$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 12, 2014

The Stowe Inn and Tavern

3 stars
123 Mountain Road, 123 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
16 reviews
Better than expected

My wife and I needed a comfortable room the night before a road race I had entered to compete in. ... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 20, 2011
Better than expected

My wife and I needed a comfortable room the night before a road race I had entered to compete in. ... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 20, 2011
The Stowe Inn and Tavern has become a centerpiece of Vermont most charming village Enjoy an extraordinarily comfortable nights sleep in both our Main Inn rooms as well as the Carriage House motel rooms Our hospitality warmth and friendliness are contagious when you stay at the Stowe Inn and Tavern The very popular Stowe Inn Tavern has enhanced the tradition and fascination of the Inn with a dining experience unmatched in the area. All rooms - Phone Cable TV Non-smoking- Some rooms - Refrigerator Fireplace

Hotel Map

44.4668 -72.6889
Nearby airports
BTV- Burlington International Airport, (BTV), 35.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Rural

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Stowe Inn and Tavern also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Stowe Inn and Tavern Rooms

Deluxe 2 Queen
Deluxe 2 Queen-2 Queen beds- down comforters- full private bath and cable tv
Deluxe King
Deluxe King- down comforters- full private bath- telephone and color/cable TV
Economy Motel
Economy Motel- 2 double beds- full private bath and cable TV
Standard Queen
Standard Queen-one queen bed- down comforters- full private bath and cable tv
Superior 2 Queen
Superior 2 Queen- 2 queen beds full sofa bed private bath color cable tv and a small fridge

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Phone service
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Game room
Play ground
Miniature golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Maid service
Shops/Commercial services
Shopping mall
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone

Dining

Stowe Inn Tavern
The very popular Stowe Inn Tavern has enhanced the tradition and fascination of the Inn with a dining experience unmatched in the area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for The Stowe Inn and Tavern

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.1

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Stowe Inn and Tavern

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AG93
CT
Dec 28, 2013

Stay Away -- Wallet Stolen

My family and I just concluded what would have been a pleasant stay at the Stowe Inn if my wallet had not been stolen. It contained cash and a couple forms of identification. Not only was the wallet removed from the room, but it was in a bag that was clearly rooted through as well. We are certain that the wallet was in the room when we left to ski that morning and was nowhere to be found when we returned later that afternoon. The room was certainly locked the entire time and only the housekeeping staff would have had entered when they made the beds. When I talked to the woman working the desk several times between discovering that the wallet had been stolen and not misplaced in the room she was entirely unhelpful. It is such a shame that our experience had to conclude in such a way. I wish I could recommend this inn to others but I wouldn't dare for fear their belongings would be stolen as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Stowe Inn and Tavern

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wim
Huntington Beach CA
Oct 8, 2009

Disappointed in Stowe

Public areas and dining room are very attractive. Our room was dated, in need of basic maintenance, painting and was not clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Stowe Inn and Tavern

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Reginald von George
Greenwich, CT
Aug 19, 2012

Former Grandeur Now Neglected

This place seems to have once been a very stately inn with the added bonus of a tavern and restaurant. There is also a nice inground pool. However, it appears that there is a lack of needed staff and maintenance. The rooms are not clean enough, the pool is surrrounded by weeds and has dirt in it. Lastly, the managment seems to have taken that sad and desparate death step of allowing long term boarders with barking dogs. Alas, the Stowe Inn was a disappointment chiefly because of what it could be or once was. Staff were generally polite and helpful. It is hoped this feedback will spur some changes for the better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lackey's is a special treat for a general store. Filled with unique toys and gifts, it is a nice diversion on Main Street in Stowe.

