$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Hotel Max

3 stars
620 Stewart St., Seattle, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
293 reviews
Fun time!

Hotel was swanky and fun and in the middle of downtown seattle. Bathroom was super small but great... See full review

  • Ustob
  • Jul 25, 2014
Seoul Traveler In Seattle

Location...Location...Location. The location is outstanding as you can take the light rail to 6th... See full review

  • BINROK
  • Jul 24, 2014
Art-filled accommodations in downtown Seattle
The Hotel Max combines art and stylish boutique comfort, all within walking distance of Seattle's most famous attractions. Almost 400 works by 39 Seattle artists and photographers decorate rooms and public spaces. The Hotel Max takes advantage of its art niche to occasionally offer packages and deals tied to exhibits at the nearby Seattle Art Museum. The Hotel Max's restaurant, Redfin, focuses on Japanese specialties and serves breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner.
Highlights
  • Art work by local artists and photographers on display in the lobby, hallways and guest rooms
  • Aveda-brand bathroom amenities
  • Close to well-known Seattle restaurants, including Wild Ginger
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Rooms

Not surprisingly, each room at the Hotel Max sports an arty title. Solo art has a double bed and teak desk. Art of two beds rooms boast two double beds. Queen of art rooms sport a queen bed and artist king has king-size beds. Soothing tones of sage, charcoal gray and vegetal oranges decorate each room. All rooms have high thread-count linens and duvets, robes, coffee makers with Organa coffee and Steven Smith tea, Aveda bath amenities, a menu of pillow choices and a menu of spiritual inspiration suitable for almost any belief system. 

Features

An art-filled lobby, guest rooms and hallways underscore the Hotel Max's dedication to art and Seattle-area artists and photographers. If the point is to create a serene environment, the Hotel Max follows up admirably with rooms done in calming hues. In-room tea accompanies in-room coffee and a spiritual menu promises inspiration for almost any faith or belief system. A whimsical "you got it" button on the telephone links guests with hotel services.

Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (15.7 mi/25.1 km)
  • King County Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Mall station (0.1mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Paramount Theater (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Seattle Art Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Olympic Sculpture Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Experience Music Project (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business
  • Conference room that accommodates 14 people
  • Wireless and hard-wire Internet service (fees apply)
  • Audio/visual setups
  • 24/7 business center
Policies and fees
  • Pet deposit is $40 (non-refundable).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

47.6138 -122.337
Area served
Seattle, Washington
Nearby airports
Sea Tac Airport
Area description
Located in the shopping district of downtown Seattle, the Hotel Max is within blocks of many major Seattle attractions such as Pike Place Market and Washington State Convention Trade Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Max also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Max Rooms

Art of Two Beds
The hip new Art of two beds room features two double beds, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phones, high speed wireless internet (fee), down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries
Artist King
The hip new Artist King room features one King bed, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phone, high speed wireless internet (fee),down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries.
Queen of Art
The hip new Queen of Art room features one queen bed, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phones, high speed wireless internet (fee), down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.7 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.1 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.2 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.5 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.3 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.9 mi

Dining

Miller's Guild
At the heart of Millers Guild is a nine-foot-long, custom-made grill that James Beard Award-winning chef Jason Wilson uses to create a wood-fired menu that features 75-day dry-aged beef, locally caught seafood, nose-to-tail butchery and rustic baked goods. Millers Guild channels the citys unique character and yet is unlike any other restaurant in Seattle.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Side Bar room seats 12 people, boardroom style. Please contact the sales department for more information (206) 728-6299

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (293)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Max

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
293 out of 293
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mica Lee
San Francisco
Jul 13, 2014

We Love Hotel Max

This is our 4th or 5th stay at Hotel Max and we always enjoy it. If we arrive early, they will try to get us into a room right away. The first room smelled a little funny to my nose (my boyfriend didn't notice), so they moved us to a different room and left us a complimentary 20oz beer with an apology note. Very classy. 2nd room was a little noisy and bright--would be fine for people going out until late, but we get to bed pretty early. They moved us without issue and we loved our third room. The beds are comfy; love the pillow menu and bathroom products. I take advantage of the little gym, which is great. It's perfectly located downtown central to everything. The rooms are a little small, but I just think of it as a European style hotel. Clean, modern, efficient--but with cute amenities (free gumballs in the main lobby and beer tasting at 5pm!). The staff is pretty incredible. We will always come here when we visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant is delicious, (Miller's something or other), but WAY overpriced for the portions. You can do much better elsewhere for a fancy meal out. We did however find that the wine and beer was stellar. Maybe a nice place to grab a pre-evening drink. Don't get the $68 steak.

Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S4EVR
Business
Menomonie, WI
Jan 14, 2013

Comfy, Clean, Great Location, but...

