$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 16, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Hotel Max

3 stars
620 Stewart St., Seattle, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
303 reviews
Perfect place

Staff are very helpful. Place is near to all the tourist spots. Price is very reasonable. See full review

  • Lei R
  • Oct 28, 2014
Hotel Max is fabulous

Hotel Max was home base for our 6-day visit to Seattle and the region. We could not have done... See full review

  • Zelda G
  • Oct 22, 2014
Art-filled accommodations in downtown Seattle
The Hotel Max combines art and stylish boutique comfort, all within walking distance of Seattle's most famous attractions. Almost 400 works by 39 Seattle artists and photographers decorate rooms and public spaces. The Hotel Max takes advantage of its art niche to occasionally offer packages and deals tied to exhibits at the nearby Seattle Art Museum. The Hotel Max's restaurant, Redfin, focuses on Japanese specialties and serves breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner.
Highlights
  • Art work by local artists and photographers on display in the lobby, hallways and guest rooms
  • Aveda-brand bathroom amenities
  • Close to well-known Seattle restaurants, including Wild Ginger
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Rooms

Not surprisingly, each room at the Hotel Max sports an arty title. Solo art has a double bed and teak desk. Art of two beds rooms boast two double beds. Queen of art rooms sport a queen bed and artist king has king-size beds. Soothing tones of sage, charcoal gray and vegetal oranges decorate each room. All rooms have high thread-count linens and duvets, robes, coffee makers with Organa coffee and Steven Smith tea, Aveda bath amenities, a menu of pillow choices and a menu of spiritual inspiration suitable for almost any belief system. 

Features

An art-filled lobby, guest rooms and hallways underscore the Hotel Max's dedication to art and Seattle-area artists and photographers. If the point is to create a serene environment, the Hotel Max follows up admirably with rooms done in calming hues. In-room tea accompanies in-room coffee and a spiritual menu promises inspiration for almost any faith or belief system. A whimsical "you got it" button on the telephone links guests with hotel services.

Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (15.7 mi/25.1 km)
  • King County Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Mall station (0.1mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Paramount Theater (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Seattle Art Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Olympic Sculpture Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Experience Music Project (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business
  • Conference room that accommodates 14 people
  • Wireless and hard-wire Internet service (fees apply)
  • Audio/visual setups
  • 24/7 business center
Policies and fees
  • Pet deposit is $40 (non-refundable).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

47.6138 -122.337
Area served
Seattle, Washington
Nearby airports
Sea Tac Airport
Area description
Located in the shopping district of downtown Seattle, the Hotel Max is within blocks of many major Seattle attractions such as Pike Place Market and Washington State Convention Trade Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Max also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Max Rooms

Art of Two Beds
The hip new Art of two beds room features two double beds, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phones, high speed wireless internet (fee), down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries
Artist King
The hip new Artist King room features one King bed, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phone, high speed wireless internet (fee),down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries.
Queen of Art
The hip new Queen of Art room features one queen bed, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phones, high speed wireless internet (fee), down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.7 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.1 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.2 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.5 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.3 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.9 mi

Dining

Miller's Guild
At the heart of Millers Guild is a nine-foot-long, custom-made grill that James Beard Award-winning chef Jason Wilson uses to create a wood-fired menu that features 75-day dry-aged beef, locally caught seafood, nose-to-tail butchery and rustic baked goods. Millers Guild channels the citys unique character and yet is unlike any other restaurant in Seattle.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Side Bar room seats 12 people, boardroom style. Please contact the sales department for more information (206) 728-6299

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (303)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Max

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
303 out of 303
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business Traveler Dad
Business
Boston
Mar 30, 2014

Decent but not great

Hotel Max is in a great location and the staff is friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, they don't serve breakfast and the rooms are small and a little tired. I was also in a room on the street side - and the traffic was loud. So, it was an average experience, not a great one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Great restaurant right next to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cheevrr
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 3, 2014

Great Restaurant but the hotel needs work.

I was excited about this hotel, I really was. The room looked cool, the front desk was friendly and helpful, the restaurant ROCKS! Great food, great service. Fun. BUT... and here's the but: The restaurant prides itself on it's 'wood-fire grill' and it is truly amazing. You can see the chef throwing huge pieces of meat onto the grill and dressing the food. Glowing logs, embers, warmth. All wonderful. BUT: Much to my dismay my room filled with smoke from the Restaurant. Hickory-filled smoke from those wonderful grills. Somehow the vent went up to my room (and to my friends' room, they were below me 1 floor) and so my clothes, my luggage, my toothbrush, my towels, all smelled of hickory smoke, all the time. And, I had to keep the window open for part of the day and part of the night (not fun when it's 36 degrees out). I was there for a conference this past weekend and so all of the rooms were booked. When I told the front desk person about this they apologized and said they would look into it but I never heard back from them. I tried to stay out of the room as much as possible but there was no hiding the smoke smell on my clothes and bedsheets, etc. Really a shame. It seemed like it could have been a fun experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
siege girl
Business
Lawndale, CA
Feb 17, 2014

