$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2015 Check-out: Feb 22, 2015

Hotel Max

3 stars
620 Stewart St., Seattle, WA 98101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
321 reviews
Great Experience

Highly recommended this place to everyone. It's a cute little boutique hotel that's very trendy.... See full review

  • ELIZABETH R.
  • Jan 26, 2015
Couple's weekend

Awesome location and the restaurant downstairs is amazing! Room was definitely tiny, but good value See full review

  • kkercado
  • Jan 21, 2015
Art-filled accommodations in downtown Seattle
The Hotel Max combines art and stylish boutique comfort, all within walking distance of Seattle's most famous attractions. Almost 400 works by 39 Seattle artists and photographers decorate rooms and public spaces. The Hotel Max takes advantage of its art niche to occasionally offer packages and deals tied to exhibits at the nearby Seattle Art Museum. The Hotel Max's restaurant, Redfin, focuses on Japanese specialties and serves breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner.
Highlights
  • Art work by local artists and photographers on display in the lobby, hallways and guest rooms
  • Aveda-brand bathroom amenities
  • Close to well-known Seattle restaurants, including Wild Ginger
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Rooms

Not surprisingly, each room at the Hotel Max sports an arty title. Solo art has a double bed and teak desk. Art of two beds rooms boast two double beds. Queen of art rooms sport a queen bed and artist king has king-size beds. Soothing tones of sage, charcoal gray and vegetal oranges decorate each room. All rooms have high thread-count linens and duvets, robes, coffee makers with Organa coffee and Steven Smith tea, Aveda bath amenities, a menu of pillow choices and a menu of spiritual inspiration suitable for almost any belief system. 

Features

An art-filled lobby, guest rooms and hallways underscore the Hotel Max's dedication to art and Seattle-area artists and photographers. If the point is to create a serene environment, the Hotel Max follows up admirably with rooms done in calming hues. In-room tea accompanies in-room coffee and a spiritual menu promises inspiration for almost any faith or belief system. A whimsical "you got it" button on the telephone links guests with hotel services.

Transportation
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (15.7 mi/25.1 km)
  • King County Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Sound Transit Link Light Rail Westlake Mall station (0.1mi/0.2 km)
Attractions
  • Paramount Theater (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Seattle Art Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Olympic Sculpture Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Experience Music Project (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business
  • Conference room that accommodates 14 people
  • Wireless and hard-wire Internet service (fees apply)
  • Audio/visual setups
  • 24/7 business center
Policies and fees
  • Pet deposit is $40 (non-refundable).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Max also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Max Rooms

Mini Queen
1 Queen Bed 185 sq. ft., our Mini Queen rooms are petite in size but thoughtfully designed. They boast all our standard and signature amenities, a comfy queen size bed and a space saving bath layout with split shower and powder room. Recommended for the single traveler who intends to spend time out and about or couples who want to get up close and personal.
Mini King
1 King Bed 225 sq. ft. Located on the North side of our hotel, these rooms offer a blissful king size bed and a unique bath layout with split shower and powder room and come stocked with all our standard and signature amenities, Recommended for travelers who prefer things a little quieter to escape the hustle and bustle of downtown living.
Classic Queen
1 Queen Bed 190 sq. ft. with original art in every room and all our standard and signature amenities, the Classic Queen is the ideal Seattle sleepover for design-minded, fun-loving urban explorers.
Classic Two Beds
2 Full Beds 250 sq. ft. are equipped with two double beds, each equally comfortable so theres no need to squabble over sleeping arrangements. Oh and dont forget our standard and signature amenities for both of you to enjoy
Classic King
1 King Bed 200 sq. ft. of artfully designed space, no two rooms are exactly alike but they all feature a supremely relaxing king size bed. And, naturally, our standard and signature amenities are at the ready to ensure your stay in Seattle is fit for a king.
Max Two Beds
2 Full Beds in a spacious 325 sq. ft. guestroom. Youll both have plenty of space to spread out and enjoy our standard and signature amenities in the heart of downtown Seattle.
Max King
1 King Bed 250 sq. ft. with plenty of natural light, these rooms are bigger and brighter with more than enough space to settle in and stay awhile. Plus, our standard and signature amenities are yours for the asking

