$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 2, 2015 Check-out: Mar 3, 2015

Hotel Max

3 stars
View map of 620 Stewart St., Seattle, WA 98101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
325 reviews
Descent hotel

Nothing special at this hotel. It is close to much of down town, but doesn't offer the amenities... See full review

  • Alexander M.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Great Experience

Highly recommended this place to everyone. It's a cute little boutique hotel that's very trendy.... See full review

  • ELIZABETH R.
  • Jan 26, 2015
Art-filled accommodations in downtown Seattle
The Hotel Max combines art and stylish boutique comfort, all within walking distance of Seattle's most famous attractions. Almost 400 works by 39 Seattle artists and photographers decorate rooms and public spaces. The Hotel Max takes advantage of its art niche to occasionally offer packages and deals tied to exhibits at the nearby Seattle Art Museum. The Hotel Max's restaurant, Redfin, focuses on Japanese specialties and serves breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner.
Highlights
  • Art work by local artists and photographers on display in the lobby, hallways and guest rooms
  • Aveda-brand bathroom amenities
  • Close to well-known Seattle restaurants, including Wild Ginger
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Rooms

Not surprisingly, each room at the Hotel Max sports an arty title. Solo art has a double bed and teak desk. Art of two beds rooms boast two double beds. Queen of art rooms sport a queen bed and artist king has king-size beds. Soothing tones of sage, charcoal gray and vegetal oranges decorate each room. All rooms have high thread-count linens and duvets, robes, coffee makers with Organa coffee and Steven Smith tea, Aveda bath amenities, a menu of pillow choices and a menu of spiritual inspiration suitable for almost any belief system. 

Features

An art-filled lobby, guest rooms and hallways underscore the Hotel Max's dedication to art and Seattle-area artists and photographers. If the point is to create a serene environment, the Hotel Max follows up admirably with rooms done in calming hues. In-room tea accompanies in-room coffee and a spiritual menu promises inspiration for almost any faith or belief system. A whimsical "you got it" button on the telephone links guests with hotel services.

Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (15.7 mi/25.1 km)
  • King County Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Mall station (0.1mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Paramount Theater (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Seattle Art Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Olympic Sculpture Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Experience Music Project (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business
  • Conference room that accommodates 14 people
  • Wireless and hard-wire Internet service (fees apply)
  • Audio/visual setups
  • 24/7 business center
Policies and fees
  • Pet deposit is $40 (non-refundable).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Max also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Max Rooms

Mini Queen
1 Queen Bed 185 sq. ft., our Mini Queen rooms are petite in size but thoughtfully designed. They boast all our standard and signature amenities, a comfy queen size bed and a space saving bath layout with split shower and powder room. Recommended for the single traveler who intends to spend time out and about or couples who want to get up close and personal.
Mini King
1 King Bed 225 sq. ft. Located on the North side of our hotel, these rooms offer a blissful king size bed and a unique bath layout with split shower and powder room and come stocked with all our standard and signature amenities, Recommended for travelers who prefer things a little quieter to escape the hustle and bustle of downtown living.
Classic Queen
1 Queen Bed 190 sq. ft. with original art in every room and all our standard and signature amenities, the Classic Queen is the ideal Seattle sleepover for design-minded, fun-loving urban explorers.
Classic Two Beds
2 Full Beds 250 sq. ft. are equipped with two double beds, each equally comfortable so theres no need to squabble over sleeping arrangements. Oh and dont forget our standard and signature amenities for both of you to enjoy
Classic King
1 King Bed 200 sq. ft. of artfully designed space, no two rooms are exactly alike but they all feature a supremely relaxing king size bed. And, naturally, our standard and signature amenities are at the ready to ensure your stay in Seattle is fit for a king.
Max Two Beds
2 Full Beds in a spacious 325 sq. ft. guestroom. Youll both have plenty of space to spread out and enjoy our standard and signature amenities in the heart of downtown Seattle.
Max King
1 King Bed 250 sq. ft. with plenty of natural light, these rooms are bigger and brighter with more than enough space to settle in and stay awhile. Plus, our standard and signature amenities are yours for the asking

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.7 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.1 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.2 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.5 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.3 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Side Bar room seats 12 people, boardroom style. Please contact the sales department for more information (206) 728-6299

Dining

Miller's Guild
At the heart of Millers Guild is a nine-foot-long, custom-made grill that James Beard Award-winning chef Jason Wilson uses to create a wood-fired menu that features 75-day dry-aged beef, locally caught seafood, nose-to-tail butchery and rustic baked goods. Millers Guild channels the citys unique character and yet is unlike any other restaurant in Seattle.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (325)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Max

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gratefulguest2
Business
Arizona
Oct 29, 2012

Fantastic stay!

