$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Hotel Max

3 stars
620 Stewart St., Seattle, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
314 reviews
Simply the BEST!

This was my 3rd time staying at Hotel Max and just as good at the other two. The staff is great,... See full review

  • Kimmy Marcoux
  • Dec 9, 2014
great place for city explorers

great location downtown,easy access to link rail to airport,walking distance to many city... See full review

  • nolabb
  • Nov 30, 2014
Art-filled accommodations in downtown Seattle
The Hotel Max combines art and stylish boutique comfort, all within walking distance of Seattle's most famous attractions. Almost 400 works by 39 Seattle artists and photographers decorate rooms and public spaces. The Hotel Max takes advantage of its art niche to occasionally offer packages and deals tied to exhibits at the nearby Seattle Art Museum. The Hotel Max's restaurant, Redfin, focuses on Japanese specialties and serves breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner.
Highlights
  • Art work by local artists and photographers on display in the lobby, hallways and guest rooms
  • Aveda-brand bathroom amenities
  • Close to well-known Seattle restaurants, including Wild Ginger
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Rooms

Not surprisingly, each room at the Hotel Max sports an arty title. Solo art has a double bed and teak desk. Art of two beds rooms boast two double beds. Queen of art rooms sport a queen bed and artist king has king-size beds. Soothing tones of sage, charcoal gray and vegetal oranges decorate each room. All rooms have high thread-count linens and duvets, robes, coffee makers with Organa coffee and Steven Smith tea, Aveda bath amenities, a menu of pillow choices and a menu of spiritual inspiration suitable for almost any belief system. 

Features

An art-filled lobby, guest rooms and hallways underscore the Hotel Max's dedication to art and Seattle-area artists and photographers. If the point is to create a serene environment, the Hotel Max follows up admirably with rooms done in calming hues. In-room tea accompanies in-room coffee and a spiritual menu promises inspiration for almost any faith or belief system. A whimsical "you got it" button on the telephone links guests with hotel services.

Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (15.7 mi/25.1 km)
  • King County Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Mall station (0.1mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Paramount Theater (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Seattle Art Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Olympic Sculpture Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Experience Music Project (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business
  • Conference room that accommodates 14 people
  • Wireless and hard-wire Internet service (fees apply)
  • Audio/visual setups
  • 24/7 business center
Policies and fees
  • Pet deposit is $40 (non-refundable).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Max also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Max Rooms

Art of Two Beds
The hip new Art of two beds room features two double beds, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phones, high speed wireless internet (fee), down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries
Artist King
The hip new Artist King room features one King bed, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phone, high speed wireless internet (fee),down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries.
Queen of Art
The hip new Queen of Art room features one queen bed, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phones, high speed wireless internet (fee), down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.7 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.1 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.2 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.5 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.3 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.9 mi

Dining

Miller's Guild
At the heart of Millers Guild is a nine-foot-long, custom-made grill that James Beard Award-winning chef Jason Wilson uses to create a wood-fired menu that features 75-day dry-aged beef, locally caught seafood, nose-to-tail butchery and rustic baked goods. Millers Guild channels the citys unique character and yet is unlike any other restaurant in Seattle.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Side Bar room seats 12 people, boardroom style. Please contact the sales department for more information (206) 728-6299

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (314)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Max

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
314 out of 314
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jan 31, 2010

Far From ART!

When we first arrived it looked as good as the description online, filled with hip artistic furniture. But your stay does not come with parking, so that is an additional cost on top of your bill. But don't worry there is free in and out service, Oh and don't for get there is also tip every time you take your car out. So after check in we go to the elevator. This has to be the smallest elevator in the world. At most you can fit 2 people with their size full luggage at a time. After the elevator, we arrive at our room and open the door. The room turns out to be smaller then most dorm rooms and the view was of a dirty and moss infested roof top. Then when we pan over to the right we can see directly into another room. The windows were not tinted or anything and the bed was in plain view. This was the worst experience at a hotel I have ever been to. This was more like a over priced motel with orange and red paint. Oh yeah, and don't forget about the art!, the one picture of a plant which was located next to the bathroom behind the door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Aug 27, 2008

never stay here

it was the worst hotel i ever stayed in- staff are beyond rude

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vancouver,bc
Oct 1, 2009

tiny room

room was tiny. parking was difficult. tub didn't drain. no counter space in bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Jul 7, 2009

