$299 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Stowe Mountain Lodge

5 stars
7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
40 reviews
Excellent service and luxury

My family stayed at Stowe Mountain Lodge for 3 nights over Thanksgiving weekend. It was our first... See full review

  • chicke11
  • Dec 1, 2014
Fantastic

The view is very good and the foliage is awesome. We will recommend this hotel to friends. See full review

  • stacey song
  • Oct 10, 2014
Perhaps it's the pristine location, the classic beauty, or the history that has evolved here. Or maybe it's the fact that one cultivates a sense of contentment throughout every season at Stowe. Now, with the advent of Stowe Mountain Lodge, this unique New England ski town in Vermont reaffirms its place as a renowned destination for discerning world travelers.

For over a century Stowe has attracted travelers who have cherished the beauty of the area's covered bridges, sparkling lakes, rambling woodlands and majestic peaks. Opened in June 2008, Stowe Mountain Lodge sets a new standard of luxury and aesthetics for the East Coast's most magnificent resort. Built in the new "Vermont-Alpine" style, Stowe Mountain Lodge offers a truly luxurious setting, while still paying respect to the Vermont traditions of utilizing local artisan products and embracing the tranquility of nature.

The six-story, 312-room lodge draws on the architectural tradition of turn-of-the-century summer camps created by the great families of New England. The lodge's exterior features a picturesque facade of woven timber and shingles that draw upon the natural harmony found in nature, as well as stone veneer created from local quarries, and expansive glass to bring the beauty of the lodge's outdoor surroundings to the indoors.

The interior design further emphasizes the fresh and contemporary take on natural beauty, enabling guests to experience Vermont lodging through a melange of old and new, rustic and romantic. Interchanging natural Vermont woods and stones, birch bark columns and detailing provides a simplistic backdrop to lively, contemporary folk art pieces. The color palette of the local seasons - vibrant reds, deep oranges, warm yellows and soothing greens - in varying patterns and textures found in the upholstery of inviting furnishings.

Each room has been custom-designed as a respite from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, with warm tones, plush furnishings and soothing amenities. All rooms are framed by oversized windows and outdoor balconies, allowing guests to take full advantage of the remarkable mountain landscape of Mt. Mansfield and Spruce Peak.

Stowe has long beckoned visionaries. From the Roosevelts and Vanderbilts who graced the Summit House in the 1860s, to the international ski racers a hundred years later, citizens of the world have long been attracted by Mount Mansfield's extraordinary beauty and boundless potential. Now, with the creation of Stowe Mountain Lodge, the mountain has reaffirmed its reputation as a world-class resort. Winter, spring, summer and autumn: each season expresses its own beauty on the face of Mount Mansfield, and activities abound.

Valet parking is available for $20/night.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Stowe Mountain Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Stowe Mountain Lodge Rooms

