$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 19, 2014 Check-out: Nov 22, 2014

Hotel Max

3 stars
620 Stewart St., Seattle, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
298 reviews
Fun time!

Hotel was swanky and fun and in the middle of downtown seattle. Bathroom was super small but great... See full review

  • Ustob
  • Jul 25, 2014
Seoul Traveler In Seattle

Location...Location...Location. The location is outstanding as you can take the light rail to 6th... See full review

  • BINROK
  • Jul 24, 2014
Art-filled accommodations in downtown Seattle
The Hotel Max combines art and stylish boutique comfort, all within walking distance of Seattle's most famous attractions. Almost 400 works by 39 Seattle artists and photographers decorate rooms and public spaces. The Hotel Max takes advantage of its art niche to occasionally offer packages and deals tied to exhibits at the nearby Seattle Art Museum. The Hotel Max's restaurant, Redfin, focuses on Japanese specialties and serves breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner.
Highlights
  • Art work by local artists and photographers on display in the lobby, hallways and guest rooms
  • Aveda-brand bathroom amenities
  • Close to well-known Seattle restaurants, including Wild Ginger
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Rooms

Not surprisingly, each room at the Hotel Max sports an arty title. Solo art has a double bed and teak desk. Art of two beds rooms boast two double beds. Queen of art rooms sport a queen bed and artist king has king-size beds. Soothing tones of sage, charcoal gray and vegetal oranges decorate each room. All rooms have high thread-count linens and duvets, robes, coffee makers with Organa coffee and Steven Smith tea, Aveda bath amenities, a menu of pillow choices and a menu of spiritual inspiration suitable for almost any belief system. 

Features

An art-filled lobby, guest rooms and hallways underscore the Hotel Max's dedication to art and Seattle-area artists and photographers. If the point is to create a serene environment, the Hotel Max follows up admirably with rooms done in calming hues. In-room tea accompanies in-room coffee and a spiritual menu promises inspiration for almost any faith or belief system. A whimsical "you got it" button on the telephone links guests with hotel services.

Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (15.7 mi/25.1 km)
  • King County Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Mall station (0.1mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Paramount Theater (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Seattle Art Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Olympic Sculpture Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Experience Music Project (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business
  • Conference room that accommodates 14 people
  • Wireless and hard-wire Internet service (fees apply)
  • Audio/visual setups
  • 24/7 business center
Policies and fees
  • Pet deposit is $40 (non-refundable).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

47.6138 -122.337
Area served
Seattle, Washington
Nearby airports
Sea Tac Airport
Area description
Located in the shopping district of downtown Seattle, the Hotel Max is within blocks of many major Seattle attractions such as Pike Place Market and Washington State Convention Trade Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Max also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Max Rooms

Art of Two Beds
The hip new Art of two beds room features two double beds, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phones, high speed wireless internet (fee), down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries
Artist King
The hip new Artist King room features one King bed, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phone, high speed wireless internet (fee),down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries.
Queen of Art
The hip new Queen of Art room features one queen bed, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phones, high speed wireless internet (fee), down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.7 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.1 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.2 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.5 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.3 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.9 mi

Dining

Miller's Guild
At the heart of Millers Guild is a nine-foot-long, custom-made grill that James Beard Award-winning chef Jason Wilson uses to create a wood-fired menu that features 75-day dry-aged beef, locally caught seafood, nose-to-tail butchery and rustic baked goods. Millers Guild channels the citys unique character and yet is unlike any other restaurant in Seattle.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Side Bar room seats 12 people, boardroom style. Please contact the sales department for more information (206) 728-6299

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (298)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Max

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
298 out of 298
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cigarman sam
Business
portland, or
Dec 26, 2012

sleep great in seattle but small potty

The staff was awesome! The art decorations were fantastic and the beds were super comfy - My only complaint was the toilets inthe bedroom were made for 2nd graders in size and location - However - the room design was very trendy,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Instead of driving - walk or use the light rail that is picked up under Nordstroms about 3 blocks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron the Rhino
Business
San Francisco
Dec 23, 2012

The Max

Hotel is at a convenient location and has an. upbeat artistic modern feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Industrious Traveler
Business
Portland, OR
Dec 11, 2012