NOISY & tiny

The rooms are very snug, though decorated nicely. The beds have a sheet-covered duvet which is nicer than that stiff polyester bed covering a lot of hotels use (that is never washed). The bed also has a pillow top and down pillows though we prefer tempurpedic pillows. The "honor bar" is a rip off in general but they have a tiny "sensuality kit" for $30. The single most annoying thing about staying at Hotel Max is the noise factor. The walls are paper thin, you can hear EVERYTHING. Not good when you're woken up at 3:00 am night after night. Also there is HEAVY major construction on the city streets circling the blocks just outside the hotel, starting at 7:00 am. Good luck getting any rest/sleep at Hotel Max....for the 4 nights we stayed we didn't get much restful sleep. We felt really sorry for anyone placed in the room in front of the elevators because you could hear when anyone came and went from their rooms. The windows in the rooms also have solid roll down shades only. There isn't a translucent/sheer window covering that allows some light but give you privacy like most standard hotels have. So with the windows it's either glaring sunlight or total darkness. The chain "rope" to roll the shade up an down can also be heard through the walls when your neighbors roll up/down their shades. The air-conditioning unit is very loud. But maybe that is because the room is so tiny or because it's there to drown out the noise coming through the walls. Parking was very expensive in that area. Hotel Max's valet was $30 (a day) + tips so we opted to park our car overnight at the nice underground Pacific Place Shopping center across the street. Parking there is still expensive for $25 (no in/out privileges) but it's more convenient than having to call down for the valet. During peak travel season you won't find parking for cheaper than $25 (all day/overnight) downtown. Forgo renting a car if you can, the bus system in Seattle seems quite convenient. Also buses are "free" in a whole mapped area of downtown Seattle, we used it to get across town. The front desk and hotel staff were very friendly. The rooms were clean. The art/photos on the doors and in the rooms are nice touch. Made for a modern art-geared urban looking hotel but at the end of the day traveling, we just wanted to get some sleep. Hotel Max should have invested in thicker walls and double paned windows. Word of caution! We booked a "package deal" through Cheaptickets , Flight + Hotel + Car turned out to more $$ in the end. When we got to the airport the car displayed to us online was not what we were offered at Budget rental cars. The online deal showed a 4 door compact and we offered only a two door, we ended having to pay an $15 extra a day for an upgrade to a compact 4 door, that really ticked us off. So if you book with cheaptickets....don't do the package deal. Between the switcho-chango policy at Budget rental cars & the un-restful stay we had at Hotel Max adds up to = not going to use cheaptickets again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't rent a car if you're staying in downtown Seattle unless your hotel is offering free valet service. Prices range from $25 - 32 for all day/overnight parking. On another Seattle trip we stayed at an outlying hotel and the parking fee was only $10 a night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
San Diego girl
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Mar 8, 2012

It was sufficient

The staff was very friendly. No parking, except $30/day, which is a little excessive. Room was clean, but very small, and the shower was the smallest I've ever seen!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dreams some
Business
JAPAN
Jul 16, 2012

not bad

the room is not big. but location is great. ant room is clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dee on anniversary
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Jun 14, 2012

Noisy and felt out of place

My husband and I were celebrating our 1 year annivarsy and I wanted to spend it somewhere other than a chain hotel. I was very excited about Hotel Max in that it was inspired and used art from local photographers and artists. Us being big art enthusiasts thought it would be an extra addition to this art inspired town. When we arrived we were welcomed with Nirvana playing in the background. We had asked if there was anywhere nearby for vegetarian fare and were not helped out very much and ended up finding something on urbanspoon. Our room was very small and at least twice a night the garbage truck could be heard. The staff did try to help when we asked for travel advice, but were unsuccessful at helping. The only thing they were good at was getting is a town car to head back to the airport. The beds and the pillows were very comfy and the maid staff was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zoeller
Business
Columbus, OH
Jan 27, 2013

Small, Small, Small

This hotel is crazy small. The lobby is small, the elevators are small, the rooms are small, and the bathrooms - I've never seen anything smaller. I'm in the middle of a five night stay and claustrophobia is really starting to set in. On day two I asked if they had any larger rooms and I was told I was ALREADY in one of the larger rooms (OMG!). The shower is about 24" x 24" (I measured). It's like trying to take a shower in a phone booth. I'm not a big guy but have multiple bruises from hitting my elbows on the soap tray and the faucet handle. There's a glass shelf above the tiny sink that sticks out about 6", so it's impossible to lean over the sink to wash your face, brush your teeth, etc. And is it too much to ask to get a fresh bar of tiny soap - at least every OTHER day? Stay here if you want to feel like a giant. If not, go elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant (which really isn't in the hotel but next door) has great prices during happy hour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zoeller
Business
Columbus, OH
Jan 30, 2013

Maybe for a One-Nighter

If you're just staying just one night or maybe two, and are looking for a neat, clean hotel in a good location, this will work. But I wouldn't recommend for a longer stay. Maybe a good option if you don't plan to spend a lot of time in your room. Rooms are VERY small and the bathroom is tiny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LaRoux
Business
Pine Brook, NJ
Feb 7, 2013

Hotel Max

Great location and extremely nice and professional staff, Kudos! The room was almost minature in size with old fashion window air conditioning and heating unit as well as old outdated telephones. Most distressing was the bathroom which I could hardly turn around in. Tiny sink with no shelving for toiletries and the shower was actually impossible to use without sticking a leg out it was so small. I am not a big man, 6' 190 and it was ridiculously small for me. Needs serious upgrading!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top