Classic Studio
1 King or two Queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Separate sitting area. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). In-room safe. Flat-panel LCD TV with premium channels and pay movies. Voice mail. CD player. Clock radio. Minibar. Refrigerator. Coffee/tea maker. Cookware/dishes/utensils. Separate bathtub and shower. Designer toiletries. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Complimentary newspaper. Electronic check-out. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Non-smoking rooms only.
Timberline Studio
1 King bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Balcony. Mountain view. Separate sitting area. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). In-room safe. Wireless (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. Television - Flat-panel. Television - LCD. Premium TV channel(s). Pay movies. Voice mail. CD player. Clock radio. Minibar. Kitchenette. Refrigerator. Coffee/tea maker. Cookware/dishes/utensils. Separate bathtub and shower. Designer toiletries. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Complimentary newspaper. Electronic check-out. Air conditioning. Non-smoking rooms only.
Ridgeline Studio
1 King bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Balcony. Mountain view. Separate sitting area. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). In-room safe. Wireless (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. Television - Flat-panel. Television - LCD. Premium TV channel(s). Pay movies. Voice mail. CD player. Clock radio. Minibar. Refrigerator. Coffee/tea maker. Cookware/dishes/utensils. Separate bathtub and shower. Designer toiletries. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Complimentary newspaper. Electronic check-out. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Non-smoking rooms only.
Timberline 1BR Suite
1 King bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Balcony. Mountain view. Separate sitting area. Separate dining area. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). In-room safe. Wireless (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. Television - Flat-panel. Television - LCD. Premium TV channel(s). Pay movies. Voice mail. CD player. Clock radio. Minibar. Kitchen. Refrigerator. Coffee/tea maker. Cookware/dishes/utensils. Separate bathtub and shower. Designer toiletries. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Complimentary newspaper. Air conditioning. Non-smoking rooms only.
Ridgeline 1BR Suite
1 King bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Balcony. Mountain view. Separate sitting area. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). In-room safe. Wireless (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. Television - Flat-panel. Television - LCD. Premium TV channel(s). Pay movies. Voice mail. CD player. Clock radio. Minibar. Refrigerator. Coffee/tea maker. Cookware/dishes/utensils. Separate bathtub and shower. Designer toiletries. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Complimentary newspaper. Electronic check-out. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Non-smoking rooms only.
Timberline 2BR Suite
2 beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Balcony. Mountain view. Separate sitting area. Separate dining area. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). In-room safe. Wireless (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. Television - Flat-panel. Television - LCD. Premium TV channel(s). Pay movies. Voice mail. CD player. Clock radio. Minibar. Kitchen. Refrigerator. Coffee/tea maker. Cookware/dishes/utensils. Separate bathtub and shower. Designer toiletries. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Washer/dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking rooms only.
Ridgeline 2BR Suite
1 king bed or 2 king beds or 2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Balcony. Mountain view. Separate sitting area. Separate dining area. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). In-room safe. Wireless (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. Television - Flat-panel. Television - LCD. Premium TV channel(s). Pay movies. Voice mail. CD player. Clock radio. Minibar. Kitchen. Refrigerator. Coffee/tea maker. Cookware/dishes/utensils. Separate bathtub and shower. Designer toiletries. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Washer/dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking rooms only.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Solstice
Solstice, Stowe Mountain Lodge's signature restaurant, offers Vermont artisan-inspired cuisine in an elegant and relaxed setting. Enjoy views from every direction, with an open kitchen, interactive chef station, and a wall of windows overlooking Spruce Peak mountain. Enjoy the bounty of Vermont through a sampling of sustainably-grown produce, artisan cheeses and all-natural meats - only the best of what is in season. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are served daily. Four- and seven-course tasting menus are offered for dinner, along with a la carte options. Choose a rare wine to complement your meal from our selection of boutique and hard-to-find bottles, or allow our sommelier to help you find the perfect pairing. Outdoor dining is available during summer months, and a private dining room that accommodates up to 16 guests is available year-round. Reservations are strongly recommended. Please call Solstice restaurant at 802.760.4735.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Stowe Mountain Lodge

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 40
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chicke11
Business
New York, NY
Dec 1, 2014

Excellent service and luxury

My family stayed at Stowe Mountain Lodge for 3 nights over Thanksgiving weekend. It was our first visit to Stowe. Service: Upon arrival, the valet team unloaded our luggage quickly and efficiently, even though there were numerous cars arriving at the same time. Checking in was seamless and the cup of hot apple cider in the lobby was heartwarming after a 6-hour drive from NYC (with two children ages 6 and 7). The ski valet team took great care of our gear and had it waiting for us when we came down to ski each morning. Our requests to housekeeping for extra towels and coffee were brought up to our room within minutes. The service was excellent, everyone greeted us by name, and we felt welcome the entire time we were there. Accommodations: We requested and received a high-floor room facing Mt. Mansfield. The view was amazing. Despite the adjoining door, there was minimal noise at night. The bathroom was beautiful, with a deep soaking tub that was much appreciated after a full day of skiing. The beds were quite comfortable and the linens were good quality. The only negative comment is that the air in the room was very dry that we woke up each morning with sore throats. But, I don't think the resort could have done anything about that. Next time, I will remember to bring a travel humidifier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
swentworth
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 22, 2014

AMAZING spot, resort, staff, food,....couldn't be better.

Our night away at Stowe Mountain Lodge Resort was perfect. The location is absolutely breathtaking, standing in the driveway in front of the resort and looking out at the mountain is just gorgeous - especially this time of year. The gondola ride to the top of the mountain is a MUST - $25 round-trip per adult but totally worth it. The restaurant at the top of the mountain was so fun - the menu could be a little more extensive but the burgers and soup we got was delicious. The staff (especially the valet guys) were amazing and SO knowledgeable. They sent us on Sunday morning to a breakfast place in Jeffersonville (very cool 20 minute drive through winding mountain roads) called 158 Main that was so quaint and the perfect end to our weekend. The Hourglass Bar at the resort has an amazing menu - make sure to make a reservation as the wait time on an off-season Saturday night was 2.5 hours. Downtown Stowe was adorable, we really enjoyed exploring. Overall, amazing weekend - couldn't have been happier!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to 158 Main in Jeffersonville for breakfast (and order the grilled maple bread as an appetizer) - you won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laxnerd
Business
NY
Jul 28, 2014