Cute Boutique Hotel with a Convenient Location

My partner and I found Hotel Max to be convenient and clean, as well as a decent value. We were very happy with the location, as it's within walking distance to much of what one would want to see in downtown Seattle. We were traveling for business, so we basically wanted something that would permit us to easily navigate Seattle and get to and from our work with ease, and Hotel Max fit the bill. We were also very pleased that we could bring our cat for an additional fee. She seemed thrilled with the pet bed they provided. I found the staff to be courteous and professional. Our room was small, but with the view from all of the large windows, it was not at all claustrophobic. The bathroom was very clean and felt more upscale than the rest of the hotel, with a nice-sized tub and a lot of white tile. The sushi restaurant attached to the hotel is romantic and quite good, though we found the specialty rolls oddly less appetizing than the standards, which were excellent. We liked it enough to go both nights we stayed. I did find that a few things could be improved. For example, the elevators were inconveniently small; the two of us could not fit in the elevator with a full luggage rack. At another point, I ran up to the room to get something, and had to wait over fifteen minutes for a return elevator. As we were on the way to set up for work, with limited time, this was annoying. A sign by the stairs directed me to take the elevator when I got to the second floor, so that was not an option. However, it is an older building, so I don't know what the hotel could do about that. Though clean, some of the carpet and walls look slightly shabby when one looks closely, but the hotel has a fun decorating theme that combined vintage and modern. I felt that the pet fee and valet parking fee were rather high, but not outrageous. Given the location, it is likely that there are other parking options nearby. If we were not there for work, I would likely have pursued them. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. I'd read some mixed reviews online after booking the room, but I did not observe any of the problems other travelers alluded to. We have to go back in a few months, and we will likely stay at Hotel Max again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brad L
Business
Denver, CO
Dec 3, 2012

Excellent Hotel and Staff

I enjoyed my stay this past weeked at The Hotel Max. The only shocker was the 33 dollar amount to park a car in their garage over night. I would have thought that is a benefit of staying there. But it is downtown, so parking is at a premium, so maybe I can understand...but 33 is still steep. Overall, very happy with my room and the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fun2travelbyme
Business
florida
Nov 23, 2012

Great location

I've stayed here twice. Great rooms and perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sgt. Wolverine
Business
Chelsea, MI
Nov 20, 2012

Perfect location, good price

I loved this hotel. The room wasn't huge, but it was big enough -- I wasn't there to sit around in a hotel room! -- and it was very nicely appointed. The bed was comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. And perhaps most importantly to me, the location was absolutely ideal. It was only a very short walk (two short blocks) to the Westlake Center, where the train from the airport ends up, where the buses stop, and where the monorail to the Space Needle starts. It's incredibly easy to get around town from the Hotel Max, and the price was a bit lower than the other nice hotels around Westlake. In short, I would heartily recommend this hotel if you're visiting Seattle. (I would also recommend a visit to Seattle.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PA visiting Seattle
Business
Maryland
Nov 14, 2012

Great!

Enjoyed it. Great location. Wonderful staff. Cute atmosphere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Megssound
Business
Seattle WA
Nov 11, 2012

nice hotel

nice stay....friendly staff, very comfortable bed. modern feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gratefulguest2
Business
Arizona
Oct 29, 2012

Fantastic stay!

Everything about my stay at Hotel Max this past weekend was superb, from the overall quality of the hotel, the room, amenities, and particularly the staff. Every single staff member I encountered, at the front desk, valets, and particularly the custodial staff, were friendly and welcoming. The room was well-designed and serviced, and I appreciated the value of environmentalism throughout the hotel (e.g., use of cruelty-free soaps and shampoos, recycle bins in the room, options for room service). Loved the overall aesthetic. There was so much thought and care put into each element of the stay, it really showed. I particularly appreciated the "pillow menu" option. A fantastic stay from start to finish. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 23, 2012

Great Modern Escape

Very simplistic in design with minimalist and modern flair. Don't need all the fancy things, but don't want to stay in something lowkey? Hotel Max is a great option and is located walking distance to all the major Seattle attractions. It was like a mini loft during our short stay. Pet friendly too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Make a loop from downtown Seattle, to Pike's Market, to the Piers, to the Sculpture Garden, to Seattle Center, to the Monorail, and back to Hotel Max for a full day of touring.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top