Pro: The bed was really comfy. Nice size closet. Housekeeping staff do a fantastic job. Valet guys are great. Location exceptional-- stroll to Pike Place Market & downtown sites. Restaurant options by hotel are staggering-- wish I could've eaten more so I could try them all! Con: Bathroom stunningly microscopic. Sign in Business Center offered free 15 min/day internet, but then charged $5.95 every time. Spoke with desk staff & was refunded, but with obvious skepticism/disbelief-- REALLY didn't appreciate that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner on 7th street is a nice deli/convenience store where you can save on munchies, etc, to keep in fridge in your room. Shopkeeper is super nice!

Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 25, 2008

Very Classy

There ia a lot of art displayed in the hotel. It is hip and young with bold themed floors. I was expecting a little bit bigger of a room and the shower was quite small but it was affordable and had a luxurious feel despite the quaint room size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown Seattle shopping is only a couple blocks away. I did not take my car out of valet and simply walked to downtown. This was nice because I did not have to deal with finding downtown parking and the walk was very quick and easy.

Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shapirotours
Business
Laguna Niguel
Mar 1, 2011

Great Time in Seattle

Hotel Max offers the perfect boutique quality hotel experiece, located in a fantatic location walking distance from all the great sights and shopping in downtown Seattle. Everything was only a short walk away. The staff was friendly and professional, the room small but very comfortable and well appointed. I felt very pleased with my choice and highly recommend Hotel Max for business or vacation travellers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dahlia Lounge is a fantatic find.

Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Finicky Hawkeye
Iowa City, IA
Aug 19, 2009

Solid stay, but tiny bathrooms!

All in all we had a good stay with a couple minor drawbacks. The hotel is fun, a bit funky, and clean. The location is great -- we walked everywhere. The room was a bit small, but the biggest problem was the tiny bathroom. No more than one person can be in there at a time, and the shower is the size of a small closet (no bathtub). The only other issue I'd have with the hotel is value. For the same price it's probably not in the same league as some similarly appointed hotels (e.g. we could have been at the W or the Fairmount for roughly the same price, and I think other than location those would probably have been better options). It's close, though. The parking is probably the biggest scam -- saw some hotels are offering free parking to hybrids, and I wish Hotel Max would as well! The staff was great, very helpful and responsive to questions. The room was clean and odor-free (always our number one concern). The location is great -- about six easy blocks from the Pike's Place Market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Happy Hours at the Red Fin have great sushi and drinks at great prices.

Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Megssound
Seattle WA
Nov 11, 2012

nice hotel

nice stay....friendly staff, very comfortable bed. modern feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sebeto
Topeka, ks
May 28, 2013

Romantic weekend

Room was very small, but fit the purpose and price. Staff was very friendly and met the needs of this pumping mom well. Couldn't beat the location. Absolutely loved red fin, the sushi bar next door! Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
art vandelay
kelowna
Aug 17, 2014

hotel max

Great clean hotel downtown Seattle, room was awesome. On the small side for 2 buddys.. lil pricey but we didn't book till 10 days prior.. wasn't any on site parking. Valet for 33$/ nite. Keep all are valuables safe. Valet and door guys were super helpful. Give 4/5 stars overall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
acbusi68
Hawaii
Jun 13, 2009

Hotel review for Seattle 5/23/09

When we came back from the cruise ship, this time they had welcome gift ready in our room, plus the room was little bigger than the week before our cruise trip, because last time when we check in they didn't have our booking, that's why we only got the lower level and a very small room compare with this time, and didn't have prepared the welcome gift in the room as well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not take taxi going to and from the pier and this hotel, those drivers had a bad attitude because it was short drive and the taxi fare should be less than $7.00 but they charged $15.00

Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, Oegon
Oct 27, 2010

Hotel max

This is a great hotel & I would overall recommend it. The staff was AWESOME - very helpful without being intrusive. The decor & color scheme is unique (reds, grays) - I much preferred it over the generic chain hotels. The beds are extremely comfortable & I slept veell The location is excellent - it was about a six-block walk to Pike Place Market and near restaurants, lots of shopping and the monorail. You can catch the bus to the ferry landing right across the street & light rail to Qwest/Safeco field just a couple of blocks down. There are a couple of things to be aware of, though. The room was pretty small, maybe 10 or 12 X 15 (this was a room with two double beds). I think it would be great for a single person, a couple or in our case, my sister & I....but it might be a little too small for a family. The bathroom was small - hardly room to bend down to pick something up, a very tall or large person might not feel comfortable. It also had just a shower, no bathtub. The other surprise was that, unlike other hotels I have stayed at the last few years, Hotel Max charges for local phone calls ($1.00) and internet use ($11.95 for 24 hours). The attached sushi restaurant did not offer many selections for those who do not like sushi, but all we had to do was walk a block or two to find other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search