$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2015 Check-out: Feb 22, 2015

Hotel Max

3 stars
620 Stewart St., Seattle, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
321 reviews
Couple's weekend

Awesome location and the restaurant downstairs is amazing! Room was definitely tiny, but good value See full review

  • kkercado
  • Jan 21, 2015
Very good experience

Staff is absolutely professional and super friendly. Location couldn't be better, 3 blocks away... See full review

  • Robert N.
  • Jan 16, 2015
Art-filled accommodations in downtown Seattle
The Hotel Max combines art and stylish boutique comfort, all within walking distance of Seattle's most famous attractions. Almost 400 works by 39 Seattle artists and photographers decorate rooms and public spaces. The Hotel Max takes advantage of its art niche to occasionally offer packages and deals tied to exhibits at the nearby Seattle Art Museum. The Hotel Max's restaurant, Redfin, focuses on Japanese specialties and serves breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner.
Highlights
  • Art work by local artists and photographers on display in the lobby, hallways and guest rooms
  • Aveda-brand bathroom amenities
  • Close to well-known Seattle restaurants, including Wild Ginger
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Rooms

Not surprisingly, each room at the Hotel Max sports an arty title. Solo art has a double bed and teak desk. Art of two beds rooms boast two double beds. Queen of art rooms sport a queen bed and artist king has king-size beds. Soothing tones of sage, charcoal gray and vegetal oranges decorate each room. All rooms have high thread-count linens and duvets, robes, coffee makers with Organa coffee and Steven Smith tea, Aveda bath amenities, a menu of pillow choices and a menu of spiritual inspiration suitable for almost any belief system. 

Features

An art-filled lobby, guest rooms and hallways underscore the Hotel Max's dedication to art and Seattle-area artists and photographers. If the point is to create a serene environment, the Hotel Max follows up admirably with rooms done in calming hues. In-room tea accompanies in-room coffee and a spiritual menu promises inspiration for almost any faith or belief system. A whimsical "you got it" button on the telephone links guests with hotel services.

Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (15.7 mi/25.1 km)
  • King County Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Mall station (0.1mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Paramount Theater (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Seattle Art Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Olympic Sculpture Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Experience Music Project (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business
  • Conference room that accommodates 14 people
  • Wireless and hard-wire Internet service (fees apply)
  • Audio/visual setups
  • 24/7 business center
Policies and fees
  • Pet deposit is $40 (non-refundable).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Max also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Max Rooms

Mini Queen
1 Queen Bed 185 sq. ft., our Mini Queen rooms are petite in size but thoughtfully designed. They boast all our standard and signature amenities, a comfy queen size bed and a space saving bath layout with split shower and powder room. Recommended for the single traveler who intends to spend time out and about or couples who want to get up close and personal.
Mini King
1 King Bed 225 sq. ft. Located on the North side of our hotel, these rooms offer a blissful king size bed and a unique bath layout with split shower and powder room and come stocked with all our standard and signature amenities, Recommended for travelers who prefer things a little quieter to escape the hustle and bustle of downtown living.
Classic Queen
1 Queen Bed 190 sq. ft. with original art in every room and all our standard and signature amenities, the Classic Queen is the ideal Seattle sleepover for design-minded, fun-loving urban explorers.
Classic Two Beds
2 Full Beds 250 sq. ft. are equipped with two double beds, each equally comfortable so theres no need to squabble over sleeping arrangements. Oh and dont forget our standard and signature amenities for both of you to enjoy
Classic King
1 King Bed 200 sq. ft. of artfully designed space, no two rooms are exactly alike but they all feature a supremely relaxing king size bed. And, naturally, our standard and signature amenities are at the ready to ensure your stay in Seattle is fit for a king.
Max Two Beds
2 Full Beds in a spacious 325 sq. ft. guestroom. Youll both have plenty of space to spread out and enjoy our standard and signature amenities in the heart of downtown Seattle.
Max King
1 King Bed 250 sq. ft. with plenty of natural light, these rooms are bigger and brighter with more than enough space to settle in and stay awhile. Plus, our standard and signature amenities are yours for the asking

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.7 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.1 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.2 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.5 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.3 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Side Bar room seats 12 people, boardroom style. Please contact the sales department for more information (206) 728-6299

Dining

Miller's Guild
At the heart of Millers Guild is a nine-foot-long, custom-made grill that James Beard Award-winning chef Jason Wilson uses to create a wood-fired menu that features 75-day dry-aged beef, locally caught seafood, nose-to-tail butchery and rustic baked goods. Millers Guild channels the citys unique character and yet is unlike any other restaurant in Seattle.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (321)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Max

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
321 out of 321
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
juneau
Nov 13, 2010

hip and professional

Our room was cozy, very tastefully decorated, with a nice view of the downtown neighborhood. The bed was very comfortable, the tv was large, and the bathroom had contemporary fixtures. The place was spotless. From the valets to the desk clerks to the shift manager (who helped load our car, while making very witty but polite comments about my indiscrimimate packing style), the staff were very courteous, helpful, and cheerful. Cheerful workers mean good management. This was my second of hopefully many more stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Villages, Florida
Nov 11, 2010

Good location, great staff!

