. Art of two beds rooms boast two double beds. Queen of art rooms sport a queen bed and artist king has king-size beds. Soothing tones of sage, charcoal gray and vegetal oranges decorate each room. All rooms have high thread-count linens and duvets, robes, coffee makers with Organa coffee and Steven Smith tea, Aveda bath amenities, a menu of pillow choices and a menu of spiritual inspiration suitable for almost any belief system. 

Features

An art-filled lobby, guest rooms and hallways underscore the Hotel Max's dedication to art and Seattle-area artists and photographers. If the point is to create a serene environment, the Hotel Max follows up admirably with rooms done in calming hues. In-room tea accompanies in-room coffee and a spiritual menu promises inspiration for almost any faith or belief system. A whimsical "you got it" button on the telephone links guests with hotel services.

Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (15.7 mi/25.1 km)
  • King County Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Mall station (0.1mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Paramount Theater (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Seattle Art Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Olympic Sculpture Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Experience Music Project (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business
  • Conference room that accommodates 14 people
  • Wireless and hard-wire Internet service (fees apply)
  • Audio/visual setups
  • 24/7 business center
Policies and fees
  • Pet deposit is $40 (non-refundable).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

47.6138 -122.337
Area served
Seattle, Washington
Nearby airports
Sea Tac Airport
Area description
Located in the shopping district of downtown Seattle, the Hotel Max is within blocks of many major Seattle attractions such as Pike Place Market and Washington State Convention Trade Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Max also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Max Rooms

Art of Two Beds
The hip new Art of two beds room features two double beds, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phones, high speed wireless internet (fee), down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries
Artist King
The hip new Artist King room features one King bed, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phone, high speed wireless internet (fee),down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries.
Queen of Art
The hip new Queen of Art room features one queen bed, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phones, high speed wireless internet (fee), down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.7 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.1 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.2 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.5 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.3 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Side Bar room seats 12 people, boardroom style. Please contact the sales department for more information (206) 728-6299

Dining

Miller's Guild
At the heart of Millers Guild is a nine-foot-long, custom-made grill that James Beard Award-winning chef Jason Wilson uses to create a wood-fired menu that features 75-day dry-aged beef, locally caught seafood, nose-to-tail butchery and rustic baked goods. Millers Guild channels the citys unique character and yet is unlike any other restaurant in Seattle.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (294)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Max

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Salossie I
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 2, 2011

Ugly

The Max reminded me to that kid in school who tries too hard to be hip and, in trying so hard, ends up just being a weirdo with no personality. In other words, the decor was plain ugly for a hotel priding itself of a hip boutique style (our room was painted silver. Rad but - really?) The room was very small, literally too small for two people with two bags and a suitcase. When they brought room service there was literally no place to put it. Another major sucker was to pay $12 a day for internet, which is something that most small boutiques hotels won't charge for anymore. There was some details to appreciate in a more positive note. You won't find the Gideon's Bible on your bedside table, instead they let you order from a "spiritual menu" that includes the Tora, the Koran and the Baghabad Gita. Also, the complimentary coffee in the room was outstanding, even for Seattle. The location couldn't get any better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Just down the street on 2nd Ave is a fun row of bars and clubs including The Crocodile and Shorty's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
CA
Jul 7, 2009

