$208 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Hotel Max

3 stars
620 Stewart St., Seattle, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
468 reviews
Fun time!

Hotel was swanky and fun and in the middle of downtown seattle. Bathroom was super small but great... See full review

  • Ustob
  • Jul 25, 2014
Seoul Traveler In Seattle

Location...Location...Location. The location is outstanding as you can take the light rail to 6th... See full review

  • BINROK
  • Jul 24, 2014
Art-filled accommodations in downtown Seattle
The Hotel Max combines art and stylish boutique comfort, all within walking distance of Seattle's most famous attractions. Almost 400 works by 39 Seattle artists and photographers decorate rooms and public spaces. The Hotel Max takes advantage of its art niche to occasionally offer packages and deals tied to exhibits at the nearby Seattle Art Museum. The Hotel Max's restaurant, Redfin, focuses on Japanese specialties and serves breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner.
Highlights
  • Art work by local artists and photographers on display in the lobby, hallways and guest rooms
  • Aveda-brand bathroom amenities
  • Close to well-known Seattle restaurants, including Wild Ginger
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Rooms

Not surprisingly, each room at the Hotel Max sports an arty title. Solo art has a double bed and teak desk. Art of two beds rooms boast two double beds. Queen of art rooms sport a queen bed and artist king has king-size beds. Soothing tones of sage, charcoal gray and vegetal oranges decorate each room. All rooms have high thread-count linens and duvets, robes, coffee makers with Organa coffee and Steven Smith tea, Aveda bath amenities, a menu of pillow choices and a menu of spiritual inspiration suitable for almost any belief system. 

Features

An art-filled lobby, guest rooms and hallways underscore the Hotel Max's dedication to art and Seattle-area artists and photographers. If the point is to create a serene environment, the Hotel Max follows up admirably with rooms done in calming hues. In-room tea accompanies in-room coffee and a spiritual menu promises inspiration for almost any faith or belief system. A whimsical "you got it" button on the telephone links guests with hotel services.

Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (15.7 mi/25.1 km)
  • King County Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Mall station (0.1mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Paramount Theater (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Seattle Art Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Olympic Sculpture Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Experience Music Project (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business
  • Conference room that accommodates 14 people
  • Wireless and hard-wire Internet service (fees apply)
  • Audio/visual setups
  • 24/7 business center
Policies and fees
  • Pet deposit is $40 (non-refundable).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

47.6138 -122.337
Area served
Seattle, Washington
Nearby airports
Sea Tac Airport
Area description
Located in the shopping district of downtown Seattle, the Hotel Max is within blocks of many major Seattle attractions such as Pike Place Market and Washington State Convention Trade Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Max also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Max Rooms

Art of Two Beds
The hip new Art of two beds room features two double beds, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phones, high speed wireless internet (fee), down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries
Artist King
The hip new Artist King room features one King bed, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phone, high speed wireless internet (fee),down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries.
Queen of Art
The hip new Queen of Art room features one queen bed, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phones, high speed wireless internet (fee), down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.7 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.1 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.2 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.5 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.3 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Side Bar room seats 12 people, boardroom style. Please contact the sales department for more information (206) 728-6299

Dining

Miller's Guild
At the heart of Millers Guild is a nine-foot-long, custom-made grill that James Beard Award-winning chef Jason Wilson uses to create a wood-fired menu that features 75-day dry-aged beef, locally caught seafood, nose-to-tail butchery and rustic baked goods. Millers Guild channels the citys unique character and yet is unlike any other restaurant in Seattle.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (468)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Max

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
468 out of 468
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ustob
Lv nv
Jul 25, 2014

Fun time!

Hotel was swanky and fun and in the middle of downtown seattle. Bathroom was super small but great otherwise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BINROK
Seoul
Jul 24, 2014

Seoul Traveler In Seattle

Location...Location...Location. The location is outstanding as you can take the light rail to 6th and Pine for less than $3 per person. from Seatac. Hotel Max is located within walking distance of most all major sightseeing items. I used Lyft for the 1st time and it was really cool to Kerry Park for $8. The staff are extremely helpful , professional, and very kind. I was able to get a cot ahead of time for free from the manager for my 11 y/o son. The rooms were very clean but some might be a tad small. But honestly you are supposed to sleep in it and tour most of the day. The have a trendy bar with awesome beer made locally. We got free wi-fi but .44 Mbps is kinda slow in Seattle (fiber)but I am spoiled at 100M U/D with fiber to the home in Korea. The elevators are small and can be a little noisy if you have an adjacent room. I was able to book the room at an outstanding rate and the value for the room and all the benefits are impossible to match. I would advice you to stay here if you are interested in value/cost. It is not theTaj Mahal by any means but it is a cool, trendy, hip style hotel that is an awesome ROI on your dollar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't but too much credit on an ORCA card if you book in the Hotel Max area as you can walk to almost everything.

Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
H and Kate
Atlanta,GA
Jul 22, 2014

location, cool vibe, great staff!