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Pike Place Market: 0.3 mi
  • Seattle Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Omnidome Film Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Experience Music Project: 0.7 mi
  • Space Needle: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Seattle: 0.8 mi
  • Frye Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Science Center: 0.8 mi
  • Seattle Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Key Arena: 0.9 mi
  • CenturyLink Field: 1.3 mi
  • Seattle Asian Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Safeco Field: 1.6 mi
  • Bruce Lee Grave Site: 1.9 mi
  • Gasworks Park: 2.2 mi
  • Washington Park Arboretum: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of History and Industry: 2.7 mi
  • Husky Stadium: 3 mi
  • Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion: 3.1 mi
  • Henry Art Gallery: 3.2 mi
  • Burke Museum of Natural History: 3.5 mi
  • Woodland Park Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • Ballard Locks and Botanical Garden: 4.7 mi
  • Discovery Park: 5.3 mi
  • Museum of Flight: 6.9 mi

Dining

Miller's Guild
At the heart of Millers Guild is a nine-foot-long, custom-made grill that James Beard Award-winning chef Jason Wilson uses to create a wood-fired menu that features 75-day dry-aged beef, locally caught seafood, nose-to-tail butchery and rustic baked goods. Millers Guild channels the citys unique character and yet is unlike any other restaurant in Seattle.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Side Bar room seats 12 people, boardroom style. Please contact the sales department for more information (206) 728-6299

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (321)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Max

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
321 out of 321
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zoeller
Business
Columbus, OH
Jan 27, 2013

Small, Small, Small

This hotel is crazy small. The lobby is small, the elevators are small, the rooms are small, and the bathrooms - I've never seen anything smaller. I'm in the middle of a five night stay and claustrophobia is really starting to set in. On day two I asked if they had any larger rooms and I was told I was ALREADY in one of the larger rooms (OMG!). The shower is about 24" x 24" (I measured). It's like trying to take a shower in a phone booth. I'm not a big guy but have multiple bruises from hitting my elbows on the soap tray and the faucet handle. There's a glass shelf above the tiny sink that sticks out about 6", so it's impossible to lean over the sink to wash your face, brush your teeth, etc. And is it too much to ask to get a fresh bar of tiny soap - at least every OTHER day? Stay here if you want to feel like a giant. If not, go elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant (which really isn't in the hotel but next door) has great prices during happy hour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S4EVR
Business
Menomonie, WI
Jan 14, 2013

Comfy, Clean, Great Location, but...

Pro: The bed was really comfy. Nice size closet. Housekeeping staff do a fantastic job. Valet guys are great. Location exceptional-- stroll to Pike Place Market & downtown sites. Restaurant options by hotel are staggering-- wish I could've eaten more so I could try them all! Con: Bathroom stunningly microscopic. Sign in Business Center offered free 15 min/day internet, but then charged $5.95 every time. Spoke with desk staff & was refunded, but with obvious skepticism/disbelief-- REALLY didn't appreciate that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner on 7th street is a nice deli/convenience store where you can save on munchies, etc, to keep in fridge in your room. Shopkeeper is super nice!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bicoastalist
Business
Atlanta
Jan 8, 2013

Satisfactory

First, the good stuff: You can walk to a lot of really great places, so the location is incredible. It's sort of hip, so if you're into that, that's cool. The staff was really nice and helpful and let me check in early. The bed was comfortable, and there was a good mini-bar. Here are the negatives: $33 overnight valet parking. I get that it's downtown, but that's crazy. I parked across the street for $10. The rooms are smallish, and I didn't check to see what the building was before it was a hotel, but it felt like it could have been an industrial building of some sort. There are touches of "industrial chic" in the design, and it's what I would describe as "meh". I stayed there because it's 2 blocks from a friend's condo, so it was worth it to me. Next time I'll probably stay closer to Pike's Place or at a nicer hotel, even if I have to pay a little more. But compared to the other hotels in the area, Max is decently priced. I actually liked the Marriott Courtyard in Redmond more, and it was cheaper, but if you want the downtown Seattle experience, this is an OK pick. Oh, but if you're traveling with a friend or family, go somewhere else. This struck me as a good solo-traveler hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Want late night food?? Hit up Hurricane Cafe. Not the best food ever, but it does the trick.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave from OD
Business
Odessa, Texas
Jan 4, 2013

