$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 16, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Hotel Max

3 stars
620 Stewart St., Seattle, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
305 reviews
Perfect place

Staff are very helpful. Place is near to all the tourist spots. Price is very reasonable. See full review

  • Lei R
  • Oct 28, 2014
Hotel Max is fabulous

Hotel Max was home base for our 6-day visit to Seattle and the region. We could not have done... See full review

  • Zelda G
  • Oct 22, 2014
Art-filled accommodations in downtown Seattle
The Hotel Max combines art and stylish boutique comfort, all within walking distance of Seattle's most famous attractions. Almost 400 works by 39 Seattle artists and photographers decorate rooms and public spaces. The Hotel Max takes advantage of its art niche to occasionally offer packages and deals tied to exhibits at the nearby Seattle Art Museum. The Hotel Max's restaurant, Redfin, focuses on Japanese specialties and serves breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner.
Highlights
  • Art work by local artists and photographers on display in the lobby, hallways and guest rooms
  • Aveda-brand bathroom amenities
  • Close to well-known Seattle restaurants, including Wild Ginger
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Rooms

Not surprisingly, each room at the Hotel Max sports an arty title. Solo art has a double bed and teak desk. Art of two beds rooms boast two double beds. Queen of art rooms sport a queen bed and artist king has king-size beds. Soothing tones of sage, charcoal gray and vegetal oranges decorate each room. All rooms have high thread-count linens and duvets, robes, coffee makers with Organa coffee and Steven Smith tea, Aveda bath amenities, a menu of pillow choices and a menu of spiritual inspiration suitable for almost any belief system. 

Features

An art-filled lobby, guest rooms and hallways underscore the Hotel Max's dedication to art and Seattle-area artists and photographers. If the point is to create a serene environment, the Hotel Max follows up admirably with rooms done in calming hues. In-room tea accompanies in-room coffee and a spiritual menu promises inspiration for almost any faith or belief system. A whimsical "you got it" button on the telephone links guests with hotel services.

Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (15.7 mi/25.1 km)
  • King County Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Mall station (0.1mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Paramount Theater (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Seattle Art Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Olympic Sculpture Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Experience Music Project (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business
  • Conference room that accommodates 14 people
  • Wireless and hard-wire Internet service (fees apply)
  • Audio/visual setups
  • 24/7 business center
Policies and fees
  • Pet deposit is $40 (non-refundable).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Max also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Max Rooms

Art of Two Beds
The hip new Art of two beds room features two double beds, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phones, high speed wireless internet (fee), down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries
Artist King
The hip new Artist King room features one King bed, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phone, high speed wireless internet (fee),down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries.
Queen of Art
The hip new Queen of Art room features one queen bed, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phones, high speed wireless internet (fee), down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.7 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.1 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.2 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.5 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.3 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Side Bar room seats 12 people, boardroom style. Please contact the sales department for more information (206) 728-6299

Dining

Miller's Guild
At the heart of Millers Guild is a nine-foot-long, custom-made grill that James Beard Award-winning chef Jason Wilson uses to create a wood-fired menu that features 75-day dry-aged beef, locally caught seafood, nose-to-tail butchery and rustic baked goods. Millers Guild channels the citys unique character and yet is unlike any other restaurant in Seattle.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (305)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Max

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
305 out of 305
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rosie red
Business
austin tx
Jul 21, 2012

good location/clean space

Botique style maybe slight smaller room that others. Clean. Walking distance to Pike's market --5- 6 blocks. Shopping/food 1-2 blocks. Catch rail from airport for $2.75 1 block walk. Would stay again. Did not see much for kids in hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CIdaho
Business
Idaho
Sep 17, 2012

Great, hip hotel Downtown

I loved Hotel Max. It was hip and clean and super comfortable. We had a queen room and the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept on. The sushi restaurant "Red Fin" downstairs is one of the best in the area. So if you're looking for an easy lunch/dinner it's a good spot. Our room was very small. Which is great if you're just in and out during the day/night. But we were getting ready for a wedding and it proved to not be the best for that situation. There's just not any extra room. That being said, if I was staying in downtown Seattle again Hotel Max, although a tight fit, would still be my first choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It's just a short walk to all downtown shopping and to Pike Place Market. Skip the cab and walk the 3-4 blocks down to the water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kbomb
Business
Chilliwack, British Columbia
Sep 23, 2012