Perfect family stay

The Stowe mountain lodge was more than we expected for our 1 night stay in town. From the front desk help to the hotel restaurant all members of the staff were more than friendly and helpful. The lodge consisted of a beautiful pool and 2 hot tubs that were surrounded by the nicest landscape I have encountered for a pool area. My kids would have stayed there all day if they could have and I would have too. The common areas for the guest to enjoy were well decorated and made you feel as though you were out west. Front lobby, little nooks to relax and everywhere in between. Our room was only a studio but was large enough for 4 for 1 day. Clean and well appointed to say the least. If there is any complaint I have it would be not staying longer to enjoy Stowe Vt and the Stowe mountain lodge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MinnMom
Business
Minneapolis, MN suburbs
Nov 25, 2012

Big Disappointment

First Impression driving up was that this lodge was soooo beautiful and just what we pictured when wanting that ski-lodge experience. The experience stopped there. Valet parking is $19 per night and there's no other choice (ripoff!). The 'amenities' include an indoor/outdoor pool that they said was 88 degrees but was in actuality an outdoor pool with an indoor entrance and was very cold. There was nothing else to do at this hotel except eat at the expensive restaurant or go to the expensive spa---no game room or night club, etc. The big fireplace to sit near and warm up or play a game or hang out was non-existent. There was a fireplace beyond the reception but it was noisy from the bar/restaurant overlooking it and it also overlooked the reception area with all the in-and-out and check-in and kids-running-around noises echoing through. I think there may have been some kids movie playing somewhere but no kids or teen space. The room itself was beautiful and very clean. No mirror in the room and a closed off water closet inside the bathroom made it really wierd for three people to share (had to take turns which meant waiting). The deep soaker tub was only big enough for one person, the view was a little boring (of one hill) and the room had an ice box (not a refrigerator) so keeping things cold was an issue as was heating things up, which there was nowhere to do that. Really disappointed in the cost---when I spend that much on a hotel I actually do expect more (and that's all it was is a hotel that rents ski equipment). I gave 3 stars because it really was average or ordinary but at a much higher cost. If I was to go again, I would look for a real ski lodge. Vermont, by the way, was one of the most beautiful places I've been to, and I've been to nearly every state. The Stowe Monutain Lodge was the ONLY disappointment on this trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

There is no nightlife--expect to pay $15 to rent an in-room movie.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pauliej
Business
stowe,vt
Jul 23, 2012

Great place

THe place is pricey however you will not be disappointed. I guess I dont mind paying when the service and hotel are so great!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pfernand
Business
White Plains, New York
Jan 7, 2012

Re: Pristine Hotel in Vermont

For Ski lovers it does not gets better than this in the northeast. Gorgeous hotel in a pristine location at the hub of all activity in this ski resort. Be prepared to pay the price for it though!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not miss the sleigh ride which is offered by an independent contractor about five minutes away by car from the hotel. It is worth every penny!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lange
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Aug 29, 2011

Beautiful getaway in the New England country side

Beautiful hotel with the trimmings of a updated lodge in the Adirondacks. The accommodation being nestled in the mountain close to the hiking trials and ski area surroundings make it the perfect getaway to enjoy the outdoors and have all the fancy trimmings of a beautiful restaurant, spa and pool/hot tub. The food is superb with all the local food to table movement locally. The other great benefit is the the option to have your dog with you at the lodge which makes it all the much more special to bring the entire family. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cheshire, CT
Mar 25, 2011

Snowboarding family

Traveled with my two 18 yo sons. They ride and I just hang out so the location is perfect. They can go in and out and I can just chill. The kitchenette is very useful also since they like to eat and can prepare what they want. My one complaint is that housekeeping did not come to clean the room until after 1pm despite putting a sign on the door requesting them. The bellhop was especially helpful. I had expected a room with kitchenette, did not realize I had reserved one without and he helped me find the right people to talk to and they switched my room for me. The pool is outdoors. You enter from inside which is nice, but when it is cold and windy it is hard to get from the pool to hot tub without freezing. You have to have valet parking which I find annoying although they are very helpful and bring the car within a couple minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you do plan to cook yourself, bring groceries from home if you are driving. All utensils, dinnerware, etc that you would need are provided.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Feb 21, 2011

Very nice. Friendly staff. Nice locati

It is a wonderful resort. However gets very crowded during a long weekend so be prepared. The ski instructors are great and the ski school is run very efficiently! My girls loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Feb 21, 2011

Superb ski resort

We've stayed at many 5 star resorts throughout the States but Stowe Mountain Lodge definitely beats them all in terms of service and excellent hospitality. On arrival, our skis were taken to the ski valet and everything was taken care for us. We did not have to lift a finger. The rooms were spacious and the bathroom luxurious. Excellent gym facility for those who do not ski, and the outdoor heated pool was very decadent during the winter season. We were very close to town and there was a wide array of restaurants to choose from in the evening. All in all it was worth every penny and we'll definitely return to Stowe Mountain Lodge for our next ski vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The winter walks are a must for non-skiers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top