$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Hotel Max

3 stars
620 Stewart St., Seattle, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
466 reviews
Saturday in Seattle

Great location. Friendly staff. Loved being so close to the waterfront and the space needle. See full review

  • topazecrystal
  • Jul 14, 2014
Perfect Seattle getaway

My stay at Hotel Max could not have been any more perfect. The entire staff went out of their way... See full review

  • Seattle Samantha
  • Jul 9, 2014
Art-filled accommodations in downtown Seattle
The Hotel Max combines art and stylish boutique comfort, all within walking distance of Seattle's most famous attractions. Almost 400 works by 39 Seattle artists and photographers decorate rooms and public spaces. The Hotel Max takes advantage of its art niche to occasionally offer packages and deals tied to exhibits at the nearby Seattle Art Museum. The Hotel Max's restaurant, Redfin, focuses on Japanese specialties and serves breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner.
Highlights
  • Art work by local artists and photographers on display in the lobby, hallways and guest rooms
  • Aveda-brand bathroom amenities
  • Close to well-known Seattle restaurants, including Wild Ginger
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Rooms

Not surprisingly, each room at the Hotel Max sports an arty title. Solo art has a double bed and teak desk. Art of two beds rooms boast two double beds. Queen of art rooms sport a queen bed and artist king has king-size beds. Soothing tones of sage, charcoal gray and vegetal oranges decorate each room. All rooms have high thread-count linens and duvets, robes, coffee makers with Organa coffee and Steven Smith tea, Aveda bath amenities, a menu of pillow choices and a menu of spiritual inspiration suitable for almost any belief system. 

Features

An art-filled lobby, guest rooms and hallways underscore the Hotel Max's dedication to art and Seattle-area artists and photographers. If the point is to create a serene environment, the Hotel Max follows up admirably with rooms done in calming hues. In-room tea accompanies in-room coffee and a spiritual menu promises inspiration for almost any faith or belief system. A whimsical "you got it" button on the telephone links guests with hotel services.

Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (15.7 mi/25.1 km)
  • King County Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Mall station (0.1mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Paramount Theater (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Seattle Art Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Olympic Sculpture Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Experience Music Project (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business
  • Conference room that accommodates 14 people
  • Wireless and hard-wire Internet service (fees apply)
  • Audio/visual setups
  • 24/7 business center
Policies and fees
  • Pet deposit is $40 (non-refundable).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

47.6138 -122.337
Area served
Seattle, Washington
Nearby airports
Sea Tac Airport
Area description
Located in the shopping district of downtown Seattle, the Hotel Max is within blocks of many major Seattle attractions such as Pike Place Market and Washington State Convention Trade Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Max also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Max Rooms

Art of Two Beds
The hip new Art of two beds room features two double beds, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phones, high speed wireless internet (fee), down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries
Artist King
The hip new Artist King room features one King bed, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phone, high speed wireless internet (fee),down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries.
Queen of Art
The hip new Queen of Art room features one queen bed, a flat screen tv, cordless two-lined phones, high speed wireless internet (fee), down bedding, luxury linens and designer toiletries

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.7 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.1 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.2 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.5 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.3 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Side Bar room seats 12 people, boardroom style. Please contact the sales department for more information (206) 728-6299

Dining

Miller's Guild
At the heart of Millers Guild is a nine-foot-long, custom-made grill that James Beard Award-winning chef Jason Wilson uses to create a wood-fired menu that features 75-day dry-aged beef, locally caught seafood, nose-to-tail butchery and rustic baked goods. Millers Guild channels the citys unique character and yet is unlike any other restaurant in Seattle.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (466)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Max

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
466 out of 466
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
so long
Business
Sarasota, Florida
Apr 4, 2010

worth it and then some

Overall it was very nice and worth the money. Seattle was a little chilly so I had to use the heater in the room which is run through a window air conditioning system. You could regulate the temperature, however you had to have the system running all the time to have heat and the system is loud. In addition, if you keep the bathroom door closed it gets freezing cold in there. Otherwise the hotel is a super value, and great downtown location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Toraa
Oslo, Norway
Jul 20, 2011

Clean, practical and very serviceminded

Serviceminded

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blueacre - Seafood restaurant - one block away

Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 27, 2009

okay place

The room was small but really comfy. The location is great. Walking distance to lots of stores, Pike's Place Market and the Space Needle. Parking is over priced. And so is their internet fee. Really samll bathroom. Barely enough room to take a shower in! I liked all the art. Very spendy. The bed was really comfy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the piers for great seafood for lunch and dinner. The best meals of my life!

Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
Jan 9, 2011

Trendy...and Spendy

Great location, friendly & helpful front desk staff. Definitely NYC style rooms..a little cramped. The bathroom was far from clean. Housekeeping knocked on our door at 8AM! It was a thursday but still....8AM!! I will probably return to the Pan Pacific. Worth the extra $60.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
siege girl
Lawndale, CA
Feb 17, 2014

weekend getaway

Hotel is in the heart of downtown Seattle, with all the tourist spots in a 1-2 mile radius. Has quiet environment and nice artwork. And that is all about the pros. For the cons, rooms are small. There are no enough space on their one queen bedroom. The shower area is also small. No fridge in the room. They also did not update their information in the rooms. Like they said room service is 24 hours when in fact it is only from 8am - 9pm. They also do not have a parking facility, only valet. They forgot to mention that it is $40 a day for the valet service. They do not have a restaurant as well. The steak house next door is not owned by the hotel. We got the room for a discounted price and I think it is ok if you are only staying here for 2-3 nights like we did. I don't think we are staying at this hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Attractions are not far from the hotel like Pike Market and Pioneer Square.

Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ariel Traveler
Omaha, Ne
Jan 20, 2014

Good Stay at Hotel Max

The hotel was welcoming and a cool environment. I did not love the fact there was no pool, and the beds were not very comfortable. They also charged for internet access. Staff was friendly, they have a free happy hour and many amenities. It was close to walk to different areas, especially Pike Market. Overall, a good stay. Probably not great for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business Traveler Dad
Business
Boston
Mar 30, 2014

Decent but not great

Hotel Max is in a great location and the staff is friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, they don't serve breakfast and the rooms are small and a little tired. I was also in a room on the street side - and the traffic was loud. So, it was an average experience, not a great one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Great restaurant right next to the hotel.

Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lvbella
Chicago, IL
May 4, 2009

Good price for location

I have never been to hotels in Seattle before, but the room was quite small and so was the bathroom and shower. I barely had room in the shower and I'm a petite thin female. The bed was very comfortable and good front desk service. The maid service was lacking in that we ran out of shampoo and conditioner and had to ask for more because they did not replace when cleaning our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Jul 13, 2011

Mixed Feelings

Hotel is in a great location. Single Queen rooms are tiny and the bath even smaller with the sink over the toilet. They should upgrade their toilet paper. For $200/night it should be better than what gas stations use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't pay the hotel $12/day for internet, get a room that faces the Starbucks across the intersection.

Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Snobbed in Seattle
Juneau, AK
Jun 30, 2013

Snooty...Pretentious...Bad Communication Skills...Andrew Saved the Day

I couldn't possibly tell you everything that was bad. So I'll summarize. The pictures on the website don't accurately portray how small and cramped the rooms are. The hotel staff (with 2 exceptions) are haughty, snobby, and have NO communication skills. I had to ask 4 people, 3 different times to get my bathroom cleaned because there were "leftovers" from a previous guest in there. The door lock was broken. The tv was broken. The view was a moldy airshaft. And EVERYTHING costs you. Forgot your toothbrush? $15 please. Need a safety pin? $10 please. Finally I asked to speak to a manager but he's only there from 6am-2pm. When I did see him I gave him the option of upgrading me (I was in a Artist King) or refunding me and I would move to another hotel. He upgraded me. The suite was much nicer. Everything worked and the view was great! After that, Andrew was the only one I would speak to about anything. Thanks Andrew! Now only if your staff could have a little training...hmmm....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sam's Sushi in Queen Anne!! Sooooo amazing and at a great price! Absolutely excellent and good service!

Back to menu Return to top