$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

The Stowe Inn and Tavern

3 stars
123 Mountain Road, 123 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
10 reviews
Better than expected

My wife and I needed a comfortable room the night before a road race I had entered to compete in. ... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 20, 2011
Great Location

A very handy location to the shops and walking paths of Stowe. A very quaint village. We stayed in... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 21, 2008
The Stowe Inn and Tavern has become a centerpiece of Vermont most charming village Enjoy an extraordinarily comfortable nights sleep in both our Main Inn rooms as well as the Carriage House motel rooms Our hospitality warmth and friendliness are contagious when you stay at the Stowe Inn and Tavern The very popular Stowe Inn Tavern has enhanced the tradition and fascination of the Inn with a dining experience unmatched in the area. All rooms - Phone Cable TV Non-smoking- Some rooms - Refrigerator Fireplace

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Stowe Inn and Tavern also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Stowe Inn and Tavern Rooms

Deluxe 2 Queen
Deluxe 2 Queen-2 Queen beds- down comforters- full private bath and cable tv
Deluxe King
Deluxe King- down comforters- full private bath- telephone and color/cable TV
Economy Motel
Economy Motel- 2 double beds- full private bath and cable TV
Standard Queen
Standard Queen-one queen bed- down comforters- full private bath and cable tv
Superior 2 Queen
Superior 2 Queen- 2 queen beds full sofa bed private bath color cable tv and a small fridge

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Phone service
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Game room
Play ground
Miniature golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Maid service
Shops/Commercial services
Shopping mall
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone

Dining

Stowe Inn Tavern
The very popular Stowe Inn Tavern has enhanced the tradition and fascination of the Inn with a dining experience unmatched in the area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (10)

Ratings and reviews for The Stowe Inn and Tavern

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 10
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.2

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Stowe Inn and Tavern

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveling bug
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Like sleeping in a sauna

Calling a run down motel a carriage house; really? Driving up you see this beautiful inn so I was hopeful that our room would be as nice. No such luck. The linen, including the spreads, were very nice. There was a tv in the room and a closet near the entry way. The toilet was broken; every time I sat down, I got banged on the back by the lid. There were tacks sticking up from the rug so we were careful when we had bare feet. When we enterered, we noticed an open window...we later understood why. Although there was a thermostat in the room, it was for decorative purposes alone apparently. We Had NO CONTROL of the Blasting heat in our room. This fact thoroughly interfered with our sleep. On our second day we needed a nap so went back to the room after a long hike. Well, they were doing construction on the room next door, so no nap. I went to the front desk and of course, no one there, so I left a letter. Never got a response. Out of our five nights, we had the windows open four of them. We had the fan in the room on but it proved to be bothersome. No hair dryer or coffeemaker in the room. The continental breakfast was good if you like stale bagels. My husband had the scrambled eggs one day and said they were cold. There was a Belgian waffle maker with some batter so you could make your own if you so chose. Also, there was four kinds of cereal and room temperature milk to go with it. oooo sounds appetizing right? Basically, go for the coffee and eat elsewhere. We enjoyed breakfast at another inn. If you are active and need nourishment in the morning, don't waste your time trying to fill up on the breakfast at the Stowe Inn. I must say, the maid service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Piecasso is good for pizza. The Whip had awful service and mediocre food. Hot Spice is just plain awful; expensive, avoidant service and poor quality food. Jamies is great for a coffee and snack in the afternoon. Many people at breakfast there too. The Colonial Cafe at the Golden Eagle was great for breakfast. There's a place called Harvest something on Mountain Road. Be sure to go if you enjoy getting ripped off. This was our fifth year in Stowe after Christmas. Next time we will get a place with a fridg and stove. The food in the area is sadly lacking. Michaels on the Hill is one of the few exceptions, as is Hen of the Wood...both are out of the downtown Stowe area but are excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stowe Inn and Tavern

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scituate, RI
Jul 20, 2011

Better than expected

My wife and I needed a comfortable room the night before a road race I had entered to compete in. The Inn was a perfect choice with a polite and accomadating staff. Rooms were nicely furnished to reflect the history of the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

After a short walk around this charming village, go back to the Stowe Inn & Tavern; their menu and service is as good or better (quality & value) as any you may find.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stowe Inn and Tavern

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wim
Business
Huntington Beach CA
Oct 8, 2009

Disappointed in Stowe

Public areas and dining room are very attractive. Our room was dated, in need of basic maintenance, painting and was not clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stowe Inn and Tavern

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pa
Jul 20, 2009

Vermont

The motel part needed some TLC but rooms were large and clean. Very small bathrooms, but again clean. The Inn was lovely, very well appointed. And dinner was surperb It is very close to the main street which made walking very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like the great outdoors you are in the right lace.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stowe Inn and Tavern

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cape Elizabeth
Sep 21, 2008

Great Location

A very handy location to the shops and walking paths of Stowe. A very quaint village. We stayed in an annex in the very pretty inn that was a step back in time with elegant antiques. Our meal in the Tavern was excellent. The room itself was spacious with it's quilted beds. The bathroom could have been a little more up to date.A plywood surround for the sink detracted from the overall ambience but that was the only thing that could be faulted. It was a very busy weekend for the Inn but it was quiet in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice local shopping and dining. A 5 mile walking/biking path that skirted the village was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top