We had a wonderful time! The hotel has a.very artsy.vibe. The rooms are clean but very small. However, when in Seattle this forces.you.to.wake.up, get ready and enjoy the day! You really only need.to be there to sleep.and.shower, there is.too much to.do.in the.city to.spend it I. A.room all day. The staff was so nice.and knowledgeable about fhe city. We did.not.have one dull.moment. We were able to.walk everywhere. We.would stay here again in a heartbeat!!! Heather and Katie

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring comfortable shoes

Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
topazecrystal
los angeles
Jul 14, 2014

Saturday in Seattle

Great location. Friendly staff. Loved being so close to the waterfront and the space needle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mica Lee
San Francisco
Jul 13, 2014

We Love Hotel Max

This is our 4th or 5th stay at Hotel Max and we always enjoy it. If we arrive early, they will try to get us into a room right away. The first room smelled a little funny to my nose (my boyfriend didn't notice), so they moved us to a different room and left us a complimentary 20oz beer with an apology note. Very classy. 2nd room was a little noisy and bright--would be fine for people going out until late, but we get to bed pretty early. They moved us without issue and we loved our third room. The beds are comfy; love the pillow menu and bathroom products. I take advantage of the little gym, which is great. It's perfectly located downtown central to everything. The rooms are a little small, but I just think of it as a European style hotel. Clean, modern, efficient--but with cute amenities (free gumballs in the main lobby and beer tasting at 5pm!). The staff is pretty incredible. We will always come here when we visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant is delicious, (Miller's something or other), but WAY overpriced for the portions. You can do much better elsewhere for a fancy meal out. We did however find that the wine and beer was stellar. Maybe a nice place to grab a pre-evening drink. Don't get the $68 steak.

Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seattle Samantha
Anaheim. Ca
Jul 9, 2014

Perfect Seattle getaway

My stay at Hotel Max could not have been any more perfect. The entire staff went out of their way to make sure that my husband and I were happy. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and Hotel Max made it very special for us. Everyone from the manager to the housekeepers was warm and friendly and ready to answer any questions that we had about Seattle. The bed and linens were so comfortable and luxurious. The rooms are small but cozy and charming. I love Seattle and will be back. I will stay at Hotel Max again because I don't think anywhere else could compare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant in the hotel is sublime. It is called Miller's Guild. Breakfast and lunch are reasonably priced, dinner is on the pricey side. SO delicious!

Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elena savvy traveler
Reno nv
Jul 9, 2014

Will stay here again!!!

Great location , friendly , helpful staff Clean,very clean rooms Comfortable bed(they even offer pillow menu) Wonderful food in the downstairs restaurant Some small spoilers:parking fees are higher then across the street underground garage fees And it was not fully explained. No refrigerator in the room Small bottle of water in the room $ 4.00. Go figure they pour free beer but charge a lot for water. Rooms are compact and if a lot of space important for you - you will not be pleased. But I knew about this beforehand and it was ok with us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park across the street for 32.00 a day (all included) or walk a little and park in the garage on the further side of Westin for only $15.00-20.00 a day

Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andy10
Irvine,ca
Jul 9, 2014

Fantastic location

Hotel Max has fantastic location. Right in downtown. Rooms were a liltle small but overall a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wild ginger - Asian fusion

Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jazee
Seattle, WA
Jul 8, 2014

You Get What You Pay For

You get what you pay for. It is what it is. My opinion is that anyone giving this property less than 3 stars probably didn't read many reviews and just looked at the price and the hotel-class rating. Come on people, most all major hotels in Downtown Seattle in the Summer are mid $200 up. This place is in the middle of downtown only a couple blocks from dozens of restaurants, two shopping malls, movie theater complex and 6 blocks (10 min or less) to Pike Place Market. YET, it costs about $100 less per night than most of the other chain hotels nearby. The "catch" is that a) the rooms and bathrooms a very small - think Europe style, and there are no amenities like pool, jacuzzi, etc. You can ride the trolley to South Lake Union, the station is only a block away. If you are looking for a Westin/Hyatt/Sheraton/Hilton-esque lodging experience, this hotel is NOT for you. This hotel is a boutique hotel that has a grunge music theme. The doors have photos of famous grunge music figures and the hallways are dark to match the black and white photo motif. Instead of a wine hour in the lobby they have a free micro-brew hour. A nice change. Staff is friendly. If you are a rather large person, the rooms are probably too small for you. I'm normal size male and there is not enough room in the bathroom to towel your body dry without doing it in the bedroom. It didn't bother me though. I'm a local and just needed a place to stay the night after going to a concert at the Paramount theater and for $133/night it served it's purpose well. The mattress was VERY comfortable, firm, but not too firm borderline as good as Westin Heavenly bed. My only complaint is that they only have two old elevators (this hotel is a renovated old building) and only 4 people max can fit in the elevators at a time. Service staff shares the same elevators. So when busy, there can be a significant wait to get an elevator. Bottom line, you get what you pay for. You can't beat the location but the trade off is you get very small rooms/bathrooms and not much as far as hotel amenities. If you're not a fat and just need a place to sleep and shower, this hotel will serve you well and at an excellent price compared to what else is in the area. Manage your expectations and know what you are getting yourself into.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tucson Traveler1979
Tucson, AZ
Jun 29, 2014

Amazing Seattle First

This was our first visit to Seattle and we had an amazing time. The very friendly service we received throughout our stay was appreciated. Upon arriving and getting in line to wait to check in an employee came over and offered us a beer - that never happens! There was a local IPA they were finishing serving in the lobby and before he shut it down he poured us two full pints of the tasty beverage. It definitely made waiting appealing. Before long we were checked in and made our way up to our room. This unique hotel has intriguing art everywhere you look, from the key cards to the walls and windows. Our only disappointment was once we entered our room. These rooms are SMALL and unfortunately the bathroom is even SMALLER! However, they are comfortable bed-wise, there's a mini bar and even a menu for any spiritual book you would like to ask for. While we dreaded having to take a shower for the lack of space, we did enjoy our 3 days here. We stopped into the bar for a quick beer one afternoon and the service there was just as great. It is a quick walk to the monorail and anything else downtown. While I probably wouldn't stay here again unless I was traveling alone, it was a nice experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

List Restaurant is a short distance away and they have amazing food which is dirt cheap during happy hour = 1/2 off EVERYTHING. Grilled sea bass was fantastic!

Back to menu Return to top