weekend getaway

Hotel is in the heart of downtown Seattle, with all the tourist spots in a 1-2 mile radius. Has quiet environment and nice artwork. And that is all about the pros. For the cons, rooms are small. There are no enough space on their one queen bedroom. The shower area is also small. No fridge in the room. They also did not update their information in the rooms. Like they said room service is 24 hours when in fact it is only from 8am - 9pm. They also do not have a parking facility, only valet. They forgot to mention that it is $40 a day for the valet service. They do not have a restaurant as well. The steak house next door is not owned by the hotel. We got the room for a discounted price and I think it is ok if you are only staying here for 2-3 nights like we did. I don't think we are staying at this hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Attractions are not far from the hotel like Pike Market and Pioneer Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Phizz
Business
Vancouver
Feb 11, 2014

small and cozy

it was a very nice hotel but lacked erin size and our a/c unit was a little busy. other than that the themed art was very unique.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZagGirl
Business
Spokane, WA, USA
Jan 26, 2014

Tight squeeze, but great location

My husband and I popped over to Seattle for a long weekend to catch a concert and a Seahawks game. We stayed at Hotel Max looking for a modern, sophisticated hotel for a nice weekend away- without breaking the bank. The biggest positive of this hotel is the location. It's blocks from the Westlake train station, which takes you to Seatac and the Stadiums for super cheap. It's also right near Macy's, Nordstrom, good restaurants, two Starbucks within a half block (gotta love Washington) and walking distance to Pike Market. It's clean, the staff was fairly friendly and helpful, and the bed was actually pretty comfortable. However- if you are looking for space, this is not your hotel. The bathroom is the smallest I've seen. Stall shower, tiny sink, one person standing room. (We are not large people... I'm 5'3"... and even I think it's snug in there.) The closet is twice the size of the shower, (not sure who designed that) but there isn't a light, so you really can't keep your suitcase there if you want to see your options. If you are not concerned with size, or you are travelling alone, this is a pretty great spot to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Seattle light rail will take you North-South from the south end at Seatac Airport to the last stop at Westlake. One way travel for two people was $5.50 for the entire length. Skip the cab ride and take the 40 minute train. Plus, you get to take in the city and the people while you are at it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ariel Traveler
Business
Omaha, Ne
Jan 20, 2014

Good Stay at Hotel Max

The hotel was welcoming and a cool environment. I did not love the fact there was no pool, and the beds were not very comfortable. They also charged for internet access. Staff was friendly, they have a free happy hour and many amenities. It was close to walk to different areas, especially Pike Market. Overall, a good stay. Probably not great for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cammmacka
Business
Denver, CO
Jan 17, 2014

Great little boutique hotel!

Great artsy boutique hotel in amazing location. Walking distance to everything Seattle has to offer. Staff was super friendly and helpful. The only thing I wish is that our room had a mini fridge or something. Other than the lack of a mini fridge, this hotel is great. I would definitely stay here again and would most definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Traveler 8701
Business
Washington
Jan 3, 2014

Best Anniversary Stay

My husband and I stayed here while spending our 3rd anniversary in Seattle. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Great recommendations for dinner. Also only a few blocks from Seattle shopping and entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The weekend before Christmas there were tons of people dressed up in Santa outfits.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cottage traveler
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 30, 2013

I will return!

From the moment the doorman opens the door to let you in and the desk clerk welcomes you there is no better experience. This is probably my tenth visit at the Max and it is an experience that I relate to others and encourage their stay there. Thank you all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is Nordstrom's and Macy's and a bevy of shops nearby. There is Pacific Place with its plethora of shops and restaurants and theatres. The distance to Pike's Market is a short and memorable walk well worth the effort. Go and enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tumbleweed.ca
Business
Vancouver
Dec 23, 2013

Good for a night out on the town...

Stayed in a Queen room solo. It was good for a night out on the town as the day views are not important,and space isn't very needed either if your just going to sleep. It had a large closet, but the room felt smallish. Great Front desk staff, not sure what the doormen do? I felt I flagged a lot of my cabs, however the first doorman of my stay was polite and offered door service. Not that I expect it, but otherwise they just seem like security guards or something, I don't find that appealing in a hotel. The hotel has a new "of the moment" restaurant, modern chic space, good service and good drinks, didn't have time to eat, but it came recommended for it's open fire grill. Had a very decent vodka martini at the well staffed bar. *I was warned at the bar by another guest that the room may smell of smoke from the grill, I will admit there was a faint scent, I was on the 6th floor, but I always travel with a room fragrance or travel candle. I would recommended that the hotel offer free "own brand" hotel scented LED tea-lights in the room, it could help. All in all I felt this hotel was very good, and offered easily the fun nightlife of Seattle, without being judgey or boring and still offering friendly good service. So for another nighttime love affair with Seattle, I would stay again. *good bathroom toiletries, found the in-room snack bar over-priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Third Door theatre is a cabaret room and has a bar up front...the cabaret space is where it is at though, if you can catch an eat and drink act here; like one of Seattle's great burlesque performances, it is really worth the effort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top