Everything about my stay at Hotel Max this past weekend was superb, from the overall quality of the hotel, the room, amenities, and particularly the staff. Every single staff member I encountered, at the front desk, valets, and particularly the custodial staff, were friendly and welcoming. The room was well-designed and serviced, and I appreciated the value of environmentalism throughout the hotel (e.g., use of cruelty-free soaps and shampoos, recycle bins in the room, options for room service). Loved the overall aesthetic. There was so much thought and care put into each element of the stay, it really showed. I particularly appreciated the "pillow menu" option. A fantastic stay from start to finish. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland
Feb 21, 2011

Our night away

We had a great time in Seattle, we did go to this little Itialian place called Montochellos and it was great. Good price, food and atmosphere. Parking was valet and ok and the hotel was clean and friendly. However the room was a little small. I must say that the bed was the best I have slept in in a long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Feb 17, 2011

Trendy, cozy hotel in great location

I stayed two nights at Hotel Max. It was clean, comfortable, and centrally located. Be aware that the rooms are small, and the bathrooms are smaller. Perfectly adequate for business travel, but not sure I would do this with kids or for long trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland
Jan 25, 2011

HOTEL MAX

Funky place. Room was small. But sufficient for my needs. I booked the a single queen room. A good value compared to other options. VERY GOOD staff. attentive and efficient service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

A person could fly to Sea-Tac, take the light rail and only be two blocks away from the station. Right in the heart of downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jan 24, 2011

Fun and convenient

I was kinda surprised how small the room was when we first got there but it was comfortable and nice. The only issue we really had was the noise. The first night we were there we thought the window might have been open because the noise was so loud (we were on the 5th floor). If the windows were more noise-proof it would have been perfect. We were about 5 blocks from the market so it was great walking distance and the monorail that goes to the Space Needle was 2 blocks away. The best thing we signed up for was the Savor Seattle Food Tour. It took us all over the market and showed us different restaurants to go to and places to shop. Amazing tour! The restaurant thats on the first floor of the hotel was great and so convenient. You don't even have to go outside and you can order it for room service (if you like sushi). We thought it was a great location and we would definantly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Kell's is an Irish Pub we went to for dinner. It was ok food but if your looking for a fun place to hang out, dance and drink its perfect. It was packed by 10pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 19, 2011

Seattle

This hotel had an awesome location for a leisure trip to enjoy downtown seattle. Close to bars, restaurants and famous Pike Place Market and bayside. Would go again and recommend others to try.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, NY
Jan 10, 2011

Loved it!

We were in for the night, between flights, and wanted to enjoy a bit of Seattle while we were there. The Max hotel made it easy to park, check in and out, and have a fun night in a hotel. Love the pillow selection and Aveda amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jan 9, 2011

Trendy...and Spendy

Great location, friendly & helpful front desk staff. Definitely NYC style rooms..a little cramped. The bathroom was far from clean. Housekeeping knocked on our door at 8AM! It was a thursday but still....8AM!! I will probably return to the Pan Pacific. Worth the extra $60.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Seattle on New Years
Business
Orange County, CA
Jan 3, 2011

Great for Downtown, Close to the Space

The hotel was nice, clean and definitely has its own unique aesthetic qualities. The room was a bit smaller than expected from the pictures, but was well furnished and had some good views of the downtown area. From the airport, it's a quick light rail ride into Seattle and about a five minute walk from the exit. Great dining / entertainment opportunities nearby and the hotel itself is a four minute monorail ride (from a mall near the hotel) to the Space Needle, which provides the most fantastic views (lucky to be there on a clear day). Also close to Pike's Place, a definite place to check out when staying there (also home to the first Starbucks). Concierge was good at offering up suggestions for entertainment on New Years Eve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle,WA
Jan 2, 2011

Amazing Romantic New Years Eve Night

We stayed here on NYE 2011 and had the most amazing stay ever! 9th Floor looking straight at the Space Needle!! Beds were amazing, rooms on small side but loved it!! Staff was very friendly and did an amazing job making people happy on the crazy night it was!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Salossie I
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 2, 2011

Ugly

The Max reminded me to that kid in school who tries too hard to be hip and, in trying so hard, ends up just being a weirdo with no personality. In other words, the decor was plain ugly for a hotel priding itself of a hip boutique style (our room was painted silver. Rad but - really?) The room was very small, literally too small for two people with two bags and a suitcase. When they brought room service there was literally no place to put it. Another major sucker was to pay $12 a day for internet, which is something that most small boutiques hotels won't charge for anymore. There was some details to appreciate in a more positive note. You won't find the Gideon's Bible on your bedside table, instead they let you order from a "spiritual menu" that includes the Tora, the Koran and the Baghabad Gita. Also, the complimentary coffee in the room was outstanding, even for Seattle. The location couldn't get any better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Just down the street on 2nd Ave is a fun row of bars and clubs including The Crocodile and Shorty's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top