Great to see what this hotel has done in renovations. A very funky black/white/red theme, with lots of interesting art. Had everything we needed. Very accommodating staff. Rooms very clean, kinda on the small size. Comfortable bed. Shower a bit tiny. Not too crazy about A/C window units, but climate control was adequate. Great hair dryer! Wonderful adjoining restaurant downstairs for Asian cusine, which we highly recommend. Good location for walks in downtown Seattle. Drawback if you have a car...expensive parking $30.00/day. We were impressed with how creative the place is from old to new funky art. Enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Nov 11, 2010

Pretty cool

Very hip, cool hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob the traveler
Business
Tequisquiapan, Mexico
Nov 7, 2010

SEXY HOTEL

Perfect location, sexy hotel with comfortable beds. Ask for the double art room because those have bigger bathrooms. We had a minor problem with the front desk wich was perfectly solved and even gave us free drinks at the bar as an apology, very friendly staff. The atmosphere of the hotel is simply hype and chic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

If it´s a rainy day, as many in Seattle, ask for the umbrellas the hotel have for the customers, and you can use them for as long as you stay for free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Msp Mn
Nov 2, 2010

Trendy Stay

Great experience at the Max- was walking distance from the fish market and the space needle. Loved the fact there was a pillow menu!! Rooms were on the small side, but the character was so fun. We loved the décor and the overall feeling of the trendy Max. We'll be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blair black
Business
clearwater, fl
Oct 31, 2010

hotel max

great stocked refridgerator, great adult film selection, great sushi bar, great location in the city, highly fashionable interiors and design, super-friendly staff. the only thing preventing me from giving a perfect score is (a) the kurt cobain themed keycards didn't work very well, and (b) the bathroom was pretty but far too small for women and their make-up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there's a fantastic 24-hour dinner right down the street called the hurricane cafe. i found it purely by accident. great urban stuff. cheap!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Oegon
Oct 27, 2010

Hotel max

This is a great hotel & I would overall recommend it. The staff was AWESOME - very helpful without being intrusive. The decor & color scheme is unique (reds, grays) - I much preferred it over the generic chain hotels. The beds are extremely comfortable & I slept veell The location is excellent - it was about a six-block walk to Pike Place Market and near restaurants, lots of shopping and the monorail. You can catch the bus to the ferry landing right across the street & light rail to Qwest/Safeco field just a couple of blocks down. There are a couple of things to be aware of, though. The room was pretty small, maybe 10 or 12 X 15 (this was a room with two double beds). I think it would be great for a single person, a couple or in our case, my sister & I....but it might be a little too small for a family. The bathroom was small - hardly room to bend down to pick something up, a very tall or large person might not feel comfortable. It also had just a shower, no bathtub. The other surprise was that, unlike other hotels I have stayed at the last few years, Hotel Max charges for local phone calls ($1.00) and internet use ($11.95 for 24 hours). The attached sushi restaurant did not offer many selections for those who do not like sushi, but all we had to do was walk a block or two to find other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 25, 2010

SoooOOoOoo AWESOME!!!

Hotel Max is a wonderful hotel. Customer service is their top priority and top notch. Nothing more we could ask for.. Front desk were really helpful, the Bed and pillows were really comfy and Valet service really swift! We know that the Hotel Max will be our home when we visit again in the future..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel has one of the greatest locations... short walk to everything in the city - shopping - dining- and monorail to seattle center in Westlake Shopping Center and a few blocks to Pikes Market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Oct 25, 2010

Supergoodfuntime

Great location within easy walk to Pike St. market, Seattle Art Museum, etc. Cool decor, great service. The sushi place next to the hotel is one of the best in town and has killer happy-hour deals from 4-6pm. The room was small, but cozy. Good view out our window of the Space Needle. I'd say the only negative was the $38.50 dollar parking per night (with tax). Yikes! Make sure you factor that in. Overall, was completely satisfied and would stay there again in a second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Black Bottle for dinner. Amazing! But get a reservation, it get's crowded.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AMN
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 10, 2010

I liked it

What impressed me most was the staff's friendliness and professionalism. As other reviewers have mentioned, the room are small, but since I was aware of it beforehand, I didn't have a problem with it. However, the shower stall, and the bathroom in general, were quite cramped. The location was sufficiently close to my conference center (~20 min walk) and close to shopping centers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top