NOISY & tiny

The rooms are very snug, though decorated nicely. The beds have a sheet-covered duvet which is nicer than that stiff polyester bed covering a lot of hotels use (that is never washed). The bed also has a pillow top and down pillows though we prefer tempurpedic pillows. The "honor bar" is a rip off in general but they have a tiny "sensuality kit" for $30. The single most annoying thing about staying at Hotel Max is the noise factor. The walls are paper thin, you can hear EVERYTHING. Not good when you're woken up at 3:00 am night after night. Also there is HEAVY major construction on the city streets circling the blocks just outside the hotel, starting at 7:00 am. Good luck getting any rest/sleep at Hotel Max....for the 4 nights we stayed we didn't get much restful sleep. We felt really sorry for anyone placed in the room in front of the elevators because you could hear when anyone came and went from their rooms. The windows in the rooms also have solid roll down shades only. There isn't a translucent/sheer window covering that allows some light but give you privacy like most standard hotels have. So with the windows it's either glaring sunlight or total darkness. The chain "rope" to roll the shade up an down can also be heard through the walls when your neighbors roll up/down their shades. The air-conditioning unit is very loud. But maybe that is because the room is so tiny or because it's there to drown out the noise coming through the walls. Parking was very expensive in that area. Hotel Max's valet was $30 (a day) + tips so we opted to park our car overnight at the nice underground Pacific Place Shopping center across the street. Parking there is still expensive for $25 (no in/out privileges) but it's more convenient than having to call down for the valet. During peak travel season you won't find parking for cheaper than $25 (all day/overnight) downtown. Forgo renting a car if you can, the bus system in Seattle seems quite convenient. Also buses are "free" in a whole mapped area of downtown Seattle, we used it to get across town. The front desk and hotel staff were very friendly. The rooms were clean. The art/photos on the doors and in the rooms are nice touch. Made for a modern art-geared urban looking hotel but at the end of the day traveling, we just wanted to get some sleep. Hotel Max should have invested in thicker walls and double paned windows. Word of caution! We booked a "package deal" through Cheaptickets , Flight + Hotel + Car turned out to more $$ in the end. When we got to the airport the car displayed to us online was not what we were offered at Budget rental cars. The online deal showed a 4 door compact and we offered only a two door, we ended having to pay an $15 extra a day for an upgrade to a compact 4 door, that really ticked us off. So if you book with cheaptickets....don't do the package deal. Between the switcho-chango policy at Budget rental cars & the un-restful stay we had at Hotel Max adds up to = not going to use cheaptickets again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't rent a car if you're staying in downtown Seattle unless your hotel is offering free valet service. Prices range from $25 - 32 for all day/overnight parking. On another Seattle trip we stayed at an outlying hotel and the parking fee was only $10 a night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
May 8, 2011

good location

Our experience overall was forgettable. The Hotel was cute, great styling, but lacked that special something that would make me run back and want to stay there again or even share my experience with friends. The staff was cordial enough but that's where it ended. They provided about the bare bones to get us what we needed, never less....never more. The room was cute and quaint (quaint = tiny). I had read other reviews and thought..well "all hotel rooms are pretty small". But, THIS WAS SMALL. Luckily, we pack light and enjoy each others' company enough to where we laughed about it. The location was great if you want to be in the center of about everything to do in downtown seattle. close to monorail, close to all kinds of shopping, close to Top pot donuts.. everything. I have stayed at other hotels in the same chain, most recently hotel deluxe in portland and had a fantastic experience. I had higher expectations for my stay in Seattle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nevada visitors
Nevada
Sep 16, 2009

The good bad and insane

The staff were nice. The rooms small better for single traveler, small fitness center, and the insane was the $30.00 a day parking/valet parking fee and the $19.75 parking tax on top of that. Then there was the tipping valet on top of all the fees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Most anywhere in Downtown is walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dreams some
JAPAN
Jul 16, 2012

not bad

the room is not big. but location is great. ant room is clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zoeller
Business
Columbus, OH
Jan 30, 2013

Maybe for a One-Nighter

If you're just staying just one night or maybe two, and are looking for a neat, clean hotel in a good location, this will work. But I wouldn't recommend for a longer stay. Maybe a good option if you don't plan to spend a lot of time in your room. Rooms are VERY small and the bathroom is tiny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Feb 26, 2011

Hotel Max is an Oxymoron

We booked a room at the Hotel Max for a romantic one night get away, but the room, and especially the bathroom were so tiny it was cumbersome. It's in a great location, within walking distance to great restaraunts and shopping, it's just too small. I literally had to duck in the shower or I would have hit my head on the ceiling. Cute, quaint, W hotel lite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the garage next door and walk the 25 feet to the hotel, they charge one third for parking compared to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Albuquerque, NM
Jan 7, 2010

Okay, but not as good as I expected.

There was only luke warm water in the morning and my room was next to the elevator, so I was woken up several times during the night - unacceptable. I will not stay there again no matter how nice it looked - the hotel did not perform. Parking fees were NOT disclosed up front and they were $30 for 1 night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
san francisco, ca
Aug 29, 2010

Modern & Tiny

The Hotel was in a great location and I loved all the art that was displayed. The staff was friendly and very helpful....but it was so tiny!! I am not a big person and I could barely turn around in the shower. I dropped the soap and had to step out of the shower to bend over and pick it up. The lighting was not good. There wasn't a light in the hallway/closet area. That means I couldn't see what was in the closet and I couldn't use the full length mirror that was inside the closet door. The elevator was very slow. You have to use your room key the activate the elevator. Quite a few guests could not figure it out..which meant we were left standing waiting and waiting for an open elevator. I will go back to Seattle, but probably stay at another hotel in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

The 10pm happy hour menu was very tasty & cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 22, 2011

Good Location

Good location but the walls are paper thin in this hotel. Could hear ALL the conversations in the room next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search