Review of The Stowe Inn and Tavern

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveling bug
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Like sleeping in a sauna

Calling a run down motel a carriage house; really? Driving up you see this beautiful inn so I was hopeful that our room would be as nice. No such luck. The linen, including the spreads, were very nice. There was a tv in the room and a closet near the entry way. The toilet was broken; every time I sat down, I got banged on the back by the lid. There were tacks sticking up from the rug so we were careful when we had bare feet. When we enterered, we noticed an open window...we later understood why. Although there was a thermostat in the room, it was for decorative purposes alone apparently. We Had NO CONTROL of the Blasting heat in our room. This fact thoroughly interfered with our sleep. On our second day we needed a nap so went back to the room after a long hike. Well, they were doing construction on the room next door, so no nap. I went to the front desk and of course, no one there, so I left a letter. Never got a response. Out of our five nights, we had the windows open four of them. We had the fan in the room on but it proved to be bothersome. No hair dryer or coffeemaker in the room. The continental breakfast was good if you like stale bagels. My husband had the scrambled eggs one day and said they were cold. There was a Belgian waffle maker with some batter so you could make your own if you so chose. Also, there was four kinds of cereal and room temperature milk to go with it. oooo sounds appetizing right? Basically, go for the coffee and eat elsewhere. We enjoyed breakfast at another inn. If you are active and need nourishment in the morning, don't waste your time trying to fill up on the breakfast at the Stowe Inn. I must say, the maid service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Piecasso is good for pizza. The Whip had awful service and mediocre food. Hot Spice is just plain awful; expensive, avoidant service and poor quality food. Jamies is great for a coffee and snack in the afternoon. Many people at breakfast there too. The Colonial Cafe at the Golden Eagle was great for breakfast. There's a place called Harvest something on Mountain Road. Be sure to go if you enjoy getting ripped off. This was our fifth year in Stowe after Christmas. Next time we will get a place with a fridg and stove. The food in the area is sadly lacking. Michaels on the Hill is one of the few exceptions, as is Hen of the Wood...both are out of the downtown Stowe area but are excellent.

Review of The Stowe Inn and Tavern

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wim
Huntington Beach CA
Oct 8, 2009

Disappointed in Stowe

Public areas and dining room are very attractive. Our room was dated, in need of basic maintenance, painting and was not clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Stowe Inn and Tavern

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, Ohio
May 3, 2010

A very nice vacation hotel

This would be a great hotel room for a relaxing vacation, but it was only OK for business purposes in that it didn't have many of the high-tech amenties that business travelers now expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food was excellent on-site at the Stowe Inn and Tavern.

Review of The Stowe Inn and Tavern

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ski Fan
New York
Feb 26, 2012

Great Winter Weekend

Off to a slow start when reservation could not be found and room not ready around 5 PM, but improved afterwards. Very friendly staff and helpful. Must have overwhelmed them with the amount of reservations this ski weekend (Feb 23-26-2012).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Stowe Inn and Tavern

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, Ohio
May 3, 2010

A very nice vacation hotel

This would be a great hotel room for a relaxing vacation, but it was only OK for business purposes in that it didn't have many of the high-tech amenties that business travelers now expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food was excellent on-site at the Stowe Inn and Tavern.

Review of The Stowe Inn and Tavern

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montville
May 25, 2008

Ok room

The actual inn seemed very nice which is where I thought I would be staying. Instead I had a room in the hotel part of the inn that was a very decrepit looking building from the outside. The locks on the door were trick locks and needed explanation on how to be used. Room had no blind over the window right at the bathroom sink only a sheer curtain. At night you would have a bird's eye view from outside since that is where the cars were parked. Could not turn the heat off from the thermostats and room was as hot as could be. Had to open the windows in the middle of the night. Overall it was ok but nothing I would need to come back to. Staff was very friendly as always in VT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alot of different ethnic places to eat on rte. 108 all within walking distance from inn. Some include nightlife.

Review of The Stowe Inn and Tavern

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pa
Jul 20, 2009

Vermont

The motel part needed some TLC but rooms were large and clean. Very small bathrooms, but again clean. The Inn was lovely, very well appointed. And dinner was surperb It is very close to the main street which made walking very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like the great outdoors you are in the right lace.

Back to menu Return to top