Very nice hotel

The staff is very friendly. The hotel is in a great location if you want to get around downtown. The only negatives were the paper thin walls. You can hear your neighbors having conversations in the other room. I read about that online and it was confirmed during my stay. The rooms are small but the beds and amenities are great. I didn't mind the small rooms since the only thing I planned on being out on the town most of the time I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cigarman sam
Business
portland, or
Dec 26, 2012

sleep great in seattle but small potty

The staff was awesome! The art decorations were fantastic and the beds were super comfy - My only complaint was the toilets inthe bedroom were made for 2nd graders in size and location - However - the room design was very trendy,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Instead of driving - walk or use the light rail that is picked up under Nordstroms about 3 blocks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron the Rhino
Business
San Francisco
Dec 23, 2012

The Max

Hotel is at a convenient location and has an. upbeat artistic modern feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Industrious Traveler
Business
Portland, OR
Dec 11, 2012

Cute Boutique Hotel with a Convenient Location

My partner and I found Hotel Max to be convenient and clean, as well as a decent value. We were very happy with the location, as it's within walking distance to much of what one would want to see in downtown Seattle. We were traveling for business, so we basically wanted something that would permit us to easily navigate Seattle and get to and from our work with ease, and Hotel Max fit the bill. We were also very pleased that we could bring our cat for an additional fee. She seemed thrilled with the pet bed they provided. I found the staff to be courteous and professional. Our room was small, but with the view from all of the large windows, it was not at all claustrophobic. The bathroom was very clean and felt more upscale than the rest of the hotel, with a nice-sized tub and a lot of white tile. The sushi restaurant attached to the hotel is romantic and quite good, though we found the specialty rolls oddly less appetizing than the standards, which were excellent. We liked it enough to go both nights we stayed. I did find that a few things could be improved. For example, the elevators were inconveniently small; the two of us could not fit in the elevator with a full luggage rack. At another point, I ran up to the room to get something, and had to wait over fifteen minutes for a return elevator. As we were on the way to set up for work, with limited time, this was annoying. A sign by the stairs directed me to take the elevator when I got to the second floor, so that was not an option. However, it is an older building, so I don't know what the hotel could do about that. Though clean, some of the carpet and walls look slightly shabby when one looks closely, but the hotel has a fun decorating theme that combined vintage and modern. I felt that the pet fee and valet parking fee were rather high, but not outrageous. Given the location, it is likely that there are other parking options nearby. If we were not there for work, I would likely have pursued them. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. I'd read some mixed reviews online after booking the room, but I did not observe any of the problems other travelers alluded to. We have to go back in a few months, and we will likely stay at Hotel Max again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brad L
Business
Denver, CO
Dec 3, 2012

Excellent Hotel and Staff

I enjoyed my stay this past weeked at The Hotel Max. The only shocker was the 33 dollar amount to park a car in their garage over night. I would have thought that is a benefit of staying there. But it is downtown, so parking is at a premium, so maybe I can understand...but 33 is still steep. Overall, very happy with my room and the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fun2travelbyme
Business
florida
Nov 23, 2012

Great location

I've stayed here twice. Great rooms and perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Max

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sgt. Wolverine
Business
Chelsea, MI
Nov 20, 2012

Perfect location, good price

I loved this hotel. The room wasn't huge, but it was big enough -- I wasn't there to sit around in a hotel room! -- and it was very nicely appointed. The bed was comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. And perhaps most importantly to me, the location was absolutely ideal. It was only a very short walk (two short blocks) to the Westlake Center, where the train from the airport ends up, where the buses stop, and where the monorail to the Space Needle starts. It's incredibly easy to get around town from the Hotel Max, and the price was a bit lower than the other nice hotels around Westlake. In short, I would heartily recommend this hotel if you're visiting Seattle. (I would also recommend a visit to Seattle.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top