It served it's purpose

The hotel itself was very clean, and the local artwork was beautiful. The staff were all very friendly and prompt when something was needed. We stayed in the king room, the room was small as was the bathroom and shower. We were on the top floor, but looked out onto much taller office buildings. The proximity to the main attractions downtown was a little further than we had anticipated, but 2 feet and a heartbeat got us where we needed to go. All in all it was a good trip, and i would recommend this hotel. Ps. The red fin sushi bar is amazing!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lola restaurant was recommended to us by the valet at the hotel. Their staff are so friendly and the food was amazing. A must eat destination!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moching
Business
New York
Sep 27, 2012

Just what I needed

I was in Seattle for one night for business and meeting friends. The Max was a pleasant surprise. The design is modern, clean and the staff was extremely helpful. The room was a bit small, but for one person on business it was perfect. I'll take a well-designed small space over spacious run of the mill any day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pum's parents
Business
boise
Oct 15, 2012

great location for downtown Seattle adventure

The rooms were small, but comfortable and clean, and the restaurant next door has a great happy hour menu. Staff was friendly and helpful. Photos on room doors of artists/entertainers on the streets of Seattle are fun. Hotel Max is located very near shopping, restaurants and symphony, and within reasonable walking distance to Seattle Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

only a few blocks from Link station for transportation to and from airport instead of taking a taxi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 23, 2012

Great Modern Escape

Very simplistic in design with minimalist and modern flair. Don't need all the fancy things, but don't want to stay in something lowkey? Hotel Max is a great option and is located walking distance to all the major Seattle attractions. It was like a mini loft during our short stay. Pet friendly too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Make a loop from downtown Seattle, to Pike's Market, to the Piers, to the Sculpture Garden, to Seattle Center, to the Monorail, and back to Hotel Max for a full day of touring.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AwesomeMcLady
Business
New York City
Oct 23, 2012

Great Stay, Small Room

We stayed in a queen room and it made my New York City apartment seem like a mansion. Sure, maybe this was just limited to our room layout, but for the same price I could have probably stayed at a larger room in another hotel. Stylistically it's incredible and unique. Modern and warm, super comfy, very efficiently designed. We stayed on the Rock'n'Roll floor which was awesome - each door is covered in a photo of Seattle grunge royalty (Kurt Cobain, Courtney Love, Pearl Jam, Soundgarden, crowdsurfers, etc.). The staff was incredibly approachable and helpful. We had never been to Seattle before and they were honest about where to go and when to do it (safety/crowds/etc). Most of the things we wanted to go to were very walkable from our location. Overall it was a wonderful choice for a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Serious Pie between 3-5pm for happy hour drinks and pizza!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Megssound
Business
Seattle WA
Nov 11, 2012

nice hotel

nice stay....friendly staff, very comfortable bed. modern feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Industrious Traveler
Business
Portland, OR
Dec 11, 2012

Cute Boutique Hotel with a Convenient Location

My partner and I found Hotel Max to be convenient and clean, as well as a decent value. We were very happy with the location, as it's within walking distance to much of what one would want to see in downtown Seattle. We were traveling for business, so we basically wanted something that would permit us to easily navigate Seattle and get to and from our work with ease, and Hotel Max fit the bill. We were also very pleased that we could bring our cat for an additional fee. She seemed thrilled with the pet bed they provided. I found the staff to be courteous and professional. Our room was small, but with the view from all of the large windows, it was not at all claustrophobic. The bathroom was very clean and felt more upscale than the rest of the hotel, with a nice-sized tub and a lot of white tile. The sushi restaurant attached to the hotel is romantic and quite good, though we found the specialty rolls oddly less appetizing than the standards, which were excellent. We liked it enough to go both nights we stayed. I did find that a few things could be improved. For example, the elevators were inconveniently small; the two of us could not fit in the elevator with a full luggage rack. At another point, I ran up to the room to get something, and had to wait over fifteen minutes for a return elevator. As we were on the way to set up for work, with limited time, this was annoying. A sign by the stairs directed me to take the elevator when I got to the second floor, so that was not an option. However, it is an older building, so I don't know what the hotel could do about that. Though clean, some of the carpet and walls look slightly shabby when one looks closely, but the hotel has a fun decorating theme that combined vintage and modern. I felt that the pet fee and valet parking fee were rather high, but not outrageous. Given the location, it is likely that there are other parking options nearby. If we were not there for work, I would likely have pursued them. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. I'd read some mixed reviews online after booking the room, but I did not observe any of the problems other travelers alluded to. We have to go back in a few months, and we will likely stay at Hotel Max again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron the Rhino
Business
San Francisco
Dec 23, 2012

The Max

Hotel is at a convenient location and has an. upbeat artistic modern feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top